$234 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 2, 2015

Carlton Hotel, South Beach

3 stars
1433 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
254 reviews
Perfect place to stay for the beach

This is a nice little beach hotel with a very friendly staff. The location is great and you can... See full review

  • Thankslb
  • Apr 8, 2014
great vacation spot

Great location to everything you would want. No car needed See full review

  • Charles W.
  • Dec 23, 2014
Boutique stay in South Beach with minimalist design, pool and more

The Carlton Hotel, South Beach is located in Miami's trendy South Beach area, in the heart of the Art Deco district. The beach is less than a block away, and Miami's top nightclubs are within easy reach. This 1938 restored hotel has a range of facilities including an Olympic-sized swimming pool with sun loungers and tropical gardens. The hotel also provides complimentary property-wide Wi-Fi access and meeting rooms that can host for up to 45 people. 

Reasons to stay
  • Located in Miami's swanky South Beach area, famous for its beach, art-deco architecture and vibrant night life
  • Olympic-sized swimming pool
  • Easy access to restaurants, galleries and shopping
  • Meeting space for up to 45 guests
Carlton Hotel South Beach rooms

The Carlton Hotel, South Beach rooms are stylish and chic with a range of amenities. Find crisp whites everywhere, from the textured blankets to All The Carlton Hotel, South Beach rooms have flat-screen TV with premium satellite channels, free Wi-Fi access, safe deposit box, hair dryer, iron/ironing board and coffeemaker. Bathrooms offer natural bath products and waffle-weave bathrobes. The hotel has three types of rooms: deluxe double queen, deluxe king and superior double queen, all with Egyptian cotton down comforters. Some of the rooms have views of the swimming pool. 

Things to do nearby
  • Espanola Way (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Mansion Miami (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Ocean Drive (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Lummus Park (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Lincoln Road (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Art Deco Historic District (0.7 mi/1.3 km)
  • Miami Beach Botanical Garden (0.9 mi/ 1.5 km)
  • Collins Avenue (4.0 mi/6.4 km)
Policies and Fees

  • A nightly resort fee of $14.14 USD will be charged. (Inclusive of beach and pool towels, local phone calls and Wi-Fi access).
  • A credit card authorization amounting to $150 USD is required at check-in for incidentals and damages. Return of this amount may take 7 to 10 days after check-out.
  • Guests should be 21 years old and above to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Carlton Hotel, South Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Carlton Hotel, South Beach Rooms

Pool View Double
Spectacular pool view rooms feature two double beds fitted with cozy down comforters & pillows as well as 300 thread count linens. Amenities include wireless internet, bathrobes & spa bath products.
Pool View King
Spectacular pool view rooms feature one king size bed fitted with cozy down comforters & pillows as well as 300 thread count linens. Amenities include wireless internet, bathrobes & spa bath products.
Classic Double
Rooms feature two double beds fitted with cozy down comforters & pillows as well as 300 thread count linens. Amenities include wireless internet, bathrobes & spa bath products.
Classic King
Rooms feature one king size bed fitted with cozy down comforters & pillows as well as 300 thread count linens. Amenities include wireless internet, bathrobes & spa bath products.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (254)

Ratings and reviews for Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
254 out of 254
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
2.8

45% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PENNSYLVANIA
Mar 7, 2011

VERY NICE FOR THE PRICE!

The hotel was very nice and situated right in the center of SoBe. I really recomend it. The beach is only steps away from the hotel and it has restaurants right across the street from it. I really enjoyed it and had a wonderful time in warm Miami.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maine
Feb 26, 2011

Seedy and Dirty

The pool was really tiny ( Olympic the website said) and dirty- ever hear of a vacuum? I wasn't able to have free "abundant" breakfast, which when I asked what was in i,t the bartender ( who did not have the ability to make COFFEE) pointed to a roll ( wrapped in plastic- days old) or cereal. I asked about fruit- there was some on the bar and she said that was for drinks- so no- basically even if i could have had the continental breakfast i would have declined. The room was clean but it was really loud- door slammed at all hours, the noise from the street kept me up. I knew this wasn't going to be a 5 star place and i can handle a low cost hotel bec/ I'll be at the beach but this place was terrible

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ann Arbor, MI.
Feb 25, 2011

Great locale

The location of this hotel is great. It is quite near the beach, the life on Ocean Drive, the nightlife of Washington Street, and the touristy Lincoln Road. The room was very clean and the bed and linens extremely comfortable. The lobby/bar, the workout room, and the pool, are all great amenities. The staff is also friendly. My criticisms are that the carpets need replacing and the cable wasn't great. To be fair, I never said anything about the cable, so it is possible it could have been taken care of had I said something.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Feb 25, 2011

RESORT? WHAT RESORT??

My fiancée and I went to South Beach to get away and do a little partying. The Hotel website was completely misleading!!! We were so mad when we arrived! We had to sit around for 6 hours before they had a room available(which we had reserved by the way)! Then they tried to give us a room that was so tiny and had 2 beds! We booked a Premium King room. We finally after arguing with them got to a room similar to what we payed for and we felt like we were in some cheap Hotel that would rent by the hour!! The bed was hard there were stains on the carpet, we didn't have access to safe or mini fridge. Not one thing that was on their website was true. Their pool was supposed to be Olympic size- it was maybe a quarter of that. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!! IT WAS HORRIBLE and the staff is very rude and unprofessional. We will never go back to South Beach again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You better come ready to spend money!! Lots of it!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Feb 20, 2011

Gross

what a disaster. It was so bad that Im embarrassed to tell my friends about. Its just gross and dirty and in major need of an update. The carpet was literally greasy under my feet. I wasn't even comfortable showering in bare feet. The shower was moldy and there were left over hairs stuck on the ceiling! yes, the ceiling. I have no clue how it could have gotten there. Also, expect to pay an additional $13 per day for towel and chair use. Its not optional either so if you've prepaid expect this additional charge regardless. Whatever it is that they spray the the joint with sucks! you can smell it from a block away. I think probably to hide some other sinister smells lurking in this dump. The music is always laud in the bar/reception and even at the pool. don't expect to go to the pool to relax with a good book or nap unless you can ignore the bass of the club music on the speakers hanging over your head.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Poobah Johnny
Business
New York, NY
Feb 16, 2011

Prepaid Hell

There's a reason every single guest at this hotel was on a prepaid travel package: no one would ever make a reservation to revisit this place. There was a poolside DJ all day long and a lounge DJ all night long, rattling the hotel the entire weekend. Check-in was confused, hotel was overbooked, no onsite management to handle any issues. Windows were sealed shut. I became sick from the orange-smelling disinfectant they used everywhere. Webpage for the Carlton was extremely misleading, half of the amenities listed were non-existent. This place is a dump and if it weren't for selling the rooms on prepaid packages, this place would shut down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ZT
Business
New York, NY
Feb 9, 2011

It's better to sleep on the street

Appalling!!! Don't Even think about staying at this hotel! The photos are either very old or doctored; everything is dirty, stinks with cheap air fresheners so bad that even people without any allergies, like myself, have difficulty to breath. Rooms are like caves, cheap carpeting is dirty and greasy, most light fixtures don't work, there is nothing in the room to put your clothes in, except of the closet with one dusty shelf and few hangers, not even a drawer. The refrigerator minibar is locked (locked with a key). Courtain in my room has stains of either red lipstick or ... I hope it's a lipstick. Only acceptable place, I guess, is the pool. DON'T STAY IN THIS HOTEL

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Feb 5, 2011

Carlton Hotel

Good location at 14th and Collins, lots of restaurants, bars and shops at your doorstep and the beach is a block away. Air conditioning did not work and even if it did it was a complicated system by remote control that shut the fan off every hour. Useless!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of bars offering cheap drink specials!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Musician
Business
New York, NY
Feb 1, 2011

Sufficiently satisfied

The hotel is located 2 blocks from the beach and the great thing about that is you can go directly from the hotel pool at the back of the hotel to the beach and vice versa. The room atmosphere of white and slight shades of orange was also pleasing. The hotel also has one of the best interior decorated lobbies that I have ever seen. On Sunday night, the lobby turned into a lounge with a live DJ mixing. At around 11pm each night, a limo stops by to pick up hotel guests for drop offs at nearyby clubs and lounges. There is also one very knowledgeable lady on the front porch guiding hotel guests to the best and cheapest places to eat and visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you have a car, try to park in the city parking lots, because they are much cheaper than the $25 per day that the hotel charges for on-site parking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grayslake, IL
Jan 25, 2011

Don't Be Fooled!!!

Do not be fooled by the nice pictures. It's amazing how photography can make something look so good. This hotel is old and run down; despite the fresh paint and cool modern decor. The first room we checked into was next to a family of children and due to paper thin walls we were able to hear EVERTHING. When I asked to change rooms I was told that they couldnt do that due to their "policy." Once I resolved their policy issues, we were moved to another room on the third floor. This room was old and run down as well but worst yet was the shower. There was absolutely zero water pressure. The water barely made it out of the shower head in a trickle. Additionally, they blast music in the lobby/bar until 11:30 every night to create a night club atmoshphere; which is a problem if you want to get to sleep early. There is no reducing the sound even on the third floor. On the flip side, it is located in a good place in South Beach. That would be the only positive thing I can say about this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

As I mentioned before, it is located in a good place near the ocean and dining/bars.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top