$259 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 29, 2014

Carlton Hotel, South Beach

3 stars
1433 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
253 reviews
Perfect place to stay for the beach

This is a nice little beach hotel with a very friendly staff. The location is great and you can... See full review

  • Thankslb
  • Apr 8, 2014
Not Bad At All.

Great location near beach. Just 1 block away. Very convenient. See full review

  • Lafourcade
  • Aug 31, 2014
Boutique stay in South Beach with minimalist design, pool and more

The Carlton Hotel, South Beach is located in Miami's trendy South Beach area, in the heart of the Art Deco district. The beach is less than a block away, and Miami's top nightclubs are within easy reach. This 1938 restored hotel has a range of facilities including an Olympic-sized swimming pool with sun loungers and tropical gardens. The hotel also provides complimentary property-wide Wi-Fi access and meeting rooms that can host for up to 45 people. 

Reasons to stay
  • Located in Miami's swanky South Beach area, famous for its beach, art-deco architecture and vibrant night life
  • Olympic-sized swimming pool
  • Easy access to restaurants, galleries and shopping
  • Meeting space for up to 45 guests
Carlton Hotel South Beach rooms

The Carlton Hotel, South Beach rooms are stylish and chic with a range of amenities. Find crisp whites everywhere, from the textured blankets to All The Carlton Hotel, South Beach rooms have flat-screen TV with premium satellite channels, free Wi-Fi access, safe deposit box, hair dryer, iron/ironing board and coffeemaker. Bathrooms offer natural bath products and waffle-weave bathrobes. The hotel has three types of rooms: deluxe double queen, deluxe king and superior double queen, all with Egyptian cotton down comforters. Some of the rooms have views of the swimming pool. 

Things to do nearby
  • Espanola Way (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Mansion Miami (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Ocean Drive (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Lummus Park (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Lincoln Road (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Art Deco Historic District (0.7 mi/1.3 km)
  • Miami Beach Botanical Garden (0.9 mi/ 1.5 km)
  • Collins Avenue (4.0 mi/6.4 km)
Policies and Fees

  • A nightly resort fee of $14.14 USD will be charged. (Inclusive of beach and pool towels, local phone calls and Wi-Fi access).
  • A credit card authorization amounting to $150 USD is required at check-in for incidentals and damages. Return of this amount may take 7 to 10 days after check-out.
  • Guests should be 21 years old and above to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Carlton Hotel, South Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Carlton Hotel, South Beach Rooms

Pool View Double
Spectacular pool view rooms feature two double beds fitted with cozy down comforters & pillows as well as 300 thread count linens. Amenities include wireless internet, bathrobes & spa bath products.
Pool View King
Spectacular pool view rooms feature one king size bed fitted with cozy down comforters & pillows as well as 300 thread count linens. Amenities include wireless internet, bathrobes & spa bath products.
Classic Double
Rooms feature two double beds fitted with cozy down comforters & pillows as well as 300 thread count linens. Amenities include wireless internet, bathrobes & spa bath products.
Classic King
Rooms feature one king size bed fitted with cozy down comforters & pillows as well as 300 thread count linens. Amenities include wireless internet, bathrobes & spa bath products.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (253)

Ratings and reviews for Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
253 out of 253
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
2.8

45% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mind91Elevation
Business
Neptune Township, NJ, USA
Mar 18, 2012

Great for sping break!!!!

The location was awesome, the staff always made sure things were up to par. Despite a hold on your account for a certain amount things were cool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walgreens

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cheriee
Business
MA
Mar 18, 2012

Great location, friendly staff

It was the perfect location very close to everything we wanted. The carpets were a little stained and the windows didn't open but we had the AC on the whole time so it was unnecessary for them to open anyways. The staff was very friendly. At one point the electricity in half of our room was out but that was resolved fairly quick. The fire alarm went off for like an hour early in the AM one time which was super annoying but they did what they could to resolve it as quickly as possible. It could use a little update. We stayed from a Monday - Sat and we were charged an additional 150$ to what we originally booked. They had hooka which was nice to hang on the porch and relax to also a Dj one night. They play awesome music down in the lobby all day and night which was cool. Although we went down for spring break there were a lot of young fun people that were also staying there which made it a lot more fun! It wasn't a bad place to stay for the price. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get the number of a taxi service called Swoop. It's a free service as long as you tip! They are super friendly and call you when they are close. It's awesomee!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aunt She
Business
Central Islip, NY, USA
Mar 12, 2012

Fun!

If you are looking to party this is the place.This place is right near all the bars and clubs. Even the lobby is like a lounge. But if you are looking for a quiet family atmosphere this is not the place It is very loud and the room wasn't super clean. All and all I did enjoy my stay they had great food and bar specials and if I went for spring break again I would definatly go here !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dragonfly1964
Business
Atlanta, Georgia
Jan 27, 2012

Unreasonable Surcharges

The hotel is your typical rundown South Beach Art Deco, poorly updated/renovated style (flat screen tv, new white paint and funky music and bar in the lobby). They do hit you with a daily resort fee of $15 and a $25 parking fee (which is $8 more expensive than what you are charged at the Eden Roc valet parking), which is a bit more upscale. Safe you the headache and find a better value somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Look for Public Parking, it is always available and it is cheap almost everywhere in South Beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Objective Reviewer
Business
NYC
Dec 7, 2011

Dirty Hotel

I booked this hotel thinking it would be nice since it's blocks from the Ritz Carlton. The lounge/lobby looks okay, but THE ROOM WAS HORRIBLE. It was tidy, but unclean. The snack bar refrigerator was stocked, BUT it was dirty and had not been wiped out. The door did not look secure because it's an OLD building. The window in the bathroom was definitely NOT SECURE--no lock. I ended up sleeping as if I were in a third world country with furniture pushed up against the door--both the entrance door and the bathroom door to give myself some piece of mind that I would not have a break in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
art basel traveler
Business
southern california
Dec 4, 2011

needs an upgrade

hotel management staff attempted to make up for the challenges created by a hotel that is much much too noisy and run down. but ultimately they have to work with a substandard property. business travelers be warned - the wifi only works in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jsvergara
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Nov 23, 2011

awful, is not a "normal hotel"

Bad service at the reception, room dirty, no rc for the air cond, stains on the carpet

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dosa
Business
New York, NY, USA
Nov 21, 2011

good hotel

I checked in really late to miami, and they gave me a corner room on the first floor, but since I was staying few days they changed my room the following day. I got the corner room on the third floor, all the way in the back, farthest from the elevator, but had two windowed corner and a view of the pool. It was pretty neat. They play music way past midnight, but didn't really bother me. Cleanliness is okay, the building is kinda old but it's art deco, you know. Bathroom is not up to date modern, but gets the job done. The pool, proximity to the beach and convention center, Lincoln Rd and Espanola Rd is the best amenities, plus the esspresso bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the diner accross the street, Jerry's Diner is great for quick bite, and for dinner Espanola way has many many cuban/pasta places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TABB
Business
Milwaukee
Nov 15, 2011

Carlton Hotel, South Beach

This was the worse hotel experience I have ever had. The picture on the web site is not anything what the hotel looks like. When we arrived the air conditioning unit was leaking water all over our room. The bathroom stand collapsed and there was water damage on the window seal. The view was horrible and they charged us a extra $14.00 dollars of day for items we didn't use.Also, they never had enough towels. I will never stay at this hotel again. Worse expereince ever. Don't be fooled by the pics or what other people say. Not a nice hotel. Also, staff was rude. Hated this place and hate is a strong word.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Beans1
Business
nyc
Nov 8, 2011

Great last minute

no hassles. Nice room. Nice pool. Decent food. Great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top