$85 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

Carlton Hotel, South Beach

3 stars
1433 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
392 reviews
Perfect place to stay for the beach

This is a nice little beach hotel with a very friendly staff. The location is great and you can... See full review

  • Thankslb
  • Apr 8, 2014
Best Place To Stay

All in all I love this hotel every year that I come to Miami I stay at this hotel I would... See full review

  • Gibson Forever Tanning
  • Jun 2, 2014
Boutique stay in South Beach with minimalist design, pool and more

The Carlton Hotel, South Beach is located in Miami's trendy South Beach area. Crisp, clean lines greet guests in this Art Deco masterpiece. The beach is less than a block away, and Miami's top nightclubs are within easy reach. The hotel has a range of facilities including an Olympic-sized swimming pool with sun loungers and tropical gardens. The hotel also provides beach towels and tour and area information services. An onsite cafe serves breakfast and lunch. Wi-Fi Internet access is complimentary through the Carlton Hotel, South Beach property.

Reasons to stay
  • Located in Miami's swanky South Beach area, famous for its beach, art-deco architecture and vibrant night life
  • Great amenities including free Wi-Fi and Olympic-sized swimming pool
  • VIP passes to local nightclubs, and easy access to restaurants, galleries and shopping
  • Meeting space for up to 45 guests
Carlton Hotel South Beach rooms

The Carlton Hotel, South Beach rooms are stylish and chic with a range of amenities. Find crisp whites everywhere, from the textured blankets to bedside candles. And with lava lamps, white sofas and funky green chairs, the rooms have an ambience that is in keeping with the trendy South Beach area, and fresh-cut flowers such as birds of paradise add vibrancy. All The Carlton Hotel, South Beach rooms have flat-screen televisions with premium satellite channels, CD players, mini-bar, walk-in closets and coffee makers. Bathrooms offer natural bath products and waffle-weave bathrobes. The hotel has three types of rooms: deluxe double queen, deluxe king and superior double queen, all with Egyptian cotton down comforters. Some of the rooms have views of the swimming pool. Wi-Fi Internet access is complimentary.

Things to do nearby
  • Espanola Way (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Mansion Miami (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Ocean Drive (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Lummus Park (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Lincoln Road (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Art Deco Historic District (0.7 mi/1.3 km)
  • Miami Beach Botanical Garden (0.9 mi/ 1.5 km)
  • Collins Avenue (4.0 mi/6.4 km)

Hotel Map

25.7865 -80.1303
Area served
Miami Beach, FL
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport and Ft. Lauderdale Airport.
Area description
The Carlton South Beach is just 15 minutes from the glamorous shops of Coconut Grove, Bal Harbor and Bayside. It take a mere 5 minutes to get to the Miami sea port and 20 minutes from the Miami International Airport by car.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Carlton Hotel, South Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Carlton Hotel, South Beach Rooms

Pool View Double
Spectacular pool view rooms feature two double beds fitted with cozy down comforters & pillows as well as 300 thread count linens. Amenities include CD player, In room movies, TV & Complementary wireless internet. Bathrobes & spa bath products.
Pool View King
Spectacular pool view rooms feature one king size bed fitted with cozy down comforters & pillows as well as 300 thread count linens. Amenities include CD player, In room movies, TV & Complementary wireless internet. Bathrobes & spa bath products.
Classic Double
Rooms feature two double beds fitted with cozy down comforters & pillows as well as 300 thread count linens. Amenities include CD player, In room movies, TV & Complementary wireless internet. Bathrobes & spa bath products.
Classic King
Rooms feature one king size bed fitted with cozy down comforters & pillows as well as 300 thread count linens. Amenities include CD player, In room movies, TV & Complementary wireless internet. Bathrobes & spa bath products.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (392)

Ratings and reviews for Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
392 out of 392
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
2.8

45% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Janil08
Bx, New York
Jun 26, 2012

Great stay!

My stay at da Carlton hotel was pretty great. I dnt think i could've picked any better hotel for my vaca with bff. I liked the location, literally 2 min away from the beach & just moments away from the start of the strip. I loved the fact that it had a pool!... & the room service was great!... Great stay for the price that i payed :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Upset vacationer
Ohio, USA
Apr 22, 2012

Please don't do it

I rented this room based on reviews I read. People have mixed up expectations. First off, the room smelled like mildew. The bathroom shower was so gross with black spots all over, the pool floor was so nasty I didn't even get in....there was chunks missing out of the pool floor which I didn't want my feet touching. I would have paid a hundred dollars more a night to stay somewhere nice. There are ghetto folks hanging in the lobby at all times of day and they take over the pool area...makes you not want to even go there. The staff was nice but it doesn't make up for the dirty environment. I wish someone told me this before I stayed. I will pay little more next time to stay somewhere clean. I felt so relieved when I got home to shower. This place is bad....don't believe me go ahead and see for yourself. I didn't have one bad experience that's making me write this....I'm just letting u know it's really bad...if you don't mind the dirty feeling you get by sleeping here then it's worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chula1
New York, NY, USA
Apr 15, 2012

So so

Was not impressed. Nothing fancy about the room or bathroom. Looks like someone's room and bethroom. The location was great though. Close to restaurants, clubs, and beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Get on the guest list so you don't have to pay a cover charge.

Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
akmitch
New York, NY, USA
Apr 14, 2012

great location, terrible service

loved the location, and the hotel was alright, but the staff were TERRIBLE. Room had a clogged toilet and I was told that I would have to wait until the next day to have it fixed. No offer to move us to another room, no compensation in anyway. I had to call the front desk three times to get moved to another room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yippee
New York City
Apr 6, 2012

convenience. Check.

The hotel is located at a convenient spot. Walkable to most. Do NOT expect this to be a 5 star hotel simply because it isn't. It's affordable. My only complaint is that it should NOT play that stupid club type of music at the lobby. No, it's not loud but it attracts unwanted people hanging out in front doing "stuff". Actually, the entire miami beach area is FULL of people doing "stuff". So, if this hotel can stand on its own by simply playing different type of music, it would be quite pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Next block is Espanola way and a few more blocks is Lincoln road where all the shopping and eating is. Two small blocks, it's the beach. and a little walk down Collins ave, it's more shops

Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dissatified Customer
Chicago
Apr 6, 2012

For What it was Worth

This hotel was the best for location on Miami South Beach! However, it is not at all a nice hotel. . .the hotel is very outdated and needs major improviement and renovations (for the amount of money they charge, they should be updated). The maid service does not speak English and causes a major language barrier for guest. They kept running out of towels which is so uncacceptable with the hot weather in Miami. No computer access. The bathroom is VERY SMALL! Shower is very tight. They should close down and do major renovations because it can be a nice hotel because it is the BEST location on South Beach! Needs new Management

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

No need for rental (parking too expensive), this hotel is accesssible to nightlife, beach, ocean drive, restaurants, and shopping. . all in a matter of 2-5 minutes.

Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
m0shwin6
Toronto, ON, Canada
Apr 1, 2012

OK Place

It's an OK place, location is good but it looks very worn out, good as a party hotel, nothing more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
diva shay
Leesburg, FL, USA
Mar 29, 2012

everything was comfy

enjoyed my stay,there was a lil garbage left by the fridge but other than that it was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SoBeGoer
Colorado
Mar 28, 2012

Great for Spring Break!

We stayed at this hotel for Miami Music Week and Ultra Music Festival. The hotel is in the absolute heart of South Beach, with restaurants, clubs, and culture spots within short walking distance. Our room was a little quirky. It's not a high-luxury hotel, but we were very comfortable there. Decent water pressure in the shower, which we haven't always found in this area. Staff was friendly and polite. It was loud because of Music Week events, but the hotel was quiet for all reasonable hours (midnight-noon). I would definitely recommend this hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you're flying into Miami Int'l Airport, there is a bus called the Airport Flyer (Rt 150) that takes you right to South Beach for only a couple dollars. Much cheaper than $40 for a taxi!

Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
neenah
chicago,il
Mar 26, 2012

Needs some work

picture look nothing like the actual room we found a used condom upon arriving in the room when we checked in..... we where then only told to call the service we booked the rrom in get the room changed like we knew where another hotel was.... Location was great right near south beach, good clubs, and great food. The place across the street offer good food for great prices and we did a hour inservice in got all u can eat lobster at a nice restaurant..... When leaving we saw a roach on the table.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

right across the street great pizza, gyros, etc. also on the corner is a very nice spot

Back to menu Return to top