Carlton Hotel, South Beach

3 stars
View map of 1433 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
207 out of 207
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.1
Comfort:
2.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
2.9

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rayfan
Business
Tampa
Jul 19, 2013

Use the door hanger

Nice hotel for a few days. Couldn't check in until 4 on day 1 and the housekeeping cleaned out my meds and computer power cord when they cleaned the room. However, they made most of if right in a couple of hours. My guess is they had to go dumpster diving.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Have a drink rather than trying to check in at 3.

Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Endrich
Business
Queens, New York
Jun 13, 2013

Horrible!!!! WARNING!! DO NOT STAY HERE!

This hotel was filthy!!!!!!!! My room was infested with roaches!!! I changed my room THREE times and in every room there was something wrong. I had a room that did not lock, which means anyone was able to walk right into my room any time without the room key. The second room the air conditioner did not work, and then started making so much noise and after started to smell really bad. The TV in all of the rooms was not clear and all. All the three rooms had numerous amount of ROACHES!!!! IT WAS DISGUSTING. The gym is located in the basement and it was only a few machines in there but it looked like it wasnt clean for years. And the pool was also dirty! It had so many dead bugs in the pool, I dont know how this hotel is still up and running. Pls take my word of advice and DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!! THE PICS SHOWN IN THE WEBSITE IS NOT WHAT THE HOTEL SEEMS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
iSam
Business
NY
Apr 2, 2013

Terrible

The maintenance was very poor. My sheets were never changed, there was a leak in the ceiling and the sink was falling off the wall. No tub, and the view was awful. The staff was very rude, and hard to find half the time. I was constantly brushed off, or dismissed when I had a problem. They were roaches!!!! Everywhere. The pool wasnt clean, there are no microwaves to heat your food, and the fridge wasnt cold. Not to mention things were taken from my room including an iPhone charger, a beer, and a candy bar. Smh never going back! Wouldn't recommend this place to anyone. it is the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. Frankly it should be shut down for their poor service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Espanola way has the best Hispanic restaurants in south beach. Havana was my favorite. Authentic, Cuban food to die for.

Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
EddyLognhorn
Business
Houston
Mar 17, 2013

Horrible hotel

Unless you are extremely broke and don't want to spend the night out on the street, don't stay at this hotel. The concierge was nowhere to be found for 30 minutes and the floors smell like they are wet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Reeta the traveller
Business
St. Louis, Missouri
Feb 18, 2013

Unearable stay

We booked 2 nights stay in this hotel. As soon as we enter the hotel we knew hotel wasn't going to be good. Decor at the lobby looked 1* hotel. Once we came to to the room, it was cold. It was raining outside, temperature was really low. We called the front desk, they said somebody will come, nobody showed up. It was late night. They had air conditioner on all night. My brother is 75, just got out of neumonia. He was sleeping with wool cap on, sweater on. I was frozen, couldn't sleep all night. In the morning we decided to go to another hotel for 2nd night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sivadsivad
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Dec 30, 2012

Great Getaway

Stayed at the hotel for a week and had an excellent time. The rooms are a decent size, and were very clean. (Would've been nice to have a few more cable channels, but that's no big deal.) Staff was very nice. Swimming pool is great early in the morning when there were plenty of chairs to lay out. Nice, basic gym in the basement and bar in the lobby area; there was usually a good number of people at the bar toward the end of the day but we were on the 2nd floor and couldn't hear a thing. There was a good mix of singles, couples, families and friends at the hotel. One block to the beach (3 blocks to the gay section of the beach), one block to Espanola Way & four blocks from Lincoln Road. It was a great place, I had a great time and would definitely recommend it as a place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If possible, decide what you want to eat online, then head to your destination, unless you don't mind being accosted by countless hostesses trying to get you to eat at their restaurant.

Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Psyduck
Business
DC
Dec 28, 2012

Quality at a low price

The Carlton is located on Collins AV almost at Espanola Way. Across the street from Jerry's Deli and Grill Fish good dining is steps away. Perhaps more importantly, the beach is one short block away. The rooms are pretty basic but very comfortable. The staff is mst gracious and helpful, the free wi-fi strong and the pool is very nice. I We stayed over Xmas and the price was surprisingly low. I'll be back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Jerry's Deli is NY south. Huge menue, Best corned beef for over a thousand miles. All in Soth Beach's best example of Art-Deco Splendor

Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
EddyLognhorn
Business
Houston
Dec 3, 2012

Horrible Place

If I would have known the conditions of this hotel I wouldn't have stayed there. I waited at the lobby for 45 minutes because the concierge was no where to be found. There seemed to be no ac in the lobby. The halls stink and the paint on the walls is cracking. The floors squeak and the doors don't shut automatically. My room had the smell of a place that has had water damage. This place isn't worth a penny. Don't sacrifice quality over price , book in advance somewhere else and save money that way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
johnmcprice
Business
new york
Aug 18, 2012

great location

close from the gay beach, this hotel is perfect. it s been the second time i stayed at the carlton hotel. sleek modern not the plush one but so convenient and very very fair for the price i paid in august. they propose plenty of activities...including the vip limo tour with happy hour. luv it and i ll go back. thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
king b
Business
new york
Jul 17, 2012

terrible

The hotel wasnt clean and had to much noise late at night. everytime some closed there door it made my whole room move. i wouldnt recommend that hotel to anyone under 28.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy your liquour at the store next door,

Back to menu Return to top