$60 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

Carlton Hotel, South Beach

3 stars
1433 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
257 reviews
Perfect place to stay for the beach

This is a nice little beach hotel with a very friendly staff. The location is great and you can... See full review

  • Thankslb
  • Apr 8, 2014
Best Place To Stay

All in all I love this hotel every year that I come to Miami I stay at this hotel I would... See full review

  • Gibson Forever Tanning
  • Jun 2, 2014
Perfectly situated in South Beach, The Carlton South Beach is only steps away from the world's most pristine beaches and in the heart of the Art Deco District. A Carlton Hotel guest is never far from world class shopping, nightlife, restaurants, Lincoln Road or the Convention center. A chic, contemporary restored 1938 property with 67 rooms retains its original character, elegance and great service. The Carlton South Beach is a hidden gem with clean, crisp accommodations featuring flatscreen TVs, two-line telephone with data port and voice mail technology & wireless internet. The vibrant lobby lounge is a perfect place to relax or step outside and indulge in our breathtaking Olympic size swimming pool. A resort fee of $14.14 will be added each night, self-parking is available at $25.00 per night. PLEASE NOTE: At Check-in Credit Card Authorization in amount of $150.00 for incidentals and or damages will be taken which may take processing centers 7-10 days to be released after check-out and guest must be 21 years or older to check in at hotel. PLEASE NOTE; A $14.14 daily resort fee payable to the hotel. Resort fee includes; beach and pool towels, local phone calls and wireless internet access.

Hotel Map

25.7865 -80.1303
Area served
Miami Beach, FL
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport and Ft. Lauderdale Airport.
Area description
The Carlton South Beach is just 15 minutes from the glamorous shops of Coconut Grove, Bal Harbor and Bayside. It take a mere 5 minutes to get to the Miami sea port and 20 minutes from the Miami International Airport by car.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Carlton Hotel, South Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Carlton Hotel, South Beach Rooms

Pool View Double
Spectacular pool view rooms feature two double beds fitted with cozy down comforters & pillows as well as 300 thread count linens. Amenities include CD player, In room movies, TV & Complementary wireless internet. Bathrobes & spa bath products.
Pool View King
Spectacular pool view rooms feature one king size bed fitted with cozy down comforters & pillows as well as 300 thread count linens. Amenities include CD player, In room movies, TV & Complementary wireless internet. Bathrobes & spa bath products.
Classic Double
Rooms feature two double beds fitted with cozy down comforters & pillows as well as 300 thread count linens. Amenities include CD player, In room movies, TV & Complementary wireless internet. Bathrobes & spa bath products.
Classic King
Rooms feature one king size bed fitted with cozy down comforters & pillows as well as 300 thread count linens. Amenities include CD player, In room movies, TV & Complementary wireless internet. Bathrobes & spa bath products.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (257)

Ratings and reviews for Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
257 out of 257
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
2.8

46% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
OrandoAgent
Orlando, FL
Oct 13, 2013

NEVER AGAIN

What an over-priced dump! I stayed in double room during March. I thought I had stayed here many years ago and hated it. But I was late in booking and found almost nothing anywhere that had wifi for my friend in the room who needed it to work. The hotel said something like new ownership and remodeled and the lobby and front porch looked better. No way. Got there and instantly remembered. Sure enough the room was only up half a flight of stairs and down the hallway then a turn. The turn may have saved me a few decibels of sound but only a few from the front. The room was on the alley. The alley with many massive garbage dumpsters that got dumped even on Sunday. The black out blind was pulled and you couldn't open it due to the unbearable beating sun all day. The A/C never seemed to get any cooler. The water pressure was so weak on the sink that I couldn't throughly rinse my tooth brush. Forget about any pictures on the walls. They had painted on large rectangle of orange paint on the prison gray wall near my bed. Maybe a large picture was there once and they wanted to cover the dirt left under it and call it art. But if that is your idea of art, then pull the painter's tape off before it drips. The wifi connection was so weak that I got to hear my college friend of many years scream at his laptop, "Why isn't this working!?" all weekend. You also had to step over the other bed to get to the bathroom if he was sitting at the tiny desk to work. That first night was a Friday and for some reason this dump hotel had a bar in the lobby with live music that was SUPER LOUD til at least 3am. Why? Was that supposed to draw in the locals or tourists in a town filled with amazing clubs? The next day someone must have broken a bottle of cherry cough syrup in the hall to our room. The smell was just sickening. The spot remained on the carpet for the rest of the stay along with the stink. At $300 a night, you have got to be kidding. The only thing going for this hotel is the location. I will book next season so much earlier and never ever trust this dump again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't valet. Park at 17th street garage.

Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
EMFM
Business
Mexico City
Jul 31, 2013

24 Cockroach in the room at night!

My experience was terrible, the room was dirty, the bed, the pillows etc but the worst was the cockroach in the room, i kill 24 dirty things in 2 hours!!! in all the room inside the minibar too! the dont have a solution, they dont have another room. definetively was the most terrible experience in all my life for usd 264 per night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

All the night life of miami beach is near

Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling is my love
New York
Jul 24, 2013

Eh

This hotel is outdated. It needs special attention to detail. The only good thing about it, is the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to Mangos!

Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rayfan
Tampa
Jul 19, 2013

Use the door hanger

Nice hotel for a few days. Couldn't check in until 4 on day 1 and the housekeeping cleaned out my meds and computer power cord when they cleaned the room. However, they made most of if right in a couple of hours. My guess is they had to go dumpster diving.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Have a drink rather than trying to check in at 3.

Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Endrich
Queens, New York
Jun 13, 2013

Horrible!!!! WARNING!! DO NOT STAY HERE!

This hotel was filthy!!!!!!!! My room was infested with roaches!!! I changed my room THREE times and in every room there was something wrong. I had a room that did not lock, which means anyone was able to walk right into my room any time without the room key. The second room the air conditioner did not work, and then started making so much noise and after started to smell really bad. The TV in all of the rooms was not clear and all. All the three rooms had numerous amount of ROACHES!!!! IT WAS DISGUSTING. The gym is located in the basement and it was only a few machines in there but it looked like it wasnt clean for years. And the pool was also dirty! It had so many dead bugs in the pool, I dont know how this hotel is still up and running. Pls take my word of advice and DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!! THE PICS SHOWN IN THE WEBSITE IS NOT WHAT THE HOTEL SEEMS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Daniel O.
Sydney, Australia
Apr 30, 2013

You pay for what you get

A great budget accomodation option - You simply pay for what you get. If you can afford it, pay the price for greater quality accomodation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
iSam
NY
Apr 2, 2013

Terrible

The maintenance was very poor. My sheets were never changed, there was a leak in the ceiling and the sink was falling off the wall. No tub, and the view was awful. The staff was very rude, and hard to find half the time. I was constantly brushed off, or dismissed when I had a problem. They were roaches!!!! Everywhere. The pool wasnt clean, there are no microwaves to heat your food, and the fridge wasnt cold. Not to mention things were taken from my room including an iPhone charger, a beer, and a candy bar. Smh never going back! Wouldn't recommend this place to anyone. it is the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. Frankly it should be shut down for their poor service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Espanola way has the best Hispanic restaurants in south beach. Havana was my favorite. Authentic, Cuban food to die for.

Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
EddyLognhorn
Houston
Mar 17, 2013

Horrible hotel

Unless you are extremely broke and don't want to spend the night out on the street, don't stay at this hotel. The concierge was nowhere to be found for 30 minutes and the floors smell like they are wet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Reeta the traveller
St. Louis, Missouri
Feb 18, 2013

Unearable stay

We booked 2 nights stay in this hotel. As soon as we enter the hotel we knew hotel wasn't going to be good. Decor at the lobby looked 1* hotel. Once we came to to the room, it was cold. It was raining outside, temperature was really low. We called the front desk, they said somebody will come, nobody showed up. It was late night. They had air conditioner on all night. My brother is 75, just got out of neumonia. He was sleeping with wool cap on, sweater on. I was frozen, couldn't sleep all night. In the morning we decided to go to another hotel for 2nd night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sivadsivad
Brooklyn, NY
Dec 30, 2012

Great Getaway

Stayed at the hotel for a week and had an excellent time. The rooms are a decent size, and were very clean. (Would've been nice to have a few more cable channels, but that's no big deal.) Staff was very nice. Swimming pool is great early in the morning when there were plenty of chairs to lay out. Nice, basic gym in the basement and bar in the lobby area; there was usually a good number of people at the bar toward the end of the day but we were on the 2nd floor and couldn't hear a thing. There was a good mix of singles, couples, families and friends at the hotel. One block to the beach (3 blocks to the gay section of the beach), one block to Espanola Way & four blocks from Lincoln Road. It was a great place, I had a great time and would definitely recommend it as a place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If possible, decide what you want to eat online, then head to your destination, unless you don't mind being accosted by countless hostesses trying to get you to eat at their restaurant.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search