$67 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

Carlton Hotel, South Beach

3 stars
1433 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
394 reviews
Perfect place to stay for the beach

This is a nice little beach hotel with a very friendly staff. The location is great and you can... See full review

  • Thankslb
  • Apr 8, 2014
Best Place To Stay

All in all I love this hotel every year that I come to Miami I stay at this hotel I would... See full review

  • Gibson Forever Tanning
  • Jun 2, 2014
Boutique stay in South Beach with minimalist design, pool and more

The Carlton Hotel, South Beach is located in Miami's trendy South Beach area. Crisp, clean lines greet guests in this Art Deco masterpiece. The beach is less than a block away, and Miami's top nightclubs are within easy reach. The hotel has a range of facilities including an Olympic-sized swimming pool with sun loungers and tropical gardens. The hotel also provides beach towels and tour and area information services. An onsite cafe serves breakfast and lunch. Wi-Fi Internet access is complimentary through the Carlton Hotel, South Beach property.

Reasons to stay
  • Located in Miami's swanky South Beach area, famous for its beach, art-deco architecture and vibrant night life
  • Great amenities including free Wi-Fi and Olympic-sized swimming pool
  • VIP passes to local nightclubs, and easy access to restaurants, galleries and shopping
  • Meeting space for up to 45 guests
Carlton Hotel South Beach rooms

The Carlton Hotel, South Beach rooms are stylish and chic with a range of amenities. Find crisp whites everywhere, from the textured blankets to bedside candles. And with lava lamps, white sofas and funky green chairs, the rooms have an ambience that is in keeping with the trendy South Beach area, and fresh-cut flowers such as birds of paradise add vibrancy. All The Carlton Hotel, South Beach rooms have flat-screen televisions with premium satellite channels, CD players, mini-bar, walk-in closets and coffee makers. Bathrooms offer natural bath products and waffle-weave bathrobes. The hotel has three types of rooms: deluxe double queen, deluxe king and superior double queen, all with Egyptian cotton down comforters. Some of the rooms have views of the swimming pool. Wi-Fi Internet access is complimentary.

Things to do nearby
  • Espanola Way (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Mansion Miami (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Ocean Drive (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Lummus Park (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Lincoln Road (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Art Deco Historic District (0.7 mi/1.3 km)
  • Miami Beach Botanical Garden (0.9 mi/ 1.5 km)
  • Collins Avenue (4.0 mi/6.4 km)

Hotel Map

25.7865 -80.1303
Area served
Miami Beach, FL
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport and Ft. Lauderdale Airport.
Area description
The Carlton South Beach is just 15 minutes from the glamorous shops of Coconut Grove, Bal Harbor and Bayside. It take a mere 5 minutes to get to the Miami sea port and 20 minutes from the Miami International Airport by car.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Carlton Hotel, South Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Carlton Hotel, South Beach Rooms

Pool View Double
Spectacular pool view rooms feature two double beds fitted with cozy down comforters & pillows as well as 300 thread count linens. Amenities include CD player, In room movies, TV & Complementary wireless internet. Bathrobes & spa bath products.
Pool View King
Spectacular pool view rooms feature one king size bed fitted with cozy down comforters & pillows as well as 300 thread count linens. Amenities include CD player, In room movies, TV & Complementary wireless internet. Bathrobes & spa bath products.
Classic Double
Rooms feature two double beds fitted with cozy down comforters & pillows as well as 300 thread count linens. Amenities include CD player, In room movies, TV & Complementary wireless internet. Bathrobes & spa bath products.
Classic King
Rooms feature one king size bed fitted with cozy down comforters & pillows as well as 300 thread count linens. Amenities include CD player, In room movies, TV & Complementary wireless internet. Bathrobes & spa bath products.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (394)

Ratings and reviews for Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
394 out of 394
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
2.8

45% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rayfan
Tampa
Jul 19, 2013

Use the door hanger

Nice hotel for a few days. Couldn't check in until 4 on day 1 and the housekeeping cleaned out my meds and computer power cord when they cleaned the room. However, they made most of if right in a couple of hours. My guess is they had to go dumpster diving.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Have a drink rather than trying to check in at 3.

Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Endrich
Queens, New York
Jun 13, 2013

Horrible!!!! WARNING!! DO NOT STAY HERE!

This hotel was filthy!!!!!!!! My room was infested with roaches!!! I changed my room THREE times and in every room there was something wrong. I had a room that did not lock, which means anyone was able to walk right into my room any time without the room key. The second room the air conditioner did not work, and then started making so much noise and after started to smell really bad. The TV in all of the rooms was not clear and all. All the three rooms had numerous amount of ROACHES!!!! IT WAS DISGUSTING. The gym is located in the basement and it was only a few machines in there but it looked like it wasnt clean for years. And the pool was also dirty! It had so many dead bugs in the pool, I dont know how this hotel is still up and running. Pls take my word of advice and DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!! THE PICS SHOWN IN THE WEBSITE IS NOT WHAT THE HOTEL SEEMS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
iSam
NY
Apr 2, 2013

Terrible

The maintenance was very poor. My sheets were never changed, there was a leak in the ceiling and the sink was falling off the wall. No tub, and the view was awful. The staff was very rude, and hard to find half the time. I was constantly brushed off, or dismissed when I had a problem. They were roaches!!!! Everywhere. The pool wasnt clean, there are no microwaves to heat your food, and the fridge wasnt cold. Not to mention things were taken from my room including an iPhone charger, a beer, and a candy bar. Smh never going back! Wouldn't recommend this place to anyone. it is the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. Frankly it should be shut down for their poor service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Espanola way has the best Hispanic restaurants in south beach. Havana was my favorite. Authentic, Cuban food to die for.

Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
EddyLognhorn
Houston
Mar 17, 2013

Horrible hotel

Unless you are extremely broke and don't want to spend the night out on the street, don't stay at this hotel. The concierge was nowhere to be found for 30 minutes and the floors smell like they are wet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Reeta the traveller
St. Louis, Missouri
Feb 18, 2013

Unearable stay

We booked 2 nights stay in this hotel. As soon as we enter the hotel we knew hotel wasn't going to be good. Decor at the lobby looked 1* hotel. Once we came to to the room, it was cold. It was raining outside, temperature was really low. We called the front desk, they said somebody will come, nobody showed up. It was late night. They had air conditioner on all night. My brother is 75, just got out of neumonia. He was sleeping with wool cap on, sweater on. I was frozen, couldn't sleep all night. In the morning we decided to go to another hotel for 2nd night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sivadsivad
Brooklyn, NY
Dec 30, 2012

Great Getaway

Stayed at the hotel for a week and had an excellent time. The rooms are a decent size, and were very clean. (Would've been nice to have a few more cable channels, but that's no big deal.) Staff was very nice. Swimming pool is great early in the morning when there were plenty of chairs to lay out. Nice, basic gym in the basement and bar in the lobby area; there was usually a good number of people at the bar toward the end of the day but we were on the 2nd floor and couldn't hear a thing. There was a good mix of singles, couples, families and friends at the hotel. One block to the beach (3 blocks to the gay section of the beach), one block to Espanola Way & four blocks from Lincoln Road. It was a great place, I had a great time and would definitely recommend it as a place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If possible, decide what you want to eat online, then head to your destination, unless you don't mind being accosted by countless hostesses trying to get you to eat at their restaurant.

Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Psyduck
DC
Dec 28, 2012

Quality at a low price

The Carlton is located on Collins AV almost at Espanola Way. Across the street from Jerry's Deli and Grill Fish good dining is steps away. Perhaps more importantly, the beach is one short block away. The rooms are pretty basic but very comfortable. The staff is mst gracious and helpful, the free wi-fi strong and the pool is very nice. I We stayed over Xmas and the price was surprisingly low. I'll be back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Jerry's Deli is NY south. Huge menue, Best corned beef for over a thousand miles. All in Soth Beach's best example of Art-Deco Splendor

Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
EddyLognhorn
Houston
Dec 3, 2012

Horrible Place

If I would have known the conditions of this hotel I wouldn't have stayed there. I waited at the lobby for 45 minutes because the concierge was no where to be found. There seemed to be no ac in the lobby. The halls stink and the paint on the walls is cracking. The floors squeak and the doors don't shut automatically. My room had the smell of a place that has had water damage. This place isn't worth a penny. Don't sacrifice quality over price , book in advance somewhere else and save money that way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
johnmcprice
new york
Aug 18, 2012

great location

close from the gay beach, this hotel is perfect. it s been the second time i stayed at the carlton hotel. sleek modern not the plush one but so convenient and very very fair for the price i paid in august. they propose plenty of activities...including the vip limo tour with happy hour. luv it and i ll go back. thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pretty eyes
Miami, fl
Aug 1, 2012

Vacation

My stay was great. Staff was friendly, rooms were clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top