$234 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 2, 2015

Carlton Hotel, South Beach

3 stars
1433 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
255 reviews
Perfect place to stay for the beach

This is a nice little beach hotel with a very friendly staff. The location is great and you can... See full review

  • Thankslb
  • Apr 8, 2014
great vacation spot

Great location to everything you would want. No car needed See full review

  • Charles W.
  • Dec 23, 2014
Boutique stay in South Beach with minimalist design, pool and more

The Carlton Hotel, South Beach is located in Miami's trendy South Beach area, in the heart of the Art Deco district. The beach is less than a block away, and Miami's top nightclubs are within easy reach. This 1938 restored hotel has a range of facilities including an Olympic-sized swimming pool with sun loungers and tropical gardens. The hotel also provides complimentary property-wide Wi-Fi access and meeting rooms that can host for up to 45 people. 

Reasons to stay
  • Located in Miami's swanky South Beach area, famous for its beach, art-deco architecture and vibrant night life
  • Olympic-sized swimming pool
  • Easy access to restaurants, galleries and shopping
  • Meeting space for up to 45 guests
Carlton Hotel South Beach rooms

The Carlton Hotel, South Beach rooms are stylish and chic with a range of amenities. Find crisp whites everywhere, from the textured blankets to All The Carlton Hotel, South Beach rooms have flat-screen TV with premium satellite channels, free Wi-Fi access, safe deposit box, hair dryer, iron/ironing board and coffeemaker. Bathrooms offer natural bath products and waffle-weave bathrobes. The hotel has three types of rooms: deluxe double queen, deluxe king and superior double queen, all with Egyptian cotton down comforters. Some of the rooms have views of the swimming pool. 

Things to do nearby
  • Espanola Way (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Mansion Miami (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Ocean Drive (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Lummus Park (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Lincoln Road (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Art Deco Historic District (0.7 mi/1.3 km)
  • Miami Beach Botanical Garden (0.9 mi/ 1.5 km)
  • Collins Avenue (4.0 mi/6.4 km)
Policies and Fees

  • A nightly resort fee of $14.14 USD will be charged. (Inclusive of beach and pool towels, local phone calls and Wi-Fi access).
  • A credit card authorization amounting to $150 USD is required at check-in for incidentals and damages. Return of this amount may take 7 to 10 days after check-out.
  • Guests should be 21 years old and above to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Carlton Hotel, South Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Carlton Hotel, South Beach Rooms

Pool View Double
Spectacular pool view rooms feature two double beds fitted with cozy down comforters & pillows as well as 300 thread count linens. Amenities include wireless internet, bathrobes & spa bath products.
Pool View King
Spectacular pool view rooms feature one king size bed fitted with cozy down comforters & pillows as well as 300 thread count linens. Amenities include wireless internet, bathrobes & spa bath products.
Classic Double
Rooms feature two double beds fitted with cozy down comforters & pillows as well as 300 thread count linens. Amenities include wireless internet, bathrobes & spa bath products.
Classic King
Rooms feature one king size bed fitted with cozy down comforters & pillows as well as 300 thread count linens. Amenities include wireless internet, bathrobes & spa bath products.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (255)

Ratings and reviews for Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
255 out of 255
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
2.8

45% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 7, 2008

worth it to stay elsewhere

I would pay the extra money and stay at the Sagamore. The bathrooms were gross dirty and small. We had hair on the floor of the bathroom and ripped sheets. When we called housekeeping they came up right away. But overall I think it's worth it to pay a little more for a nice hotel and ammenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

close to most nightlife and shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Silver Spring, MD
Aug 6, 2008

Unpleasant hotel stay

The exterior of the hotel, the location to attractions, restaurants, and the beach are wonderful. The staff was helpful and friendly. The actual hotel itself was not. When we first arrived, we were set off by the smell that filled the hotel. They say it is an aromatherapy, but it smells like extremely sweet fruit, that just doesn?t work. As we went to our room on the third floor, the carpets were stained throughout the hallway and things appeared very dingy looking. When we got into our room, we noticed there were very tiny ants crawling on our table under the television and on and in the sink and tub in the bathroom. We were able to be change rooms, but within a few days of staying there, construction began directly outside our first floor window. It was so close that you could hear the workers talking, not to mention when they started up their equipment at 7:30 each morning for three consecutive days, they made the building shake. Also, the only ice maker in the hotel was broken, so each time that we wanted ice, we had to go to the bar to get it. We were not at all impressed by this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach is very close. You will be there in less than five minutes. There are also restaurants and shopping all over.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Elmont, *
Jul 24, 2008

FUN TIME IN MIAMI SOUTH BEACH

happy upon arrival at room and pool and location. Staff was great bar made good drinks though a/c leaked on floor no issue as to comfort of room always cool and clean, a little water on the floor not noisy and flat screen was nice touch. would stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

great bars one nice local spot is to try monty's raw bar with live reaggae

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, *
Jul 23, 2008

very good

This hotel was very nice, especially for what we paid for. It is in a great location; close to many great restaurants, bars, and beach! In addition to many shopping stores. You could rent scooters, cars, or many other types of transportation. The hotel staff was very nice and helpful. The cleanliness of the room was good and the decor of the room and hotel was what I expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is across the street from Jerry's Famous Deli, which has great food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kingston, *
Jul 14, 2008

Different

The hotel was decorated differently than most hotels I have stayed in. It was decorated uniquely but I liked it. The downfall was that our bed linens had stains on them and so did the towels that we had in the room. The location was great, so close to everything and offered free passes to different clubs different days of the week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Numerous restaurants nearby, only a brief walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami
Jun 18, 2008

very nice

the hotel was very clean and smelled good. the room i stayed in was well kept and clean. the only problem i had was with the construction that was going on next to the hotel it was very very loud and they started like at 7-8am in the morning which was annoying. but overall the service was good i would stay there again when i visit hopefully the construction next door would be completed by then. the location was within walking distance of the beach surrounding clubs, bars, and fine dinning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there was a 24 hour dinner dierctly across the street which was very convenient food was great

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Howard Beach
Jun 16, 2008

few complaints - overall nice

The female staff was nicer than the male staff attendants, but it was a quick chech-in and check-out. The pool area seemed nice and clean, even though I didn't go in it. The area is in the heart of SoBe/MIA Bch. It has the beach a block away, shopping about 10 blocks away on Collins Ave., hotels everywhere, clubs all around you on Washington Ave., even a strip club near by, a 24 hr. diner across the street, happy hours all around, and restaurants galour on Ocean Ave. My particular room had a front view of Collins Ave. which was nice, but what was not nice was that we couldn't get any sunlight due to both of our shades not working. You couldn't pull them up. When we went outside I saw other shades up in other ppl's rooms, so that upset me. The room was very dim, especially since one of the nightlights next to the bed was not working. It was a nice experience, overall, besides those two blunders. The room was very clean when we arrived. The cleaning staff supplied us w/ fresh towels, and when we didn't want to be bothered, she left us alone. The hotel had a musky potpouri scent in the lobby and hallways that I didn't care for, but as long as my room didn't smell like that, it was all good. The female bar waitress hooked up the drinks when she realized that I was an excellent tipper. We got the daily paper every morning, but the breakfast was continental. I'm not trying to have bagels and cereal when I go on vacation. I'll leave that for the birds. There are some great breakfast spots for only $4.95 on Ocean Ave. where I enjoyed 1/2 price cocktails before heading into the crystal clear water of Miami Beach. I felt very safe leaving my goods on the beach next to the lifeguard while I enjoyed the low tide deep in the water that particular day with my boyfriend. Needless to say, we enjoyed ourselves to the extent in the water with no one as far out as we were to bother us. A few choppers in the air may have gotten a thrill, but the beach was never over-crowded. There was a hater flocking by who tried to splash me while doggy-paddling, because I obviosly looked beter than her in a thong, but you will get that anywhere. I will definitly go back to SoBe soon enough, maybe even within the next month.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There is nightlife all arouund you. Whether is't restaurants, bars, longes, comedy, straight, gay, or strip clubs you are lookin for, it's all walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 9, 2008

When I called ahead, I ...

When I called ahead, I was told there was a mini-fridge in the room. Mini-fridge really meant a mini-bar that you have to pay to use, so the perishable food my friends and I brought had to be thrown out. All the front desk people (except the nightshift dude) had major attitudes. Our toilet and airconditioner were seriously leaking, and no one responded to our calls. Terrible storage space. We didn't even have anywhere to lay out our towels after the beach (one hook in the bathroom only, and no chairs). All of our towels and sheets had big brownish and yellow stains. Basically, this hotel was really gross, and I've stayed in really cheap hotels on Collins before. The Carlton tries to be all modern in its design, but the minimalist approach is really impractical for a beach hotel. And everything was so bright and white that we felt like we'd been institutionalized--not comfortable at all. Don't stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Friendswood
May 28, 2008

Great price getaway

The Carlton Hotel is located in the middle of the South Beach Art Deco District. Most clubs, sobe attractions, i.e. Lincoln Rd. Mall, are within a few blocks and walking distance. The room, which was a corner room, had a very comfortable king size bed. The only draw back was there was some construction in the adjacent alley and warehouse during the day, but did not distract too much since I was mostly out of the hotel room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach is one block away. Close to many shops, restaurants and night life.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NEW BRUNSWICK
May 11, 2008

Carlton Hotel is ok

When we checked in the staff was very helpful but when we got to our room we noticed the previous guests had thrown up on the floor. You can tell they attempted to clean the room but missed a huge spot underneath a chair. When we requested a new room the staff tried to make us stay in the room, telling us they will clean it asap. We had to complain twice to get a new room. But the room that they did end up giving us was much larger. There is absolutely no smoking in this hotel. They will actually charge you $250 if they catch you smoking. The hotel is atleast 8 blocks away from all the action. So if you don't mind the walk and you don't smoke this is a good hotel to stay at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Whichever direction you walk there is something to do.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top