Carlton Hotel, South Beach

3 stars
View map of 1433 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
207 out of 207
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.1
Comfort:
2.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
2.9

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Davidfaith
Single
Mckinney,TX
Dec 15, 2010

Calton Beach hotel is fake!

The hotel claimed to give the guest free breakfast in the morning during booking but it was fake and humliating. I was humiliated and embarassed with the fake policy in the hotel. You need to pay $150 with your credit card for authorisation before you are allow into the room which is not mention in the booking parkage and you even beg and beg to pay cash but all they want is credit card and you have to plead and plead for almost everything. The hotel is horrible and counterfeit. I was waiting at the counter for two hours without entrance into the room all because I dont have credit card. I pleaded to pay in cash but all to no avail until after two hours of standing and pleading. and imagine a long day flight from Dallas and all the journey to get to miami!!. I will never recommend my enemy to that hotel not even my dog!.. the whole thing shattered my vacation, it was a mess. Please, do something about it! otherwise, it may jeopardise your outstanding reputations and services. David

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

south Beach view

Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gelly
Couples
Baltimore,MD
Dec 14, 2010

Not what i expected

Horrible customer service. No microwave, no heat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Mango's

Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Ohio
Dec 8, 2010

The pictures are misleading

The beds are not queen. The room smelled and carpet was dirty. The hotel doesnt look like pics at all. The staff was very rude. I would not stay again or refer to a friend!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Is close to beach, the only good thing!!!

Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Chicago, IL
Nov 29, 2010

Good Location-Tiny Rooms

The location is great because it's right on the beach and within walking distance of everything. However, the rooms are very tiny. Pay the extra money for the bigger room. The bathroom is the size of a closet. But, the rooms were clean. Good for if you just need a place to sleep. The pool is decent as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pera
Couples
San Francisco
Nov 27, 2010

Good location

Old and noisy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
maylu22
Family
Levittown, NY
Nov 25, 2010

not what we expected

Me and my Family went to south beach for vacations, when we enter the hotel it looked it wasn't very welll kept, then when we enter our room, it wasn't anything like the pictures shown in the web, room is super small, old and out dated, the bathroom was super tiny also,the rug was so dirty that my son socks or feet turned black every time he walked around the room. Wven though it was not a horrible expirience i would not go back to the Carlton Hotel nor recommend any one to go, specially someone with small children. the only pro of the hotel it is the location, walking distance from everything

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DJ Dave
Family
Scotland
Nov 9, 2010

Please chose another hotel

This hotel looks good from the pictures, and not too bad from the outside, shame it quickly goes downhill once you get inside.We had two rooms booked, according to the unhelpful staff we only had one. After a good 20 minutes that got sorted out.Once in our room, we found windows that were silliconed shut, with black mould round them. Our bathroom had no opening window or an extractor fan, so showering resulted in lots of steam going into the bedroom.Breakfast was included in the price, unfotunatly the staff didnt believe me, i had to produce a copy of the [...] invoice to prove it. Then breakfast was served on paper plates!The staff were unhelpful & uninterested in any problem, of which there were plenty.I wouldnt advise anyone to use this hotel.There are better £30 a night B+B's in Blackpool.This hotel sucks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Check the price of drinks before ordering. We were charged $42 for two mahitos!!

Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Scotland
Nov 3, 2010

Dont use this hotel

This hotel looks great in the photos, and it wasnt expensive, but thats where the good points end.[...]The room my partner & I shared was decently furnished and was clean enough. The bathroom though was grubby with no opening window and no extractor fan, so using the shower resulted in a build up of steam which had nowhere to go other than back into the main bedroom. The window had been silliconed shut and had lots of black mould around it.[...]The breakfast we eventually got was served on paper plates!!The staff were unhelpful & arrogant, i got the impression that none of them wanted to be there.If your planning to stay in Miami, id recommend avoiding this hotel at all costs. It was cheap, but ive stayed in plenty simmilerly priced hotels (and a few ever cheaper ones) and had much better service.It was the worst hotel ive ever stayed in. I wont be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you have plenty cash, we paid $42 for 2 drinks in a cuban bar

Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pretty Wonderful
Friends
Louisville KY
Nov 1, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

Great location to beach, restaurants, night clubs, and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Andy not from Mayberry
Friends
Viroqua, WI
Oct 31, 2010

Not the Ritz Carlton

My friend and I went shopping, enjoyed the beach and people watching. It was rather disturbing at the Carlton-the first room the door lock was messed up so we were put in another room which was dirty-dust bunny's on the ceiling-makeup smeared on the guest robes-ceiling fan dusty-air conditioner broke and outlets didn't work-we finally got a decent room a day before checkout.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Great Shopping

Back to menu Return to top