$95 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 20, 2014 Check-out: Dec 21, 2014

Carlton Hotel, South Beach

3 stars
1433 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
253 reviews
Perfect place to stay for the beach

This is a nice little beach hotel with a very friendly staff. The location is great and you can... See full review

  • Thankslb
  • Apr 8, 2014
Not Bad At All.

Great location near beach. Just 1 block away. Very convenient. See full review

  • Lafourcade
  • Aug 31, 2014
Boutique stay in South Beach with minimalist design, pool and more

The Carlton Hotel, South Beach is located in Miami's trendy South Beach area, in the heart of the Art Deco district. The beach is less than a block away, and Miami's top nightclubs are within easy reach. This 1938 restored hotel has a range of facilities including an Olympic-sized swimming pool with sun loungers and tropical gardens. The hotel also provides complimentary property-wide Wi-Fi access and meeting rooms that can host for up to 45 people. 

Reasons to stay
  • Located in Miami's swanky South Beach area, famous for its beach, art-deco architecture and vibrant night life
  • Olympic-sized swimming pool
  • Easy access to restaurants, galleries and shopping
  • Meeting space for up to 45 guests
Carlton Hotel South Beach rooms

The Carlton Hotel, South Beach rooms are stylish and chic with a range of amenities. Find crisp whites everywhere, from the textured blankets to All The Carlton Hotel, South Beach rooms have flat-screen TV with premium satellite channels, free Wi-Fi access, safe deposit box, hair dryer, iron/ironing board and coffeemaker. Bathrooms offer natural bath products and waffle-weave bathrobes. The hotel has three types of rooms: deluxe double queen, deluxe king and superior double queen, all with Egyptian cotton down comforters. Some of the rooms have views of the swimming pool. 

Things to do nearby
  • Espanola Way (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Mansion Miami (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Ocean Drive (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Lummus Park (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Lincoln Road (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Art Deco Historic District (0.7 mi/1.3 km)
  • Miami Beach Botanical Garden (0.9 mi/ 1.5 km)
  • Collins Avenue (4.0 mi/6.4 km)
Policies and Fees

  • A nightly resort fee of $14.14 USD will be charged. (Inclusive of beach and pool towels, local phone calls and Wi-Fi access).
  • A credit card authorization amounting to $150 USD is required at check-in for incidentals and damages. Return of this amount may take 7 to 10 days after check-out.
  • Guests should be 21 years old and above to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Carlton Hotel, South Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Carlton Hotel, South Beach Rooms

Pool View Double
Spectacular pool view rooms feature two double beds fitted with cozy down comforters & pillows as well as 300 thread count linens. Amenities include wireless internet, bathrobes & spa bath products.
Pool View King
Spectacular pool view rooms feature one king size bed fitted with cozy down comforters & pillows as well as 300 thread count linens. Amenities include wireless internet, bathrobes & spa bath products.
Classic Double
Rooms feature two double beds fitted with cozy down comforters & pillows as well as 300 thread count linens. Amenities include wireless internet, bathrobes & spa bath products.
Classic King
Rooms feature one king size bed fitted with cozy down comforters & pillows as well as 300 thread count linens. Amenities include wireless internet, bathrobes & spa bath products.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (253)

Ratings and reviews for Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
253 out of 253
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
2.8

45% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
KEY WEST
Jan 10, 2011

HOTEL CARLTON MIAMI

DINE& WINE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

CLOSE TO WHERE YOU WANTED TO BE,NOISY ALL NIGHT,THE WINDOWS WERE DIRTY ,YOU COULD HARDLY SEE THROUGH

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DJ Scandalous
Business
Newport Beach, CA
Jan 6, 2011

Horrid!

I was in South Beach on business. It makes absolutely no sense for me to fill out the hotel application and three minutes later one of the co-workers yells out "go back to LA!". The room is small, the bed is uncomfortable, the toilet has to be flushed several times, it takes 10 minutes for the water to get hot in the shower and the windows don't open, nor have they been cleaned in months, possibly years. The best characteristic The hotel has is it's location. Enough said.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Be careful. People are wild and yell quite often.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mexico
Jan 4, 2011

Good

Its good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hildann
Business
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Dec 28, 2010

Miami Christmas Vacation

Fine. A little busy with the registration and check out, but in general - good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Don n Karli
Business
Buffalo, NY
Dec 26, 2010

terrible vacation hotel

the service sucked. the employees at the bar were ridiculously annoying with trying to get us to drink. the carpets in the room were stained. the view was horrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

club mansion

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
alaska
Dec 24, 2010

bad and ugly

the room was terrible.the front desk was rude, internet didn't work in the room and they made me pay for it any way. the t.v. channels didn't come in very well, called the front desk they said theyed send someone up and never did. over all i would never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Iron sushi, great food great price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
GBML
Business
Ann Arbor. MI
Dec 24, 2010

Bad Hotel

1. Very noisy => Bad sleeping 2. Not very clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Dec 19, 2010

Pay For Everything

I booked my flight to Miami early in the morning so I could use the day to tour around. When arrived to a hotel, it turns out I can't check in until 3pm. Left my bag by the reception area (not protected, anyone could grab it and leave) and went for a walk on a beach in my winter clothes (didn't have a room to change and refresh, yet) eat breakfast and return to a hotel hopeing I could check in earlier. NO WAY. Went for another walk around the city, and for a lunch. Returned tired and exhausted, and waited in the lobby till 3pm. While checking in, I was asked to sing some "agreement" with many hidden charges. When booking a hotel I was sure there was a free internet, breakfast etc. Everything you have to pay for. Internet, coffee, water, beach towels, and breakfast was not included. Since I was tired I went to bed early and call from my room requesting a WAKE-UP CALL at 8:30am. Alarm clock in my cell phone woke me up at 8:15 and until 9am when I left my room noone call me to wake me up. What's the point of requesting it??? Walking in and out of a hotell was a hassle everytime. morning and afternoon there are 2 people sitting outside bothering you to buy the "trips" they offer, and afternoon and night the bartender is pushing a promotion for a pre-party. No matter how many times you say NO anytime you pass by the door they will ask again - SO ANNOYING. Bed Sheets were so dirty, and towels with stains. Smelled not bad, but they were not cleaned, just refreshed. They either need a new ones, or put them in a bleach for a while. In the bathroom - one little soap, conditioner and shampoo. Not replaced for the whole trip. If you have a long hair, it's a one-time-use thing. No shower gel. No extra blanket. One day was so cold and there's no heat, just AC in a room. Last day, since my friends and I had no breakfast included, we packed our bags and went out to grab a coffee and something to eat. When we returned to pick up our luggage, we couldn't go back to our rooms. They deactivated our keys. Check-out was not untill 12, and at 10 am we were locked out of our rooms. Windows look like they are about to fell off, and you can hear anything that's happening outside. That means I didn't sleep for the whole trip, because pre-party party was untill 12, and post-party party after 3am, and and motorcycle and car on the street could be heard in my room. The only positive things about this hotel were the location and price. It's close to the beach. However thinking about it now... there are so many hotels in that area, even closer. Price - after all it turned out not so cheap. Better pay more, have your breakfast included, and sleep during the night. The area around the hotel is so expensive, so add about 10 bucks for breakfast with coffee outside the hotel. Carlton requires some improvements. I'm sure I will not return to that place again in the future. I want to enjoy my vacations, not to be annoyed, tired and worry about unnecessary things. PS, they have a pool, but we didn't even go there. NO FOOD AND DRINKS ALLOWED IN POOL AREA. Pool not small but can't say if it's clean because didn't get thet close.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close To The Beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Davidfaith
Business
Mckinney,TX
Dec 15, 2010

Calton Beach hotel is fake!

The hotel claimed to give the guest free breakfast in the morning during booking but it was fake and humliating. I was humiliated and embarassed with the fake policy in the hotel. You need to pay $150 with your credit card for authorisation before you are allow into the room which is not mention in the booking parkage and you even beg and beg to pay cash but all they want is credit card and you have to plead and plead for almost everything. The hotel is horrible and counterfeit. I was waiting at the counter for two hours without entrance into the room all because I dont have credit card. I pleaded to pay in cash but all to no avail until after two hours of standing and pleading. and imagine a long day flight from Dallas and all the journey to get to miami!!. I will never recommend my enemy to that hotel not even my dog!.. the whole thing shattered my vacation, it was a mess. Please, do something about it! otherwise, it may jeopardise your outstanding reputations and services. David

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

south Beach view

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gelly
Business
Baltimore,MD
Dec 14, 2010

Not what i expected

Horrible customer service. No microwave, no heat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Mango's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top