$144 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2014 Check-out: Jul 17, 2014

Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection®

4 stars
944 Collins Avenue, 944 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
223 reviews
Awesome Staff

I have never been treated so good on Miami South Beach in my life. We live in Naples and go to... See full review

  • Cathie K
  • Mar 18, 2014
Over the Moon

The Blue Moon Autograph Collection is a gem in a worn down neighborhood. We stayed May 31- June 4,... See full review

  • Sunshine Dawn
  • Jun 5, 2013
Mediterranean sophistication at South Beach boutique hotel

This 75-room boutique hotel differentiates itself from other South Beach properties as more classically Mediterranean in style than Art Deco. The hotel turns on the charm with striped awnings and hand-painted tiles. It is close to South Beach clubs, boutiques, galleries and shops. Quiet courtyards, an outdoor splash pool and cascading waterfall paint the picture of a lovely tropical retreat. A martini bar sets the scene for afternoon and evening cocktails.

Highlights
  • Mediterranean-style hotel on chic Collins Avenue
  • Located in the Art Deco District
  • Outdoor splash pool
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Same-day dry cleaning and laundry service
Rooms


A collection of 72 rooms embrace breezy Florida style, with wicker furniture and black-and-white images of beach scenes grounding the space. The renovated rooms and suites each come with an armoire and sitting area, plus standard amenities such as plush bathrobes, safes and upscale European toiletries. Guests can access Wi-Fi for free.

Features

A courtyard layout lends a residential feel to this Collins Avenue hotel. The hotel  is within walking distance to major South Beach attractions. A palm-tree lined entrance and inner sanctums such as the outdoor splash pool and sundeck beckon with their serene settings.

Attractions
  • Art Deco District (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Washington Avenue (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Lummus Park (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Collins Avenue (0.3 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • Lincoln Road (0.8 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Miami Convention Center (7 mi/ 11.3 km)
Business
  • 2,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor function space, including two meeting rooms
  • Catering services
  • Free Wi-Fi
Policies and fees
  • The hotel charges a $10 daily resort fee that is payable directly to the property and includes continental breakfast, usage of beach towels and beach chairs, Wi-Fi, afternoon snack, discount coupons for local restaurant and gym, and a credit coupon for the Martini Bar.
  • Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on hotel policy.
  • Photo identification and credit card or cash deposit are required at check-in for incidentals charges.
  • Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur in additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed.
  • Guests who live in Florida must show proof of residency at check in to take advantage of special rates. If no identification is supplied, they might have to pay the differential at check in.
  • The Blue Moon Hotel will be undergoing Historical Restoration, to better improve their guest experiences.  This is expected to be completed by May 15, 2012.  Little or no guest inconvenience expected, all work will be completed between 10 am – 5 pm, Monday – Friday.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Sauna
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Drugstore
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection® also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

25.78 -80.1318
Area served
Miami Beach
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport, (MIA), 10.80, MI, E; Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood International Airport, (FLL), 28.70, MI, S; Palm Beach International Airport, (PBI), 72.30, MI, S;
Area description
Oceanfront

Dining

FIX
Enjoy locally influenced American dining at FIX, our signature hotel restaurant. We offer a casual South Beach atmosphere and carefully crafted cuisine with a Miami flair.
Blue Moon Lounge
The Blue Moon Lounge is pleased to offer a full wine, beer and cocktail list, as well as seasonal light fare. It's a wonderful place to start (or to end) your evening on Collins Avenue.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (223)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection®

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
223 out of 223
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection®

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Brickell
Business
West Palm Beach, FL
Dec 16, 2009

Blue Moon Dec. 2009

The check-in process was very slow. With no guests in the lobby, the entire process took over 15 minutes; as it first appeared i didn't have a reservation. This would not have been so bad, but the staff was unfriendly and the parking fee of $27 per day seemed a little excessive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection®

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ranju
Baltimore, MD
Jul 29, 2007

Good Location, Cheap Price

Blue Moon was a good location because it was only 1 block from the beach. I would have preferred better linens in the room because the dull yellow gave a really boring feeling. There were only a few hangers and the bed was not very comfortable. The continental breakfast was not bad, they had fresh waffles and bagles, cereal, fruits, yogurt, juice but horrible coffee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Atlantic Grille is only 1 block away and has delicious $15 NY Strip steak.

Review of Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection®

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 29, 2008

We upgraded our room to a ...

We upgraded our room to a deluxe only to be told later there really isn't a difference in the rooms. The room was a far cry from the stylishly decorated in tropical colors as boasted. It faced the street and it was very loud...until 5AM! The hotel's ice machine was broken the whole weekend, so they didn't provide ice for the rooms. The cold breakfast was poor, especially considering a block away was a hot breakfast for $3.99! The valet charges were very high, $25. per day per car. Top it all off, by boyfriends wallet was stolen for his glove box while in the valets care. Return trip?? I think not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many nice restaurants.

Review of Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection®

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Michigan
May 5, 2010

Moldy Hotel

It was awful. There are no amenities with this hotel and the rooms and hotel hallways smell like a mildew basement. The rooms were so small and there was so much moisture in the room. The bathrooms had no counter space and or exhaust fans. The windows did not open and the view was horrible. I would never ever stay at the hotel again in my life. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection®

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Michigan
May 5, 2010

Moldy Hotel

It was awful. There are no amenities with this hotel and the rooms and hotel hallways smell like a mildew basement. The rooms were so small and there was so much moisture in the room. The bathrooms had no counter space and or exhaust fans. The windows did not open and the view was horrible. I would never ever stay at the hotel again in my life. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection®

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 29, 2008

We upgraded our room to a ...

We upgraded our room to a deluxe only to be told later there really isn't a difference in the rooms. The room was a far cry from the stylishly decorated in tropical colors as boasted. It faced the street and it was very loud...until 5AM! The hotel's ice machine was broken the whole weekend, so they didn't provide ice for the rooms. The cold breakfast was poor, especially considering a block away was a hot breakfast for $3.99! The valet charges were very high, $25. per day per car. Top it all off, by boyfriends wallet was stolen for his glove box while in the valets care. Return trip?? I think not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many nice restaurants.

Review of Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection®

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Beach Traveler 007
Business
Atlanta
Jun 13, 2013

Blue Moon stay- June 10 &11

This is one of the old hotels in the area that is in need of 90% overhaul. Air conditioning in the room(s) "roars" with very little cooling, therefore, humidity level is high and everything feels sticky. Hallways & rooms have the stench of mildew & the days gone by of cigarette smoke (no kidding). Asked for someone to check out my room a/c - nothing happened. Its hot in S. FL and for these prices, a/c is a must. Hotel parking is $27.50/night w/slow valet service that nearly insists on tips. Street parking is inconvenient, expensive you'll get ticketed if not following the letter of the law. Look elsewhere for a place in this nice area of S. Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection®

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
made man
philadelaphia pa
Oct 3, 2009

unhappy stay

room was very small didn't have a microwave in the rm. had other guest fighting and shouting in hallway @ 1:51am in the morning while me and my wife trying to sleep. The next day while me and the wife trying to make the best of the trip, the hotel started painting in the next rm to us with fumes coming into rm and hallway.Didn't have shower caps for my wife. also for breakfast was bad they didn't have any hot foods only waffles which you had to make yourself. Carpets in room not clean and paint peeling off the walls. while me and the wife trying to relax,hotel staff comes and knocks on door to see if we use any of the hotel snacks & drinks which they charge you anyway if used. hotel room didn't have any cable channels at all. The only good time we had was outside of the hotel. Plus charges 7.00$ a day for snacks which you only got peanut butter crackers & juice, also 5.95$ to use the internet. no happy hour just 5.00$ off your bill for drinks @ the bar each day. you had to go outside the hotel to enjoy yourself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

makesure you take a pair of sneakers

Review of Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection®

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Brickell
Business
West Palm Beach, FL
Dec 16, 2009

Blue Moon Dec. 2009

The check-in process was very slow. With no guests in the lobby, the entire process took over 15 minutes; as it first appeared i didn't have a reservation. This would not have been so bad, but the staff was unfriendly and the parking fee of $27 per day seemed a little excessive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection®

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
made man
philadelaphia pa
Oct 3, 2009

unhappy stay

room was very small didn't have a microwave in the rm. had other guest fighting and shouting in hallway @ 1:51am in the morning while me and my wife trying to sleep. The next day while me and the wife trying to make the best of the trip, the hotel started painting in the next rm to us with fumes coming into rm and hallway.Didn't have shower caps for my wife. also for breakfast was bad they didn't have any hot foods only waffles which you had to make yourself. Carpets in room not clean and paint peeling off the walls. while me and the wife trying to relax,hotel staff comes and knocks on door to see if we use any of the hotel snacks & drinks which they charge you anyway if used. hotel room didn't have any cable channels at all. The only good time we had was outside of the hotel. Plus charges 7.00$ a day for snacks which you only got peanut butter crackers & juice, also 5.95$ to use the internet. no happy hour just 5.00$ off your bill for drinks @ the bar each day. you had to go outside the hotel to enjoy yourself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

makesure you take a pair of sneakers

Back to menu Return to top