$199 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 4, 2015 Check-out: Feb 5, 2015

Avalon Hotel

4 stars
700 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
80 reviews
Good hotel!

Very efficient staff. Good valet parking. Good location close to tons of restaurants. See full review

  • Myles F.
  • Dec 29, 2014
Feels like home

When I first got to Avalon I wasn't suppose to check in until 3pm but when I arrived to Florida for... See full review

  • M.Yang
  • May 19, 2014
Beachfront boutique hotel on Miami's legendary Ocean Drive.

Guests at this Ocean Drive hotel have a front row seat to South Beach nightlife. The famous coastline is directly across from the property. Visitors can dine alfresco at sidewalk tables at A Fish Called Avalon, a nod to the 80s movie of the same name. The boutique hotel wears its Art Deco jewels proudly, starting with the green neon sign that casts a bright glow over the patio umbrellas and palm trees. Rooms echo South Beach minimalism, with rectangular windows that open to let the breezes in.

Highlights
  • Art Deco boutique hotel on famous Ocean Drive
  • Sidewalk dining at a Fish Called Avalon
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Pool privileges at sister property, the South Seas Hotel
Rooms

Rooms -- available in superior, partial view and beachfront versions -- echo the streamlined look of other Art Deco hotels. Gray bolster pillows throw a dash of color onto 350-count Egyptian cotton duvets. Wood headboards and nightstands anchor the room. Horizontal window panes open to Ocean Drive, adding retro Florida flair. LCD flat-screen TVs, EO Essential bath and skin care products, free Wi-Fi and local calls are standard amenities.

Features

The Ocean Drive address is the hotel's strongest feature. Another major selling point of the boutique hotel is A Fish Called Avalon, a seafood-driven restaurant with sidewalk tables for prime people watching. Guests feast on signature dishes such as guava braised boneless beef short rib and beef tenderloin carpaccio while South Beach locals and visitors parade on by. Guests also have access to a pool and massages and body scrubs in the Palm Garden, thanks to a partnership with sister property the South Seas Hotel.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (22 minutes)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (37 minutes)
Attractions
  • Art Deco District (0.0 mi/ 0.0 km)
  • Washington Avenue (0.6 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Collins Avenue (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Lummus Park (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Lincoln Road (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
Business
  • Conference and production rooms
  • Free Wi-Fi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Avalon Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Avalon Hotel Rooms

Beachfront Queen
Beachfront Queen facing Atlantic Ocean
Beachfront Double
Beachfront Double facing the Atlantic Ocean.
Classic Double
Double beds cityscape or city views.
Partial View Double
Partial View Double with a view of the Ocean
Classic Queen
City views. art-deco. flat panel LCD. Queen Bed
Partial View Queen
Partial Ocean View Queen

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Golf
Jogging track
Boating
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Porters
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Dining

A Fish Called Avalon
Fine Dining

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (80)

Ratings and reviews for Avalon Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
80 out of 80
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.4

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 9, 2009

The bad

unfrienly staff, unclean, small rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
May 19, 2011

WORST HOTEL EVER

I travel to south Florida frequently for work. I typically choose to stay in Fort Lauderdale, even though it can take an hour in traffic to get to Miami...but for some reason this week I decided to try Miami again. Big mistake. This hotel, while situated on Ocean Drive, does NOT have the ritz that the neighborhood would like tourists to think they do. They do not offer DSL service in the rooms, however they say they have wifi...no one at the hotel could get it to work, nor did they seem to care. The rooms are carpeted throughout - perhaps they didn't hear about the bed bug epedimic? There is NOTHING redeeming about this hotel and I would suggest to anyone that they pay the extra money to stay elsewhere. In addition to the rooms and overall hotel being poor, the noise from Ocean Drive kept me up most of the night. An investment in sound proof windows would go a long way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

AWESOME restaurants around

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Texas
Dec 27, 2010

There is better nearby.

Upon arrival... no valet. The front desk woman was rude when I asked to break a $20 to tip my cab driver... provided the change but was very short with me... then later was apologetic when I came back to check in. Why not treat EVERYONE with classy service... they could always be a future customer. On check-in, they pointed out they had no elevator (there is only one, and it was out of service). Even considering no elevator, they provided no bell-hop to carry the bags up the steps to our room!?! ALL the service staff were in white t-shirts... looked like they were in a gym, not a hotel. Was it "White T-Shirt day"? They originally said we could keep our stroller behind the front desk instead of lugging it up and down the steps every time we came and went. Several hours later they called to say we had to come get our stroller, they had no room for it. Our first room was unacceptable, and we were transferred to a better room... up another flight of stairs. After walking around the area, we found a nicer hotel for less only a block away! [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Check nearby for better deals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, Ca
Dec 6, 2010

WORST HOTEL EVER!!!

WORST STAY IN A HOTEL. NOT CLEAN. STAFF WAS VERY UNHELPFUL. OVERPRICED. NO POOL. DIRTY CARPET. SMELLED MOLDY. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ronni Works Hard 4 the $ not 2 waste it
Business
Syracuse, NY
Jun 5, 2011

Taken Back.... Unsatisfied

Honestly, the only great aspect of this hotel is the location to the beach. I feel the hotel staff at the reception desk and the restaurant manager was very condescending and unable to accomodate my parties needs while staying there. Several simple requests were unmet and overlooked with no solution or accomodation what so ever. I stayed in the Days Inn on 43 and Collins from May 25 to May 31 where I had amazing service and a spacious room with a street view which was nice on May 31st we switched to the Avalon where I entered a first floor compact closet for a room. The view was a gated window and a side alley with windows that had cardboard boxes from blinds. Overall, my stay was horrible and I would not stay there ever again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LuanStar
Business
Orange County, NY
Jun 6, 2012

Gerat location.

Windows to room faced allyway, could not sleep beyond 6am due to noise from delivery trucks and garbage truck making collections. Requested a different room, but none were available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kitchenbound
Business
Jersey
Jan 28, 2014

Spend a little more money and stay somewhere else

Valet is terrible, they were never to be found. I had to go inside to find them, room was so small and had a weird scent. Pay a little more and stay somewhere else. Breakfast consist of coffee, tea, fruit and dry cereal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hoboken, NJ
Dec 26, 2009

Christmas Eve in South Beach

We arrive at the hotel around 2:00 am only to find that the Valet parking guy was sound asleep and unaware of our arrival. In addition, he seem untrained for the job because we had to unload our own bags from the car and inform him we were staying in the Avalon. As the check in continued, we asked him for direction to the nearest pharmacy and he answered with 'I don't know' with no intention to even helped us figure it out. Check-in was very slow. The room was very small for 3 guys and the restaurant seems to open only at night time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk from 7th street to 16th street between Washington and Ocean drive

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Sep 8, 2009

Perfect location

The complimentary breakfast was ok. Not much of a variety. The toaster took a while to toast. The elevator was noisy and it felt like you were on a riding when it came to a stop. The hotel was not worth the price, you are just paying for the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
New Years travellers
Business
Hilton Head, SC
Jan 3, 2010

Location, Location, Location

Absolutely great location. Valet parking was nonexistant as was room service. Rooms were small. You are paying for location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top