$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 29, 2014 Check-out: Sep 30, 2014

Avalon Hotel

4 stars
700 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
77 reviews
Feels like home

When I first got to Avalon I wasn't suppose to check in until 3pm but when I arrived to Florida for... See full review

  • M.Yang
  • May 19, 2014
Great friends getaway!

The Avalon is in a good location and the staff members were great! They are so helpful and want to... See full review

  • Vle7
  • Mar 15, 2014
Beachfront boutique hotel on Miami's legendary Ocean Drive.

Guests at this Ocean Drive hotel have a front row seat to South Beach nightlife. The famous coastline is directly across from the property. Visitors can dine alfresco at sidewalk tables at A Fish Called Avalon, a nod to the 80s movie of the same name. The boutique hotel wears its Art Deco jewels proudly, starting with the green neon sign that casts a bright glow over the patio umbrellas and palm trees. Rooms echo South Beach minimalism, with rectangular windows that open to let the breezes in.

Highlights
  • Art Deco boutique hotel on famous Ocean Drive
  • Sidewalk dining at a Fish Called Avalon
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Pool privileges at sister property, the South Seas Hotel
Rooms

Rooms -- available in superior, partial view and beachfront versions -- echo the streamlined look of other Art Deco hotels. Gray bolster pillows throw a dash of color onto 350-count Egyptian cotton duvets. Wood headboards and nightstands anchor the room. Horizontal window panes open to Ocean Drive, adding retro Florida flair. LCD flat-screen TVs, EO Essential bath and skin care products, free Wi-Fi and local calls are standard amenities.

Features

The Ocean Drive address is the hotel's strongest feature. Another major selling point of the boutique hotel is A Fish Called Avalon, a seafood-driven restaurant with sidewalk tables for prime people watching. Guests feast on signature dishes such as guava braised boneless beef short rib and beef tenderloin carpaccio while South Beach locals and visitors parade on by. Guests also have access to a pool and massages and body scrubs in the Palm Garden, thanks to a partnership with sister property the South Seas Hotel.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (22 minutes)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (37 minutes)
Attractions
  • Art Deco District (0.0 mi/ 0.0 km)
  • Washington Avenue (0.6 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Collins Avenue (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Lummus Park (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Lincoln Road (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
Business
  • Conference and production rooms
  • Free Wi-Fi

Hotel Map

25.7769 -80.1315
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport, (MIA), 12.00, MI, E; Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport, (FLL), 28.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Avalon Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Avalon Hotel Rooms

Beachfront Queen
Beachfront Queen facing Atlantic Ocean
Beachfront Double
Beachfront Double facing the Atlantic Ocean.
Classic Double
Double beds cityscape or city views.
Partial View Double
Partial View Double with a view of the Ocean
Classic Queen
City views. art-deco. flat panel LCD. Queen Bed
Partial View Queen
Partial Ocean View Queen

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Golf
Jogging track
Boating
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Porters
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Dining

A Fish Called Avalon
Fine Dining

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (77)

Ratings and reviews for Avalon Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.4

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 22, 2007

Great Location

The Avalon is a nice hotel. The key to this hotel is its excellent location. They are close to everywhere you will need to be. The staff was helpful, and the rooms are reasonable, although expect them to be small. But who cares about the room anyway, it's South Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a number of restaurants right around you, but it is not terribly loud from being too close to the clubs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 26, 2008

very friendly staff in the best location in soutth beach, shopping, beach,dining

we have stayed at many hotels in south beach but we always return to the Avalon. It is in the heart of the Ocean drive strip. The hotel is very clean and good size rooms and up to date air conditioning in a very up to date art deco building. If you want the old American charm of Miami and some Cuban and Latin American flare mixed in, then this is your place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

shopping, night life, beaches, dining, all close walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
thatsit
TX
Oct 1, 2009

very good stay

love the place.. would highly recommend it to anyone going to South Beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 29, 2007

Great family atmosphere

I like staying at the Avalon Hotel due to the location. It is in the heart of South Beach excitement. My greatest experience at this hotel was the staff, especially the ladies serving breakfast. They were very friendly and caring. I felt as if I was staying at a family's home. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

All the restaurants/nightlife are lined up along the streets close to this hotel. All within walking distance, therefore do not have to drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Jersey city, nj
Sep 24, 2012

Great weekend getaway

Staff friendly, very helpful, knowledgeable, and not bias of giving business to other locations! Will do business again with Avolon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Jul 13, 2007

Great location!!

The Avalon was very close to everything. The room was comfortable and the staff there was VERY friendly. Great breakfast choices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fox Cafe has really good food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vuronda
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 10, 2007

Personal

This hotel was small, intimate, and personable. The rooms were clean, comfortable, and large. It lacked some modern vanities but I liked the nostaglic feeling. Closets were roomy as well as the bathroom. Microwave access would have been nice to have either in the rooms or at least at a common place in the hotel. The location was close to the beach, shopping, restaurants and nightlife. I look forward to staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Dining was in the hotel and a very short walk away depending on type of cuisine.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
M.Yang
Boston, MA
May 19, 2014

Feels like home

When I first got to Avalon I wasn't suppose to check in until 3pm but when I arrived to Florida for the first time ever with the beating hot weather I was surprised and glad that they allowed me to check in right away when I got there. I like the Avalon because it seems like it was in the middle of everything to me. The room that I got was clean and neat and feels so good with the ac on esp. when the weather is so hot in Florida. The beds were comfortable and clean. There isn't too much noise when sleeping which is good. Wasn't disturb by any noise or anyone. Made it feel like home! The staffs are very friendly and very helpful. They can help you out in anything. I enjoyed my stay at the Avalon and would def recommend it to people and book it again in the future. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Best seafood place. Delicious!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chillingsbman
largo, maryland
Aug 8, 2011

Avalon a great place to stay!!

1. Visited the beach and night life of south beach. 2. There was nothing missing that would of made my stay more enjoyable. 3. This was better and greater then my last trip to south beach which was in 2010

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

All the night clubs that are worth going to are on Washington Ave.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Jun 11, 2009

Avalon Hotel

The hotel is very well located. Friendly service. Since my flight did not leave until late afternoon, I inquired the posiblity to checkout in the afternoon and I was please to learn that I could by paying a half rate, something I was willing to do to be able to enjoy an extrat day at the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search