$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 14, 2015 Check-out: Sep 15, 2015

Avalon Hotel

4 stars
View map of 700 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Avalon Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.4

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
St. Louis, MO
May 11, 2008

over-rated, over-priced

The Avalon: The rooms were small and tight. My biggest/only problem with this hotel was the price. It is too costly for what they offer. For my money, I would stay on Collins Ave. - for comporable or better rooms & considerably cheaper!! (and more fun too, if thats what your in Miami for!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

beach & clubs in walking distance..

Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Adrainne
Couples
Chicago, IL
May 5, 2008

Great location

The Avalon is located right across the street from the beach,and steps from several resturants and bars. Our room was a good size and peaceful at night. Overall the staff was friendly and helpful. When I go back to SoBe I will stay at the Avalon!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
Jan 5, 2008

A very classic place in the heart of South Beach!

You can never think of South Beach without bringing to mind the great sign: AVALON!! Since my first visit to South Beach, it has always stayed in my mind. I only wish my room was a bit bigger; other than that, I DO ENJOY THIS HOTEL!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

It is amazing how close this hotel is to everything happening in South Beach, including the Beach - just cross the street. Very nice located!!

Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vuronda
Couples
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 10, 2007

Personal

This hotel was small, intimate, and personable. The rooms were clean, comfortable, and large. It lacked some modern vanities but I liked the nostaglic feeling. Closets were roomy as well as the bathroom. Microwave access would have been nice to have either in the rooms or at least at a common place in the hotel. The location was close to the beach, shopping, restaurants and nightlife. I look forward to staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Dining was in the hotel and a very short walk away depending on type of cuisine.

Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
New York, NY
Aug 6, 2007

Good Location

The Avalon is in a great spot next to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to everything.

Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
USA
Jul 29, 2007

Great family atmosphere

I like staying at the Avalon Hotel due to the location. It is in the heart of South Beach excitement. My greatest experience at this hotel was the staff, especially the ladies serving breakfast. They were very friendly and caring. I felt as if I was staying at a family's home. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

All the restaurants/nightlife are lined up along the streets close to this hotel. All within walking distance, therefore do not have to drive.

Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Washington, DC
Jul 22, 2007

Great Location

Hotel Avalon was a cozy hotel located on Ocean Dr. Just steps away from the beach and popular nite clubs, restaurants, bars and boutiques it provided the tourism atmosphere for an average Miami visitor like myself. The staff was welcoming, the ambiance of the hotel was inviting, yet I wasn't too excited about my tiny room that was beside the storage room and the outside work area. The asthetics of the room was ok. The beds were extremely hard. But to make up for such small, hard and sometimes noisy proportions, the shower head was marvelous. Plus who sleeps in Miami! Over all, great location and friendly staff. I would stay here again, just in another room, on another floor...possibly a suite! Great for the buck and awesome location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Mangos is only 2 two blocks away...Great live entertainment for any and everyone.

Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Columbus, OH
Jul 21, 2007

Great location, very old hotel with tiny rooms

Location was perfect, right in the South Beach on Ocean Drive, 2 min walk to the ocean. However, building is very very old, not well kept, rooms are tiney and very very small. Lots of rooms in the hall and that feels like you are in the dorm vs. hotel. Would not stay there again. I'd rather walk to the beach a little further next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Best dining near the hotel.

Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Baltimore, MD
Jul 16, 2007

Very friendly

The Avalon Hotel in South Beach,Miami was a nice place to stay. The room was okay and the staff was too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Wet Wellies was at the next corner of the hotel.

Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Washington, DC
Jul 13, 2007

Great location!!

The Avalon was very close to everything. The room was comfortable and the staff there was VERY friendly. Great breakfast choices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fox Cafe has really good food!

Back to menu Return to top