$102 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 12, 2015 Check-out: Aug 13, 2015

Avalon Hotel

4 stars
View map of 700 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Avalon Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.4

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Canada
Aug 22, 2009

Great Location

Great location in the middle of the action on Ocean Drive but its noisy if you want to go to sleep early

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jun 17, 2009

Simple - Nothin Fancy - Does the job!

It was nice. Nothing fancy. Staff was very nice. Room was cleaned daily and bed was comfortable. Great location right across from the beach and close to many restaurants/bars. Parking is not fun in South Beach, if you ante up for Valet here (25-30 a day) you always have a spot. My wife and I enjoyed it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Nicer Clubs wer about 3/4 mile away. I would recommend using the cab services.

Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 11, 2009

Avalon Hotel

The hotel is very well located. Friendly service. Since my flight did not leave until late afternoon, I inquired the posiblity to checkout in the afternoon and I was please to learn that I could by paying a half rate, something I was willing to do to be able to enjoy an extrat day at the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jun 8, 2009

Great Location

The rooms are pretty small, but it's all about location, location, location!!!! Everything is so close and the beach is right across the street. Also you are walking distance from all the shopping area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

You are on the strip.

Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mary Realtor
Business
Chicago, IL
May 26, 2009

A Gem of a Getaway on the Ocean front

The hotel location was supreme. From the front door to the beach in 10 seconds. Breakfast every morning was a bonus and you get to meet fellow travelers. It is clean, friendly, and remarkably sophisticated for the price. We dined nearby, partied nearby, and beached nearby. Staff was accomodating and the price was better than the other ocean front locales we've stayed in the past.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Eating on the ocean drive is a must do. But for more economical dining and entertainment, visit Espanola way and drink the best sangria and listen to the best jazz for less.

Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Penace
Business
New Jersey
May 14, 2009

A very good location.

My experience at this location was very enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn NY
May 2, 2009

decent hotel

Check in was horrible i was told i didnt have a resveration the after 45 min i was told thell squeez me in lol.The room was tiny and plain but clean. It also had a weird damp smell so i brought along a scented candle that solved that problem. Hotel was good location right across from the beach. very nice to sit outside at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the greatest restaurant ocean 10 must try. have breakfast in hotel save a few bucks :)

Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nyc, ny
Apr 23, 2009

Great location.. OK hotel!!

upon my arrival i had to wait a good while at the front desk since there was only one desk receptionist. The room seemed stuffy and dated but for the price it would do. My room wasn't cleaned the first day since i was unaware you had to inform the front desk you wanted to room cleaned... weird. It was although in a great location so i spent very little time in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South beach
Apr 22, 2009

Nice hotel

We really had a good time. Everything was nice just the room was a little small. But I would come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 26, 2008

very friendly staff in the best location in soutth beach, shopping, beach,dining

we have stayed at many hotels in south beach but we always return to the Avalon. It is in the heart of the Ocean drive strip. The hotel is very clean and good size rooms and up to date air conditioning in a very up to date art deco building. If you want the old American charm of Miami and some Cuban and Latin American flare mixed in, then this is your place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

shopping, night life, beaches, dining, all close walking distance

Back to menu Return to top