$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 31, 2015 Check-out: Apr 1, 2015

Avalon Hotel

4 stars
View map of 700 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Avalon Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
80 out of 80
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.4

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
May 19, 2011

WORST HOTEL EVER

I travel to south Florida frequently for work. I typically choose to stay in Fort Lauderdale, even though it can take an hour in traffic to get to Miami...but for some reason this week I decided to try Miami again. Big mistake. This hotel, while situated on Ocean Drive, does NOT have the ritz that the neighborhood would like tourists to think they do. They do not offer DSL service in the rooms, however they say they have wifi...no one at the hotel could get it to work, nor did they seem to care. The rooms are carpeted throughout - perhaps they didn't hear about the bed bug epedimic? There is NOTHING redeeming about this hotel and I would suggest to anyone that they pay the extra money to stay elsewhere. In addition to the rooms and overall hotel being poor, the noise from Ocean Drive kept me up most of the night. An investment in sound proof windows would go a long way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

AWESOME restaurants around

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HappySis
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 25, 2011

Always great!

The location is fantastic! The rooms are clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach, clubs, restaurants!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Texas
Dec 27, 2010

There is better nearby.

Upon arrival... no valet. The front desk woman was rude when I asked to break a $20 to tip my cab driver... provided the change but was very short with me... then later was apologetic when I came back to check in. Why not treat EVERYONE with classy service... they could always be a future customer. On check-in, they pointed out they had no elevator (there is only one, and it was out of service). Even considering no elevator, they provided no bell-hop to carry the bags up the steps to our room!?! ALL the service staff were in white t-shirts... looked like they were in a gym, not a hotel. Was it "White T-Shirt day"? They originally said we could keep our stroller behind the front desk instead of lugging it up and down the steps every time we came and went. Several hours later they called to say we had to come get our stroller, they had no room for it. Our first room was unacceptable, and we were transferred to a better room... up another flight of stairs. After walking around the area, we found a nicer hotel for less only a block away! [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Check nearby for better deals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, Ca
Dec 6, 2010

WORST HOTEL EVER!!!

WORST STAY IN A HOTEL. NOT CLEAN. STAFF WAS VERY UNHELPFUL. OVERPRICED. NO POOL. DIRTY CARPET. SMELLED MOLDY. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
jupiter, FL
Dec 5, 2010

Great experience

Perfect location on Ocean Blvd. Deceided to stay on site for late dinner. Lovely lady behind the bar. Charming hostess and Ricky our waiter was the best. A few well tuned musicians on the outside terrace made for a lovely evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Road trip warrior.
Business
Arlington,Tx
Nov 21, 2010

Typical Boutique Hotel

Great location, best for young party oriented types. Rooms and bathrooms are tiny. Hotel staff very nice and accommodating. Has a very good but loud seafood spot in lobby. They have free computers that you can print boarding passes or other things at. The sister property with the pool is about a mile north. The towels and lines are sub standard. The value given is below average. If you just want a great location and are gonna be passed out when you sleep this place works great, otherwise I would suggest other hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
shaq the road warior
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Nov 18, 2010

Great location but average service

We arrived late get a good front desk service. After that there was nothing satisfactory about the service. We asked for a bottle of water after the bar was closed. The front desk personel said "no" and went on his buisness without even trying to talk our options. The towels were so old you could pull the threads out. The best thing about the hotel was the location. Close to everything and in the heart of South Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The best Monday night entertaiment I've ever had was at Mangoes not even three blocks away!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
mexico
Aug 18, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

Pleasant, went for work issues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Just there for the night
Business
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Apr 25, 2010

Avalon Hotel South Beach

Great location right in the middle of South Beach Art Deco district. Just step out the door and you're in the middle of the action. That's a problem, also, as the action goes on until 3 in the morning or longer and the noise from the street scene can be heard in the rooms near the front of the hotel. The hotel interior is dated. SMALL rooms, few amenities. Clean, though. The staff is trying to be helpful. The Continental Breakfast (no hot food)included in our room charge was above average. The beach is just a short walk across the street and through Lummus Park. Great beach! Overall, we're glad we experienced the South Beach "scene", but probably wouldn't do it again. I just don't think we're South Beach type of people. The crowds, the noise, the jostling, etc. became bothersome after a couple of hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, Ma
Mar 22, 2010

Great place to stay at for singles!!

Went with single girlfriend and had a great time. Th hotel has an excellent location close to everything. We felt very safe.Friendly staff.We would defintely go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You walk out of your hotel and there is a restaraunt to your right and left, so you dont have to go far to look for one. be careful about servers selling larger meal specials without telling you the price first. The gratuities are added automatically 18% and there is a place for additional tip so be careful and be sure to ask how much a special is that is not on the menu before ordering or you could be surprised with a large bill

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top