$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 29, 2014 Check-out: Sep 30, 2014

Avalon Hotel

4 stars
700 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
77 reviews
Feels like home

When I first got to Avalon I wasn't suppose to check in until 3pm but when I arrived to Florida for... See full review

  • M.Yang
  • May 19, 2014
Great friends getaway!

The Avalon is in a good location and the staff members were great! They are so helpful and want to... See full review

  • Vle7
  • Mar 15, 2014
Beachfront boutique hotel on Miami's legendary Ocean Drive.

Guests at this Ocean Drive hotel have a front row seat to South Beach nightlife. The famous coastline is directly across from the property. Visitors can dine alfresco at sidewalk tables at A Fish Called Avalon, a nod to the 80s movie of the same name. The boutique hotel wears its Art Deco jewels proudly, starting with the green neon sign that casts a bright glow over the patio umbrellas and palm trees. Rooms echo South Beach minimalism, with rectangular windows that open to let the breezes in.

Highlights
  • Art Deco boutique hotel on famous Ocean Drive
  • Sidewalk dining at a Fish Called Avalon
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Pool privileges at sister property, the South Seas Hotel
Rooms

Rooms -- available in superior, partial view and beachfront versions -- echo the streamlined look of other Art Deco hotels. Gray bolster pillows throw a dash of color onto 350-count Egyptian cotton duvets. Wood headboards and nightstands anchor the room. Horizontal window panes open to Ocean Drive, adding retro Florida flair. LCD flat-screen TVs, EO Essential bath and skin care products, free Wi-Fi and local calls are standard amenities.

Features

The Ocean Drive address is the hotel's strongest feature. Another major selling point of the boutique hotel is A Fish Called Avalon, a seafood-driven restaurant with sidewalk tables for prime people watching. Guests feast on signature dishes such as guava braised boneless beef short rib and beef tenderloin carpaccio while South Beach locals and visitors parade on by. Guests also have access to a pool and massages and body scrubs in the Palm Garden, thanks to a partnership with sister property the South Seas Hotel.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (22 minutes)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (37 minutes)
Attractions
  • Art Deco District (0.0 mi/ 0.0 km)
  • Washington Avenue (0.6 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Collins Avenue (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Lummus Park (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Lincoln Road (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
Business
  • Conference and production rooms
  • Free Wi-Fi

Hotel Map

25.7769 -80.1315
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport, (MIA), 12.00, MI, E; Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport, (FLL), 28.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Avalon Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Avalon Hotel Rooms

Beachfront Queen
Beachfront Queen facing Atlantic Ocean
Beachfront Double
Beachfront Double facing the Atlantic Ocean.
Classic Double
Double beds cityscape or city views.
Partial View Double
Partial View Double with a view of the Ocean
Classic Queen
City views. art-deco. flat panel LCD. Queen Bed
Partial View Queen
Partial Ocean View Queen

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Golf
Jogging track
Boating
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Porters
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Dining

A Fish Called Avalon
Fine Dining

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (77)

Ratings and reviews for Avalon Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.4

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chillingsbman
largo, maryland
Aug 8, 2011

Avalon a great place to stay!!

1. Visited the beach and night life of south beach. 2. There was nothing missing that would of made my stay more enjoyable. 3. This was better and greater then my last trip to south beach which was in 2010

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

All the night clubs that are worth going to are on Washington Ave.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami, FL
Aug 2, 2011

Fun Times

Great Location. Friendly staff! Fun Times, I will do it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Palm City, FL
Jul 3, 2011

Good location, decent room, bring ...

The hotel reservation system apparently did not receive the prepaid [...]reservation so we could not check-in until Management resolved their problem. It took an hour before we could check-in. Per the [...]"deal", we were supposed to receive a $25 credit at the hotel restaurant good towards food and drink but we never received it because I had no "proof" of that deal and they claimed they had no knowledge of that arrangement. I did not have a print-out of the [...]itinerary. The a.c. in the room worked well but bring some earplugs if you are a light sleeper due to the street and neighbor noise.The continental breakfast was a good mix but don't be late. They clear the buffet at 11am sharp, even if you are in the middle of serving yourself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
kauai,hawaii
Jun 23, 2011

Simple but adequate

We were at the Avalon for a quick stay, to catch an early flight the next morning. Wish we could have stayed longer. The hotel is sort of at the beginning of the art Deco strip, right across from the beach. Was a good place to start a walk down the strip to see what South Beach was about. Staff extremely friendly. We valeted our car but could have gone to a garage very close to the hotel. Rooms were basic . Comfortable beds. Clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Although didn't eat here, the hotel restaurant looked good. A Fish Called Avalon.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Northern NJ
Jun 13, 2011

great location

great location on the strip in south beach. easy walking distance to everything we wanted to do. The rooms were fine, beds were comfortable. free breakfast was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

free continental breakfast from 7-11am

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ronni Works Hard 4 the $ not 2 waste it
Syracuse, NY
Jun 5, 2011

Taken Back.... Unsatisfied

Honestly, the only great aspect of this hotel is the location to the beach. I feel the hotel staff at the reception desk and the restaurant manager was very condescending and unable to accomodate my parties needs while staying there. Several simple requests were unmet and overlooked with no solution or accomodation what so ever. I stayed in the Days Inn on 43 and Collins from May 25 to May 31 where I had amazing service and a spacious room with a street view which was nice on May 31st we switched to the Avalon where I entered a first floor compact closet for a room. The view was a gated window and a side alley with windows that had cardboard boxes from blinds. Overall, my stay was horrible and I would not stay there ever again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tampa fl
Jun 3, 2011

South beach fun

The hotel staff was nice!! clean rooms great location!! awesome stay rooms are older looking.. bathroom was so so overall beach was why I was their

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Awesome at night time omg

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
May 19, 2011

WORST HOTEL EVER

I travel to south Florida frequently for work. I typically choose to stay in Fort Lauderdale, even though it can take an hour in traffic to get to Miami...but for some reason this week I decided to try Miami again. Big mistake. This hotel, while situated on Ocean Drive, does NOT have the ritz that the neighborhood would like tourists to think they do. They do not offer DSL service in the rooms, however they say they have wifi...no one at the hotel could get it to work, nor did they seem to care. The rooms are carpeted throughout - perhaps they didn't hear about the bed bug epedimic? There is NOTHING redeeming about this hotel and I would suggest to anyone that they pay the extra money to stay elsewhere. In addition to the rooms and overall hotel being poor, the noise from Ocean Drive kept me up most of the night. An investment in sound proof windows would go a long way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

AWESOME restaurants around

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HappySis
Boston, MA
Mar 25, 2011

Always great!

The location is fantastic! The rooms are clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach, clubs, restaurants!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
North Texas
Dec 27, 2010

There is better nearby.

Upon arrival... no valet. The front desk woman was rude when I asked to break a $20 to tip my cab driver... provided the change but was very short with me... then later was apologetic when I came back to check in. Why not treat EVERYONE with classy service... they could always be a future customer. On check-in, they pointed out they had no elevator (there is only one, and it was out of service). Even considering no elevator, they provided no bell-hop to carry the bags up the steps to our room!?! ALL the service staff were in white t-shirts... looked like they were in a gym, not a hotel. Was it "White T-Shirt day"? They originally said we could keep our stroller behind the front desk instead of lugging it up and down the steps every time we came and went. Several hours later they called to say we had to come get our stroller, they had no room for it. Our first room was unacceptable, and we were transferred to a better room... up another flight of stairs. After walking around the area, we found a nicer hotel for less only a block away! [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Check nearby for better deals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search