$199 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 13, 2015 Check-out: Jan 15, 2015

Avalon Hotel

4 stars
700 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
79 reviews
Feels like home

When I first got to Avalon I wasn't suppose to check in until 3pm but when I arrived to Florida for... See full review

  • M.Yang
  • May 19, 2014
Great friends getaway!

The Avalon is in a good location and the staff members were great! They are so helpful and want to... See full review

  • Vle7
  • Mar 15, 2014
Beachfront boutique hotel on Miami's legendary Ocean Drive.

Guests at this Ocean Drive hotel have a front row seat to South Beach nightlife. The famous coastline is directly across from the property. Visitors can dine alfresco at sidewalk tables at A Fish Called Avalon, a nod to the 80s movie of the same name. The boutique hotel wears its Art Deco jewels proudly, starting with the green neon sign that casts a bright glow over the patio umbrellas and palm trees. Rooms echo South Beach minimalism, with rectangular windows that open to let the breezes in.

Highlights
  • Art Deco boutique hotel on famous Ocean Drive
  • Sidewalk dining at a Fish Called Avalon
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Pool privileges at sister property, the South Seas Hotel
Rooms

Rooms -- available in superior, partial view and beachfront versions -- echo the streamlined look of other Art Deco hotels. Gray bolster pillows throw a dash of color onto 350-count Egyptian cotton duvets. Wood headboards and nightstands anchor the room. Horizontal window panes open to Ocean Drive, adding retro Florida flair. LCD flat-screen TVs, EO Essential bath and skin care products, free Wi-Fi and local calls are standard amenities.

Features

The Ocean Drive address is the hotel's strongest feature. Another major selling point of the boutique hotel is A Fish Called Avalon, a seafood-driven restaurant with sidewalk tables for prime people watching. Guests feast on signature dishes such as guava braised boneless beef short rib and beef tenderloin carpaccio while South Beach locals and visitors parade on by. Guests also have access to a pool and massages and body scrubs in the Palm Garden, thanks to a partnership with sister property the South Seas Hotel.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (22 minutes)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (37 minutes)
Attractions
  • Art Deco District (0.0 mi/ 0.0 km)
  • Washington Avenue (0.6 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Collins Avenue (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Lummus Park (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Lincoln Road (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
Business
  • Conference and production rooms
  • Free Wi-Fi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Avalon Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Avalon Hotel Rooms

Beachfront Queen
Beachfront Queen facing Atlantic Ocean
Beachfront Double
Beachfront Double facing the Atlantic Ocean.
Classic Double
Double beds cityscape or city views.
Partial View Double
Partial View Double with a view of the Ocean
Classic Queen
City views. art-deco. flat panel LCD. Queen Bed
Partial View Queen
Partial Ocean View Queen

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Golf
Jogging track
Boating
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Porters
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Dining

A Fish Called Avalon
Fine Dining

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (79)

Ratings and reviews for Avalon Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.4

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
joc87
Business
miami
Dec 15, 2012

Amazing

Staff was super friendly, room was right on the beach. Loved it! wish I tried the restaurant!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DCman
Business
Washington, D.C.
Dec 11, 2012

Great location, nice staff

Rooms are typical of these old art deco hotels. Had problem with shower not working and got moved to another room. Staff at front desk were very nice and made stay most enjoyable. Location is great. I liked the value of a continental breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jersey city, nj
Sep 24, 2012

Great weekend getaway

Staff friendly, very helpful, knowledgeable, and not bias of giving business to other locations! Will do business again with Avolon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anastasia Mc
Business
Jackson,MS
Jul 30, 2012

Birthday getaway

This hotel is ok. Not bad but not great. My dislike came mainly with the building, it's older. However the staff was GREAT! The hotels on ocean drive are older hotels (1950 ish) remodeled, just not my cup of tea but the location was awesome just across the street from the beach and shopping right behind the hotel. Hotel was nice and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Oscar the Barber
Business
Quad cities Illinois
Jul 17, 2012

Great place to stay

Hotels on ocean drive are small but the location is perfect if u want to party drink n stay out late, I wouldn't take kids if u plan to party. The hotel staff is awesome, asked for utensils towels and taxi n they did so right away, I was there 5 days, n they cleaned the room everyday I just put my stuff in the closet. No microwave whiched sucked that ment we had to go out and eat everyday and it's way expensive, I recommend go somewhere outside ocean drive to eat even tho it is nice. Overall I was pleased staying with my gf at this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cuban larios is really good I got the pork chop n it was beyond delicious, I also recommend not buying to many drinks at restaurants Becuz they r extremely expensive, just go to a store buy your beer drink at ur hotel n go out n maybe buy a few drinks Becuz they r expensive

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Big Tex 12
Business
Austin, TX
Jul 2, 2012

Decent hotel in a great location

Lots of nightlight close by and the rooms and amenities were decent enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of bars and restaurants within a 2 minute walk, although beware the "Happy Hour, buy one, get one free" specials. That "one" that you are thinking of buying is $55.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
World Traveler 2.0
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Jun 18, 2012

Middle of the Party

The room was decently sized for a short stay - might have felt cramped were we staying longer than a few days. The staff was friendly and accommodating to all our needs. I would stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LuanStar
Business
Orange County, NY
Jun 6, 2012

Gerat location.

Windows to room faced allyway, could not sleep beyond 6am due to noise from delivery trucks and garbage truck making collections. Requested a different room, but none were available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michov
Business
Boston, MA
Feb 7, 2012

Good deal

Booked this hotel for a business trip. I was looking for a clean, no-surprise hotel. Room was clean, with new carpets and comfortable bedding. Included Breakfast was very good. Great location for night entertainment. The staff was very cordial.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

At A Fish Call Avalon you have to try the Seafood Risotto. Finish with a key lime pie.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rowiee
Business
Tampa, FL, USA
Oct 21, 2011

had a great time

we enjoyed our stay! Avalon has a super location. We were right across the street from Lumus Park and the beach. We also had a fantastic meal at the restaurant A Fish Called Avalon. The rooms were clean and quiet and the staff was very helpfull with local sights and shopping. We would absolutely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

take advantage of the restaurant! it's right there and the food is amazing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top