$199 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 13, 2015 Check-out: Jan 15, 2015

Avalon Hotel

4 stars
700 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
78 reviews
Feels like home

When I first got to Avalon I wasn't suppose to check in until 3pm but when I arrived to Florida for... See full review

  • M.Yang
  • May 19, 2014
Great friends getaway!

The Avalon is in a good location and the staff members were great! They are so helpful and want to... See full review

  • Vle7
  • Mar 15, 2014
Beachfront boutique hotel on Miami's legendary Ocean Drive.

Guests at this Ocean Drive hotel have a front row seat to South Beach nightlife. The famous coastline is directly across from the property. Visitors can dine alfresco at sidewalk tables at A Fish Called Avalon, a nod to the 80s movie of the same name. The boutique hotel wears its Art Deco jewels proudly, starting with the green neon sign that casts a bright glow over the patio umbrellas and palm trees. Rooms echo South Beach minimalism, with rectangular windows that open to let the breezes in.

Highlights
  • Art Deco boutique hotel on famous Ocean Drive
  • Sidewalk dining at a Fish Called Avalon
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Pool privileges at sister property, the South Seas Hotel
Rooms

Rooms -- available in superior, partial view and beachfront versions -- echo the streamlined look of other Art Deco hotels. Gray bolster pillows throw a dash of color onto 350-count Egyptian cotton duvets. Wood headboards and nightstands anchor the room. Horizontal window panes open to Ocean Drive, adding retro Florida flair. LCD flat-screen TVs, EO Essential bath and skin care products, free Wi-Fi and local calls are standard amenities.

Features

The Ocean Drive address is the hotel's strongest feature. Another major selling point of the boutique hotel is A Fish Called Avalon, a seafood-driven restaurant with sidewalk tables for prime people watching. Guests feast on signature dishes such as guava braised boneless beef short rib and beef tenderloin carpaccio while South Beach locals and visitors parade on by. Guests also have access to a pool and massages and body scrubs in the Palm Garden, thanks to a partnership with sister property the South Seas Hotel.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (22 minutes)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (37 minutes)
Attractions
  • Art Deco District (0.0 mi/ 0.0 km)
  • Washington Avenue (0.6 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Collins Avenue (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Lummus Park (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Lincoln Road (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
Business
  • Conference and production rooms
  • Free Wi-Fi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Avalon Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Avalon Hotel Rooms

Beachfront Queen
Beachfront Queen facing Atlantic Ocean
Beachfront Double
Beachfront Double facing the Atlantic Ocean.
Classic Double
Double beds cityscape or city views.
Partial View Double
Partial View Double with a view of the Ocean
Classic Queen
City views. art-deco. flat panel LCD. Queen Bed
Partial View Queen
Partial Ocean View Queen

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Golf
Jogging track
Boating
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Porters
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Dining

A Fish Called Avalon
Fine Dining

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (78)

Ratings and reviews for Avalon Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
78 out of 78
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.4

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gr82nz
Business
Orlando
Feb 15, 2014

Better than expected

Better than expected, the hotel was very clean and the staff was friendly. Had some appetizers and wine at the bar the first nite which was very good. Very accommodating. Only negative I can think of was the free breakfast had only a few options, but was adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dairyis
Business
N/A
Dec 17, 2014

Perfect Location/Great Price

The room was top notch, and location was even better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Myles F.
Business
N/A
Dec 16, 2014

Good hotel!

Very efficient staff. Good valet parking. Good location close to tons of restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Salsa lady
Business
Portland, OR
May 25, 2014

hotel front desk & restaurant

The front desk didn't seem to know too much about where we could listen toSalsa music other than Mango's. They need to know more about what goes on outside of South Beach. We were not allowed to listen to music at the restaurant A fish called Avalon unless we had dinner there. All we wanted to do was have something to drink and have dessert while listening to the music.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Espaniola Way - great Salsa music

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
M.Yang
Business
Boston, MA
May 19, 2014

Feels like home

When I first got to Avalon I wasn't suppose to check in until 3pm but when I arrived to Florida for the first time ever with the beating hot weather I was surprised and glad that they allowed me to check in right away when I got there. I like the Avalon because it seems like it was in the middle of everything to me. The room that I got was clean and neat and feels so good with the ac on esp. when the weather is so hot in Florida. The beds were comfortable and clean. There isn't too much noise when sleeping which is good. Wasn't disturb by any noise or anyone. Made it feel like home! The staffs are very friendly and very helpful. They can help you out in anything. I enjoyed my stay at the Avalon and would def recommend it to people and book it again in the future. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Best seafood place. Delicious!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vle7
Business
New Jersey
Mar 15, 2014

Great friends getaway!

The Avalon is in a good location and the staff members were great! They are so helpful and want to make sure you have everything you need. The room was small but it was clean and the beds were comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gr82nz
Business
Orlando
Feb 15, 2014

Better than expected

Better than expected, the hotel was very clean and the staff was friendly. Had some appetizers and wine at the bar the first nite which was very good. Very accommodating. Only negative I can think of was the free breakfast had only a few options, but was adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kitchenbound
Business
Jersey
Jan 28, 2014

Spend a little more money and stay somewhere else

Valet is terrible, they were never to be found. I had to go inside to find them, room was so small and had a weird scent. Pay a little more and stay somewhere else. Breakfast consist of coffee, tea, fruit and dry cereal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travelbeth
Business
Durham, NC
May 8, 2013

Great for a quick SOBE visit

This hotel is right where the action is in SOBE right on Ocean Drive across from the beach. Restaurant in front looked great .....lots of diners but we did not eat there. Short distance to Lincoln Road restaurants and shops. Good breakfast that came with the room. While not luxurious , it was clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
trishastwin
Business
rochester ny
Mar 22, 2013

over priced with small rooms

Will not come back. Very over priced and rooms were tiny

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Avalon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
joc87
Business
miami
Feb 16, 2013

GREAT LOCATION AND STAFF

a little too expensive for my taste though. Clean and great area for fun and dining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Great restaurant in hotel - A Fish Called Avalon

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top