$69 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 24, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

The Leamington Hotel

2 stars
307 Northeast 1st Street, 307 Northeast 1st Street, Miami, FL 33132
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
1.6
out of 5
32 reviews
bad choice

bad hote. old, elevator of 1st century. rooms are old and look dirty See full review

  • diego1690
  • Jul 21, 2014
Sucks

The only "good" thing about it was that it was within walking distance from the AAArena . It was... See full review

  • MrMaddog2112
  • Apr 13, 2014
Whether you are looking for a hotel to stay before taking a cruise attending an event at the American Airlines Arena when visiting the Bayside Marketplace The Leamington Hotel or just enjoying Miami playground of the USA The Leamington Hotel offers the perfect location and great value for the money..

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Leamington Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Leamington Hotel Rooms

1 Double Bed NS
Description not provided
1 Twin Bed and 1 Double Bed NS
Description not provided
1 Double Bed and 3 Twin Beds NS
Description not provided

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
24 hour security
Dining
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Wake-up service
Room
Satellite TV
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Bayside Marketplace: 0.2 mi
  • Freedom Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Ice Palace Film Studios: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Arena: 0.4 mi
  • Miami Dade Public Library: 0.4 mi
  • Tina Hills Pavillion: 0.6 mi
  • Lummus Park: 0.8 mi
  • Port of Miami: 0.9 mi
  • Miami Children's Museum: 1 mi
  • Trinity Episcopal Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Jungle Island: 1.1 mi
  • Pulse Miami: 1.3 mi
  • East Little Havana: 1.5 mi
  • Dodge Island: 1.6 mi
  • Palm Island: 1.8 mi
  • Bayside Marketplace: 0.2 mi
  • Freedom Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Ice Palace Film Studios: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Arena: 0.4 mi
  • Miami Dade Public Library: 0.4 mi
  • Tina Hills Pavillion: 0.6 mi
  • Lummus Park: 0.8 mi
  • Port of Miami: 0.9 mi
  • Miami Children's Museum: 1 mi
  • Trinity Episcopal Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Jungle Island: 1.1 mi
  • Pulse Miami: 1.3 mi
  • East Little Havana: 1.5 mi
  • Dodge Island: 1.6 mi
  • Palm Island: 1.8 mi
  • Marlins Park: 2 mi
  • Albertini Arts Gallery: 2.5 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 2.5 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Fisher Island: 3.2 mi
  • Miami Seaquarium: 3.2 mi
  • Morningside Park: 3.4 mi
  • Art Deco District: 3.5 mi
  • Espanola Way: 3.6 mi
  • Lincoln Road Mall: 3.6 mi
  • Bettcher Gallery: 3.7 mi
  • Bayshore Golf Club: 3.9 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 4 mi
  • Joseph Caleb Auditorium: 4.4 mi
  • CocoWalk: 4.6 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 4.8 mi
  • Oceanfront: 4.9 mi
  • La Gorce Country Club: 5.7 mi
  • Granada: 5.7 mi
  • Normandy Isles: 6.4 mi
  • Normandy Shores: 6.6 mi
  • University of Miami: 6.7 mi
  • North Shores: 7.1 mi
  • Biscayne Point: 7.4 mi
  • Metro Dade Cultural Center: 7.6 mi
  • Cape Florida Lighthouse: 7.7 mi
  • Bay Harbour Islands: 8.5 mi
  • Emerald Lake: 8.5 mi
  • Museum of the Americas: 8.7 mi
  • Tropical Park: 9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (32)

Ratings and reviews for The Leamington Hotel

Overall score

1.6 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 32
Amenities:
1.4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2.8
Room comfort:
1.6
Location:
3.3
Value:
2.1

19% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Leamington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tulsa, OK
Jan 24, 2011

3 star price, 1 star deal!!!

To start things off let me inform you that we were not needing a really extravagant hotel as we were going to be leaving on a cruise the next day. This was one of the cheaper hotels that I found that also offered transportation to the Port of Miami. That being said let me begin with the critique. Upon arrival to the covered hole in the wall entrance, we overheard a disgruntled guest asking the "concierge" why there was not a remote for the T.V. and why there was not hot water for the sink or tub in his bathroom. The "gentleman" working at the front desk responded saying, "Oh well, that's what you pay for." as he shrugged his shoulders and went back to his personal cell phone conversation. The guest stormed off and i waited for eye contact and recognition from the person at the front desk. He ended his conversation and greeted me as if I were interupting his busy workload. He had me sign a paper and told me that I was scratching up his counter. Upon receival of the room key, he just pointed towards the front door and said to take the elevator up without any further instructions as to where the room would be found. The "ancient" elevator had to be operated by one of the employees due to the safety hazards of the sliding gate door and the "up" & "down" handle for operation. The hallway on the fourth floor was well lit (more than two other floors we passed in the elevator) and reminded me of an office setting. The elveator operator showed us to our room and was more pleasant than the front desk person. I knew by reading other reviews of this hotel that I was not in for the "wow" factor, but when we turned on the light, we were in shock and a sudden worriment came over us. It was the size of a kids bedroom and had a musty smell to it. The beige walls and matching doors added a dark and dingy look to the atmosphere. The mattress was well used after its' prime and pillows just sank with your head. There wasn't a comforter for the bed, just two sheets. The bathroom was small for a hotel, but average if it were in a home. Handle was missing to open the room door so we stuck our hand in the HUGE gap between the door and the floor and just pulled. The door looked hand-made and partially eaten as well. The T.V. did work...AND it had COLOR! We didn't feel safe leaving our luggage in the room, but we didn't want to carry it with us while we walked around Bayside. We got back to our room after 3 in the morning and were told to use the stairs to get up to our room since no one was there to operate the elevator. After physically staying there, I STRONGLY recommend not staying there unless you are desperate and have no other options. The transportation to the port was nice, but it was a company not related to the hotel. NOTE: Transportaion is for DROP OFF ONLY...they will not pick anyone up!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Bayside is just north of the hotel on Biscayne and is great to visit and enjoy local vendors. It passes the time so you don't have to stay stuck in the creepy hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Leamington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX, USA
Nov 1, 2011

Worst place ever !!!!

Do not do the mistake we made, we booked 3 days and ended staying only 10 hours, I never being in a prison but on my imagination there can be the same. Elevator was from 1800's, rooms smelled so bad, in the room didn't have outlet to charge my phone or computer, small bed. I think there is so disrespectful for any type of person. NEVER STAY THERE AND WANT MY MONEY BACK !!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

NEVER STAY THERE !!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Leamington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
elreydetodo
Business
Massachusetts, USA
Jan 20, 2012

avoid if possible

It is conveniently close to port of Miami, but avoid the neighborhood to the west. The boardwalk is nearby and very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The boardwalk is across a large boulevard. Great place for food, shopping, and music.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Leamington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mary fran
Business
Daytona Beach, FL
Jul 23, 2012

not worth the price

No parking provided. $22.00 extra charge to park at nearby garage. Standing fan in room for air. Very small bathroom. Window treatments don't fit windows. Homeless people sleeping on steps across the street. Dead bolt only thing that keeps door closed. Pay the extra to stay at a nicer hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Leamington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Beauhanks
Business
Miami, Florida
Dec 2, 2012

The Leamington is like staying in a third world country

The hotel has a great location, close to the happening downtown Miami area along the Miami River. However, the web site promised a "special" parking rate at the garage around the corner, $10. Not so. The garage acted as if it had never heard of the Leamington. Parking was $24, The room was a rock bottom $63 a night in December. The lobby was clean enough, and there were some trendy tables and stools for breakfast. The elevator is old-fashioned, with an expansion gate, and requires an elevator operator. That sounds charming. But the interior of the elevator was cheap and ugly. The room itself: shabby and old, with a wheezing window air conditioner, and plaster that was gouged, scuffed, broken, bulging. The wood on the door frame was broken. The bedside lamp didn't work. There was no remote for the television. When you sat on the bed, it moaned. Carpet was gray but looked like Astroturf, When I picked up the phone to complain, I just got loud static. When I used my cell phone to call the desk, it took 10 tries to get through. I was told the bellman was coming up to move me to a new room. About 30 minutes later he arrived. He took me to a different floor and told me if this "wasn't good enough" too bad, because it was the last room left. He checked the lamp, which worked. Showed me the remote. And said the phone was working. I settled in. Found out the shower curtain was missing and the rod was broken. And the faucets leaked all night. In the morning I could not get WiFi in the room. Was told "it was on." I asked them to recycle the router. The desk said they did. Still no WiFi. After 45 minutes of trying to work, I packed my bags and checked out. I had booked for two nights, but one night was enough. As I left I saw a lot of tour travelers with giant duffel bags in the lobby. They seemed happy enough. Must be some kind of bargain tour of Miami. And there is an elevated train line that runs (even at night) right in front of the building, at about the level of the second floor. Good luck to anyone who stays here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Leamington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
All Travel Man
Business
Boston, MA
Feb 14, 2013

Hotel Guest BEWARE

Never book anything with this hotel. Stole my credit card info and manager never ever called me back. I left the manager countless emails/voice mails and no one ever called me back. Place is in a bad part and no indoor parking so hopefully you have a gun to protect your family. Never stay here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Leamington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jwag215
Business
Seattle, Washington
May 16, 2013

Scary place

This place is very scary, we moved to beds in front of the door. There was duck tape on the window in the bathroom

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Leamington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Senoj
Business
Ireland
Feb 27, 2014

Very poor

Location is good. Everything else is poor to very poor. Room was dreadful. Door to en-suite bathroom had no handle or lock and could not be closed. Window to external was dirty and sealed with rough plaster. Wall paint was peeling in a number of places. The lift was certainly pre WW2 and maybe early 20th century!!! and required staff to operate. Staff could do nothing except sympathise with us when we complained about the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Leamington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
FSU1
Business
Jacksonville, FL, USA
Mar 31, 2014

scary and filthy

This horrible property should be condemned. It is filled with semi-homeless indigent people. It is filthy. The beds are disgusting. This place is not only a nightmare, it is unsafe. This actually may be the worst motel in all of Florida.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Leamington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Late 20's married couple
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Feb 13, 2011

Cheap, well-located, but bad hotel

If you want to spend as little as possible, which is what we wanted, without regard to comfort, stay here. We actually stayed two nights, the first (before the cruise) was the worst, the AC didn't work and the bed was horrible. The second night (after the cruise) we got a slightly better bed, and it was cold so we didn't need the AC, but in the morning the elevator broke, so we had to haul our suitcases down three flights of steep steps. Also the beds are full sized, so if you are used to a Queen or King, you might feel cramped. About half way through the first night I was ready to pay an extra $30 to stay anywhere else. A continental breakfast is included, however the breakfast is only coffee, tea, toast, and lemon poppy-seed bread. So it's good for a start, but we ended up buying breakfast elsewhere too. They also have a free shuttle to the Port of Miami and the airport. BUT make sure you book these the night before, we missed out. However a cab ride to the port was only $10 including tip. And taking the bus to the airport is pretty easy and around $3 a person. The location of the hotel is great, it's not in a great neighborhood, but it's very close to Bayside Park and shopping center, and a block from the 1st Street Metromover station. Exploring Downtown is easy, and South Beach and other areas are a quick bus ride away. So if you are cheap, and just need a place to crash, this hotel is fine. The clientele seemed perfectly fine, similar to us -- vacationers looking to spend as little as possible. We felt safe and the rooms were clean. But if you need a comfortable bed and can afford to spend a few extra Hamilton's a night, then look elsewhere. I'm not sure how this hotel got 2 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top