$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 31, 2015 Check-out: Apr 1, 2015

The Leamington Hotel

2 stars
View map of 307 Northeast 1st Street, 307 Northeast 1st Street, Miami, FL 33132

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Leamington Hotel

Overall score

1.6 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 32
Amenities:
1.4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2.8
Comfort:
1.6
Location:
3.3
Value:
2.1

19% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Leamington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Beauhanks
Business
Miami, Florida
Dec 2, 2012

The Leamington is like staying in a third world country

The hotel has a great location, close to the happening downtown Miami area along the Miami River. However, the web site promised a "special" parking rate at the garage around the corner, $10. Not so. The garage acted as if it had never heard of the Leamington. Parking was $24, The room was a rock bottom $63 a night in December. The lobby was clean enough, and there were some trendy tables and stools for breakfast. The elevator is old-fashioned, with an expansion gate, and requires an elevator operator. That sounds charming. But the interior of the elevator was cheap and ugly. The room itself: shabby and old, with a wheezing window air conditioner, and plaster that was gouged, scuffed, broken, bulging. The wood on the door frame was broken. The bedside lamp didn't work. There was no remote for the television. When you sat on the bed, it moaned. Carpet was gray but looked like Astroturf, When I picked up the phone to complain, I just got loud static. When I used my cell phone to call the desk, it took 10 tries to get through. I was told the bellman was coming up to move me to a new room. About 30 minutes later he arrived. He took me to a different floor and told me if this "wasn't good enough" too bad, because it was the last room left. He checked the lamp, which worked. Showed me the remote. And said the phone was working. I settled in. Found out the shower curtain was missing and the rod was broken. And the faucets leaked all night. In the morning I could not get WiFi in the room. Was told "it was on." I asked them to recycle the router. The desk said they did. Still no WiFi. After 45 minutes of trying to work, I packed my bags and checked out. I had booked for two nights, but one night was enough. As I left I saw a lot of tour travelers with giant duffel bags in the lobby. They seemed happy enough. Must be some kind of bargain tour of Miami. And there is an elevated train line that runs (even at night) right in front of the building, at about the level of the second floor. Good luck to anyone who stays here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Leamington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mary fran
Business
Daytona Beach, FL
Jul 23, 2012

not worth the price

No parking provided. $22.00 extra charge to park at nearby garage. Standing fan in room for air. Very small bathroom. Window treatments don't fit windows. Homeless people sleeping on steps across the street. Dead bolt only thing that keeps door closed. Pay the extra to stay at a nicer hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Leamington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LDYWDE
Business
Clifton, VA 20124, USA
Apr 23, 2012

Great Location but...

The hotel is super old school and very old!. Haven't seen anything like it before since I was in the Bronx, NY. But overall, great location, and the staff was very helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Metro Movers and Rails are easy access!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Leamington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Miami Fun
Business
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Mar 2, 2012

Lame-ing-ton

If you are reading this review, chances are that you have read other reviews which I should have done prior to booking this hotel. This place if definitely a unique place to stay..... Pro's: cheapest hotel in the area, great location (right across from bayside and the arena, 5 min away from south beach) Con's: super ghetto! Doors in bathroom don't shut, no hair dryer for the room, locks for room entrance are keyed and are hard to open. Abnormal odors in the hotel. Holiday Inn looks about 5 stars compared to this place. Overall, If you are on a budget and can handle not having lots of amenities, this place might be ok for you due to the location and price. This is not a family place and by the way the continental breakfast is just bagels and doughnuts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Bayside, right across the street for shopping, dining, and live music at night. In Bayside I recommend the restaurant called the Latin American!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Leamington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
elreydetodo
Business
Massachusetts, USA
Jan 20, 2012

avoid if possible

It is conveniently close to port of Miami, but avoid the neighborhood to the west. The boardwalk is nearby and very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The boardwalk is across a large boulevard. Great place for food, shopping, and music.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Leamington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX, USA
Nov 1, 2011

Worst place ever !!!!

Do not do the mistake we made, we booked 3 days and ended staying only 10 hours, I never being in a prison but on my imagination there can be the same. Elevator was from 1800's, rooms smelled so bad, in the room didn't have outlet to charge my phone or computer, small bed. I think there is so disrespectful for any type of person. NEVER STAY THERE AND WANT MY MONEY BACK !!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

NEVER STAY THERE !!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Leamington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Seasons
Business
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Sep 28, 2011

Not good at all!

Nightmare. Killed bugs crawling on tables and walls. Not sure what they were, thought they might be bedbugs. Lighting was very poor, bulb 25 watt. Ceiling bulb 40 watt. Unable to rest in this dirty, dingy, room where the light shone through the cracks in the door from the hall. Arrived too late at night to change hotels. Towels clean, but bathroom too dirty to shower. No tub. Bathroom threshhold à severe trip hazard in the dark. Had to keep light on all night. Stay away from Leamington Hotel in Miami.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Leamington Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
moncadista
Business
Durham, Carolina del Norte, EEUU
Sep 14, 2011

Friendly staff

Cheap, clean and good located. The staff was friendly. A bit noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Leamington Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
WAYNESHARON
Business
OHIO
Aug 1, 2011

NOT WHAT WAS EXPECTED

NO AIRPORT SHUTTLE FROM THE AIRPORT AND ONLY AVAILABLE AT 10AM AND 2PM FROM THE HOTEL. NO AIR-CONDITION IN THE ROOMS AND THIS IS MIAMI IN THE SUMMER. BREAKFAST CONSISTED OF TOAST AND BUTTER.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Leamington Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Roseville, MN
Jul 29, 2011

Possible Homicide

To start off on this wonderful trip we drove past 5star hotels only to end up in some back alley of a dark part of town. The cabby said "good luck" as he squeeled out of the way of this hotel. We checked in and had to sign a "transient waiver" and then they issued us our key, yes KEY not key card. The guy behind the desk asked if we wanted the bell boy to bring our bags to the room. Out comes Jorge in his safari hat to escort us up to our room in the ancient elevator. As we were going up to our room Jorge then decided it was a good time to tell us about his nude beach experience. Finally we get to our floor and the doors seem to be actual room partitions with mismatched door knobs that DO NOT turn. We get to our room and the door was crooked and cut on the top. Now the fun starts! We enter our room and there was no headboard or blanket on the bed. Just a mattress and box spring and sheets. A 1960's style dresser. It appeared there was a homicide in the room because the only part of the room that had been painted in the past 3 decades was right behind the blood stained lamp on the plastic bedside table. However the one nice thing about the room was the beer bottle opener right next to the toilet at perfect height to aid in your opening the many beers you will need to consume to actually get a good nights sleep in this hotel. We slept with our clothes and shoes on used our dirty t-shirts for pillow cases and got out as soon as we could in the morning. NEVER stay at this hotel!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top