$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 12, 2015 Check-out: Sep 14, 2015

Sofitel Miami

4 stars
View map of 5800 Blue Lagoon Drive, MIAMI, FL 33126

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
208 reviews
Great trip

The only complaint I have is no vending machines which is OK but also there wasn't a refrigerator... See full review

  • Dee W.
  • Aug 19, 2015
Near Perfect

Great in every way. Special thanks to Ricardo for making the rooms work while we were suffering... See full review

  • SAW1444
  • Aug 18, 2015
  • Miami Art Museum
  • Coral Gables
  • Orange Bowl
  • Dolphin Mall
  • Shops of Sunset
  • American Airlines Arena
  • Port of Miami
  • Miami Convention Center
General

Just five minutes from Miami International Airport, the hotel often hosts business travelers and visitors heading to nearby Coral Gables.

 

The hotel is a stylish alternative to more conventional environments for corporate events. Parlor rooms are decorated with a striking Bird of Paradise motif in green, orange, gold and blue and cater to smaller groups. A sizeable terrace moves the networking outside for parties of up to 700. Zebra prints lend whimsy to and lighten the formality of executive events.

Location

Executive travelers with an eye for design will feel at home at this European-style hotel. The 218-room property is set on a picturesque blue lagoon. The building captivates with bold details such as a grand tiled lobby with red leather club chairs and a wrought-iron banister and Art Deco lighting fixtures. Guest rooms deliver their own sense of style with abstract artwork, piped sofas and camel-colored upholstery. The outdoor pool is dramatic and has a waterfall cascading from a red canopy. 

Dining
  • Miami International Airport (3 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (28 miles)
Rooms

Carpeted rooms tastefully incorporate familiar zebra prints. Beige upholstery and walls keep the focus on artful accessories, such as abstract paintings and framed black-and-white photos. Each room has either a king bed or two double beds, a view of the Miami skyline or blue lagoon, free bottled water upon arrival and feather bed and duvet. Guests can access Wi-Fi for an additional fee.

Property features

Luxury hotel near Miami International Airport with a business focus

Highlights
  • French-styled, Art Deco luxury hotel on a blue lagoon
  • Free shuttle to and from Miami International Airport
  • La Riviera restaurant and Le Bar on site
  • Indoor and outdoor space for up to 700 guests
  • Outdoor pool and fitness center
Nearby attractions
Free accommodation and breakfast for one child under 12 years old sharing parents' room (with space for a crib, rollaway bed or by using existing bedding) having breakfast as a family. No club access.
Business
  • Indoor and outdoor function space, including a ballroom that can hold up to 600 guests and a terrace with space for up to 700 guests
  • Fax
  • Audiovisual equipment
  • Wi-Fi access
Transportation
  • French-styled, Art Deco luxury hotel on a blue lagoon
  • Free shuttle to and from Miami International Airport
  • La Riviera restaurant and Le Bar on site
  • Indoor and outdoor space for up to 700 guests
  • Outdoor pool and fitness center
Policies
Free accommodation and breakfast for one child under 12 years old sharing parents' room (with space for a crib, rollaway bed or by using existing bedding) having breakfast as a family. No club access.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sofitel Miami also booked these hotels.

★★★
$119
3.9 / 5 171 reviews
★★★★
$114
3.9 / 5 97 reviews
★★★
$78
3.6 / 5 154 reviews
★★★
$99
4.0 / 5 90 reviews
★★★★
$89
3.3 / 5 221 reviews
★★★
$101
4.4 / 5 40 reviews
★★★
$104
3.8 / 5 39 reviews

Sofitel Miami Rooms

JrSuite 1 Kg bed
Prestige Suite with one King-size bed - Separate living area. 499 sq. ft. (46 m²) elegantly appointed suite, with a separate living room, free WiFi, a working area, feather King size Bed and Duvet, Lanvin amenities, Web TV, phones, Iron/ironing board, and
1 Kg bed Dlx
Luxury Room with one King-size bed - Blue Lagoon view. 325 sq. ft. (30 m²) elegantly appointed room with a view over the Lagoon, free WiFi, a working area, feather King size Bed and Duvet, Lanvin amenities, Web TV, phones, Iron/ironing board, and complime
2 Db beds Dlx
Luxury Room with two Double beds - Blue Lagoon view. 325 sq. ft. (30 m²) elegantly appointed room with a view over the Lagoon, free WiFi, a working area, two feather Queen size beds and Duvet, Lanvin amenities, Web TV, phones, Iron/ironing board, and comp
1 Kg bed Sup
Superior Room with one King-size bed - View of the Miami Skyline. 325 sq. ft. (30 m²) elegantly appointed room with a view over the Miami Skyline, free Wi-Fi, a working area, feather King size Bed and Duvet, Lanvin amenities, Web TV, phones, Iron/ironing
2 Db beds Sup
Superior Room with two Double beds - View of the Miami Skyline. 325 sq. ft. (30 m²) elegantly appointed room with a view over the Miami Skyline, free WiFi, a working area, two feather Queen size beds and Duvet, Lanvin amenities, Web TV, phones, Iron/ironi

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Concierge
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Room service
Poolside snackbar
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Iron
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Granada: 1.6 mi
  • Museum of the Americas: 2.4 mi
  • Metro Dade Cultural Center: 2.5 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Tropical Park: 4.1 mi
  • University of Miami: 4.2 mi
  • Marlins Park: 4.4 mi
  • Joseph Caleb Auditorium: 4.7 mi
  • CocoWalk: 4.8 mi
  • Bird Bowl: 4.8 mi
  • East Little Havana: 4.9 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 5 mi
  • Frost Art Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 5.5 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 5.5 mi
  • Granada: 1.6 mi
  • Museum of the Americas: 2.4 mi
  • Metro Dade Cultural Center: 2.5 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Tropical Park: 4.1 mi
  • University of Miami: 4.2 mi
  • Marlins Park: 4.4 mi
  • Joseph Caleb Auditorium: 4.7 mi
  • CocoWalk: 4.8 mi
  • Bird Bowl: 4.8 mi
  • East Little Havana: 4.9 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 5 mi
  • Frost Art Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 5.5 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 5.5 mi
  • Lummus Park: 5.6 mi
  • FIU Stadium: 5.8 mi
  • Miami Dade Public Library: 6 mi
  • Albertini Arts Gallery: 6.1 mi
  • Ice Palace Film Studios: 6.1 mi
  • Pulse Miami: 6.2 mi
  • Freedom Tower: 6.3 mi
  • Tina Hills Pavilion: 6.4 mi
  • American Airlines Arena: 6.4 mi
  • Bayside Marketplace: 6.5 mi
  • Trinity Episcopal Cathedral: 6.5 mi
  • Miami Children's Museum: 7.2 mi
  • Jungle Island: 7.3 mi
  • Bettcher Gallery: 7.3 mi
  • Port of Miami: 7.3 mi
  • Morningside Park: 7.5 mi
  • Temple Israel: 7.8 mi
  • Dodge Island: 8 mi
  • Palm Island: 8.2 mi
  • Pinecrest: 8.2 mi
  • Miami Seaquarium: 8.5 mi
  • Fisher Island: 9.5 mi
  • Miami Lakes Country Club: 9.7 mi
  • Art Deco District: 9.8 mi
  • Bayshore Golf Club: 9.9 mi
  • Espanola Way: 9.9 mi
  • Lincoln Road Mall: 9.9 mi
  • Oceanfront: 10.7 mi
  • La Gorce Country Club: 10.9 mi
  • Normandy Shores: 10.9 mi

Dining

LE BAR
This pool restaurant and bar serves healthy snacks, salads and juices that can be enjoyed all day while relaxing by our beautiful waterfall pool overlooking the peaceful blue lagoon!
LA RIVIERA
Everyday, enjoy breakfast in our restaurant from 6am to 11.30 am. La Riviera is open for lunch Monday through Friday from 11.30am to 2pm and is open for dinner 7 days a week from 6pm to 11pm.
LE BAR
Le Bar offers high-end drinks that will initiate outsiders to the true Miami cocktail classics! With creative happy hour specials Monday-Friday, it's a resting place from the noise and traffic. Consider it a drink lover's calm in the center of the storm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Miami

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
93 out of 208
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Miami

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sad customer
Couples
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Oct 25, 2011

Unhappy getaway

The hotel wasn't very clean and had a terrible Oder I wouldn't suggest this hotel to anyone not worth the money I spent. I won't be staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sofitel Miami

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Serby
Couples
New York, NY, USA
Dec 1, 2011

Room and Hotel old and smelly

Requested two days in a row to remove a death pageant from my balcony but never happening .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sofitel Miami

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Deb from Boston
Couples
Boston
Dec 19, 2013

sleeping in an ashtray

We had made a reservation for a non-smoking room, and when we checked in around 9 pm they were very sorry but had nothing but a smoking room. It was truly a miserable night. the smoke seemed to be steeped into the pillows and covers

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sofitel Miami

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Seattle, WA
Nov 14, 2010

No Sleep at the Sofitel

An airport hotel should service tired travelers and not be a party hotel. There was an event the night we were there which lasted until midnight. The volume of the music and base speakers was so loud we could feel and hear it on the 7th floor even with our Bose headphones on! We had a 5 am wake up call for our flight and only got 4 hours of sleep!! Hotel staff could not help to turn volume down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sofitel Miami

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Vacationer 2010
Couples
San Antonio
Dec 28, 2010

Very international feel.

We stayed two days in Miami after a cruise. We chose Sofitel since we had stayed in one in BudaPest which may have been the nicest room ever. This was unfortunately the same as staying in any other hotel. In fact it was cheaper than most. It boiled down to poor maintenance. The tub caulking looked like a 4 year old did it. A lot of small things. The staff was fine and scenery on the lagoon was great. The worst were the international guests. They were loud, rude with screaming kids every where all night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

We had only a pizza but it was great. The menu looked outstanding but we did not have the opportunity to try anything else.

Review of Sofitel Miami

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
OneLovelyMiss
Couples
Lombard, IL, USA
Dec 5, 2011

Expected Better

Overall it was a decent stay. The staff was very accommodating, very knowledgeable, and overall very friendly. The room was ok, I got a Junior Suite, and while it was clean, I did expect more from a 4 star hotel. The food was good. I had the best Salmon Pizza ever! Will be making that at home. But overall I was just expecting more from a 4 star European based hotel. Wasn't impressed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Salmon Pizza is amazing and not too pricey.

Review of Sofitel Miami

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Mexico
May 19, 2009

Very Good but not as it looks

The hotel is indeed a good class hotel, hotel staff is very friendly and fast. Hotel condition needs a little attention although it was very clean, don´t get fooled by the pool photo it is definitely a very small pool and poorly mantained but with a great view of the lagoon. The $8 dollars per night self parking is never mentioned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

South Beach nightlife it's not less than 15 minutes away by car or taxi but maybe taking a cab there it's worth it if you consider avoiding the traffic in the area and the very hard it is to park.

Review of Sofitel Miami

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
asg450
Couples
New York, NY
Oct 13, 2010

Nice Weekend Getaway

The hotel was in a short driving distance to every location we planned to visit. The staff was very pleasant; however, it was very annoying when there was only one elevator working when A LOT of guests needed to check out. We had to squeeze into the small elevator with 5 other guests, one hotel employee, and A LOT of suitcases. The room was clean; however, there was a lot of long hairs around the bathroom. The bathroom had some really bad renovations done. The walls were thin, we could hear the guests in the next room and the guests on the above floor. We did not spend a lot of time in our room, so these things did not bother us much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sofitel Miami

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
MI
Mar 2, 2010

good if planning on doing nothing

Information listed on site was not the same as when arrived at hotel. Not free internet. Breakfast was not included. Expensive to go anywhere from the hotel and nothing near the hotel. Hotel itself was nice. Would not stay there again, other hotels near by just as nice for less money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sofitel Miami

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
S. T.
Couples
Miami Fl.
Mar 19, 2010

This facility was a renovated hotel.

Service staff very friendly, the dining room was nice by very expensive. Nothing else around to walk to. I guess this is Miami however. We were told we would have a free shuttle to the port of Miami for our cruise, however we were charged when it came to reserve our shuttle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

This would be the shuttle service. Pick up from airport, and shuttle to the port of Miami for cruise the next day (for a cost).

Back to menu Return to top