$114 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2014 Check-out: Sep 5, 2014

Sofitel Miami

4 stars
5800 Blue Lagoon Drive, MIAMI, FL 33126
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
237 reviews
A very nice stay

The hotel is lovely, very clean, beds were wonderful lovely linen. Pool area is lovely, but pool is... See full review

  • Deni
  • Jun 11, 2014
Printer

Printer broken... Staff could not fix Otherwise excellent See full review

  • SKat
  • Jan 22, 2014
Dramatic Miami International Airport hotel set on a blue lagoon

Executive travelers with an eye for design will feel at home at this European-style hotel. The 218-room property is set on a picturesque blue lagoon. The building captivates with bold details such as a grand tiled lobby with red leather club chairs and a wrought-iron banister and Art Deco lighting fixtures. Guest rooms deliver their own sense of style with abstract artwork, piped sofas and camel-colored upholstery. The outdoor pool is dramatic and has a waterfall cascading from a red canopy. 

Highlights
  • French-styled, Art Deco luxury hotel on a blue lagoon
  • Free shuttle to and from Miami International Airport
  • La Riviera restaurant and Le Bar on site
  • Indoor and outdoor space for up to 700 guests
  • Outdoor pool and fitness center
Rooms

Carpeted rooms tastefully incorporate familiar zebra prints. Beige upholstery and walls keep the focus on artful accessories, such as abstract paintings and framed black-and-white photos. Each room has either a king bed or two double beds, a view of the Miami skyline or blue lagoon, free bottled water upon arrival and feather bed and duvet. Guests can access Wi-Fi for an additional fee.

Features

Just five minutes from Miami International Airport, the hotel often hosts business travelers and visitors heading to nearby Coral Gables.

 

The hotel is a stylish alternative to more conventional environments for corporate events. Parlor rooms are decorated with a striking Bird of Paradise motif in green, orange, gold and blue and cater to smaller groups. A sizeable terrace moves the networking outside for parties of up to 700. Zebra prints lend whimsy to and lighten the formality of executive events.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (3 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (28 miles)
Attractions
  • Miami Art Museum
  • Coral Gables
  • Orange Bowl
  • Dolphin Mall
  • Shops of Sunset
  • American Airlines Arena
  • Port of Miami
  • Miami Convention Center
Business
  • Indoor and outdoor function space, including a ballroom that can hold up to 600 guests and a terrace with space for up to 700 guests
  • Fax
  • Audiovisual equipment
  • Wi-Fi access
Policies and fees
Free accommodation and breakfast for one child under 12 years old sharing parents' room (with space for a crib, rollaway bed or by using existing bedding) having breakfast as a family. No club access.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

25.7819 -80.2912
Nearby airports
FLL, (FLL), 46.02, KM, S; MIA, (MIA), 4.02, KM, S;
Area description
Airport

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sofitel Miami also booked these hotels.

Sofitel Miami Rooms

1 Kg bed Sup
Superior Room with one King-size bed - View of the Miami Skyline. 325 sq. ft. (30 m²) elegantly appointed room with a view over the Miami Skyline, free Wi-Fi, a working area, feather King size Bed and Duvet, Lanvin amenities, Web TV, phones, Iron/ironin
1 Kg bed Dlx
Luxury Room with one King-size bed - Blue Lagoon view. 325 sq. ft. (30 m²) elegantly appointed room with a view over the Lagoon, free WiFi, a working area, feather King size Bed and Duvet, Lanvin amenities, Web TV, phones, Iron/ironing board, and compli
JrSuite 1 Kg bed
Prestige Suite with one King-size bed - Separate living area. 499 sq. ft. (46 m²) elegantly appointed suite, with a separate living room, free WiFi, a working area, feather King size Bed and Duvet, Lanvin amenities, Web TV, phones, Iron/ironing board, a
2 Db beds Sup
Superior Room with two Double beds - View of the Miami Skyline. 325 sq. ft. (30 m²) elegantly appointed room with a view over the Miami Skyline, free WiFi, a working area, two feather Queen size beds and Duvet, Lanvin amenities, Web TV, phones, Iron/iro
2 Db beds Dlx
Luxury Room with two Double beds - Blue Lagoon view. 325 sq. ft. (30 m²) elegantly appointed room with a view over the Lagoon, free WiFi, a working area, two feather Queen size beds and Duvet, Lanvin amenities, Web TV, phones, Iron/ironing board, and co

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Concierge
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Room service
Poolside snackbar
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Iron
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Granada: 1.6 mi
  • Museum of the Americas: 2.4 mi
  • Metro Dade Cultural Center: 2.5 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Tropical Park: 4.1 mi
  • University of Miami: 4.2 mi
  • Marlins Park: 4.4 mi
  • Joseph Caleb Auditorium: 4.7 mi
  • CocoWalk: 4.8 mi
  • Bird Bowl: 4.8 mi
  • East Little Havana: 4.9 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 5 mi
  • Frost Art Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 5.5 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 5.5 mi
  • Granada: 1.6 mi
  • Museum of the Americas: 2.4 mi
  • Metro Dade Cultural Center: 2.5 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Tropical Park: 4.1 mi
  • University of Miami: 4.2 mi
  • Marlins Park: 4.4 mi
  • Joseph Caleb Auditorium: 4.7 mi
  • CocoWalk: 4.8 mi
  • Bird Bowl: 4.8 mi
  • East Little Havana: 4.9 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 5 mi
  • Frost Art Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 5.5 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 5.5 mi
  • Lummus Park: 5.6 mi
  • FIU Stadium: 5.8 mi
  • Miami Dade Public Library: 6 mi
  • Albertini Arts Gallery: 6.1 mi
  • Ice Palace Film Studios: 6.1 mi
  • Pulse Miami: 6.2 mi
  • Freedom Tower: 6.3 mi
  • Tina Hills Pavillion: 6.4 mi
  • American Airlines Arena: 6.4 mi
  • Bayside Marketplace: 6.5 mi
  • Trinity Episcopal Cathedral: 6.5 mi
  • Miami Children's Museum: 7.2 mi
  • Jungle Island: 7.3 mi
  • Bettcher Gallery: 7.3 mi
  • Port of Miami: 7.3 mi
  • Morningside Park: 7.5 mi
  • Temple Israel: 7.8 mi
  • Dodge Island: 8 mi
  • Palm Island: 8.2 mi
  • Pinecrest: 8.2 mi
  • Miami Seaquarium: 8.5 mi
  • Fisher Island: 9.5 mi
  • Miami Lakes Country Club: 9.7 mi
  • Art Deco District: 9.8 mi
  • Bayshore Golf Club: 9.9 mi
  • Espanola Way: 9.9 mi
  • Lincoln Road Mall: 9.9 mi
  • Oceanfront: 10.7 mi
  • La Gorce Country Club: 10.9 mi
  • Normandy Shores: 10.9 mi

Dining

LE BAR
This pool restaurant and bar serves healthy snacks, salads and juices that can be enjoyed all day while relaxing by our beautiful waterfall pool overlooking the peaceful blue lagoon!
LA RIVIERA
Everyday, enjoy breakfast in our restaurant from 6am to 11.30 am. La Riviera is open for lunch Monday through Friday from 11.30am to 2pm and is open for dinner 7 days a week from 6pm to 11pm.
LE BAR
Le Bar offers high-end drinks that will initiate outsiders to the true Miami cocktail classics! With creative happy hour specials Monday-Friday, it's a resting place from the noise and traffic. Consider it a drink lover's calm in the center of the storm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (237)

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Miami

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
237 out of 237
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Miami

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Nov 14, 2010

No Sleep at the Sofitel

An airport hotel should service tired travelers and not be a party hotel. There was an event the night we were there which lasted until midnight. The volume of the music and base speakers was so loud we could feel and hear it on the 7th floor even with our Bose headphones on! We had a 5 am wake up call for our flight and only got 4 hours of sleep!! Hotel staff could not help to turn volume down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sofitel Miami

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arlington
Jun 22, 2008

Not traveler friendly

June 21st stay: No vanity around or near bathroom sink. Light out of order over table did not allow me to eat breakfast at 6:00AM. No milk or cream with tea. No menu in room to order breakfast. June 28th stay: Room upgraded but breakfast ordered for 6:00AM could still not be delivered at 6:20 because of kitchen problems had to be cancelled. Location was good but not worth the aggravation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Miami

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arlington
Jun 29, 2008

Expect to leave hungry!

I had ordered breakfast but twenty minutes after breakfast was supposed to be delivered, I got a call from kitchen saying they had kitchen problems. Had to cancel breakfast. This was my third stay at this hotel and each time there was a problem with breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Miami

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Vacationer 2010
San Antonio
Dec 28, 2010

Very international feel.

We stayed two days in Miami after a cruise. We chose Sofitel since we had stayed in one in BudaPest which may have been the nicest room ever. This was unfortunately the same as staying in any other hotel. In fact it was cheaper than most. It boiled down to poor maintenance. The tub caulking looked like a 4 year old did it. A lot of small things. The staff was fine and scenery on the lagoon was great. The worst were the international guests. They were loud, rude with screaming kids every where all night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

We had only a pizza but it was great. The menu looked outstanding but we did not have the opportunity to try anything else.

Review of Sofitel Miami

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
michael1
mulberry,fl
Jan 4, 2010

luxury-2 double beds

i have two things i was upset about. 1st i pay 134.99 per night for a luxury room that had no ferg. and no micoware and was the same room as a reg.room for 99.99 per night. i ask about this and was told the only diffence was the luxury room had the lagoon view.the 2nd thing is that this hotel was so close to the air port you here every airplane that toke off.even at 2:00 am not all was bad very nice staff. very clean place. don't forget 8 dollars per day parking and 10 dollars per day internet

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

pubic super market is next door.

Review of Sofitel Miami

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mika
Not Provided
Jun 10, 2009

Staff were really friendly and

Staff were really friendly and the location of the hotel is excellent near the airport. Best thing in my suite was the bed! It was so comfortable and huge. One thing was missing in the suite was minibar - though staff told me there isn't minibars in any rooms, which seems to be some kind of "american standard". Another thing I found confusing was the internet connection. There were wired and wireless connection in my suite. First I choose to use wired connection (which was biiiiiiig mistake). After a while I would like to use wireless connection, but surprise surprise, the service provider was different. So if you choose first to use wired connection and you pay for that, you will have to pay the same amount again if you want to use wireless connection as well!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Sofitel Miami

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
OneLovelyMiss
Lombard, IL, USA
Dec 5, 2011

Expected Better

Overall it was a decent stay. The staff was very accommodating, very knowledgeable, and overall very friendly. The room was ok, I got a Junior Suite, and while it was clean, I did expect more from a 4 star hotel. The food was good. I had the best Salmon Pizza ever! Will be making that at home. But overall I was just expecting more from a 4 star European based hotel. Wasn't impressed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

The Salmon Pizza is amazing and not too pricey.

Review of Sofitel Miami

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SRP1
Business
Charlotte NC
May 14, 2013

Needs updated

Charged for a 4 star but only a 3 star at best. Hampton and Holiday Inns are nicer!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Miami

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Patricia02
Business
NY, NY
Nov 18, 2013

Needs its scheduled remodeling

Stayed for business. The hotel rooms are worn and in need of remodeling. Flashy decor is not to my taste. Main restaurant with average food. Staff with stiff demeanor. Bed very comfortable though. Free internet serviceable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Took taxi from airport, which cost 15 for 5 minute ride. Told that hotel has free shuttle

Review of Sofitel Miami

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
East Coast
Nov 4, 2010

Very nice hotel, but a little overpriced

I was only at the hotel for one night. The room was clean and I felt very safe during my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Hotel restaurant was VERY expensive, i.e., $4.00 for an 8 ounce bottle of soda. There are no markets or restaurants within walking distance so bring your own food, snacks, etc. Also, hotel charges $9.00 parking fee per night!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search