$106 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

Sofitel Miami

4 stars
5800 Blue Lagoon Drive, MIAMI, FL 33126
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
214 reviews
Great place

I regularly go to the Sofitel. It's perfect for Miami. Perfect location, and excellent value for... See full review

  • Miami frequent travler
  • Aug 24, 2014
GREAT HOTEL GREAT STAFF GREAT FOOD

STAFF VERY FRIENDLY ROOMS COMFORTABLE FEATHER BEDS ARE TERRIFIC. I HAVE STAYED IN OTHER SOFITELS... See full review

  • Jinxy 01
  • Dec 19, 2013
Dramatic Miami International Airport hotel set on a blue lagoon

Executive travelers with an eye for design will feel at home at this European-style hotel. The 218-room property is set on a picturesque blue lagoon. The building captivates with bold details such as a grand tiled lobby with red leather club chairs and a wrought-iron banister and Art Deco lighting fixtures. Guest rooms deliver their own sense of style with abstract artwork, piped sofas and camel-colored upholstery. The outdoor pool is dramatic and has a waterfall cascading from a red canopy. 

Highlights
  • French-styled, Art Deco luxury hotel on a blue lagoon
  • Free shuttle to and from Miami International Airport
  • La Riviera restaurant and Le Bar on site
  • Indoor and outdoor space for up to 700 guests
  • Outdoor pool and fitness center
Rooms

Carpeted rooms tastefully incorporate familiar zebra prints. Beige upholstery and walls keep the focus on artful accessories, such as abstract paintings and framed black-and-white photos. Each room has either a king bed or two double beds, a view of the Miami skyline or blue lagoon, free bottled water upon arrival and feather bed and duvet. Guests can access Wi-Fi for an additional fee.

Features

Just five minutes from Miami International Airport, the hotel often hosts business travelers and visitors heading to nearby Coral Gables.

 

The hotel is a stylish alternative to more conventional environments for corporate events. Parlor rooms are decorated with a striking Bird of Paradise motif in green, orange, gold and blue and cater to smaller groups. A sizeable terrace moves the networking outside for parties of up to 700. Zebra prints lend whimsy to and lighten the formality of executive events.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (3 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (28 miles)
Attractions
  • Miami Art Museum
  • Coral Gables
  • Orange Bowl
  • Dolphin Mall
  • Shops of Sunset
  • American Airlines Arena
  • Port of Miami
  • Miami Convention Center
Business
  • Indoor and outdoor function space, including a ballroom that can hold up to 600 guests and a terrace with space for up to 700 guests
  • Fax
  • Audiovisual equipment
  • Wi-Fi access
Policies and fees
Free accommodation and breakfast for one child under 12 years old sharing parents' room (with space for a crib, rollaway bed or by using existing bedding) having breakfast as a family. No club access.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

25.7819 -80.2912
Nearby airports
FLL, (FLL), 46.02, KM, S; MIA, (MIA), 4.02, KM, S;
Area description
Airport

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sofitel Miami also booked these hotels.

Sofitel Miami Rooms

1 Kg bed Sup
Superior Room with one King-size bed - View of the Miami Skyline. 325 sq. ft. (30 m²) elegantly appointed room with a view over the Miami Skyline, free Wi-Fi, a working area, feather King size Bed and Duvet, Lanvin amenities, Web TV, phones, Iron/ironin
1 Kg bed Dlx
Luxury Room with one King-size bed - Blue Lagoon view. 325 sq. ft. (30 m²) elegantly appointed room with a view over the Lagoon, free WiFi, a working area, feather King size Bed and Duvet, Lanvin amenities, Web TV, phones, Iron/ironing board, and compli
JrSuite 1 Kg bed
Prestige Suite with one King-size bed - Separate living area. 499 sq. ft. (46 m²) elegantly appointed suite, with a separate living room, free WiFi, a working area, feather King size Bed and Duvet, Lanvin amenities, Web TV, phones, Iron/ironing board, a
2 Db beds Sup
Superior Room with two Double beds - View of the Miami Skyline. 325 sq. ft. (30 m²) elegantly appointed room with a view over the Miami Skyline, free WiFi, a working area, two feather Queen size beds and Duvet, Lanvin amenities, Web TV, phones, Iron/iro
2 Db beds Dlx
Luxury Room with two Double beds - Blue Lagoon view. 325 sq. ft. (30 m²) elegantly appointed room with a view over the Lagoon, free WiFi, a working area, two feather Queen size beds and Duvet, Lanvin amenities, Web TV, phones, Iron/ironing board, and co

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Concierge
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Room service
Poolside snackbar
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Iron
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Granada: 1.6 mi
  • Museum of the Americas: 2.4 mi
  • Metro Dade Cultural Center: 2.5 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Tropical Park: 4.1 mi
  • University of Miami: 4.2 mi
  • Marlins Park: 4.4 mi
  • Joseph Caleb Auditorium: 4.7 mi
  • CocoWalk: 4.8 mi
  • Bird Bowl: 4.8 mi
  • East Little Havana: 4.9 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 5 mi
  • Frost Art Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 5.5 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 5.5 mi
  • Granada: 1.6 mi
  • Museum of the Americas: 2.4 mi
  • Metro Dade Cultural Center: 2.5 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Tropical Park: 4.1 mi
  • University of Miami: 4.2 mi
  • Marlins Park: 4.4 mi
  • Joseph Caleb Auditorium: 4.7 mi
  • CocoWalk: 4.8 mi
  • Bird Bowl: 4.8 mi
  • East Little Havana: 4.9 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 5 mi
  • Frost Art Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 5.5 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 5.5 mi
  • Lummus Park: 5.6 mi
  • FIU Stadium: 5.8 mi
  • Miami Dade Public Library: 6 mi
  • Albertini Arts Gallery: 6.1 mi
  • Ice Palace Film Studios: 6.1 mi
  • Pulse Miami: 6.2 mi
  • Freedom Tower: 6.3 mi
  • Tina Hills Pavillion: 6.4 mi
  • American Airlines Arena: 6.4 mi
  • Bayside Marketplace: 6.5 mi
  • Trinity Episcopal Cathedral: 6.5 mi
  • Miami Children's Museum: 7.2 mi
  • Jungle Island: 7.3 mi
  • Bettcher Gallery: 7.3 mi
  • Port of Miami: 7.3 mi
  • Morningside Park: 7.5 mi
  • Temple Israel: 7.8 mi
  • Dodge Island: 8 mi
  • Palm Island: 8.2 mi
  • Pinecrest: 8.2 mi
  • Miami Seaquarium: 8.5 mi
  • Fisher Island: 9.5 mi
  • Miami Lakes Country Club: 9.7 mi
  • Art Deco District: 9.8 mi
  • Bayshore Golf Club: 9.9 mi
  • Espanola Way: 9.9 mi
  • Lincoln Road Mall: 9.9 mi
  • Oceanfront: 10.7 mi
  • La Gorce Country Club: 10.9 mi
  • Normandy Shores: 10.9 mi

Dining

LE BAR
This pool restaurant and bar serves healthy snacks, salads and juices that can be enjoyed all day while relaxing by our beautiful waterfall pool overlooking the peaceful blue lagoon!
LA RIVIERA
Everyday, enjoy breakfast in our restaurant from 6am to 11.30 am. La Riviera is open for lunch Monday through Friday from 11.30am to 2pm and is open for dinner 7 days a week from 6pm to 11pm.
LE BAR
Le Bar offers high-end drinks that will initiate outsiders to the true Miami cocktail classics! With creative happy hour specials Monday-Friday, it's a resting place from the noise and traffic. Consider it a drink lover's calm in the center of the storm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (214)

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Miami

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
214 out of 214
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Miami

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Herndon, VA
Jan 3, 2010

Very unconfortable, very bad, small room

Cannot be a 4 star hotel, Room does not have any beds with bed frames. Room was very small and very bad lighting. I won't recommend to any one to stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Miami

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Norfolk, VA
Jul 7, 2007

For Business Meetings Only

The hotel staff at the Sofitel was extremely nice and pleasant. The lobby was impressive, but not the room. When you've stayed in a four and five star hotel, you know when you're not in one. The room was clean, but the carpet really needs to be replaced. The feather beds were uncomfortable, and you are literally next door to the airport. The pool area was not that inviting either. There were damaged and rusted tables and umbrellas in a fenced in area as you entered the pool area. The restaurant seemed nice, but very pricey. The location is also an inconvenience if you want to take in either Miami Beach our South Beach. It was a 15 to 20 minute drive with no traffic. If you are in town for a meeting, or want to be away from it all, this is the hotel for you. If you want to have fun and enjoy the beach area, stay where the action is.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

There is nothing around as far as nightlife, dining, or entertainment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Miami

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 28, 2008

Terrible hotel

We just needed to be in Miami overnight, but because we'd have been traveling all day we thought we'd stay in a decent place that had 24 hour room service. We arrive at a place where the people were very night; where the room service person was always out for a smoke; where the all night menu was some prepackaged sandwiches (and some salads); where we could get no hot water in the room till the morning; where, because Florida was having an uncharacteristic cold spell, we could not get heat and were freezing. It was terrible. Then in the AM the waitress was very nice but really incompetent, and the food, of course, very overpriced and ornate, which is to be expected, but which capped off a bad experience. I like hotels! I never complain! This was bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Miami

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sad customer
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Oct 25, 2011

Unhappy getaway

The hotel wasn't very clean and had a terrible Oder I wouldn't suggest this hotel to anyone not worth the money I spent. I won't be staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Miami

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
MEXICO CITY INTERNATIONAL TRAVELER
Jan 13, 2011

surprisingly ugly details

The hotel is very nice, the rooms are great. We had 3 rooms in our party. When I went in to take a shower it was disgustingly dirty with black hairs plastered on the walls, in the drain. The sheets also had hairs. I complained and they offered to clean the room at 12:00 A.M. and next morning there was a tiny box of chocolates apologizing for what had happened. Since the room was already paid for I couldn't not pay, I think they should have mada a refund for the night. It is a 4 diamond hotel, after all. In one of the other rooms, the sheets were dirty, also a tiny box of chocolates next day and, next day, the third room wasn't even made (and we got in at 12:00 A.M. What is wrong with the management. I've stayed in 4 diamond hotels and 5 diamond hotels all over the world, and this was a first. I really think we should get a full refund and they need to get their housekeeping manager somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Miami

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Satisfied Sofitel client
Cancun, Mexico
May 4, 2012

It is the staff that gives a good name to this hotel!

Good welcome from the staff. I was expected. I had just landed from Rome and I had Euros, Cdn dollars and Mexican pesos, but no American money since I was just in transit, waiting for my plane to Mexico. I could not tip the bell boy in US currency, yet, he took my bags to my room, introduced himself (his name is Ricardo), he showed me all the amenities of the room knowing I did not have a penny for him (he did refuse all of my currencies). For breakfast the next morning, another wonderful experience. The food was fresh, hot, exquisitely presented and done perfectly. The croissants were hot and crisp, the scrambled eggs just so, the orange juice very fresh and the service friendly and impeccable. I will never hesitate to recommand this hotel to anybody. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have had besides my own at home (and since I had just landing from Italy, it was very appreciated because if the Italians are wonderful with the design and the taste of things, they could learn a thing or two about comfort!). All in all, an experience I wish had been longer. I will never hesitate now to book in a Sofitel hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Miami

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arlington
Jun 29, 2008

Expect to leave hungry!

I had ordered breakfast but twenty minutes after breakfast was supposed to be delivered, I got a call from kitchen saying they had kitchen problems. Had to cancel breakfast. This was my third stay at this hotel and each time there was a problem with breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Miami

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Nov 14, 2010

No Sleep at the Sofitel

An airport hotel should service tired travelers and not be a party hotel. There was an event the night we were there which lasted until midnight. The volume of the music and base speakers was so loud we could feel and hear it on the 7th floor even with our Bose headphones on! We had a 5 am wake up call for our flight and only got 4 hours of sleep!! Hotel staff could not help to turn volume down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Miami

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arlington
Jun 22, 2008

Not traveler friendly

June 21st stay: No vanity around or near bathroom sink. Light out of order over table did not allow me to eat breakfast at 6:00AM. No milk or cream with tea. No menu in room to order breakfast. June 28th stay: Room upgraded but breakfast ordered for 6:00AM could still not be delivered at 6:20 because of kitchen problems had to be cancelled. Location was good but not worth the aggravation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Miami

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
themets
ny ny
Jan 22, 2012

tired looking

pictures looked nicer than reality hilton nearby was much nicer

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search