$114 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2014 Check-out: Sep 5, 2014

Sofitel Miami

4 stars
5800 Blue Lagoon Drive, MIAMI, FL 33126
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
237 reviews
A very nice stay

The hotel is lovely, very clean, beds were wonderful lovely linen. Pool area is lovely, but pool is... See full review

  • Deni
  • Jun 11, 2014
Printer

Printer broken... Staff could not fix Otherwise excellent See full review

  • SKat
  • Jan 22, 2014
Dramatic Miami International Airport hotel set on a blue lagoon

Executive travelers with an eye for design will feel at home at this European-style hotel. The 218-room property is set on a picturesque blue lagoon. The building captivates with bold details such as a grand tiled lobby with red leather club chairs and a wrought-iron banister and Art Deco lighting fixtures. Guest rooms deliver their own sense of style with abstract artwork, piped sofas and camel-colored upholstery. The outdoor pool is dramatic and has a waterfall cascading from a red canopy. 

Highlights
  • French-styled, Art Deco luxury hotel on a blue lagoon
  • Free shuttle to and from Miami International Airport
  • La Riviera restaurant and Le Bar on site
  • Indoor and outdoor space for up to 700 guests
  • Outdoor pool and fitness center
Rooms

Carpeted rooms tastefully incorporate familiar zebra prints. Beige upholstery and walls keep the focus on artful accessories, such as abstract paintings and framed black-and-white photos. Each room has either a king bed or two double beds, a view of the Miami skyline or blue lagoon, free bottled water upon arrival and feather bed and duvet. Guests can access Wi-Fi for an additional fee.

Features

Just five minutes from Miami International Airport, the hotel often hosts business travelers and visitors heading to nearby Coral Gables.

 

The hotel is a stylish alternative to more conventional environments for corporate events. Parlor rooms are decorated with a striking Bird of Paradise motif in green, orange, gold and blue and cater to smaller groups. A sizeable terrace moves the networking outside for parties of up to 700. Zebra prints lend whimsy to and lighten the formality of executive events.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (3 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (28 miles)
Attractions
  • Miami Art Museum
  • Coral Gables
  • Orange Bowl
  • Dolphin Mall
  • Shops of Sunset
  • American Airlines Arena
  • Port of Miami
  • Miami Convention Center
Business
  • Indoor and outdoor function space, including a ballroom that can hold up to 600 guests and a terrace with space for up to 700 guests
  • Fax
  • Audiovisual equipment
  • Wi-Fi access
Policies and fees
Free accommodation and breakfast for one child under 12 years old sharing parents' room (with space for a crib, rollaway bed or by using existing bedding) having breakfast as a family. No club access.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

25.7819 -80.2912
Nearby airports
FLL, (FLL), 46.02, KM, S; MIA, (MIA), 4.02, KM, S;
Area description
Airport

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sofitel Miami also booked these hotels.

Sofitel Miami Rooms

1 Kg bed Sup
Superior Room with one King-size bed - View of the Miami Skyline. 325 sq. ft. (30 m²) elegantly appointed room with a view over the Miami Skyline, free Wi-Fi, a working area, feather King size Bed and Duvet, Lanvin amenities, Web TV, phones, Iron/ironin
1 Kg bed Dlx
Luxury Room with one King-size bed - Blue Lagoon view. 325 sq. ft. (30 m²) elegantly appointed room with a view over the Lagoon, free WiFi, a working area, feather King size Bed and Duvet, Lanvin amenities, Web TV, phones, Iron/ironing board, and compli
JrSuite 1 Kg bed
Prestige Suite with one King-size bed - Separate living area. 499 sq. ft. (46 m²) elegantly appointed suite, with a separate living room, free WiFi, a working area, feather King size Bed and Duvet, Lanvin amenities, Web TV, phones, Iron/ironing board, a
2 Db beds Sup
Superior Room with two Double beds - View of the Miami Skyline. 325 sq. ft. (30 m²) elegantly appointed room with a view over the Miami Skyline, free WiFi, a working area, two feather Queen size beds and Duvet, Lanvin amenities, Web TV, phones, Iron/iro
2 Db beds Dlx
Luxury Room with two Double beds - Blue Lagoon view. 325 sq. ft. (30 m²) elegantly appointed room with a view over the Lagoon, free WiFi, a working area, two feather Queen size beds and Duvet, Lanvin amenities, Web TV, phones, Iron/ironing board, and co

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Concierge
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Room service
Poolside snackbar
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Iron
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Granada: 1.6 mi
  • Museum of the Americas: 2.4 mi
  • Metro Dade Cultural Center: 2.5 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Tropical Park: 4.1 mi
  • University of Miami: 4.2 mi
  • Marlins Park: 4.4 mi
  • Joseph Caleb Auditorium: 4.7 mi
  • CocoWalk: 4.8 mi
  • Bird Bowl: 4.8 mi
  • East Little Havana: 4.9 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 5 mi
  • Frost Art Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 5.5 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 5.5 mi
  • Granada: 1.6 mi
  • Museum of the Americas: 2.4 mi
  • Metro Dade Cultural Center: 2.5 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Tropical Park: 4.1 mi
  • University of Miami: 4.2 mi
  • Marlins Park: 4.4 mi
  • Joseph Caleb Auditorium: 4.7 mi
  • CocoWalk: 4.8 mi
  • Bird Bowl: 4.8 mi
  • East Little Havana: 4.9 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 5 mi
  • Frost Art Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 5.5 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 5.5 mi
  • Lummus Park: 5.6 mi
  • FIU Stadium: 5.8 mi
  • Miami Dade Public Library: 6 mi
  • Albertini Arts Gallery: 6.1 mi
  • Ice Palace Film Studios: 6.1 mi
  • Pulse Miami: 6.2 mi
  • Freedom Tower: 6.3 mi
  • Tina Hills Pavillion: 6.4 mi
  • American Airlines Arena: 6.4 mi
  • Bayside Marketplace: 6.5 mi
  • Trinity Episcopal Cathedral: 6.5 mi
  • Miami Children's Museum: 7.2 mi
  • Jungle Island: 7.3 mi
  • Bettcher Gallery: 7.3 mi
  • Port of Miami: 7.3 mi
  • Morningside Park: 7.5 mi
  • Temple Israel: 7.8 mi
  • Dodge Island: 8 mi
  • Palm Island: 8.2 mi
  • Pinecrest: 8.2 mi
  • Miami Seaquarium: 8.5 mi
  • Fisher Island: 9.5 mi
  • Miami Lakes Country Club: 9.7 mi
  • Art Deco District: 9.8 mi
  • Bayshore Golf Club: 9.9 mi
  • Espanola Way: 9.9 mi
  • Lincoln Road Mall: 9.9 mi
  • Oceanfront: 10.7 mi
  • La Gorce Country Club: 10.9 mi
  • Normandy Shores: 10.9 mi

Dining

LE BAR
This pool restaurant and bar serves healthy snacks, salads and juices that can be enjoyed all day while relaxing by our beautiful waterfall pool overlooking the peaceful blue lagoon!
LA RIVIERA
Everyday, enjoy breakfast in our restaurant from 6am to 11.30 am. La Riviera is open for lunch Monday through Friday from 11.30am to 2pm and is open for dinner 7 days a week from 6pm to 11pm.
LE BAR
Le Bar offers high-end drinks that will initiate outsiders to the true Miami cocktail classics! With creative happy hour specials Monday-Friday, it's a resting place from the noise and traffic. Consider it a drink lover's calm in the center of the storm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (237)

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Miami

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
237 out of 237
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Miami

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ballet50
Longboat Key, Florida
Mar 1, 2011

Highly recommend!

We arrived close to midnight after a long and arduous flight from San Jose, Costa Rica. It was balm to be picked up by the Sofitel ground transport bus (free) and to be assisted by a charming, upbeat driver. American Airlines was supposed to have sent our bags on to our destination city. They didn't. Sofitel helped calm what could have been a disastrous situation by offering us good cheer, well-needed muscle, and a welcoming secure over-night shelter for our luggage til next morning. We had time for a quick appetizer and glass of wine in the bar before we tucked into a luxurious, spacious room, with a king size bed dressed to the nines with linens designed to soothe. Even though we only managed 4 hours sleep before our next flight, the venue was memorable, and we will return, absolutely, some day soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Sofitel Miami

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jean the travelin queen
Chicago, IL
Jan 25, 2011

Great Hotel

Beautiful hotel, not exactly as it was described but still very nice. Pool unheated and weather was cold so we could not use the pool. Can hear the planes taking off during certain times of the day. Food was very good, fitness room excellent. Staff is friendly and worked hard to meet all our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a few places to dine within walking distance.

Review of Sofitel Miami

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ronald
Not Provided
Jan 13, 2011

Extremely friendly and helpful

Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Nice touch: most of thrm speak French or at least greet clients in French. The food is quite good but too expensive compared to European standards.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Sofitel Miami

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
MEXICO CITY INTERNATIONAL TRAVELER
Jan 13, 2011

surprisingly ugly details

The hotel is very nice, the rooms are great. We had 3 rooms in our party. When I went in to take a shower it was disgustingly dirty with black hairs plastered on the walls, in the drain. The sheets also had hairs. I complained and they offered to clean the room at 12:00 A.M. and next morning there was a tiny box of chocolates apologizing for what had happened. Since the room was already paid for I couldn't not pay, I think they should have mada a refund for the night. It is a 4 diamond hotel, after all. In one of the other rooms, the sheets were dirty, also a tiny box of chocolates next day and, next day, the third room wasn't even made (and we got in at 12:00 A.M. What is wrong with the management. I've stayed in 4 diamond hotels and 5 diamond hotels all over the world, and this was a first. I really think we should get a full refund and they need to get their housekeeping manager somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Sofitel Miami

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
GEORGIA
Jan 10, 2011

LOVELY GETAWAY

HAD A FAMILY CELEBRATION OF MY NEICE'S FIANCE BIRTHDAY PARTY. THE HOTEL WAS VERY LOVELY STAFF WAS WONERFUL, THE ONLY THING IS WHEN U NEED A FEW AMENDITIES YOU HACE TO CONSTANLY CALLED ROOM SERVICE,DIDNT WANT TO KEEP BOTHERING THEM ALL THE TIME(LOL), BUT OTHER THAN THAT THE STAY WAS VERY ENJOYABLE. WE WILL BE BACK IN MIAMI AND THAT WILL BE THE HOTEL FOR THE STAY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sofitel Miami

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Greenville, SC
Jan 4, 2011

New Year 2011

I was there on vacation to bring in the New Year. We were treated very well during our stay. The hotel atmosphere was very good and the overall hotel was beautiful. I would definitely stay at Sofitel again. The only negative report I have is it would be nice for someone to tell the guest they have to pay for parking upon arrival. Other than that my stay at Sofitel was lovely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Downtown Miami was about a 15 min drive

Review of Sofitel Miami

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GOPGOV
Chicago, IL
Jan 3, 2011

REAL kind and courteuous service

After traveling for over a week in South America, we decided to take an afternoon flight that would arrive in Miami in the early evening. [...] We waited for the free hotel shuttle for approximately 20 minutes but when we arrived at the hotel, we were greeted promptly and made to feel welcome by the front desk staff. It actually felt like they cared that we were staying there! We took our own bags to the room and went to the bar for a quick appetizer and a drink where the French speaking bartender Maxime could not have been more hospitable. Even though it was a quick evening stopover, we will seek out Sofitel properties if this is the way they operate elsewhere!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sofitel Miami

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Vacationer 2010
San Antonio
Dec 28, 2010

Very international feel.

We stayed two days in Miami after a cruise. We chose Sofitel since we had stayed in one in BudaPest which may have been the nicest room ever. This was unfortunately the same as staying in any other hotel. In fact it was cheaper than most. It boiled down to poor maintenance. The tub caulking looked like a 4 year old did it. A lot of small things. The staff was fine and scenery on the lagoon was great. The worst were the international guests. They were loud, rude with screaming kids every where all night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

We had only a pizza but it was great. The menu looked outstanding but we did not have the opportunity to try anything else.

Review of Sofitel Miami

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kas4
Los Angeles
Dec 19, 2010

Great for overnight layovers

We stayed here primarily because we had an overnight layover in Miami coming home from an international trip. The staff were friendly and helpful; the room was clean and fairly well-appointed; and the 24-hour room service came in handy. No complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Havana Harry's is about a 10-minute drive away in Coral Gables, and had very tasty Cuban eats.

Review of Sofitel Miami

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cedar Rapids, IA
Dec 18, 2010

Nice, but in need of an update

My wife and I spent a single night at the Sofitel following an early flight arrival while on vacation. The location and easy access to nearby malls and restaurants were great. The hotel was probably really nice in 1985, but there hasn't been any update to it since. Everything was clean, but stained, worn out, and a bit ugly. The bed was clearly very old and one of the most uncomfortable I have slept on. The staff was friendly, helpful, and professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Dolphin mall is near by and one of the nicest I have been to. Great restaurants there as well!!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search