$148 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 4, 2014 Check-out: May 6, 2014

Riu Florida Beach Hotel

3 stars
3101 Collins Avenue, Miami, FL 33140
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
135 reviews
RUI - Must visit while in Miami

Excellent location, close to restaurants and beach. Staff was very helpful and attentive. The decor... See full review

  • Kim Super Cruiser
  • Apr 8, 2014
great

loved it very good close to beach clubs restaurants See full review

  • the beach man
  • Mar 12, 2014
Family-friendly hotel near South Beach with pools and breakfast buffet

All-inclusive travelers might know the name Riu from past vacations, but this Miami Beach property is different with bookings including room only. The 284-room hotel has direct beach access, an adult and children's swimming pools and a poolside bar and grill. An extensive breakfast buffet -- which includes on the spot cooking stations -- draws the regulars and guests can pay separately.  South Beach's major attractions, from the Art Deco District to Lincoln Road Mall, are less than two miles away.

Highlights

  • Children's and adult swimming pools
  • Extensive breakfast buffet
  • Close to South Beach nightlife and attractions
  • Coral restaurant with terrace
  • Free gym
Rooms

Guests choose from superior rooms and superior rooms with ocean views. Copper-colored linens, curtains and carpets achieve a tropical feel, while standards like LCD TVs and ceiling fans lend comfort. Basic amenities cover satellite TV, central air and a mini refrigerator. Some rooms have balconies and can interconnect with other rooms.

Features

Palm-tree lined grounds and a well-rounded buffet pamper guests aiming for the resort experience. A manicured pool area -- complete with children's and adult pools -- is the place to lounge when visitors aren't using the gym or dining at Alligator, the poolside bar and grill, or Coral, another spot for alfresco dining. Coral restaurant requires men to wear long trousers at dinner.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (11 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (26 miles)
Attractions
  • Art Deco District (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • The Fillmore Miami Beach at the Jackie Gleason Theater (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Lincoln Road Mall (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (1.5 mi/ 2.4 km)
  • Collins Avenue (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • The Villa by Barton G. (or Gianni Versace's Casa Casuarina) (1.8 mi/ 2.8 km)
  • Lummus Park (1.8 mi/ 2.9 km)
  • Miami Convention Center (9 mi/ 14.5 km)
Business
  • Conference room
Policies and fees
  • The hotel charges $20 for valet parking.
  • Limited availability for parking (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Riu Florida Beach Hotel Rooms

Double Room
Standard spacious room with 2 double beds, air conditioning,mini bar , in-room safe, color satellite TV with premium channels, ceiling fan, iron and ironing board, radio alarm clock and hair dryer. NO MEALS INCLUDED WITH RATE and ALL ROOMS EQUIPPED WITH 2 BEDS.
Superior Double Room - Ocean View
Superior and spacious ocean view room with 2 double beds, air conditioning, mini bar, in-room safe, color satellite TV with premium channels, ceiling fan, iron and ironing board, radio alarm clock and hair dryer. NO MEALD INCLUDED WITH RATE and ALL ROOMS EQUIPPED WITH 2 BEDS.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

25.8067 -80.124
Area served
Miami Beach, FL
Nearby airports
Miami International and Ft. Lauderdale International Airports
Area description
Located right on Miami Beach, 12 miles fron the airport and very close to the famous art-deco neighborhood and Ocean Drive. Nearby are Lincoln Road Mall, Theatre of Performing Arts, Ocean Drive sidewalk cafes and restaurants and Convention Center. Nearby activities include tennis, 18-hole golf course, volleyball and bike rental. Valet Parking service available, $20.00 per day Limited Availability

Nearby points of interest

  • Oceanfront: 0.5 mi
  • Bayshore Golf Club: 0.7 mi
  • Lincoln Road Mall: 1.2 mi
  • Espanola Way: 1.5 mi
  • Art Deco District: 1.6 mi
  • La Gorce Country Club: 2 mi
  • Palm Island: 3 mi
  • Normandy Isles: 3.2 mi
  • Fisher Island: 3.3 mi
  • Jungle Island: 3.5 mi
  • Dodge Island: 3.5 mi
  • Miami Children's Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Morningside Park: 3.7 mi
  • North Shores: 3.7 mi
  • Port of Miami: 3.8 mi
  • Oceanfront: 0.5 mi
  • Bayshore Golf Club: 0.7 mi
  • Lincoln Road Mall: 1.2 mi
  • Espanola Way: 1.5 mi
  • Art Deco District: 1.6 mi
  • La Gorce Country Club: 2 mi
  • Palm Island: 3 mi
  • Normandy Isles: 3.2 mi
  • Fisher Island: 3.3 mi
  • Jungle Island: 3.5 mi
  • Dodge Island: 3.5 mi
  • Miami Children's Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Morningside Park: 3.7 mi
  • North Shores: 3.7 mi
  • Port of Miami: 3.8 mi
  • Normandy Shores: 3.8 mi
  • Trinity Episcopal Cathedral: 4.1 mi
  • Bettcher Gallery: 4.2 mi
  • Biscayne Point: 4.2 mi
  • Tina Hills Pavillion: 4.3 mi
  • American Airlines Arena: 4.3 mi
  • Pulse Miami: 4.4 mi
  • Bayside Marketplace: 4.4 mi
  • Freedom Tower: 4.5 mi
  • Albertini Arts Gallery: 4.7 mi
  • Ice Palace Film Studios: 4.9 mi
  • Miami Dade Public Library: 5 mi
  • Lummus Park: 5.2 mi
  • Bay Harbour Islands: 5.6 mi
  • Miami Seaquarium: 5.7 mi
  • East Little Havana: 6 mi
  • Marlins Park: 6.3 mi
  • Emerald Lake: 6.7 mi
  • Joseph Caleb Auditorium: 6.9 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 6.9 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 7.3 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 8.3 mi
  • Maule Lake: 9.1 mi
  • CocoWalk: 9.1 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 9.3 mi
  • Dumfounding Bay: 9.8 mi
  • Cape Florida Lighthouse: 9.9 mi
  • Granada: 10.1 mi
  • Miami Chinatown: 10.9 mi
  • Metro Dade Cultural Center: 11.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting room available. 1 conference room with 1,334 sq.ft.

Dining

Coral Restaurant
Buffet style restaurant serving International and local specialties and cooking stations.Open for Breakfast and Dinner.
FLORIDIAN Lobby Bar
Pizza, salads & pasta will be only available during kitchen's opening hours (06:00 pm - 10:00pm). From 10:00 pm until 00:00 am, only the sandwiches will be available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (135)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Florida Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
135 out of 135
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.2

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Florida Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
Larry Cable guy
Atlanta, GA
Dec 2, 2013

Very Bad Hotel

I don't even wanna mention it. Very Bad Hotel. Don't go for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Best value daily Key West tour. You all should take this.

Review of Riu Florida Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
Zforce
Chicago
Oct 24, 2012

Could be a 4 star

Hotel staff - from the moment we pulled up to the valet - was poor... and then they wanted to know our nationality... never going back there again. I've had great experiences with the Riu hotels in Mexico...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Riu Florida Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
Lidia and Family
Orlando, FL
Apr 1, 2014

Family Trip

Hotel is located in a very heavy construction zone. Great access to the beach, nice pool area, however pool attendant will close your umbrella at 5:00 pm because he is leaving home. You can't re-open the umbrella because he take the hook with him! That's kind of not polite. Jacuzzi would be a plus; hotel should really consider adding it to the pool area. 20 min walk to Lincoln Avenue. Way too expensive parking $22/day and additional charge for each trip. We ended parking on the street/meter. Rooms are small but nice. Shower is very strangely designed (there is a huge gap between two sets of glass doors). After 4 people showered, the entire floor was soaked with water. Requested room for 4 people, and only set of towels for 2 was available. Only 1 conditioner, 1 moisturizer available for the whole family of 4. Hotel should be more generous. Room was not cleaned after 1st night as we had 'do not disturb sign until 10:45 am. At 10:45 am we placed the sign with a request to clean our room, (the housekeeper saw us leaving for breakfast and cleaning cart was placed right in front of our room). After we came back (2 hrs later), we found an envelope inside our room stating that housekeeping was unable to clean the room because of the 'do not disturb sign'. That was surprising. Overall, the hotel is OK, a bit overpraised. Staff could be more friendly and better trained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice Tropical Cafe (Cuban Restaurant). Great for breakfast, lunch.

Review of Riu Florida Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
Super Date
Miami FL
Aug 25, 2010

Great Double date trip

The hotel was in a great location but the rooms were not updated and they smell reall bad. The halls also smell bad. he workers were really respectful and friendly. I didnt like that WIFI was only in the lobby also

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Riu Florida Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
Key West family
Key west
Jul 12, 2010

Old Hotel, nice location

The hotel has seen better days, the location is great, (except for the fact that it is kind of far from the shoppping dining areas), the beach is beautiful, but the hotel itself is old. The rooms are clean, but the carpets thoroughout the building were dirty. There are only two elevators, so there are constant waits for them, for a hotel that size, they should have at least four... The restaurant is definitely not worth the $20 per person fare, the buffet was tasteless to say the least. Lots of restaurants nearby which would be well below the $20 per person amount. We ordered water to save, and stood up and started going through the buffet, when we were back, we were surprised to find $3.00 water bottles for each person, which bumped up the amount by $18.00, not to sound cheap, but if I wanted bottled water, I would have ordered some myself, we confronted the waiter and he said we should have asked for that... Overall, we should have looked around better, for the money spent, I am sure there are better deals in South Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a cuban cafeteria two blocks up the road that has great sandwiches, coffe, and pastries, the walk can be done on the boardwalk. Great place for lunch or breakfast.

Review of Riu Florida Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
mikemonte
miami, fl
Apr 6, 2009

not very good...good location

the hotels is overpriced... very good location... if you get good price go for it, if not forget it... http://thetravellist.blogspot.com http://www.thetravellist.info

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Riu Florida Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Fawad
Saudi Arabia
Nov 19, 2011

Nice hotel

Hotel was nice; however, the administration should make sure in advance that the room being provided to guests are "truly" vacant. The day i arrived, I was allotted room 928, which was already allotted to someone else. It was a bit disturbing to see someone else walk into the room claiming this room to be hers. Overall, I had a nice stay at the Riu Florida Beach Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Riu Florida Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Oceanfront but far from south beach
DC
Sep 27, 2010

Not bad

The hotel was clean and affordable but the location was quite far from south beach. Only a $8 cab ride but about a 30 minute walk. Also, one staff member told us the airport shuttle was complimentary and then another said it was just a discounted rate ($2 less than a cab) so we weren't impressed with the service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Riu Florida Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Maryland
Aug 10, 2010

nice People

I liked the hotel but i noticed that it was more a family hotel and we were a group of friends. The staff was really friendly and helpful. The prices of the food and drinks at the hotel were reasonable. I wished they provided chairs and towels for the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Riu Florida Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
MHCATTY
CT
Oct 26, 2009

Good Value

Nice hotel right on beach. I would give it 3.5 stars. Beach has sufferred erosion and has rocks to try to retain sand thereby diminishing beauty. Boardwalk is nice and you can walk for miles. Heavily foreign clientelle, not a bad thing, but a lot of people smoke in the common areas outside. Pool is clean and well kept and cabana bar is nice. Unfortunately, pool closes at 7:30pm and there is no hot tub. Elevators are very slow. Staff is very attentive. Valet is $17/24 hours and staff is friendly, albiet a bit slow. Expect 5-10 minutes to get your car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Try to get a car with e-tolls set up in it... Florida likes tolls and the cash lines are long and slow. Also, along A1A most restaurants are in hotels. I highly recommend Monty's in Coconut Grove.

Back to menu Return to top