$39 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 21, 2014 Check-out: Jul 24, 2014

Motel Blu

2 stars
7700 Biscayne Blvd, Miami, FL 33137
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
1.8
out of 5
24 reviews
very inexpensive, in good location and great rooms

we expected to have worse experience for the money we paid for this motel. The location is very... See full review

  • freesunny
  • Sep 10, 2011
very inexpensive, in good location and great rooms

we expected to have worse experience for the money we paid for this motel. The location is very... See full review

  • freesunny
  • Sep 10, 2011
Located within the historical district of Miami, this motel offers a modernist twist to that signature architectural style of the 1950s and 60s. Motel Blu is conveniently located within a few minutes of Miami beaches, downtown Miami and Interstate 95. This establishment was designed with the needs and wants of guests in mind, starting with the commitment to the finest in hospitality. No matter what time of year, guests will find the accommodation to be clean and comfortable. Visitors will be treated to individual attention and relaxing surroundings within our vibrant establishment. Amenities are Internet access-wireless, lobby, non smoking rooms, restaurant, swimming pool-outdoor.

Beginning Oct 16th, 2008 we will offer free shuttle service Miami Airport -----> Hotel (s) -------> Port of Miami and Miami Airport ------> Hotel (s) ------> Miami Airport for all package bookings. (We do not pick up guests on their return from the cruise unless they stay with us on their return). ** PLEASE CALL HOTEL once you have departed the plane or cruise ship for pickup and anticipate a 20-30 minute pick up time from that point. The shuttle will only leave once the call has been received **

Hotel Map

25.8462 -80.1849
Area served
Miami.
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport.
Area description
From Airport, Take highway 112 east to 1-95 east then take exit 2 (Biscayne Blvd). At traffic light turn right and follow road for 2 miles, hotel on left. From Port of Miami - North on Biscayne Blvd for 4.5 miles and hotel is on left. From I-95 South- exit 1-95 Highway, take exit 2 (Biscayne Blvd). At traffic light turn right and follow road for 2 miles, hotel on left.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Motel Blu also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.1 out of 5

Motel Blu Rooms

Standard King
The room offers one king bed. All rooms have Air conditioning, Televisions, newly renovated bathrooms. Wireless Internet.
Efficiency king
The room offers one king bed. All rooms have Air conditioning, Televisions, newly renovated bathrooms. Wireless Internet.
Double Room
The room offers two queens bed. All rooms have Air conditioning, Televisions, newly renovated bathrooms. Wireless Internet.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Bettcher Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • Morningside Park: 1.6 mi
  • Albertini Arts Gallery: 2.6 mi
  • Normandy Shores: 3 mi
  • Joseph Caleb Auditorium: 3.3 mi
  • Normandy Isles: 3.4 mi
  • Pulse Miami: 3.6 mi
  • La Gorce Country Club: 3.6 mi
  • Emerald Lake: 3.7 mi
  • Biscayne Point: 3.9 mi
  • Trinity Episcopal Cathedral: 3.9 mi
  • North Shores: 3.9 mi
  • Jungle Island: 4.2 mi
  • Tina Hills Pavillion: 4.3 mi
  • Bayshore Golf Club: 4.3 mi
  • Bettcher Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • Morningside Park: 1.6 mi
  • Albertini Arts Gallery: 2.6 mi
  • Normandy Shores: 3 mi
  • Joseph Caleb Auditorium: 3.3 mi
  • Normandy Isles: 3.4 mi
  • Pulse Miami: 3.6 mi
  • La Gorce Country Club: 3.6 mi
  • Emerald Lake: 3.7 mi
  • Biscayne Point: 3.9 mi
  • Trinity Episcopal Cathedral: 3.9 mi
  • North Shores: 3.9 mi
  • Jungle Island: 4.2 mi
  • Tina Hills Pavillion: 4.3 mi
  • Bayshore Golf Club: 4.3 mi
  • Bay Harbour Islands: 4.4 mi
  • Miami Children's Museum: 4.4 mi
  • Oceanfront: 4.5 mi
  • American Airlines Arena: 4.5 mi
  • Freedom Tower: 4.6 mi
  • Bayside Marketplace: 4.7 mi
  • Palm Island: 4.9 mi
  • Port of Miami: 4.9 mi
  • Lummus Park: 4.9 mi
  • Ice Palace Film Studios: 5 mi
  • Miami Dade Public Library: 5 mi
  • Lincoln Road Mall: 5 mi
  • Marlins Park: 5.2 mi
  • Espanola Way: 5.2 mi
  • Art Deco District: 5.2 mi
  • East Little Havana: 5.3 mi
  • Dodge Island: 5.4 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 6.3 mi
  • Fisher Island: 6.5 mi
  • Maule Lake: 6.8 mi
  • Miami Chinatown: 6.9 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 7.2 mi
  • Metro Dade Cultural Center: 7.6 mi
  • Dumfounding Bay: 7.8 mi
  • Miami Seaquarium: 7.9 mi
  • Granada: 8.3 mi
  • Sun Life Stadium: 8.4 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 8.5 mi
  • CocoWalk: 8.9 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 9.1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
The much talked about Red Light restaurant featuring famous chef Kris Wessel, is located on the Motel Blu grounds. It is a casual neighborhood place with outdoor seating off the canal that features regional cuisine and a raw bar.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (24)

Ratings and reviews for Motel Blu

Overall score

1.8 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 24
Amenities:
1.9
Room cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
2.5
Room comfort:
2.5
Location:
2.5
Value:
2.4

38% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Motel Blu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
freesunny
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Sep 10, 2011

very inexpensive, in good location and great rooms

we expected to have worse experience for the money we paid for this motel. The location is very convenient, as there are a lot of supermarkets and places to eat nearby. It is also very close to the street leading to the beach. The swimming pool is very nice. Even though the motel is close to the busy road we never heard its traffic as the steady quite noise of blowing air from airconditioning was always louder :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Motel Blu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frenchy on vacation
Florida
Jul 9, 2014

Good value

Great location, easy access to everything, pool area nice and clean. Very good value

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Motel Blu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JillieJoy
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Jan 21, 2014

Spend the extra money and get a better Motel/Hotel.

I am not one to write reviews let alone a bad review but this Motel pushed me over the edge. My husband and I booked this motel knowing it wasn't going to be that nice of a motel but it was cheap and we only needed it for one night. Another reason we booked it was because it said it had a shuttle from the airport to the motel and a shuttle from the motel to the port of Miami. Turns out it had neither. We ended up spending about $80 to get to the motel and to get to the port ourselves. The teenage girl checking us into the motel was talking on her phone to a friend the entire time. Very unprofessional and rude! The room was disgusting, stains on the floor, dirty sheets, duct tape everywhere, the fire alarm was taken apart, and it smelled like smoke. I guess it had one positive the air conditioner worked. The area the motel is in is very run down and not a place we would be out after dark. In fact the bus driver who saved us and took us to the motel from the airport told us to "not go out after dark!" I don't book motels or hotels without reading a few reviews and that was no different with this motel. The reviews that I read told me that the motel was bearable and that a lot of people had done exactly what we did, booked it for the shuttle to the port. The description of this motel needs updated. Very disappointed! Spend the extra money and get a better motel/hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Motel Blu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dr. MP
Business
morgantown, WV
Jan 16, 2014

business

you get what you pay for. Carpet was so filthy it dirtied my socks. The furniture was little to none. the bed, comforter, and sheets all looked 20 years old

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Motel Blu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Angie Vacationer
Maryland
Sep 9, 2013

Breakfast

The experience with the staff was good. Breakfast needs a lot of improvement. Sweet donuts and coffee is not everyone's idea of breakfast

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Sawgrass Mills

Review of Motel Blu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sue Super Mom
Boston, MA
Jun 2, 2013

Ugly Motel

Worst deterated place ever. Desk staff tries hard to make a bad situation livable, but all material is torn including the bedding. Room so dark, lights didn't work, no knobs. Rugs filthy, everything falling apart. Place shouldn't even get any star rating. Very very disgusting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Jimmy's Dinner, good bang for your buck. 2 blocks away. Big portions and good tasting.

Review of Motel Blu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
amr brother
va
Nov 8, 2012

ok motel.

good experience. cheap. nice people. close to everywhere

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Motel Blu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
K.Z.
Reston, VA
May 7, 2012

used sheets, shuffled rooms

The room we get first was uncleaned and we asked about another one. So we've got another key, changed clothes, keeping some stuff in chest of drawers and gone to the ocean beach. But what was our confusion when we returned at the evening and found our suite closed and key not working! On a reception was another man who haven't found our check-in to that room in computer. And our room appeared to be already occupied by another guest!!1 It took another half an our to get our things out of that number and to get a new suite instead. I would recommend to add another ten bucks and book a bit more sane place to spend a night near the Miami Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Motel Blu

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Wonder Boy
Boston
May 4, 2012

Visiting Family

Its a 2 star Motel, and that's what you get. The room was clean except for the shower curtain, you need to ask for everything like extra towels or soap. The location is not the best but for the price you can't ask for much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Review of Motel Blu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Carllie
Business
Cherry Hill, NJ, USA
Jan 24, 2012

Bad Customers Service

It was a horrible experience with Motel Blu. Our room was not ready for over six hours. On our initial arrival, we were told that the room was being cleaned and would be ready by 3pm. We returned at 4pm and the woman at the front desk, Nicole, gave us the key to our assigned room. The room had not been cleaned from the prior guest. The beds were not made and the bathroom was filthy, the room smelled of feces and urine. At 8pm when we called the front desk to lodge a complaint about the unclean room, Nicole answered and was verbally abusive to me on the phone and said to me, "If you don't like it, check out" and I asked to speak to the supervisor and she told me that there is no supervisor available and I should call back between 10am and 3pm. I then called back and a man named Philip answered and when I asked for a supervisor, he identified himself as the manager, and then later stated he was not the manager. He was very apologetic. He then changed our room to Room at 8:30pm. The new room had broken ceiling lamps/lights. For these reasons stated above, I want my money back for this day due to the 6 1/2 hours I was not able to get my room I had paid for. The next day, I spoke to another supervisor named Amos, who stated that the manage named Chris will get back to me. Up until I checked out, no one addressed this issue, no one talked to me about my complaints or concerns, on one got back to me, not even the manager Chris. Every time I called, I was told by the front desk person that the manager is not available. It was horrible. I was not happy at all. I was charged and had paid for a room for over 6 hours that was not made available to me. I want my money back for that day. Thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Motel Blu

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KH120
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Jan 24, 2012

Motel Blu

This is a great hotel if you just want a place to crash. Nothing special. Nothing horrible. Close to bus lines, highway 95 and North Beach. No extras or frills. Important for families: next to stripclubs and gay video shop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Anise Riverside Tavern, Mi Vida Vegan restaurant

Back to menu Return to top