$186 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 23, 2014 Check-out: Sep 24, 2014

EPIC Miami, a Kimpton Hotel

5 stars
270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
69 reviews
Great getaway

Awesome service, clean rooms, excellent city view, great food! See full review

  • ATLMomto2
  • Jul 29, 2014
Birthday weekend

Not bad at all, the price was very reasonable loved every minute of it See full review

  • Vkr07
  • Jul 8, 2014
Luxury hotel where the Miami River meets the Biscayne Bay

The word epic certainly resonates with guests at this downtown Miami hotel.  The building is a luminous exclamation point on the Miami skyline with striking, futuristic architecture and gorgeous marina. Guests can pull up in a yacht, and then dine alfresco at Area 31, an upscale restaurant known for its fresh local seafood and stunning vistas. The 411-room hotel invites more pampering at the Exhale Spa and the two outdoor swimming pools. Visitors flock to the pools nightly to sip refreshing cocktails and lounge in the private cabanas.

Transportation

Miami International Airport (10 miles)

Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (28 miles)

Highlights
  • Riverfront boutique hotel
  • Only hotel with direct dockside access by the marina
  • Exhale Spa onsite
  • Two restaurants: Seafooder Area 31 Restaurant and Japanese eatery ZUMA
  • Outdoor pool and cabanas with river, city and bay views
Rooms

High-style rooms capture city, bay and river views. Rich fabrics in ivory and beige lend understated elegance. Curved wood nightstands, jagged dresser drawers and floor and desk lamps create a penthouse feel. Guests will feel pampered with hydrotherapy air tubs and double spa bowl sinks. Flatscreens and Wi-Fi are standard.

Features

The hotel has an emphasis on hospitality and aims for business and leisure travelers who are used to a little extra love. Every night from 5 p.m. to 6 p.m., guests enjoy a free wine reception in the lobby. The Exhale Spa -- a 12,000-square-foot oasis with 14 treatment rooms -- melts stress away with massages, facials, nail and waxing services. A glass-walled yoga studio reveals stunning views of the skyline.

 

There are private cabanas and two outdoor pools, but the true conversation piece is the marina, which is guarded and manned 24 hours a day. The slips can accommodate vessels up to 900 feet.

Attractions
  • Flamingo Park (0.3 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • Art Deco District (1 mi/ 1.5 km)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (1  mile/ 1.5 km)
  • Lincoln Road Mall (1.6 mi/ 2.6 km)
  • Miami Beach Marina (2.4 mi/ 5 km)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (1 mi/ 1.5 km)
  • Bayside Marketplace (2.7 mi/ 4.4 km)
  • Miami Convention Center (5 mi/ 8 km)
Business
  • More than 25,000 square feet of function space, including eight flexible meeting rooms
  • 24-hour business center with laptop stations and printer
  • Audiovisual support and equipment
  • Wi-Fi throughout the hotel

Hotel Map

25.7709 -80.1891
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport, (MIA), 8.00, MI, E; Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport, (FLL), 25.00, MI, E;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed EPIC Miami, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

EPIC Miami, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Cityview King Premier Room
Cityview King Prem 1 bed private balcony city view oversized tub stand up shower 475sqft
CLUB LVL WATERVIEW D/D PR
Club Level Waterview Double Double Room 2 beds 475 sq ft access to club level food offerings
CLUB LVL CITYVIEW JR SUITE
Club Level Cityview Junior Suite 1 King Bed 700 sq ft living room pullout sofa club access
CLUB LVL WATERVW 1 BED STE
Club Level Waterview 1 Bedroom Suite 1 King living room w pullout club access 950 sq ft
Presidential Suite
Booked on property only
ACCESSIBLE CITYVW DB/DB RM ROLL
Accessible Cityview Double Roll In Shower with grab bars and a handheld shower head
ACCESSIBLE CITYVIEW DB/DB PREMIE
Accessible Cityview Double Double Room tub with grab bars and handheld showerhead
08. Access Waterview King Roll I
Accessible Waterview King 1 King Bed roll in shower with grab bars and handheld shower head
ACCESSIBLE WATERVIEW KING PREMIE
Accessible Waterview King Premier Room tub with grab bars and a handheld shower head
Cityview Premier 2 Double Beds
Cityview Double Double Premier 2 beds private balcony soaking tub stand up shower 475sqft
WATERVIEW KING PREMIER RM
Waterview King Premier 1K balcony water view Oversized soaking tub stand up shower 475sf
WATERVIEW DB/DB PREMIER RM
Waterview Double Double Premier Room 2 Beds balcony soaking tub stand up shower 475 sq ft
CITYVIEW JUNIOR SUITE
Cityview Jr Suite 1 King Bed living rm with 1Q pullout balcony tub standing shower 700sqft
Waterview 1 Bedroom Suite
Waterview 1 Bedroom Suite 1 King living room pullout 2 balconies waterviews hydrotherapy tub
Club Level Cityview King Premier
Club Level Cityview King Premier Room 1 King 475sqft cityview with soaking tub and balcony
CLUB LVL CITYVIEW D/D PR
Club Lvl Cityview Premier 2 Double Beds balcony club lvl concierge food presentations
CLUB LVL WATERVIEW KG PR
Club Level Waterview King Premier Room 1 King access to club level food offerings 175 sq ft

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Turndown service
Electronic door locks
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Ice Palace Film Studios: 0.4 mi
  • Miami Dade Public Library: 0.4 mi
  • Bayside Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • Freedom Tower: 0.6 mi
  • American Airlines Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Lummus Park: 0.8 mi
  • Tina Hills Pavillion: 0.9 mi
  • Port of Miami: 1 mi
  • Miami Children's Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Trinity Episcopal Cathedral: 1.3 mi
  • Jungle Island: 1.4 mi
  • East Little Havana: 1.5 mi
  • Dodge Island: 1.6 mi
  • Pulse Miami: 1.6 mi
  • Palm Island: 1.9 mi
  • Ice Palace Film Studios: 0.4 mi
  • Miami Dade Public Library: 0.4 mi
  • Bayside Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • Freedom Tower: 0.6 mi
  • American Airlines Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Lummus Park: 0.8 mi
  • Tina Hills Pavillion: 0.9 mi
  • Port of Miami: 1 mi
  • Miami Children's Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Trinity Episcopal Cathedral: 1.3 mi
  • Jungle Island: 1.4 mi
  • East Little Havana: 1.5 mi
  • Dodge Island: 1.6 mi
  • Pulse Miami: 1.6 mi
  • Palm Island: 1.9 mi
  • Marlins Park: 2 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 2.3 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Albertini Arts Gallery: 2.8 mi
  • Miami Seaquarium: 2.9 mi
  • Fisher Island: 3.1 mi
  • Art Deco District: 3.6 mi
  • Espanola Way: 3.7 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 3.7 mi
  • Morningside Park: 3.7 mi
  • Lincoln Road Mall: 3.8 mi
  • Bayshore Golf Club: 4.1 mi
  • Bettcher Gallery: 4.1 mi
  • CocoWalk: 4.4 mi
  • Joseph Caleb Auditorium: 4.6 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 4.6 mi
  • Oceanfront: 5.1 mi
  • Granada: 5.6 mi
  • La Gorce Country Club: 5.9 mi
  • University of Miami: 6.5 mi
  • Normandy Isles: 6.7 mi
  • Normandy Shores: 6.9 mi
  • North Shores: 7.4 mi
  • Cape Florida Lighthouse: 7.5 mi
  • Biscayne Point: 7.7 mi
  • Metro Dade Cultural Center: 7.7 mi
  • Museum of the Americas: 8.7 mi
  • Bay Harbour Islands: 8.8 mi
  • Tropical Park: 8.8 mi
  • Emerald Lake: 8.8 mi

Dining

Zuma
This world renowned Asian restaurant and the only one in North America has outposts in London Hong Kong Istanbul and Dubai. A vibrant evening lounge scene compliments the extensive lunch and dinner menu selections. Cuisine options vary but try the
Area 31
For spectacular views and the freshest local seafood Area 31 Restaurant boasts a stunning setting on the 16th floor along with poolside and al fresco dining at its finest.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (69)

Ratings and reviews for EPIC Miami, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
69 out of 69
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of EPIC Miami, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mom on girl's getaway
maryland
Jul 14, 2013

Luxury hotel but not for the average joe

The hotel was beautiful. But, for a average everyday person it was too much. Extra $37 a night to park and $21 buffet breakfast was overkill. Location was out of the way and not central to downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of EPIC Miami, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
namida21
San Francisco, CA
May 1, 2011

Nice place, but service underwhelming.

Nice facilities, modern, stylish. Room service was expensive. Room wasn't ready when I checked in at 4pm, but received a credit. Pool side service was slow. Housekeeping was spotty. Best staff was the front door/transportation/luggage staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Drink at the hotel. There's happy hour at 5pm daily. South Beach is a party scene, but it's unbelievably expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of EPIC Miami, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HaoZhang
minneapolis
Nov 26, 2012

no good for guest service!!

I need toothpaste, they took 30 minutes to bring it to me!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of EPIC Miami, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tampa
Feb 14, 2010

Epic has the potential.......

We arrived for a 3 day stay late Thursday evening, (exhausted) went straight to bed, only to wake at 3am with no heat and the room temperature was 61 degrees. Miami was 44 degrees that night! Over the 3 day stay, we never ONCE received housekeeping services, She arrived on the last night of our stay at 10pm to clean and makeup our room... Needless to say, I told her to just give us fresh towels and forget about cleaning and changing the bedding. Service would have been off the charts, if we wouldn't have had the above issues... The hotel staff were wonderful people and very helpful. Even the housekeeping staff were nice. (just seemed like they were understaffed or non-prioritized). Maintenance did correct the A/C Heat issue the next day. The concierge service was GREAT! Front desk was wonderful too. Bar services, room service were excellent...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of EPIC Miami, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Need Another Vacation
Washington D.C.
Jul 26, 2011

Not a lot of value for price charged

The hotel was very expensive and I found money goes a lot further if I were to spend it at some other venue, like Vegas. The hotel was nice in general but the reviews lead me to believe that it was extraordinary, which was not the case.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of EPIC Miami, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Unhappy17
Maryland
Jan 4, 2014

Poor service

Nice room, nice facility, but the service is terrible. We were told three times blankets would be delivered, and we had to keep calling back. It took two hours. Also took hours for our luggage to be delivered. We would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of EPIC Miami, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shan DeShawn
Atlanta
Dec 10, 2012

Amazing Downtown Hotel

Truly enjoyed my stay here. Great and friendly staff. Beautiful hotel. Good location. Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of EPIC Miami, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Louisville, KY
May 4, 2011

Beautiful hotel with things to work on

My wife was attending a training class in Miami Beach and we were celebrating my birthday, so I selected the EPIC rather than stay in funky South Beach. We drove to South Beach each day in less than 20 minutes using the Macarthur Causeway. The hotel is BEAUTIFUL! It has that distinctively European Kimpton look and feel and is spacious, well-appointed and decorated in a tasteful, contemporary fashion. The location is central to the Miami business district with city and water views and nice areas to walk about to explore the downtown and bayfront attractions. It is attracting a hip, fashionable crowd and playing to the Miami image by making sure there are a few Rolls Royces and Ferraris parked in front at all times. The staff is very attentive and multi-national, which reflects its desire to be a destination for overseas travelers. We stayed on the club level (floors 29 & 30), which was nice, particularly with the large complimentary breakfast buffet each morning. The hotel has two restaurants, but no real casual eating option. Area 31 is fine dining and quite good, but pricey with small portions. The wine list is extensive, but again overpriced at approximately 3x retail. Zuma is Japanese and we did not eat there. If you are looking for good food at more reasonable prices, the Mary Brickell Village is a couple miles away and has 6 or 7 good options. I gave the hotel 4 stars based on its quality rooms, location and eager service, but we had issues. Our king bed was basically broken down and creaked every time I turned over. On our first night there we had a couple of drunks next door and had to call security. Parking costs a whopping $32/day. Our bill at checkout was wrong. It showed what the hotel paid the travel agent (gasp!), showed our charges and then billed them against the travel agent's credit card! It seems that when we checked in, the club level concierge failed to swipe my credit card for the incidental charges. I brought this to their attention and they corrected the error with well-deserved red faces. Overall, the Epic Kimpton is looking like a winner, but needs some tightening up. If you are looking for a quiet, understated hotel, this is not it. However, if you want a quality facility bent on being a vibrant, happening place, this is worthy of serious consideration.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want a day at the beach, drive down a few miles to Key Biscayne, where the beaches are way less crowded and parking is plentiful. The beaches in Miami Beach are crowded and it is near impossible to find parking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of EPIC Miami, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sandy travel lover
EPIC, Downtown
Apr 20, 2013

great getaway

Hotel overall was lovely, great location and excellent restaurants. However, customer service is not close to whats expected at a 5 star hotel. Spa was good but not excellent in both customer service and spa amenities like shower and locker room amenities. Bathrooms need updating. Overall nice hotel and would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Zuma. An absolute must!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of EPIC Miami, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington DC
Apr 4, 2010

Sweet Spa

Very friendly and helpful staff. My wife and I came down to Miami for a few days of relaxation. Spent a day on the beach and a day in the spa. Best deep tissue massage I've ever had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search