$183 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 5, 2015

EPIC Miami, a Kimpton Hotel

5 stars
View map of 270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for EPIC Miami, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
76 out of 76
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of EPIC Miami, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RNladyG
Business
Sayreville, NJ, USA
Nov 9, 2011

Girls weekend

When we got to the hotel they were doing complimentary wine hour so we came just on time LOL. We had club level access so we had private concierge which was lovely in regards to check-in/out. The hotel is very chic/upscale and we were able to do alot of activities right on the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of EPIC Miami, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
brookeL
Business
Long Beach, CA, USA
Nov 2, 2011

ironman

We went to miami for the Miami Ironman 70.3 and the staff placed bananas, gatorade, water, granola bars and apples in the lobby at 5 AM for the participating athletes. Now that is fantastic customer service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of EPIC Miami, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Saltwaterdiva
Business
Asheville, NC
May 12, 2011

Excellent!

An amazing hotel! Beautiful and classy with incredibly comfortable rooms and the staff couldn't be more friendly and helpful. Great pool deck towering above the Miami skyline. Try to book a Club Level room. The Club Lounge on the 28th floor offers five small tapas-like food courses during the day and night and all beverages including alcoholic ones are gratis. An amazing value for a fabulous hotel, close to great downtown restaurants. So impressed we will look for Kimpton hotels from now on. This is a stunning hotel, very convenient to the port of Miami for cruise ship passengers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of EPIC Miami, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisville, KY
May 4, 2011

Beautiful hotel with things to work on

My wife was attending a training class in Miami Beach and we were celebrating my birthday, so I selected the EPIC rather than stay in funky South Beach. We drove to South Beach each day in less than 20 minutes using the Macarthur Causeway. The hotel is BEAUTIFUL! It has that distinctively European Kimpton look and feel and is spacious, well-appointed and decorated in a tasteful, contemporary fashion. The location is central to the Miami business district with city and water views and nice areas to walk about to explore the downtown and bayfront attractions. It is attracting a hip, fashionable crowd and playing to the Miami image by making sure there are a few Rolls Royces and Ferraris parked in front at all times. The staff is very attentive and multi-national, which reflects its desire to be a destination for overseas travelers. We stayed on the club level (floors 29 & 30), which was nice, particularly with the large complimentary breakfast buffet each morning. The hotel has two restaurants, but no real casual eating option. Area 31 is fine dining and quite good, but pricey with small portions. The wine list is extensive, but again overpriced at approximately 3x retail. Zuma is Japanese and we did not eat there. If you are looking for good food at more reasonable prices, the Mary Brickell Village is a couple miles away and has 6 or 7 good options. I gave the hotel 4 stars based on its quality rooms, location and eager service, but we had issues. Our king bed was basically broken down and creaked every time I turned over. On our first night there we had a couple of drunks next door and had to call security. Parking costs a whopping $32/day. Our bill at checkout was wrong. It showed what the hotel paid the travel agent (gasp!), showed our charges and then billed them against the travel agent's credit card! It seems that when we checked in, the club level concierge failed to swipe my credit card for the incidental charges. I brought this to their attention and they corrected the error with well-deserved red faces. Overall, the Epic Kimpton is looking like a winner, but needs some tightening up. If you are looking for a quiet, understated hotel, this is not it. However, if you want a quality facility bent on being a vibrant, happening place, this is worthy of serious consideration.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want a day at the beach, drive down a few miles to Key Biscayne, where the beaches are way less crowded and parking is plentiful. The beaches in Miami Beach are crowded and it is near impossible to find parking.

Review of EPIC Miami, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
namida21
Business
San Francisco, CA
May 1, 2011

Nice place, but service underwhelming.

Nice facilities, modern, stylish. Room service was expensive. Room wasn't ready when I checked in at 4pm, but received a credit. Pool side service was slow. Housekeeping was spotty. Best staff was the front door/transportation/luggage staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Drink at the hotel. There's happy hour at 5pm daily. South Beach is a party scene, but it's unbelievably expensive.

Review of EPIC Miami, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY Metro
Apr 17, 2011

Top notch, wonderful getaway

Had a wonderful stay at EPIC with my family. The room was well designed and well maintained. The staff was second to none. The concierge and club room staff went over and above and treated my family like VIPs. In particular, [...] were extremely helpful and courteous. We loved the heated pools and the perks of being Kimpton In Touch members. Hope to stay again soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Great (and expensive) experience at Zuma Restaurant just off the lobby. Concierge was able to secure a last minute reservation for us. Highly recommended.

Review of EPIC Miami, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MoblMstr
Business
Boca Raton, FL
Feb 14, 2011

It was EPIC!

The place was fantastic! The hotel personnel were the nicest people that I have ever experienced, and genuine at that. Also, very close to a very happening downtown Miami area just off Brickell. Some great restaurants and bars. Dolores, but you can call me Lolita, Perricones, Oceanaire, etc. Much more fun if you are not into the total South Beach club scene.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Take a cab...restaurant info above

Review of EPIC Miami, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West palm beach, Fl
Jan 3, 2011

Girls get-a-way

The hotel was contemporary, clean and modern. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. The spa was unbelievable. It had every service imaginable and an amazing Turkish steam sauna with twinkling lights in the ceiling. The location was several blocks from bayside and the AA arena. There were several nice restaurants within walking distance, which was good because I felt the hotel's restaurant, Area 31, was not that great. I was unimpressed with the menu and the food was bland and overpriced. I would stay at Epic again and recommend it to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of EPIC Miami, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monterrey, Mx
Jan 1, 2011

Lindisimo!

The hotel is great and the concierge has the best service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurant Dolores, but call me Lolita has delicious food!

Review of EPIC Miami, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VIVA MIAMI
Business
New York
Sep 27, 2010

Service Can Be Better

We chose Epic because it is absolutely gorgeous and was nearby all of the fun and attractions without being right in the middle of it. The room was stunning, the views were stunning as well. We stayed in a Water View King Bed room. The only thing that I had a problem with was that at the amount we paid for the room, continental breakfast should be included. At one point we had to switch rooms due to a leaky air conditioner, in which ... again.. something should have been done for the inconvenience... LIKE FREE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST! The pools were amazing and the staff was somewhat friendly. Area 31 Restaurant was amazing and the service was great. All in all the hotel is a bit snooty, but I guess it's expected from that caliber of hotel. I just wish they offered more for their snootiness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Bongos is a very touristy place during the day but at night it comes alive - make sure you know how to salsa. Go for drinks at about 10 p.m. to ensure you can stay for the dancing without paying a cover fee. Bring comfy shoes - the hotel is within walking distance so you can save $ getting there.

Back to menu Return to top