$215 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

EPIC Miami, a Kimpton Hotel

5 stars
View map of 270 Biscayne Blvd Way, Miami, FL 33131

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for EPIC Miami, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
80 out of 80
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of EPIC Miami, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Driven by the Details
Business
New York, NY
Feb 26, 2013

EPIC, But Not Quite Kimpton

EPIC is classic Miami – stylish, luxurious, more than a little flashy. Those familiar with the Kimpton brand, however, might be in for a few surprises. On arrival, a bellhop took our bags and offered to zip us to the front of the registration line ... then exited through a door behind the front desk and disappeared altogether. An hour later, we were shown to our "water view king" room. Leaning off the balcony, we could see a strip of the Miami River and a sliver of the bay. A quick call to the front desk got us a room on the other side of the hotel with nice bay views (we were told you have to request this option in advance). Many of the room's features were well-intended but poorly executed: • The handsets on the cordless phones rarely worked, requiring all calls to be made by speaker. • The A/C automatically shuts off when the room is empty or the balcony door is open – a nice "green" feature, except that the balcony door was difficult to open and close and it took multiple slams to re-engage the A/C sensor (a trick we discovered after a clammy night with no air). • Through some strange acoustic quirk, the water pipes in the (lovely and spacious) bath made a LOUD chiming sound when turned on – clearly audible through the bathroom vents from other guest rooms. • Free wifi requires membership in the loyalty program, for which registration is quick and easy. However, the system failed to recognize my email address, a glitch that could not be resolved through the front desk. After 10 minutes of troubleshooting with guest services, I had to ask for the master login address, which granted us Internet access throughout our stay. The affiliated restaurant, Area 31, has killer views but inconsistent service. We soon learned to deal exclusively with the pool bar staff, who were exceptionally helpful and friendly. Minor issues aside, there were many things we loved: • Gorgeous nighttime views of the surrounding high rises and lights on the water • Easy access to Zuma, the stellar restaurant located on the ground floor (though not affiliated with the hotel) • Comfy beds and great linens • Heated rooftop pools with ample seating and great service • Friendly, responsive staff in almost all areas Bottom line: EPIC is a beautiful hotel with stellar amenities and some operational challenges. If you're expecting the usual seamless Kimpton experience, you might be disappointed. If you're okay with a few glitches amid luxurious surroundings, you'll have a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Be sure to make a reservation at Zuma if you plan to eat there – it's packed and hotel guests can't be guaranteed seating.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of EPIC Miami, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NickBarry
Business
Ft Lauderdale
Jan 3, 2013

NYE Getaway

Came here for a New Years 4 day getaway. The view and location was perfect. Walking distance to Bayfront Park. Staff was helpful, although sometimes didn't know what they were talking about. The concierge fell a little short on arrangements for the special event but still overall a good experience given that it was one of the busiest times of the year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of EPIC Miami, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kathia L
Business
Hollywood, Fl
Jan 2, 2013

New Year's Eve in Downtown Miami

This is my second stay in this fantastic hotel. The view was incredible, we had perfect water / city view and fireworks when the clock turned 12 A.M! The only complain I had was the A.C. It was decent but after a couple of drinks, it would be great to turn the A.C lower than 65 degrees. The staff was the best, we were given late check out at 5 P.M, from 5-6 complementary drinks for their guests and the cleaning staff were extremely helpful. I would defiantly stay here again, I'm looking forward to it !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Dog Park across the hotel and a new cinema is being constructed!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of EPIC Miami, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dngboo
Business
Des Moines, IA
Dec 30, 2012

Good

The hotel is good and all servers are really helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of EPIC Miami, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DNAH
Business
Key Largo, Florida
Dec 19, 2012

The good and the bad.

Pros: Good overall experience. Clean room, great location. Nice complementary wine hour in lobby, Offered us free room upgrade. Comp bottle of champagne for our anniversary. Cons: Staff delivered wrong luggage in beginning but sorted it out. Be prepared for $36.00/night parking fee. Staff did not deliver anniversary gift to room which I had informed as well as sent to hotel prior to arrival . Had to inquire twice and they finally found it 12 hours later. They did apologize.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Join Kimpton Loyalty Program before check-in.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of EPIC Miami, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dave the Saver
Business
Miami, FL.
Dec 18, 2012

Average Price, Clean Room, Great Staff

We loved the room especially the roman tub and walk in shower. Staff was very friendly and warming. Had serious valet parking trouble though by not being able to retrieve my car after waiting 30 min. Finally had to walk to my destination 2 blocks away. At least valet manager was kind enough to comp the $36 charge. In house Area 31 restaurant was a bit pricey but food was excellent and service was great. Great get away weekend all around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

CVS is only 2 small blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of EPIC Miami, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr Groom
Business
Miami
Dec 17, 2012

Wedding night

Excellent service all around. We got a free upgrade to a suite which was amazing. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of EPIC Miami, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shan DeShawn
Business
Atlanta
Dec 10, 2012

Amazing Downtown Hotel

Truly enjoyed my stay here. Great and friendly staff. Beautiful hotel. Good location. Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of EPIC Miami, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HaoZhang
Business
minneapolis
Nov 26, 2012

no good for guest service!!

I need toothpaste, they took 30 minutes to bring it to me!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of EPIC Miami, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HellBoy 77
Business
Denver, Colorado
Nov 23, 2012

I enjoyed my stay! Totally!

Clean, good style, very nice and helpful staff. Close to AA areana and to the bars of downtown. Good view, nice pool and high tech gym. Can't complain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Watched a good basketball game and went to the bar area after that. It's all walkable. Very nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top