$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 5, 2014 Check-out: Sep 7, 2014

MIAMI COCONUT GROVE DT HOTEL

3 stars
2649, South Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33133
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
30 reviews
Great hotel

We had a thoroughly enjoyable time. Enjoyed every bit of it. Staff was super friendly. See full review

  • IBreske
  • May 27, 2014
Nice business hotel

As always, Marriott is clean, well run and consistent. See full review

  • Tired of Partiers
  • Apr 5, 2014
The Doubletree Hotel in the fashionable Coconut Grove area of Miami overlooks beautiful Biscayne Bay and the glittering Miami skyline. Our stylish boutique hotel in **The Grove** provides Euro-flavored accommodations in a great location less than 15 minutes from Miami International Airport. Situated just minutes from Miami*s major business centers and attractions the Doubletree Hotel Coconut Grove is perfect for business or leisure travel. Well-appointed guest rooms and suites feature breathtaking views of Biscayne Bay and complimentary wireless high-speed internet access. For your convenience Wi-Fi is also available throughout the hotel public areas. Recreational amenities include a large sparkling pool and sun deck a fitness room and two lighted tennis courts. Of course in south Florida you*re never more than a few minutes away from a championship golf course. Our inviting lobby bar is both chic and intimate. Dine indoors or alfresco at our full service restaurant Cafe Brassiere serving Continental cuisine in a casually elegant atmosphere. For business conferences meetings banquets or special social occasions our hotel offers 8 000 square feet of flexible and attractive event space including ballroom space with enchanting views. A complimentary Business Center provides business support services to keep you productive while on the road. A stay here wouldn*t be complete without a stroll down CocoWalk to take in the unique flavors and rhythms of The Grove. Visit the landmark Coconut Grove Playhouse enjoy fine dining and boutiques or stroll the exquisite beaches of Key Biscayne. Tour enchanting Viscaya the James Deering mansion built in 1916 to resemble a 16th-century Italian villa. No matter what brings you to the tropical paradise of south Florida and Coconut Grove our friendly and helpful hotel staff looks forward to welcoming you with our very special signature warm chocolate-chip cookie at check-in.

Hotel Map

25.7314 -80.236
Nearby airports
Miami Intl Airport, (MIA), 7.00, MI, SE; Ft Lauderdale Intl Airport, (FLL), 32.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed MIAMI COCONUT GROVE DT HOTEL also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

MIAMI COCONUT GROVE DT HOTEL Rooms

Deluxe
Deluxe Room
Standard
Standard Room

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Golf
Game room
Jogging track
Tennis
Play ground
Racquetball courts
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
News stand
Cellular telephone rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Phone with speaker
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • CocoWalk: 0.4 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 0.6 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 0.7 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 1.8 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • University of Miami: 2.7 mi
  • East Little Havana: 3.2 mi
  • Granada: 3.3 mi
  • Marlins Park: 3.4 mi
  • Lummus Park: 3.8 mi
  • Miami Dade Public Library: 3.9 mi
  • Ice Palace Film Studios: 4 mi
  • Miami Seaquarium: 4.4 mi
  • Freedom Tower: 4.4 mi
  • Bayside Marketplace: 4.4 mi
  • CocoWalk: 0.4 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 0.6 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 0.7 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 1.8 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • University of Miami: 2.7 mi
  • East Little Havana: 3.2 mi
  • Granada: 3.3 mi
  • Marlins Park: 3.4 mi
  • Lummus Park: 3.8 mi
  • Miami Dade Public Library: 3.9 mi
  • Ice Palace Film Studios: 4 mi
  • Miami Seaquarium: 4.4 mi
  • Freedom Tower: 4.4 mi
  • Bayside Marketplace: 4.4 mi
  • American Airlines Arena: 4.6 mi
  • Tina Hills Pavillion: 4.7 mi
  • Port of Miami: 4.9 mi
  • Trinity Episcopal Cathedral: 5.1 mi
  • Pulse Miami: 5.1 mi
  • Miami Children's Museum: 5.2 mi
  • Dodge Island: 5.3 mi
  • Jungle Island: 5.4 mi
  • Tropical Park: 5.4 mi
  • Palm Island: 5.8 mi
  • Albertini Arts Gallery: 5.9 mi
  • Fisher Island: 6.3 mi
  • Joseph Caleb Auditorium: 6.4 mi
  • Pinecrest: 6.5 mi
  • Cape Florida Lighthouse: 6.7 mi
  • Bird Bowl: 6.9 mi
  • Metro Dade Cultural Center: 7.2 mi
  • Museum of the Americas: 7.2 mi
  • Morningside Park: 7.3 mi
  • Art Deco District: 7.4 mi
  • Bettcher Gallery: 7.5 mi
  • Espanola Way: 7.5 mi
  • Lincoln Road Mall: 7.6 mi
  • Bayshore Golf Club: 8 mi
  • Temple Israel: 8.2 mi
  • Frost Art Museum: 8.7 mi
  • FIU Stadium: 9 mi
  • Oceanfront: 9.1 mi
  • Deering Estate: 9.2 mi
  • La Gorce Country Club: 9.9 mi

Dining

Cafe Brasserie
Enjoy our Continental Cuisine in a casual atmosphere featuring indoor or outdoor dining. Open for Breakfast Lunch and Dinner. From 2 pm to 5 pm enjoy our Light Fare Menu at our Splash Bar
Splash Bar
Open Wednesday thru Sunday 1100am--600pm /Oct - March/. Open Wednesday thru Sunday 1100am--700pm /April - September/.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (30)

Ratings and reviews for MIAMI COCONUT GROVE DT HOTEL

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 30
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.3

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of MIAMI COCONUT GROVE DT HOTEL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveler DVD
UT
May 9, 2014

A dump on the beach is still a dump

First, let me say that the staff were quite smiley and friendly. They were willing to give directions and answers to questions. But conversation is where their service ended. We were stuck in a closet-sized room, the expensive daily valet parking (with no other options), a lack of daily cleaning service, the noisy elevator and construction next door made the time in the hotel completely awful. We were stuck in the smallest room I've ever seen--and I've lived and worked in Asia for almost 20 years!! The room was barely bigger than a king sized bed and we had to change clothes IN the closet. The dresser drawers could not be opened because it was too close to the bed. The TV stand had to be placed at an angle in front of the window or it wouldn't have fit. But the room had a 12-15' long hall with a corner? Valet Parking is a nice option. But when required it becomes an expensive hassle. $25 a night and then tips every time you come in/out. There was no space to park "temporarily" for a few minutes--it was either parking meters across the street or paying the valet and waiting 10 minutes. The cleaning service (I'm guessing: saw that my wife had her own shampoo and so) never replaced any of the toiletries for the entire week we were there--even after being asked to do so! Ditto for towels--any linen that was not on the floor was left in the room. Room was jammed behind the elevator so the whirring motor noise was constant. And the construction next door, while not the fault of this hotel made it almost impossible to sleep in or rest during the day. Cable TV didn't work for 4 days and the pro-basketball playoff games, other than the local team, were blacked out in all private rooms when the cable did work. Guests were forced to go to the bar/lobby to watch anything other than local analog channels. But probably most insulting was the fact that the staff told us straight out--"You booked online, so we really don't have much we can do for you." When I was told this, I asked for clarification and she repeated that they don't have anything they can do for guests that have issues if they've booked the room through an online 3rd party. You don't get a nice location and service at this chain unless you book through the chain's own website. I realize that this chain would like the extra $ a night they can get if I use their own online site, but if they are going to offer rooms on other online services they either need to tell their staff to lie about the fact that they won't provide service to the guests or note online that booking through 3rd party services means you get NOTHING but a bed. Literally.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Parks, Whole Foods, Shopping district all within walking distance. Too bad you'll need these escape options to get away from the horrible hotel service.

Review of MIAMI COCONUT GROVE DT HOTEL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J gonzalez
Panama
Aug 29, 2013

excelent attention and excelente bed

i like the hotel and the attention the only thing is the vallet parking is to expensive but is a great place to stay and a great view

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of MIAMI COCONUT GROVE DT HOTEL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ChiTown JDub
Chicago, IL
Apr 15, 2013

Did the job

The hotel is in a decent location if you are interested in spending time in Coconut Grove (walking distance) or Coral Gables (a quick drive). They have a nice little gym and laundry room in the building and the Starbucks/cafe was a major bonus. The pool is lovely but faces a rather dilapidated building next door (also the view from our room). At one point during our stay, housecleaning did not leave washcloths in our room. We called the front desk to request them and were told that they were out of washcloths altogether. How does that happen? We were also a little surprised at the cost of the valet - about $25/day. There really weren't any other good parking options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Jaguar restaurant in Coconut Grove was fantastic, as was the nearby wine bar,

Review of MIAMI COCONUT GROVE DT HOTEL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Freddy21
Brooklyn, NY
Feb 25, 2013

Great value!

Our hotel room was clean and modern, with a fantastic balcony with a view of the marina/ocean. We were a short walk to Coconut Grove, and the hotel pool was also lovely. Great Paul Mitchell products in the bathroom. Definitely a great value for the neighborhood and an easy location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of MIAMI COCONUT GROVE DT HOTEL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ciudad de México, DF, México
Mar 26, 2012

Perfect for our first visit to Miami

The Staff was perfect, if i only have one thing to say is that at night, the only place to eat was the store at the front desk and it was to expensive... other than that, greate service and a nice view from our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of MIAMI COCONUT GROVE DT HOTEL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Char6644
Sarasota, FL
Dec 14, 2011

Visit for daughter's graduation

The entrance and the hotel exterior was very appealing and the staff was friendly and polite. This hotel was one of the cleanest and most modern at which we have stayed in this price range with excellent comfortable bedding and an updated decor. The only possible negative was the on site "restaurant" which was really a self-serve order at the counter option but with very nice tables and seating. It was not a problem because we enjoyed the restaurant we found a short walk down the street. We would come back for our next family visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Monty's was a fun casual restaurant with live music and seafood.

Review of MIAMI COCONUT GROVE DT HOTEL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Smoke
Leesburg, FL, USA
Nov 25, 2011

trip to Nascar Races

Room was not what was described or shown in Pictures. Was the size of a Broom Closet. Bed was not what we ordered (king)was two regular size beds in a very very small room The bathroom had a small toilet stool and just a pedistal sink. Plus it cost 25.00 per day to park. Would not stay there again. Also the address doesn't show up in the GPS. Hard to find and all this for 150.00 per day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of MIAMI COCONUT GROVE DT HOTEL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nest
Puerto Rico
Nov 1, 2011

not so good

Not that good! I did not have a good time at this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of MIAMI COCONUT GROVE DT HOTEL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami, FL
Jul 20, 2011

Excellent place

Clean, comfortable, everything very nice, attention on details. Friendly staff and awesome view on the CG marina.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

5 minutes from main CG dining/bar/entertainment places

Review of MIAMI COCONUT GROVE DT HOTEL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Everywhere you're not
Oct 18, 2010

Had no Idea!

As an Airline Pilot, I have had my share of hotel experiences. I would have given the Hotel a higher rating (4/5) if I had known that the hotel was under a massive renovation! Everything was blocked off with black plastic and you could hear the construction going on back there. The room itself was of quality material. The bathroom was very nice and the bed was comfortable. However, the room itself was just a little too small for my liking. Another thing that kind of bugged me was the lack of food/snacks. My wife wanted some water and a snack. Nothing big, just some chips or something. They didn't have vending machines. They only had a little freezer with soda and water $2.50 each and the sold some candy in a basket next to the make-shift front desk also $2.50 each. (1) Pepsi (1) Bottle of water and (1) bag of m&m's cost me $7.50! Nothing within a block to grab snacks. At this point the only saving grace for this hotel was of the location. It was located right in Coconut Grove. So there are plenty of things to go out and see or do. Well there are my two cents. Hope this review helped. And again I would have been much happier had there been no construction OR had I been notified prior to making the reservation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top

Change search