$54 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

Best Miami Hotel

2 stars
View map of 5959 S.W. 71st, Miami, FL 33143

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
234 reviews
Enjoyable relax time

Im a Miami native, and I really enjoy this hotel. The price is unbeatable, and the quality is good.... See full review

  • Derek C.
  • Aug 22, 2015
Great!

Great price family atmosphere would definelty recommend to anybody looking for a inexpensive get... See full review

  • Ambi bear
  • Mar 16, 2015
  • University of Miami (1.5 mi/ 2.4 km)
  • Lowe Art Museum (1.6 mi/ 2.6 km)
  • Coral Gables (2.2 mi/ 3.5 km)
  • Coconut Grove (2.4 mi/ 3.9 km)
  • Biltmore Golf Course (3.7 mi/ 6 km)
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens (6.2 mi/ 10 km)
General


The hotel runs a free shuttle service to nearby attractions, hospitals and shopping malls, Miami International Airport, the Port of Miami and cruise ship terminals, and the University of Miami. Guests should check with the hotel for schedules and reservations.

 

There is an onsite outdoor pool with a cascading waterfall. An inner courtyard encloses it.

Location

This South Miami hotel is near the University of Miami, Coral Gables and Coconut Grove. The Mediterranean-inspired property has an inner courtyard that rooms overlook. The hotel provides free shuttle services to most area attractions, hospitals and shopping malls, the Miami International Airport, the Port of Miami and cruise ship terminals, and the University of Miami. Amenities include free Wi-Fi and a tropical courtyard and pool.

Dining

  • Miami International Airport (16 minutes)
  • Miami Convention Center (21 minutes)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (24 minutes)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (41 minutes)
Rooms

Air-conditioned rooms house two double beds or one king bed, a work desk, marble and granite bathrooms and an in-room refrigerator. Decor skews traditional, from patterned bed spreads to brass-framed artwork. Guests can request non-smoking or smoking rooms and suites, which have a microwave. Wi-Fi is free.

Property features

Budget lodging near the University of Miami and Coral Gables.

Highlights
  • Near the University of Miami, Coral Gables and Coconut Grove
  • Two blocks from the Shops at Sunset Place and the South Miami Metrorail Station
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
  • Meeting space for small events
Nearby attractions
Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in.
Business
  • Event space for up to 120 guests
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
Transportation
  • Near the University of Miami, Coral Gables and Coconut Grove
  • Two blocks from the Shops at Sunset Place and the South Miami Metrorail Station
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
  • Meeting space for small events
Policies
Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Miami Hotel also booked these hotels.

★★★
$51
2.4 / 5 192 reviews
$55
3.7 / 5 6 reviews
★★★
$79
3.2 / 5 28 reviews
★★
$854
2.6 / 5 94 reviews
★★★
$53
3.6 / 5 132 reviews
★★
$54
3.5 / 5 48 reviews
★★★
$67
3.0 / 5 133 reviews
★★★
$100
3.2 / 5 340 reviews

Best Miami Hotel Rooms

Junior Suite
Oversize deluxe junior suite with sitting area and work desk, king size bed, wood floor, marble and granite bathrooms, in-room safe (minimal charge), refrigerator and iron/ ironing board, dual phones and phone lines with internet connection.
Deluxe Double
Beautiful double room with two double beds, wood floor, deluxe marble and granite bathrooms with hair dryers, dual phone lines and internet connection.
Run of House
Room has one King bed. Windows open. Television with premium channels. Free local calls. In room safe (fees apply. Bath amenities include hair dryer and complimentary toiletries. Blackout drapes/curtains, clock radio, and iron/ironing board. Air conditioning. Non-smoking. Refrigetor and Microwave available upon request. (fees apply)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • University of Miami: 1.4 mi
  • Tropical Park: 2.6 mi
  • Pinecrest: 3.1 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 3.3 mi
  • CocoWalk: 3.4 mi
  • Granada: 3.9 mi
  • Bird Bowl: 3.9 mi
  • Temple Israel: 4.4 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 4.4 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Frost Art Museum: 6.1 mi
  • FIU Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Deering Estate: 6.3 mi
  • Marlins Park: 6.7 mi
  • University of Miami: 1.4 mi
  • Tropical Park: 2.6 mi
  • Pinecrest: 3.1 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 3.3 mi
  • CocoWalk: 3.4 mi
  • Granada: 3.9 mi
  • Bird Bowl: 3.9 mi
  • Temple Israel: 4.4 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 4.4 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Frost Art Museum: 6.1 mi
  • FIU Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Deering Estate: 6.3 mi
  • Marlins Park: 6.7 mi
  • Museum of the Americas: 6.7 mi
  • East Little Havana: 6.8 mi
  • Lummus Park: 7.4 mi
  • Miami Dade Public Library: 7.6 mi
  • Ice Palace Film Studios: 7.7 mi
  • Metro Dade Cultural Center: 7.7 mi
  • Miami Seaquarium: 8 mi
  • Freedom Tower: 8.1 mi
  • Bayside Marketplace: 8.2 mi
  • American Airlines Arena: 8.3 mi
  • Miami Metro Zoo: 8.3 mi
  • Tina Hills Pavilion: 8.4 mi
  • Pulse Miami: 8.7 mi
  • Trinity Episcopal Cathedral: 8.7 mi
  • Port of Miami: 8.8 mi
  • Cape Florida Lighthouse: 8.8 mi
  • Joseph Caleb Auditorium: 9 mi
  • Miami Children's Museum: 9 mi
  • Dodge Island: 9.1 mi
  • Jungle Island: 9.1 mi
  • Gold Coast Railroad Museum: 9.2 mi
  • Albertini Arts Gallery: 9.2 mi
  • Palm Island: 9.6 mi
  • Larry and Penny Thompson Campground: 9.9 mi
  • Fisher Island: 10.2 mi
  • Morningside Park: 10.7 mi
  • Bettcher Gallery: 10.8 mi
  • Art Deco District: 11.2 mi
  • Espanola Way: 11.4 mi
  • Lincoln Road Mall: 11.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
1) Ballroom: 38 X 25 Ft. Maximum Capacity: 120 people 2) Conference Room 29 X 11 Ft.- Maximum Capacity: 50 people

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Best Miami Hotel

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 234
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
2.8
Comfort:
2.5
Location:
3.2
Value:
3.2

54% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lila36
Friends
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Feb 12, 2012

WORST Miami Hotel

the rooms were very humid. The a/c didn't work and there was mold. The bed always looked like they hadn't been washed, it had hair all over. There was spider webs everywhere. We asked for room change but they refused. We left immediately and they also refused to give us all or money back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tony race fan
Friends
tampa, FL
Nov 20, 2013

RIP OFF/ SCAMMERS

when checking out the rude staff has a maid check your room and do a linen count. i wasn't left a bathmat on my last night and they said i stole it and charged me $25. they did the same to people checking out in front of me, they paid $25 for a wash cloth. WHAT A SCAM ! on top of that they charged $2 a night for a safe i didn't need, didn't find out till i checked in i had to pay $8 a night parking fee, rooms were cold with no adjustment, a/c condensates on the floor, didnt give fresh linens daily, didn't refill toilet paper, ice machine didn't work...STAY AWAY..no way to get return customers

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
WILLETTA
Friends
JACKSONVILLE FL
Jan 3, 2011

EXTREMELY POOR SERVICE AND ROOMS

My friends and I visited the Best Miami Hotel located 5959 NW 71st ST In Miami FL. Upon Check in we were given room 332. We walked into a filthy room. As I opened the door and saw the filth and disarray, the ladies left their things in the hall as I went in to take pictures. One of the beds were not made, there was MacDonald left over's on the night stand and a ½ empty water bottle on the counter. The next thing I noticed the pictures had been removed from the wall, the iron was gone, and one of the ceiling tiles was hanging from the ceiling. I went back to the front desk, the staff did not apologize, they didn't offer a free night, they compensated us for parking ($16.04) that was a mere slap in the face for what we had endured. That night we all slept on top of the comforter due to phobias that were created in the 1st room. The 2nd night as we returned from a party we pulled the covers back only to discover someone's mail in the bed. Again we spoke with the front desk staff and received no apologies or compensation. I have the mail in which the last person who had the room before us left, with their SS #, Unemployment claims, Medicaid card and info, and also their HUD information. This was the worst hotel ever and we definitely will not be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
A traveler from somewhere
Friends
N/A
Jan 14, 2015

Not amused at all

The hotel imposed in-room safe charges which is not refundable, whether or not you use it. Information on such fee did not appear on the website when you booked the hotel. The hotel cheated the customer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mary I C.
Friends
N/A
Jul 31, 2015

Short stay

I went to see a friend that lives in Miami went to the Internet and saw a pretty hotel cheap but the rooms looked nice biggest mistake ever!!!! First the hotel had no ice it smelled like mildew I woke up the next morning asked for clean towels they said they had none and this was at 12:00 PM. Roches, the bathroom was disgusting it looked like no one ever cleansed it breakfast was of poor taste cussttomer service horrible! Would not ever stay there again not even for free!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Valdi14
Friends
Jacksonville FL
Apr 7, 2014

Expected more for the price

On the website looks nice but when we arrived it looked abandoned. It has stained walls, wall paper hanging, basically it needs to be remodeled!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sueri
Friends
Chicago
Aug 8, 2012

definitely not the best one

they charged me some other fees for security. And the room is dim and feels wet. I just used my own blanket caus their's looked dirty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
shucks
Friends
Alpharetta Ga
Sep 4, 2012

Visiting friends

The hotel is in a great location. The room was not clean, esp the bathroom. The help was kind and helpful, but overall the hotel needs to take extra care in keeping the room clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
rc14617
Friends
Rochester, NY
Jan 27, 2013

Basic

From the description I expected the hotel to be much closer to the airport. The supposed free shuttle service only ran a few times a day and was not running when we arrived. Was forced to take a cab costing us $30 - not something we expected. The shuttle to the airport the next day left only at certain times and went to the cruiseport first to drop off passengers. Took a lot longer than expected - good thing we had extra time fefore the flight. The room was average but the fridge was rusty. Would not recommend the site especially if you are flying in and expect to save time and money by using it as convenient to the airport. Would not use the facility again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
VA
May 30, 2009

Best kept secret?...better left kept

This hotel was ok for the price, but it still wasn't very cheap considering it's condition. It's very obviously old, and needs repairs. The pool area was nice and the lobby looked nice on the inside, but the rooms were a little scary. Parking was pricey. The staff at the front desk was short. The "continental breakfast" was literally just bread, butter, coffee, orange juice, and water. That's it. So although, it's cheap for what I could find in Miami, but it was over-priced for what you get. The best part about it was that is was close (within walking distance) to a great mall in South Miami and a Metro stop that will easily take you to Downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Gameworks at the mall nearby was awesome. Also, Dan Marino's restaurant in the same area was good.

Back to menu Return to top