$51 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 8, 2015 Check-out: Jul 11, 2015

Best Miami Hotel

2 stars
View map of 5959 S.W. 71st, Miami, FL 33143

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
291 reviews
Great!

Great price family atmosphere would definelty recommend to anybody looking for a inexpensive get... See full review

  • Ambi bear
  • Mar 16, 2015
Awesome time n place to spend with my family

Everything was excellent awesome place nice time from 0 to 10 I will say 10 my family love it See full review

  • Kenneth P.
  • Jan 6, 2015

This South Miami hotel is near the University of Miami, Coral Gables and Coconut Grove. The Mediterranean-inspired property has an inner courtyard that rooms overlook. The hotel provides free shuttle services to most area attractions, hospitals and shopping malls, the Miami International Airport, the Port of Miami and cruise ship terminals, and the University of Miami. Amenities include free Wi-Fi and a tropical courtyard and pool.

Rooms

Air-conditioned rooms house two double beds or one king bed, a work desk, marble and granite bathrooms and an in-room refrigerator. Decor skews traditional, from patterned bed spreads to brass-framed artwork. Guests can request non-smoking or smoking rooms and suites, which have a microwave. Wi-Fi is free.

Property features


The hotel runs a free shuttle service to nearby attractions, hospitals and shopping malls, Miami International Airport, the Port of Miami and cruise ship terminals, and the University of Miami. Guests should check with the hotel for schedules and reservations.

 

There is an onsite outdoor pool with a cascading waterfall. An inner courtyard encloses it.

Highlights
  • Near the University of Miami, Coral Gables and Coconut Grove
  • Two blocks from the Shops at Sunset Place and the South Miami Metrorail Station
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
  • Meeting space for small events
Nearby attractions
  • University of Miami (1.5 mi/ 2.4 km)
  • Lowe Art Museum (1.6 mi/ 2.6 km)
  • Coral Gables (2.2 mi/ 3.5 km)
  • Coconut Grove (2.4 mi/ 3.9 km)
  • Biltmore Golf Course (3.7 mi/ 6 km)
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens (6.2 mi/ 10 km)
Business
  • Event space for up to 120 guests
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
Transportation

  • Miami International Airport (16 minutes)
  • Miami Convention Center (21 minutes)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (24 minutes)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (41 minutes)
Policies
Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Miami Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Best Miami Hotel Rooms

Junior Suite
Oversize deluxe junior suite with sitting area and work desk, king size bed, wood floor, marble and granite bathrooms, in-room safe (minimal charge), refrigerator and iron/ ironing board, dual phones and phone lines with internet connection.
Deluxe Double
Beautiful double room with two double beds, wood floor, deluxe marble and granite bathrooms with hair dryers, dual phone lines and internet connection.
Run of House
Room has one King bed. Windows open. Television with premium channels. Free local calls. In room safe (fees apply. Bath amenities include hair dryer and complimentary toiletries. Blackout drapes/curtains, clock radio, and iron/ironing board. Air conditioning. Non-smoking. Refrigetor and Microwave available upon request. (fees apply)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • University of Miami: 1.4 mi
  • Tropical Park: 2.6 mi
  • Pinecrest: 3.1 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 3.3 mi
  • CocoWalk: 3.4 mi
  • Granada: 3.9 mi
  • Bird Bowl: 3.9 mi
  • Temple Israel: 4.4 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 4.4 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Frost Art Museum: 6.1 mi
  • FIU Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Deering Estate: 6.3 mi
  • Marlins Park: 6.7 mi
  • University of Miami: 1.4 mi
  • Tropical Park: 2.6 mi
  • Pinecrest: 3.1 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 3.3 mi
  • CocoWalk: 3.4 mi
  • Granada: 3.9 mi
  • Bird Bowl: 3.9 mi
  • Temple Israel: 4.4 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 4.4 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Frost Art Museum: 6.1 mi
  • FIU Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Deering Estate: 6.3 mi
  • Marlins Park: 6.7 mi
  • Museum of the Americas: 6.7 mi
  • East Little Havana: 6.8 mi
  • Lummus Park: 7.4 mi
  • Miami Dade Public Library: 7.6 mi
  • Ice Palace Film Studios: 7.7 mi
  • Metro Dade Cultural Center: 7.7 mi
  • Miami Seaquarium: 8 mi
  • Freedom Tower: 8.1 mi
  • Bayside Marketplace: 8.2 mi
  • American Airlines Arena: 8.3 mi
  • Miami Metro Zoo: 8.3 mi
  • Tina Hills Pavillion: 8.4 mi
  • Pulse Miami: 8.7 mi
  • Trinity Episcopal Cathedral: 8.7 mi
  • Port of Miami: 8.8 mi
  • Cape Florida Lighthouse: 8.8 mi
  • Joseph Caleb Auditorium: 9 mi
  • Miami Children's Museum: 9 mi
  • Dodge Island: 9.1 mi
  • Jungle Island: 9.1 mi
  • Gold Coast Railroad Museum: 9.2 mi
  • Albertini Arts Gallery: 9.2 mi
  • Palm Island: 9.6 mi
  • Larry and Penny Thompson Campground: 9.9 mi
  • Fisher Island: 10.2 mi
  • Morningside Park: 10.7 mi
  • Bettcher Gallery: 10.8 mi
  • Art Deco District: 11.2 mi
  • Espanola Way: 11.4 mi
  • Lincoln Road Mall: 11.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
1) Ballroom: 38 X 25 Ft. Maximum Capacity: 120 people 2) Conference Room 29 X 11 Ft.- Maximum Capacity: 50 people

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Best Miami Hotel

Overall score

2.2 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 291
Amenities:
2.3
Cleanliness:
2.4
Hotel staff:
2.8
Comfort:
2.4
Location:
3.1
Value:
2.8

39% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Simons Island, GA
Feb 21, 2011

Not the best Miami hotel

This hotel was not good. The fridge was noisy, the inroom phone did not work (reported broken but never fixed), the TV remote did not work, the room had a mould smell, there were no safes. The hotel did not have our checkin information the day we were to arrive so I had to call [...]to resolve- [...]All in all not a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

don't eat at the hotel - except breakfast

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
betty sue
Business
Florida
Jun 1, 2011

Best Miami Hotel

Looks run down and moldy on the outside. They dont have any of the things in the description except a pool. There wasnt a microwave in our room. There was mold in the ceilings that look like they painted over it. We had to pay for parking for each night we stayed there and a $150 deposit in which neither of these things were told to me when I booked the hotel. Shower was dirty and some of the plugs in the rooms did not have covers over them. The front desk representatives were not very helpful and a little rude. They first room they gave us was someone elses room then they gave us the wrong keys and door number to the second room. Also the ice machines had no ice and the window in the room did not have a screen. We were not in the room alot so we were able to just put up with it but I advise no one to stay there and we will never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Dadeland mall was down the street like 2 miles. Also there were lots of restauraunts and it was only like 15 min away from south beac.

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lila36
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Feb 12, 2012

WORST Miami Hotel

the rooms were very humid. The a/c didn't work and there was mold. The bed always looked like they hadn't been washed, it had hair all over. There was spider webs everywhere. We asked for room change but they refused. We left immediately and they also refused to give us all or money back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dalasromeo
Business
Atlanta
Apr 16, 2013

The worst

Didn't like the scent or the setting! Just terrible!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Still don't stay

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tony race fan
Business
tampa, FL
Nov 20, 2013

RIP OFF/ SCAMMERS

when checking out the rude staff has a maid check your room and do a linen count. i wasn't left a bathmat on my last night and they said i stole it and charged me $25. they did the same to people checking out in front of me, they paid $25 for a wash cloth. WHAT A SCAM ! on top of that they charged $2 a night for a safe i didn't need, didn't find out till i checked in i had to pay $8 a night parking fee, rooms were cold with no adjustment, a/c condensates on the floor, didnt give fresh linens daily, didn't refill toilet paper, ice machine didn't work...STAY AWAY..no way to get return customers

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
WILLETTA
Business
JACKSONVILLE FL
Jan 3, 2011

EXTREMELY POOR SERVICE AND ROOMS

My friends and I visited the Best Miami Hotel located 5959 NW 71st ST In Miami FL. Upon Check in we were given room 332. We walked into a filthy room. As I opened the door and saw the filth and disarray, the ladies left their things in the hall as I went in to take pictures. One of the beds were not made, there was MacDonald left over's on the night stand and a ½ empty water bottle on the counter. The next thing I noticed the pictures had been removed from the wall, the iron was gone, and one of the ceiling tiles was hanging from the ceiling. I went back to the front desk, the staff did not apologize, they didn't offer a free night, they compensated us for parking ($16.04) that was a mere slap in the face for what we had endured. That night we all slept on top of the comforter due to phobias that were created in the 1st room. The 2nd night as we returned from a party we pulled the covers back only to discover someone's mail in the bed. Again we spoke with the front desk staff and received no apologies or compensation. I have the mail in which the last person who had the room before us left, with their SS #, Unemployment claims, Medicaid card and info, and also their HUD information. This was the worst hotel ever and we definitely will not be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
A traveler from somewhere
Business
N/A
Jan 14, 2015

Not amused at all

The hotel imposed in-room safe charges which is not refundable, whether or not you use it. Information on such fee did not appear on the website when you booked the hotel. The hotel cheated the customer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
betty sue
Business
Florida
Jun 1, 2011

Best Miami Hotel

Looks run down and moldy on the outside. They dont have any of the things in the description except a pool. There wasnt a microwave in our room. There was mold in the ceilings that look like they painted over it. We had to pay for parking for each night we stayed there and a $150 deposit in which neither of these things were told to me when I booked the hotel. Shower was dirty and some of the plugs in the rooms did not have covers over them. The front desk representatives were not very helpful and a little rude. They first room they gave us was someone elses room then they gave us the wrong keys and door number to the second room. Also the ice machines had no ice and the window in the room did not have a screen. We were not in the room alot so we were able to just put up with it but I advise no one to stay there and we will never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Dadeland mall was down the street like 2 miles. Also there were lots of restauraunts and it was only like 15 min away from south beac.

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
carjimenez
Business
Barranquilla, Atlántico, Colombia
Dec 4, 2014

When The Best is the worth....

It is the worst hotel I have ever been in the United States. Very bad place to stay; not recommended by the kind of people who seem to reside in the hotel; we chose it because there was no other option in the area to stay. The lousy breakfast; poor, with no more than a coffee and a cold pan. That place so undesirable ..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Simons Island, GA
Feb 21, 2011

Not the best Miami hotel

This hotel was not good. The fridge was noisy, the inroom phone did not work (reported broken but never fixed), the TV remote did not work, the room had a mould smell, there were no safes. The hotel did not have our checkin information the day we were to arrive so I had to call [...]to resolve- [...]All in all not a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

don't eat at the hotel - except breakfast

Back to menu Return to top