$48 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 20, 2014 Check-out: Sep 21, 2014

Best Miami Hotel

2 stars
5959 S.W. 71st, Miami, FL 33143
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
229 reviews
Great service, Great Hotel

I stay one night, I liked the hotel, clean, safe, friendly staff, great price. Close to main road,... See full review

  • Jose J
  • Dec 14, 2013
Great

Last second booking, truly miamis best kept secret, family atmosphere! See full review

  • Ambi bear
  • Jun 8, 2014
Discover "The best kept secret in town", The Best Miami Hotel, is a Boutique/Mediterranean style hotel that offers a fine restaurant and 2 bars, a state of the art fitness center, a breathtaking tropical landscaped courtyard and pool with a cascading waterfall, and is complemented by beautifully renovated rooms, reflecting a touch of class, comfort and sophistication. Situated in one of Miami's most pristine areas, the hotel is adjacent to Miami's historical Coral Gables, South Miami and the trendy Coconut Grove. Located near most major malls, theaters, galleries, attractions, and Miami's world famous nightlife. The location is ideal for both the business and leisure traveler. Complimentary shuttle service offers scheduled transportation from 8am - 9pm to most area attractions, shopping malls, Miami International Airport, Port of Miami Cruise Ship Capitol of The World and the University of Miami. Pikkolo Mondo Restaurant & Lounge serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner Monday-Sunday from 7:30am to 10:00pm. Happy hour every day. Other amenities already included in your stay: Continental Breakfast, Local & 800 calls, Wirless Internet at lobby area and Daily newspaper.
Guest must be 21 years or older to check into the hotel.

Hotel Map

25.7057 -80.2911
Area served
Miami, FL
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport
Area description
Local attractions include:Miami Seaquarium, Miami Museum of Science, Viscaya Museum and Gardens, Fairchild Tropical Gardens, Matheson Hammock Park and beach, Key Biscayne, Lowe Museum of Art, Historical Venetian Pools (natural springs replenishes daily and is made out of natural coral) a true sight!, IMAX, AMC, Actors Playhouse, Coconut Grove Playhouse, The Improv Comedy Club, Gables Stage Theater; Homestead Miami Speedway, University of Miami Hurricanes, and University of Miami Basketball, American Airlines Arena Downtown Miami speedway races; South Miami Hospital, Baptist Hospital, Larkin Hospital, Jackson Memorial Hospital, Doctor's Hospital, Cedars Medical Center, Coral Gables Hospital and Miami Children's Hospital; University of Miami, Ross University/Larkin. Florida International University, Miami Dade Community College-South Campus, Wolfson Campus

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Miami Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Best Miami Hotel Rooms

Run of House
Room has one King bed. Windows open. Television with premium channels. Free local calls. In room safe (fees apply. Bath amenities include hair dryer and complimentary toiletries. Blackout drapes/curtains, clock radio, and iron/ironing board. Air conditioning. Non-smoking. Refrigetor and Microwave available upon request. (fees apply)
Junior Suite
Oversize deluxe junior suite with sitting area and work desk, king size bed, wood floor, marble and granite bathrooms, in-room safe (minimal charge), refrigerator and iron/ ironing board, dual phones and phone lines with internet connection.
Deluxe Double
Beautiful double room with two double beds, wood floor, deluxe marble and granite bathrooms with hair dryers, dual phone lines and internet connection.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • University of Miami: 1.4 mi
  • Tropical Park: 2.6 mi
  • Pinecrest: 3.1 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 3.3 mi
  • CocoWalk: 3.4 mi
  • Granada: 3.9 mi
  • Bird Bowl: 3.9 mi
  • Temple Israel: 4.4 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 4.4 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Frost Art Museum: 6.1 mi
  • FIU Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Deering Estate: 6.3 mi
  • Marlins Park: 6.7 mi
  • University of Miami: 1.4 mi
  • Tropical Park: 2.6 mi
  • Pinecrest: 3.1 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 3.3 mi
  • CocoWalk: 3.4 mi
  • Granada: 3.9 mi
  • Bird Bowl: 3.9 mi
  • Temple Israel: 4.4 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 4.4 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Frost Art Museum: 6.1 mi
  • FIU Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Deering Estate: 6.3 mi
  • Marlins Park: 6.7 mi
  • Museum of the Americas: 6.7 mi
  • East Little Havana: 6.8 mi
  • Lummus Park: 7.4 mi
  • Miami Dade Public Library: 7.6 mi
  • Ice Palace Film Studios: 7.7 mi
  • Metro Dade Cultural Center: 7.7 mi
  • Miami Seaquarium: 8 mi
  • Freedom Tower: 8.1 mi
  • Bayside Marketplace: 8.2 mi
  • American Airlines Arena: 8.3 mi
  • Miami Metro Zoo: 8.3 mi
  • Tina Hills Pavillion: 8.4 mi
  • Pulse Miami: 8.7 mi
  • Trinity Episcopal Cathedral: 8.7 mi
  • Port of Miami: 8.8 mi
  • Cape Florida Lighthouse: 8.8 mi
  • Joseph Caleb Auditorium: 9 mi
  • Miami Children's Museum: 9 mi
  • Dodge Island: 9.1 mi
  • Jungle Island: 9.1 mi
  • Gold Coast Railroad Museum: 9.2 mi
  • Albertini Arts Gallery: 9.2 mi
  • Palm Island: 9.6 mi
  • Larry and Penny Thompson Campground: 9.9 mi
  • Fisher Island: 10.2 mi
  • Morningside Park: 10.7 mi
  • Bettcher Gallery: 10.8 mi
  • Art Deco District: 11.2 mi
  • Espanola Way: 11.4 mi
  • Lincoln Road Mall: 11.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
1) Ballroom: 38 X 25 Ft. Maximum Capacity: 120 people 2) Conference Room 29 X 11 Ft.- Maximum Capacity: 50 people

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (229)

Ratings and reviews for Best Miami Hotel

Overall score

2.1 / 5
5.01.0
52 out of 229
Amenities:
2.2
Room cleanliness:
2.4
Hotel staff:
2.6
Room comfort:
2.2
Location:
3.3
Value:
2.6

33% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nubs
Clinton , Ct.
May 2, 2012

Miami Best Hotel?

When I first got to the property, I was surprised to find that there was a daily fee for parking on the premises? What is that about? Next ......at the front desk I was told that there was a daily fee for having a safe available in the room.....not optional, just a fee added to the bill. The good price I began with went up by ten dollars a day before I even got to the room. The hotel is musty smelling throughout. Continental breakfast was a joke.All in all the worst hotel I have stayed in to date.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
micktall
newjersey
Jul 13, 2009

the ant hotel

when we woke up on 07/07/09 our clothes was full of ants. the hotel tryed to accomedaite my family we checked out a day early they explain thy wouldnt charge for the last day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Bedford, MA
Feb 22, 2011

This place was not as described online.

This place was not as described online.. From the time we got picked up by are complimentry shuttle. First we had to wait almost an hour and a half after a long flight before the shuttle came to pick us up. the shuttle was all beat up with the check engine light on... We get to the HOTEL wich realy was hidden. We pulled up to the front and noticed that the sign that once said BEST WESTERN was scraped off and just said BEST....So that just didn't look right to us.. We went in to check ourselves in.. Are reservation was there so that wasn't a problem. The lobby was very nice had the aroma of stale cigarettes. That was a turn off...Mind you, we didn't know what to do being that if we complianed we didn't know if that would alter are package deal that we got with tickets included. We proceeded to are room wich was horrible. Room again smelt old and musty, comforter on one of the beds had a big giant hole in it... There was spider webs hanging from corners in the room. The phone didn't work not even to call the front desk. we requested an iron that was completley burnt on the bottom.. There was no restraunt or lounge inside of the place that worked... The restraunt was there but the doors had pad locks on them and the place looked abandoned.. Couldn't even get a drink to relax.. The swiming pool looked nice, but it was incased in dead palm trees and wilted plants. I couldn't tell if the object of to the side was supposed to be a jacuzzi or fish bowl,water fountain????? Very weird... And the continental breakfast consited of nasty burnt coffee, ceral that was dumped into large bowls we had to scoop out with soup spoons.. The toaster was broken. So we had to hold the metal piece that stuck out just to toast are bagel.. And the donuts and pecan pinwheels looked like they where all crushed up.. The place just WAS NOT what they made it out to be AT ALL... The only thing I can give this place credit for is the area it was in.. Very, very close to the shopping mall and plenty of places to eat.. That was the only thing that saved us. Oh and I can't forget we always had clean linen everytime we left and came back...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hotel Man
Stevens Point, WI
Jun 23, 2010

Worse Hotel Ever!

I initially called the hotel to recheck my room availability and the gentleman at the desk snapped at me asking me if I wanted to cancel my reservation. When I arrived at the hotel, I was ignored by the hotel staff and upon getting their attention away from the TV displaying the World Cup, they booked me into two rooms that were not "connected" to each other when I specifically requested ajoining rooms. They noted they didn't have any rooms that were joined together by a door. After going into our assigned room I found out that there were ajoining rooms and requested that my rooms be changed. The representative that checked me in gave me attitude about changing rooms, but did eventually reassign me to two different rooms that were "connected". "You get what you pay for" and apparently, this hotel had horrible rooms that did not lock properly. I was able to get into the other room with a different assigned card, thus the card scanners were not functioning properly. Also, the refrigerators in the rooms were leaking and the beds had a large dip in the center of them as if a child had been jumping on the bed non-stop for 3 days. As for the "free continental breakfast", they only had orange juice, toast, cereal, and some dry shortcake. Everything else displayed was order only from a menu. I've stayed at a Best Western and they served better breakfasts then this cheap hotel. On our last day while we were leaving and cleaning up the rooms, we found empty roach egg pods inbetween the molding on the base of the hard wood floors. They noted that this is the "Best Miami Hotel" and it's the "Best kept secret". Unfortunately, the hotel was the Worst Hotel I've stayed at in Miami and if there was a secret, I'd be better off not knowing what it was. I'd give this hotel -5 stars, but on a 1 - 5 star system, my only choice would be a 1, and that's because of the microwave. Pay the extra $40 dollars and stay at a better kept hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Richmond, CA
Jun 5, 2011

Worst Miami hotel

I booked my extended family of 10 here for our post-cruise stay in Miami b/c I thought it was a good deal and we could take advantage of their free shuttles to different locales to sight-see. Big mistake! It was so bad we checked out early. PROS: 1) Cesar, the friendliest hotel concierge ever. 2) Beautiful lobby. This is evidently where they poured all of their money into and even it is falling into disrepair. CONS: 1) The room reeked of black mold. And in case you weren't sure of that putrid smell, just look up at the mold clusters in the ceiling. 2) Both ice machines in hotel (only on 3rd & 4th floors)were broken and ice was 1/2 mile walk away in hot Miami weather. 3) Beds were lumpy and 10+ years beyond their use. In fact, if you sat at the end of it, you would completely tip the whole bed over. 4) There's one working shuttle and you have to book trips, so it really isn't reliable as a means of seeing Miami. 5) With exception of Cesar, other staff is surly and avoids interaction with guests. 6) Housekeeping left last guests' panty in one of our rooms. 7) No on-site restaurant as described. It was shut down per front desk... I wonder how long it'll take to get the rest of the place shut down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

walk Sunset Drive at night... not too scary and some nice shops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
indiana
Apr 26, 2009

worst hotel ever

hotel looked like it was a charge by the hour it smelled like bug spray.Room reeked of urine and mold. Beds were so old they were broken down with springs sticking out. Bed spreads were so old you could see thru them. Staff acted like you were bothering them by just checking in. I could not believe this place I thought I was movie !!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shaun K
Van nuys, CA
Jun 29, 2014

Horrible Experience

The hotel is old, water leaks from the ceiling, beds flip up when u put weight on one end. The continental breakfast only included apples ( which were not actually rotting) oranges, frozen mini muffins and 2 types of cereal. The staff is very rude and was even sleeping at the front desk with a pillow! I had to use my t-shirt to dry myself after a shower once because they had no extra towels to give us. Only person who had okay service was the general manager. Do not stay here, don't let the price fool you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
NC
Jan 1, 2010

I don't want to stay this hotel any more

There are some leak in the room. Besides the free meal is just american coffee. Also I don't know why they received $8 parking fee per a day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
jacksonville, fl
Mar 1, 2010

Dont stay here

my first time staying here and my last. it was 50 degrees in the room and they dont have heaters unless your in a smoking room, mold in the room and bathroom, the tv didnt even have a remote i asked and they said no remotes.if u turned the main light off it turned the tv off. And the comp breakfast consists of 2 pieces of toast, jr cup of oj and a cup of coffee. Not happy at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jan 5, 2008

Would NOT recommend Miami's BEST hotel

This hotel should be called Miami's WORST hotel. I would definately not recommend this hotel to others. My family only stayed there 1 night thankfully. Although the idea of a complimentary shuttle seemed great, the first shuttle driver we had was extremely rude, mean, and insisted on a good tip. We did have another driver though that seemed nice. Then, we were left at our location for 3 hours waiting for him to pick us up...don't know if it was his fault or the hotels. The room floor was dirty. Shower had no power. Air conditioning was not working properly in our room...thankfully we visited on a cool January night so we opened our window. The hotel's only soda machine was broken. Our remote control to the tv was not functioning properly..no matter what you pushed (except power) the channel went up. Terrible! Go somewhere else!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search