$62 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2015 Check-out: Apr 22, 2015

Best Miami Hotel

2 stars
View map of 5959 S.W. 71st, Miami, FL 33143

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
255 reviews
Great!

Great price family atmosphere would definelty recommend to anybody looking for a inexpensive get... See full review

  • Ambi bear
  • Mar 16, 2015
Awesome time n place to spend with my family

Everything was excellent awesome place nice time from 0 to 10 I will say 10 my family love it See full review

  • Kenneth P.
  • Jan 6, 2015
South Miami hotel with free Wi-Fi, shuttle and continental breakfast.

This South Miami hotel is near the University of Miami, Coral Gables and Coconut Grove. The Mediterranean-inspired property has an inner courtyard that rooms overlook. The hotel provides free shuttle services to most area attractions, hospitals and shopping malls, the Miami International Airport, the Port of Miami and cruise ship terminals, and the University of Miami. Amenities include free Wi-Fi and a tropical courtyard and pool.

Highlights
  • Near the University of Miami, Coral Gables and Coconut Grove
  • Two blocks from the Shops at Sunset Place and the South Miami Metrorail Station
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
  • Meeting space for small events
Rooms

Air-conditioned rooms house two double beds or one king bed, a work desk, marble and granite bathrooms and an in-room refrigerator. Decor skews traditional, from patterned bed spreads to brass-framed artwork. Guests can request non-smoking or smoking rooms and suites, which have a microwave. Wi-Fi is free.

Features


The hotel runs a free shuttle service to nearby attractions, hospitals and shopping malls, Miami International Airport, the Port of Miami and cruise ship terminals, and the University of Miami. Guests should check with the hotel for schedules and reservations.

 

There is an onsite outdoor pool with a cascading waterfall. An inner courtyard encloses it.

Transportation

  • Miami International Airport (16 minutes)
  • Miami Convention Center (21 minutes)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (24 minutes)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (41 minutes)
Attractions
  • University of Miami (1.5 mi/ 2.4 km)
  • Lowe Art Museum (1.6 mi/ 2.6 km)
  • Coral Gables (2.2 mi/ 3.5 km)
  • Coconut Grove (2.4 mi/ 3.9 km)
  • Biltmore Golf Course (3.7 mi/ 6 km)
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens (6.2 mi/ 10 km)
Business
  • Event space for up to 120 guests
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
Policies and fees
Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Miami Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5

Best Miami Hotel Rooms

Run of House
Room has one King bed. Windows open. Television with premium channels. Free local calls. In room safe (fees apply. Bath amenities include hair dryer and complimentary toiletries. Blackout drapes/curtains, clock radio, and iron/ironing board. Air conditioning. Non-smoking. Refrigetor and Microwave available upon request. (fees apply)
Junior Suite
Oversize deluxe junior suite with sitting area and work desk, king size bed, wood floor, marble and granite bathrooms, in-room safe (minimal charge), refrigerator and iron/ ironing board, dual phones and phone lines with internet connection.
Deluxe Double
Beautiful double room with two double beds, wood floor, deluxe marble and granite bathrooms with hair dryers, dual phone lines and internet connection.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • University of Miami: 1.4 mi
  • Tropical Park: 2.6 mi
  • Pinecrest: 3.1 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 3.3 mi
  • CocoWalk: 3.4 mi
  • Granada: 3.9 mi
  • Bird Bowl: 3.9 mi
  • Temple Israel: 4.4 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 4.4 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Frost Art Museum: 6.1 mi
  • FIU Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Deering Estate: 6.3 mi
  • Marlins Park: 6.7 mi
  • University of Miami: 1.4 mi
  • Tropical Park: 2.6 mi
  • Pinecrest: 3.1 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 3.3 mi
  • CocoWalk: 3.4 mi
  • Granada: 3.9 mi
  • Bird Bowl: 3.9 mi
  • Temple Israel: 4.4 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 4.4 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Frost Art Museum: 6.1 mi
  • FIU Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Deering Estate: 6.3 mi
  • Marlins Park: 6.7 mi
  • Museum of the Americas: 6.7 mi
  • East Little Havana: 6.8 mi
  • Lummus Park: 7.4 mi
  • Miami Dade Public Library: 7.6 mi
  • Ice Palace Film Studios: 7.7 mi
  • Metro Dade Cultural Center: 7.7 mi
  • Miami Seaquarium: 8 mi
  • Freedom Tower: 8.1 mi
  • Bayside Marketplace: 8.2 mi
  • American Airlines Arena: 8.3 mi
  • Miami Metro Zoo: 8.3 mi
  • Tina Hills Pavillion: 8.4 mi
  • Pulse Miami: 8.7 mi
  • Trinity Episcopal Cathedral: 8.7 mi
  • Port of Miami: 8.8 mi
  • Cape Florida Lighthouse: 8.8 mi
  • Joseph Caleb Auditorium: 9 mi
  • Miami Children's Museum: 9 mi
  • Dodge Island: 9.1 mi
  • Jungle Island: 9.1 mi
  • Gold Coast Railroad Museum: 9.2 mi
  • Albertini Arts Gallery: 9.2 mi
  • Palm Island: 9.6 mi
  • Larry and Penny Thompson Campground: 9.9 mi
  • Fisher Island: 10.2 mi
  • Morningside Park: 10.7 mi
  • Bettcher Gallery: 10.8 mi
  • Art Deco District: 11.2 mi
  • Espanola Way: 11.4 mi
  • Lincoln Road Mall: 11.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
1) Ballroom: 38 X 25 Ft. Maximum Capacity: 120 people 2) Conference Room 29 X 11 Ft.- Maximum Capacity: 50 people

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Best Miami Hotel

Overall score

2.2 / 5
5.01.0
61 out of 255
Amenities:
2.2
Cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
2.6
Comfort:
2.3
Location:
3.2
Value:
2.6

34% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
micktall
Business
newjersey
Jul 13, 2009

the ant hotel

when we woke up on 07/07/09 our clothes was full of ants. the hotel tryed to accomedaite my family we checked out a day early they explain thy wouldnt charge for the last day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hotel Man
Business
Stevens Point, WI
Jun 23, 2010

Worse Hotel Ever!

I initially called the hotel to recheck my room availability and the gentleman at the desk snapped at me asking me if I wanted to cancel my reservation. When I arrived at the hotel, I was ignored by the hotel staff and upon getting their attention away from the TV displaying the World Cup, they booked me into two rooms that were not "connected" to each other when I specifically requested ajoining rooms. They noted they didn't have any rooms that were joined together by a door. After going into our assigned room I found out that there were ajoining rooms and requested that my rooms be changed. The representative that checked me in gave me attitude about changing rooms, but did eventually reassign me to two different rooms that were "connected". "You get what you pay for" and apparently, this hotel had horrible rooms that did not lock properly. I was able to get into the other room with a different assigned card, thus the card scanners were not functioning properly. Also, the refrigerators in the rooms were leaking and the beds had a large dip in the center of them as if a child had been jumping on the bed non-stop for 3 days. As for the "free continental breakfast", they only had orange juice, toast, cereal, and some dry shortcake. Everything else displayed was order only from a menu. I've stayed at a Best Western and they served better breakfasts then this cheap hotel. On our last day while we were leaving and cleaning up the rooms, we found empty roach egg pods inbetween the molding on the base of the hard wood floors. They noted that this is the "Best Miami Hotel" and it's the "Best kept secret". Unfortunately, the hotel was the Worst Hotel I've stayed at in Miami and if there was a secret, I'd be better off not knowing what it was. I'd give this hotel -5 stars, but on a 1 - 5 star system, my only choice would be a 1, and that's because of the microwave. Pay the extra $40 dollars and stay at a better kept hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jul 12, 2011

The ugliest hotel

Not good. Dirty, fridge is rusted. Pool is dirty, staff hardly speak English.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
krlitaa
Business
Orlando
Jan 26, 2012

Very Mean and Poor customer service

Very Rude employees. My family tried to call me to the hotel and the phone just rang and rang. They finally answered them when they call back for a 3rd time, and they asked them for my last name, my aunt spelled it and in the middle of that the employee just transferred the call without saying please wait, or anything. RUDE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BENJIPUPPYDOG
Business
Kissimmee, FL, USA
Feb 23, 2012

VACATION TO MIAMI BEACH FAMILY

ONE WORD FOR THIS HOTEL VERY SICK. CLOSE DOWN THIS HOTEL AND REBUILD IT NEW.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

WALK CLOSE TO ALL ATTRACTIONS

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nubs
Business
Clinton , Ct.
May 2, 2012

Miami Best Hotel?

When I first got to the property, I was surprised to find that there was a daily fee for parking on the premises? What is that about? Next ......at the front desk I was told that there was a daily fee for having a safe available in the room.....not optional, just a fee added to the bill. The good price I began with went up by ten dollars a day before I even got to the room. The hotel is musty smelling throughout. Continental breakfast was a joke.All in all the worst hotel I have stayed in to date.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bena Booth
Business
Short Hills, NJ
Feb 23, 2013

Strong, Musty Odor Pervades This Hotel

We arrived late at night. The area was not far from U of Miami but was sort of creepy. We parked on the street to not have to pay $8.01 for parking. When we got into the lobby, the attendant took our credit card and said we had to pay for the room safe, $2.01. A STRONG, MUSTY ODOR PERVADED THE LOBBY. WE PRAYED THE ROOM WOULD BE BETTER. IT WAS NOT. tHE ODOR PERVADED OUR ROOM ALL NIGHT. THE BATHTUB WAS TOO GROTESQUE TO BE BELIEVED. DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jlkjoyful
Business
Philadelphia
Feb 24, 2013

Not thrilled!

Had a one night stay with this hotel. I chose this hotel based on other's reviews and for the airport shuttle. When we called the hotel at 10 pm, they said their shuttle service ended at 10 PM even though when we called earlier in the evening they just told us to call once we got to the airport and made no mention of the shuttle ending at 10 PM. We ended up paying $55 dollars for a shuttle from the airport. Once we checked into the room even though it was a non smoking room it smelled like smoke. Breakfast was just cereal, milk, juice, & muffins. They ran out of juice and milk around 9 and the breakfast was supposed to go until 9:30. Traveling with a 3 year old you sometimes just need some of the basics that they ran out of. Wanted to use the shuttle service aroun d 1 in the afternoon but they said that it was not available until 4 PM. If Spanish is your primary language, this may be the hotel for you! Most of the employees spoke only English so thir was a little bit of a language barrier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mommmcc
Business
Miami
May 3, 2013

Looks good from lobby but not the room

The hotel looks okay from the outside, when you walk in you say wow what a nice lobby and court yard put when start to sign paper you realize maybe not. Not professional registration card at all. They charge you $2.00 plus tax for safe use if you use it or not, not good. THE ROOMS VERY BAD THE CELLING AND FLOORS ARE CRACTED, THE BED IS WORN ALL THE WAY DOWN TO THE SPRING THE ICE MECHAINE IS OUT OF ORDER AND THE FRONT DESK AGENT SAYS THE OWNER IS NOT GOING TO FIX IT I AM JUST AN EMPLOYEE NOT A GOOD ATTITUDE TO HAVE. ALL IN ALL THE ROOM SUCKED I PAID WAY TO MUCH $85.00 FOR A $0 WORTH OF A HOTEL. DON'T RECOMMEND TO STAY WORST NIGHT SLEEP OF MY LIFE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MD Cafe
Business
Orlando fl
Jun 17, 2013

Horrible

THIS PLACE IS THE WORST!!!!!!!! DO NOT STAY!!!!!!!THE WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE !!!!! We booked this hotel for a quick Soccer trip to Miami for the kids . We went to check In and our name was in the computer but apparently a form never got faxed instead of trying to help us we were told to leave and contact them on our own. Very Rude !!! Contacted customer service they got us taken care of and told us the hotel could if contacted them. I guess that was Too Much work!! The front desk clerk insulted me in Spanish to my Husband. If this hotel wasn't already paid and it wasn't 10pm at night . We would of left.They never apologized to us and when we checked out never would look at us or say goodby or thank you.. Also the rooms are very small and the breakfast should even be called that . Just some muffins and apples and one type of Cereal. I Would Never go there again....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top