$49 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 31, 2014 Check-out: Nov 1, 2014

Best Miami Hotel

2 stars
5959 S.W. 71st, Miami, FL 33143
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
232 reviews
Great service, Great Hotel

I stay one night, I liked the hotel, clean, safe, friendly staff, great price. Close to main road,... See full review

  • Jose J
  • Dec 14, 2013
Doesn't get any better for a cheap price.

THe staff was friendly and understanding of my service dsog, didnt give me hard time at all. cant... See full review

  • carly1991
  • Sep 27, 2014
South Miami hotel with free Wi-Fi, shuttle and continental breakfast.

This South Miami hotel is near the University of Miami, Coral Gables and Coconut Grove. The Mediterranean-inspired property has an inner courtyard that rooms overlook. The hotel provides free shuttle services to most area attractions, hospitals and shopping malls, the Miami International Airport, the Port of Miami and cruise ship terminals, and the University of Miami. Amenities include free Wi-Fi and a tropical courtyard and pool.

Highlights
  • Near the University of Miami, Coral Gables and Coconut Grove
  • Two blocks from the Shops at Sunset Place and the South Miami Metrorail Station
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
  • Meeting space for small events
Rooms

Air-conditioned rooms house two double beds or one king bed, a work desk, marble and granite bathrooms and an in-room refrigerator. Decor skews traditional, from patterned bed spreads to brass-framed artwork. Guests can request non-smoking or smoking rooms and suites, which have a microwave. Wi-Fi is free.

Features


The hotel runs a free shuttle service to nearby attractions, hospitals and shopping malls, Miami International Airport, the Port of Miami and cruise ship terminals, and the University of Miami. Guests should check with the hotel for schedules and reservations.

 

There is an onsite outdoor pool with a cascading waterfall. An inner courtyard encloses it.

Transportation

  • Miami International Airport (16 minutes)
  • Miami Convention Center (21 minutes)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (24 minutes)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (41 minutes)
Attractions
  • University of Miami (1.5 mi/ 2.4 km)
  • Lowe Art Museum (1.6 mi/ 2.6 km)
  • Coral Gables (2.2 mi/ 3.5 km)
  • Coconut Grove (2.4 mi/ 3.9 km)
  • Biltmore Golf Course (3.7 mi/ 6 km)
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens (6.2 mi/ 10 km)
Business
  • Event space for up to 120 guests
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
Policies and fees
Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

25.7057 -80.2911
Area served
Miami, FL
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport
Area description
Local attractions include:Miami Seaquarium, Miami Museum of Science, Viscaya Museum and Gardens, Fairchild Tropical Gardens, Matheson Hammock Park and beach, Key Biscayne, Lowe Museum of Art, Historical Venetian Pools (natural springs replenishes daily and is made out of natural coral) a true sight!, IMAX, AMC, Actors Playhouse, Coconut Grove Playhouse, The Improv Comedy Club, Gables Stage Theater; Homestead Miami Speedway, University of Miami Hurricanes, and University of Miami Basketball, American Airlines Arena Downtown Miami speedway races; South Miami Hospital, Baptist Hospital, Larkin Hospital, Jackson Memorial Hospital, Doctor's Hospital, Cedars Medical Center, Coral Gables Hospital and Miami Children's Hospital; University of Miami, Ross University/Larkin. Florida International University, Miami Dade Community College-South Campus, Wolfson Campus

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Miami Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Best Miami Hotel Rooms

Run of House
Room has one King bed. Windows open. Television with premium channels. Free local calls. In room safe (fees apply. Bath amenities include hair dryer and complimentary toiletries. Blackout drapes/curtains, clock radio, and iron/ironing board. Air conditioning. Non-smoking. Refrigetor and Microwave available upon request. (fees apply)
Junior Suite
Oversize deluxe junior suite with sitting area and work desk, king size bed, wood floor, marble and granite bathrooms, in-room safe (minimal charge), refrigerator and iron/ ironing board, dual phones and phone lines with internet connection.
Deluxe Double
Beautiful double room with two double beds, wood floor, deluxe marble and granite bathrooms with hair dryers, dual phone lines and internet connection.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • University of Miami: 1.4 mi
  • Tropical Park: 2.6 mi
  • Pinecrest: 3.1 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 3.3 mi
  • CocoWalk: 3.4 mi
  • Granada: 3.9 mi
  • Bird Bowl: 3.9 mi
  • Temple Israel: 4.4 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 4.4 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Frost Art Museum: 6.1 mi
  • FIU Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Deering Estate: 6.3 mi
  • Marlins Park: 6.7 mi
  • University of Miami: 1.4 mi
  • Tropical Park: 2.6 mi
  • Pinecrest: 3.1 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 3.3 mi
  • CocoWalk: 3.4 mi
  • Granada: 3.9 mi
  • Bird Bowl: 3.9 mi
  • Temple Israel: 4.4 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 4.4 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Frost Art Museum: 6.1 mi
  • FIU Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Deering Estate: 6.3 mi
  • Marlins Park: 6.7 mi
  • Museum of the Americas: 6.7 mi
  • East Little Havana: 6.8 mi
  • Lummus Park: 7.4 mi
  • Miami Dade Public Library: 7.6 mi
  • Ice Palace Film Studios: 7.7 mi
  • Metro Dade Cultural Center: 7.7 mi
  • Miami Seaquarium: 8 mi
  • Freedom Tower: 8.1 mi
  • Bayside Marketplace: 8.2 mi
  • American Airlines Arena: 8.3 mi
  • Miami Metro Zoo: 8.3 mi
  • Tina Hills Pavillion: 8.4 mi
  • Pulse Miami: 8.7 mi
  • Trinity Episcopal Cathedral: 8.7 mi
  • Port of Miami: 8.8 mi
  • Cape Florida Lighthouse: 8.8 mi
  • Joseph Caleb Auditorium: 9 mi
  • Miami Children's Museum: 9 mi
  • Dodge Island: 9.1 mi
  • Jungle Island: 9.1 mi
  • Gold Coast Railroad Museum: 9.2 mi
  • Albertini Arts Gallery: 9.2 mi
  • Palm Island: 9.6 mi
  • Larry and Penny Thompson Campground: 9.9 mi
  • Fisher Island: 10.2 mi
  • Morningside Park: 10.7 mi
  • Bettcher Gallery: 10.8 mi
  • Art Deco District: 11.2 mi
  • Espanola Way: 11.4 mi
  • Lincoln Road Mall: 11.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
1) Ballroom: 38 X 25 Ft. Maximum Capacity: 120 people 2) Conference Room 29 X 11 Ft.- Maximum Capacity: 50 people

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (232)

Ratings and reviews for Best Miami Hotel

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
232 out of 232
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
2.9
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.3
Value:
2.9

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jan 5, 2008

Would NOT recommend Miami's BEST hotel

This hotel should be called Miami's WORST hotel. I would definately not recommend this hotel to others. My family only stayed there 1 night thankfully. Although the idea of a complimentary shuttle seemed great, the first shuttle driver we had was extremely rude, mean, and insisted on a good tip. We did have another driver though that seemed nice. Then, we were left at our location for 3 hours waiting for him to pick us up...don't know if it was his fault or the hotels. The room floor was dirty. Shower had no power. Air conditioning was not working properly in our room...thankfully we visited on a cool January night so we opened our window. The hotel's only soda machine was broken. Our remote control to the tv was not functioning properly..no matter what you pushed (except power) the channel went up. Terrible! Go somewhere else!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shaun K
Business
Van nuys, CA
Jun 29, 2014

Horrible Experience

The hotel is old, water leaks from the ceiling, beds flip up when u put weight on one end. The continental breakfast only included apples ( which were not actually rotting) oranges, frozen mini muffins and 2 types of cereal. The staff is very rude and was even sleeping at the front desk with a pillow! I had to use my t-shirt to dry myself after a shower once because they had no extra towels to give us. Only person who had okay service was the general manager. Do not stay here, don't let the price fool you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Zzzzzz5050
Business
DMV
Jul 28, 2014

Not good

Only 1 wash clothes per guest even if more then 1 guest. Air conditions leaks. Will not be returning and not recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SallyA
Business
NY
Sep 18, 2014

Not a 2 star hotel

The only nice thing in the hotel is the lobby but the rooms a filthy with rusty refrigerator and leaking plumbing. Air conditioning can only be turn off and temperature can not be controlled - freezing cold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
GermanBretzel
Business
Germany
Sep 14, 2014

NOT under 21!!!

The hotel is really hard to find and does not provide good parking possibilities for you to check in. Once we were at the reception we experienced quite some problems checking in. The lady there told us that this hotel has a policy which does not allow people under 21 to check in under their name. Tough luck we already booked it in advance under my name - I am 20. So they told us at the reception that we needed my legal guardian to send them a quick letter stating that they are responsible for me. Since it was 10 p.m. and my parents live in Germany with a 6 hour time difference this was not possible. So they told us to contact the booking company so they will change it to my boyfriends name who is 21. First hand since the hotel varies from standards with this policy I consider it their job to make up for this and not have their customers suffer from it. Also they could have mentioned this earlier since we booked the hotel a day in advance. After a 30 minute call to my booking company - who were really supportive and friendly - they finally had what they needed. But once they had this they would let other guests skip the line and just deal with their problems first. After a 30 minute wait for us already. After "sucessfully" checking in we parked our car for a 10$ fee and got to our room. 5 minutes later we had people try to get into our room - turns out the receptionist gave them the same room he gave us 2 minutes earlier. The breakfast consisted in bread, butter and apples. That's it. I do not at all recommend this hotel. It is not worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Dolphin Mall - awesome deals and so many outlet stores.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DC from XOM
Business
Westminster, CA
Feb 4, 2014

Business travels

Why the customers have to pay the safe box (forced payments) everyday when they do not need ???(I went and stayed for business trip with non valuable small suitcase !!! What's a rid off ! don't you think ??? DCT

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Delmarva
Business
Best Miami hotel
Feb 14, 2014

Business

It was a place to stay for business but a bit run down, I'm sure it used to be a nice place at one time. Rooms are a bit moldy. It was a decent area to be in

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TheDuffyEstate
Business
Converse, TX
Mar 15, 2014

Needs improving

We stayed the night before our cruise and then again a night after our cruise. We booked this hotel because of the FREE airport shuttle & Port of Miami shuttle. But little did we know the shuttle only runs at certain times, which is not stated on their website. If you have to take a cab to or from hotel to airport it's $30+., which a couple of us had to do, because of early morning flights. So was not happy about that. The FREE breakfast is apples, oranges packaged muffins & one choice of cereal. With coffee, milk or orange juice. So not much of a variety. The rooms are run down. They need a lot of work. The man at front desk did say that the hotel was purchased 6 weeks ago by new owners who are going to be doing major renovations. I give 5 stars to the location. Mall real close, walking distance. Lots of little stores and restaurants nearby. A grocery store walking distance and library too. The light rail real close too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great mall nearby with great restraint choices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Valdi14
Business
Jacksonville FL
Apr 7, 2014

Expected more for the price

On the website looks nice but when we arrived it looked abandoned. It has stained walls, wall paper hanging, basically it needs to be remodeled!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JOSE LALALA
Business
MIAMI, FL
May 5, 2014

Average / Great Location ...

Quite and Okay. Could be better. Average kind of hotel for those only looking to sleep and get going.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top