$64 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 28, 2014 Check-out: Nov 29, 2014

Best Miami Hotel

2 stars
5959 S.W. 71st, Miami, FL 33143
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
232 reviews
Great service, Great Hotel

I stay one night, I liked the hotel, clean, safe, friendly staff, great price. Close to main road,... See full review

  • Jose J
  • Dec 14, 2013
Doesn't get any better for a cheap price.

THe staff was friendly and understanding of my service dsog, didnt give me hard time at all. cant... See full review

  • carly1991
  • Sep 27, 2014
South Miami hotel with free Wi-Fi, shuttle and continental breakfast.

This South Miami hotel is near the University of Miami, Coral Gables and Coconut Grove. The Mediterranean-inspired property has an inner courtyard that rooms overlook. The hotel provides free shuttle services to most area attractions, hospitals and shopping malls, the Miami International Airport, the Port of Miami and cruise ship terminals, and the University of Miami. Amenities include free Wi-Fi and a tropical courtyard and pool.

Highlights
  • Near the University of Miami, Coral Gables and Coconut Grove
  • Two blocks from the Shops at Sunset Place and the South Miami Metrorail Station
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
  • Meeting space for small events
Rooms

Air-conditioned rooms house two double beds or one king bed, a work desk, marble and granite bathrooms and an in-room refrigerator. Decor skews traditional, from patterned bed spreads to brass-framed artwork. Guests can request non-smoking or smoking rooms and suites, which have a microwave. Wi-Fi is free.

Features


The hotel runs a free shuttle service to nearby attractions, hospitals and shopping malls, Miami International Airport, the Port of Miami and cruise ship terminals, and the University of Miami. Guests should check with the hotel for schedules and reservations.

 

There is an onsite outdoor pool with a cascading waterfall. An inner courtyard encloses it.

Transportation

  • Miami International Airport (16 minutes)
  • Miami Convention Center (21 minutes)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (24 minutes)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (41 minutes)
Attractions
  • University of Miami (1.5 mi/ 2.4 km)
  • Lowe Art Museum (1.6 mi/ 2.6 km)
  • Coral Gables (2.2 mi/ 3.5 km)
  • Coconut Grove (2.4 mi/ 3.9 km)
  • Biltmore Golf Course (3.7 mi/ 6 km)
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens (6.2 mi/ 10 km)
Business
  • Event space for up to 120 guests
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
Policies and fees
Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Miami Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Best Miami Hotel Rooms

Run of House
Room has one King bed. Windows open. Television with premium channels. Free local calls. In room safe (fees apply. Bath amenities include hair dryer and complimentary toiletries. Blackout drapes/curtains, clock radio, and iron/ironing board. Air conditioning. Non-smoking. Refrigetor and Microwave available upon request. (fees apply)
Junior Suite
Oversize deluxe junior suite with sitting area and work desk, king size bed, wood floor, marble and granite bathrooms, in-room safe (minimal charge), refrigerator and iron/ ironing board, dual phones and phone lines with internet connection.
Deluxe Double
Beautiful double room with two double beds, wood floor, deluxe marble and granite bathrooms with hair dryers, dual phone lines and internet connection.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • University of Miami: 1.4 mi
  • Tropical Park: 2.6 mi
  • Pinecrest: 3.1 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 3.3 mi
  • CocoWalk: 3.4 mi
  • Granada: 3.9 mi
  • Bird Bowl: 3.9 mi
  • Temple Israel: 4.4 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 4.4 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Frost Art Museum: 6.1 mi
  • FIU Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Deering Estate: 6.3 mi
  • Marlins Park: 6.7 mi
  • University of Miami: 1.4 mi
  • Tropical Park: 2.6 mi
  • Pinecrest: 3.1 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 3.3 mi
  • CocoWalk: 3.4 mi
  • Granada: 3.9 mi
  • Bird Bowl: 3.9 mi
  • Temple Israel: 4.4 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 4.4 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Frost Art Museum: 6.1 mi
  • FIU Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Deering Estate: 6.3 mi
  • Marlins Park: 6.7 mi
  • Museum of the Americas: 6.7 mi
  • East Little Havana: 6.8 mi
  • Lummus Park: 7.4 mi
  • Miami Dade Public Library: 7.6 mi
  • Ice Palace Film Studios: 7.7 mi
  • Metro Dade Cultural Center: 7.7 mi
  • Miami Seaquarium: 8 mi
  • Freedom Tower: 8.1 mi
  • Bayside Marketplace: 8.2 mi
  • American Airlines Arena: 8.3 mi
  • Miami Metro Zoo: 8.3 mi
  • Tina Hills Pavillion: 8.4 mi
  • Pulse Miami: 8.7 mi
  • Trinity Episcopal Cathedral: 8.7 mi
  • Port of Miami: 8.8 mi
  • Cape Florida Lighthouse: 8.8 mi
  • Joseph Caleb Auditorium: 9 mi
  • Miami Children's Museum: 9 mi
  • Dodge Island: 9.1 mi
  • Jungle Island: 9.1 mi
  • Gold Coast Railroad Museum: 9.2 mi
  • Albertini Arts Gallery: 9.2 mi
  • Palm Island: 9.6 mi
  • Larry and Penny Thompson Campground: 9.9 mi
  • Fisher Island: 10.2 mi
  • Morningside Park: 10.7 mi
  • Bettcher Gallery: 10.8 mi
  • Art Deco District: 11.2 mi
  • Espanola Way: 11.4 mi
  • Lincoln Road Mall: 11.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
1) Ballroom: 38 X 25 Ft. Maximum Capacity: 120 people 2) Conference Room 29 X 11 Ft.- Maximum Capacity: 50 people

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (232)

Ratings and reviews for Best Miami Hotel

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
232 out of 232
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
2.9
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.3
Value:
2.9

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NC
Jan 1, 2010

I don't want to stay this hotel any more

There are some leak in the room. Besides the free meal is just american coffee. Also I don't know why they received $8 parking fee per a day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester mn
Mar 1, 2011

No secret..won't stay here again

Won't go back. Garage was from a horror movie.....lights blinking and didn't feel safe. Rooms not clean and were damp and musty. We just stayed on night before our drive down to Key West...couldn't wait to leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
indiana
Apr 26, 2009

worst hotel ever

hotel looked like it was a charge by the hour it smelled like bug spray.Room reeked of urine and mold. Beds were so old they were broken down with springs sticking out. Bed spreads were so old you could see thru them. Staff acted like you were bothering them by just checking in. I could not believe this place I thought I was movie !!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
wgreyhawk
Business
Seattle, WA
Nov 7, 2010

More like Miami's Worst Hotel

As I said, the ceiling was dripping, everything was wet, and the room was moldy. They gave us another room. It wasn't as bad as the first, but still smelled of mold. There's no wi-fi in the rooms, only in the lobby. The wait times for the shuttle are really long. Expect to spend a couple hours waiting for it. They were supposed to pick up my 63 year old mother from the airport, but never did. She was forced to find alternative transportation. If you don't speak Spanish, good luck interacting with half the staff. The security doesn't even speak English. Also, expect to pay for parking each night. While the pool area is nice, the waterfall you might see in some pictures doesn't work. If you get a room facing into the pool area, you can expect a lot of noise. That's where our first room was, and it was nearly impossible for my daughter to sleep. The term "Best" is only there because the building used to be owned by Best Western. Now, it's just simply false advertising. This place needs to stay hidden.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 30, 2007

My review of Best Miami Hotel

Lights in room did not work. Lights in bathroom would not come on. Looks like 1995 when last maintenance was performed. Changed me to another room which was better--it had lights! Neighborhood was not in an area that you would want to take a walk in. Would not eat there so I just locked the doors and waited until morning to leave. Nothing good to say about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a nice shopping mall a short drive away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lilly Pearl
Business
Key West, Fl
Mar 31, 2010

You get what you pay for

We will not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dayton, OH
Jun 28, 2009

Yikes.

There was only one person working in the entire hotel. The "state of the art" workout facility is three old machines located in the garage. The internet advertising was pretty much false. They were listed as having a restaurant which had clearly closed some time ago. They were also listed as offering "continental breakfast," which literally consisted of a pile of white bread and a toaster. They were doing construction on the room directly above us and the alarm clock was going off in the room next door, but they "couldn't change our room." The room was fairly clean, however, and it was cheap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palm Beach Gardens
Jul 3, 2011

Not a Good experience!

No parking and not really clean rooms!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Bedford, MA
Feb 22, 2011

This place was not as described online.

This place was not as described online.. From the time we got picked up by are complimentry shuttle. First we had to wait almost an hour and a half after a long flight before the shuttle came to pick us up. the shuttle was all beat up with the check engine light on... We get to the HOTEL wich realy was hidden. We pulled up to the front and noticed that the sign that once said BEST WESTERN was scraped off and just said BEST....So that just didn't look right to us.. We went in to check ourselves in.. Are reservation was there so that wasn't a problem. The lobby was very nice had the aroma of stale cigarettes. That was a turn off...Mind you, we didn't know what to do being that if we complianed we didn't know if that would alter are package deal that we got with tickets included. We proceeded to are room wich was horrible. Room again smelt old and musty, comforter on one of the beds had a big giant hole in it... There was spider webs hanging from corners in the room. The phone didn't work not even to call the front desk. we requested an iron that was completley burnt on the bottom.. There was no restraunt or lounge inside of the place that worked... The restraunt was there but the doors had pad locks on them and the place looked abandoned.. Couldn't even get a drink to relax.. The swiming pool looked nice, but it was incased in dead palm trees and wilted plants. I couldn't tell if the object of to the side was supposed to be a jacuzzi or fish bowl,water fountain????? Very weird... And the continental breakfast consited of nasty burnt coffee, ceral that was dumped into large bowls we had to scoop out with soup spoons.. The toaster was broken. So we had to hold the metal piece that stuck out just to toast are bagel.. And the donuts and pecan pinwheels looked like they where all crushed up.. The place just WAS NOT what they made it out to be AT ALL... The only thing I can give this place credit for is the area it was in.. Very, very close to the shopping mall and plenty of places to eat.. That was the only thing that saved us. Oh and I can't forget we always had clean linen everytime we left and came back...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Doc Gregory
Business
Boston, MA
Jan 20, 2010

Stay Away from this Hotel

I had to check out of this hotel about 30 minutes after I checked in. There was no warm running water. In trying to address this, the front desk would not answer. The water was just this side of cold. The promised included breakfast become a 20% off coupon. I simply wanted a room in which there was warm running water. Nothing doing. My colleague on the 2nd floor had no problem with their water, however, I was told that all rooms had that level of lack of warm water. I checked out and am asking [...] and the hotel for a refund. BTW, no manager was on duty for four days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top