$49 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 27, 2014 Check-out: Oct 28, 2014

Best Miami Hotel

2 stars
5959 S.W. 71st, Miami, FL 33143
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
232 reviews
Great service, Great Hotel

I stay one night, I liked the hotel, clean, safe, friendly staff, great price. Close to main road,... See full review

  • Jose J
  • Dec 14, 2013
Doesn't get any better for a cheap price.

THe staff was friendly and understanding of my service dsog, didnt give me hard time at all. cant... See full review

  • carly1991
  • Sep 27, 2014
South Miami hotel with free Wi-Fi, shuttle and continental breakfast.

This South Miami hotel is near the University of Miami, Coral Gables and Coconut Grove. The Mediterranean-inspired property has an inner courtyard that rooms overlook. The hotel provides free shuttle services to most area attractions, hospitals and shopping malls, the Miami International Airport, the Port of Miami and cruise ship terminals, and the University of Miami. Amenities include free Wi-Fi and a tropical courtyard and pool.

Highlights
  • Near the University of Miami, Coral Gables and Coconut Grove
  • Two blocks from the Shops at Sunset Place and the South Miami Metrorail Station
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
  • Meeting space for small events
Rooms

Air-conditioned rooms house two double beds or one king bed, a work desk, marble and granite bathrooms and an in-room refrigerator. Decor skews traditional, from patterned bed spreads to brass-framed artwork. Guests can request non-smoking or smoking rooms and suites, which have a microwave. Wi-Fi is free.

Features


The hotel runs a free shuttle service to nearby attractions, hospitals and shopping malls, Miami International Airport, the Port of Miami and cruise ship terminals, and the University of Miami. Guests should check with the hotel for schedules and reservations.

 

There is an onsite outdoor pool with a cascading waterfall. An inner courtyard encloses it.

Transportation

  • Miami International Airport (16 minutes)
  • Miami Convention Center (21 minutes)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (24 minutes)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (41 minutes)
Attractions
  • University of Miami (1.5 mi/ 2.4 km)
  • Lowe Art Museum (1.6 mi/ 2.6 km)
  • Coral Gables (2.2 mi/ 3.5 km)
  • Coconut Grove (2.4 mi/ 3.9 km)
  • Biltmore Golf Course (3.7 mi/ 6 km)
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens (6.2 mi/ 10 km)
Business
  • Event space for up to 120 guests
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
Policies and fees
Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

25.7057 -80.2911
Area served
Miami, FL
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport
Area description
Local attractions include:Miami Seaquarium, Miami Museum of Science, Viscaya Museum and Gardens, Fairchild Tropical Gardens, Matheson Hammock Park and beach, Key Biscayne, Lowe Museum of Art, Historical Venetian Pools (natural springs replenishes daily and is made out of natural coral) a true sight!, IMAX, AMC, Actors Playhouse, Coconut Grove Playhouse, The Improv Comedy Club, Gables Stage Theater; Homestead Miami Speedway, University of Miami Hurricanes, and University of Miami Basketball, American Airlines Arena Downtown Miami speedway races; South Miami Hospital, Baptist Hospital, Larkin Hospital, Jackson Memorial Hospital, Doctor's Hospital, Cedars Medical Center, Coral Gables Hospital and Miami Children's Hospital; University of Miami, Ross University/Larkin. Florida International University, Miami Dade Community College-South Campus, Wolfson Campus

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Miami Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Best Miami Hotel Rooms

Run of House
Room has one King bed. Windows open. Television with premium channels. Free local calls. In room safe (fees apply. Bath amenities include hair dryer and complimentary toiletries. Blackout drapes/curtains, clock radio, and iron/ironing board. Air conditioning. Non-smoking. Refrigetor and Microwave available upon request. (fees apply)
Junior Suite
Oversize deluxe junior suite with sitting area and work desk, king size bed, wood floor, marble and granite bathrooms, in-room safe (minimal charge), refrigerator and iron/ ironing board, dual phones and phone lines with internet connection.
Deluxe Double
Beautiful double room with two double beds, wood floor, deluxe marble and granite bathrooms with hair dryers, dual phone lines and internet connection.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • University of Miami: 1.4 mi
  • Tropical Park: 2.6 mi
  • Pinecrest: 3.1 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 3.3 mi
  • CocoWalk: 3.4 mi
  • Granada: 3.9 mi
  • Bird Bowl: 3.9 mi
  • Temple Israel: 4.4 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 4.4 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Frost Art Museum: 6.1 mi
  • FIU Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Deering Estate: 6.3 mi
  • Marlins Park: 6.7 mi
  • University of Miami: 1.4 mi
  • Tropical Park: 2.6 mi
  • Pinecrest: 3.1 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 3.3 mi
  • CocoWalk: 3.4 mi
  • Granada: 3.9 mi
  • Bird Bowl: 3.9 mi
  • Temple Israel: 4.4 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 4.4 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Frost Art Museum: 6.1 mi
  • FIU Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Deering Estate: 6.3 mi
  • Marlins Park: 6.7 mi
  • Museum of the Americas: 6.7 mi
  • East Little Havana: 6.8 mi
  • Lummus Park: 7.4 mi
  • Miami Dade Public Library: 7.6 mi
  • Ice Palace Film Studios: 7.7 mi
  • Metro Dade Cultural Center: 7.7 mi
  • Miami Seaquarium: 8 mi
  • Freedom Tower: 8.1 mi
  • Bayside Marketplace: 8.2 mi
  • American Airlines Arena: 8.3 mi
  • Miami Metro Zoo: 8.3 mi
  • Tina Hills Pavillion: 8.4 mi
  • Pulse Miami: 8.7 mi
  • Trinity Episcopal Cathedral: 8.7 mi
  • Port of Miami: 8.8 mi
  • Cape Florida Lighthouse: 8.8 mi
  • Joseph Caleb Auditorium: 9 mi
  • Miami Children's Museum: 9 mi
  • Dodge Island: 9.1 mi
  • Jungle Island: 9.1 mi
  • Gold Coast Railroad Museum: 9.2 mi
  • Albertini Arts Gallery: 9.2 mi
  • Palm Island: 9.6 mi
  • Larry and Penny Thompson Campground: 9.9 mi
  • Fisher Island: 10.2 mi
  • Morningside Park: 10.7 mi
  • Bettcher Gallery: 10.8 mi
  • Art Deco District: 11.2 mi
  • Espanola Way: 11.4 mi
  • Lincoln Road Mall: 11.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
1) Ballroom: 38 X 25 Ft. Maximum Capacity: 120 people 2) Conference Room 29 X 11 Ft.- Maximum Capacity: 50 people

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (232)

Ratings and reviews for Best Miami Hotel

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
232 out of 232
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
2.9
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.3
Value:
2.9

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cmdr
Business
nh
Apr 25, 2014

bathroom ceiling leaking water from the above room, night manager did nothing

continental beakfeast was extremely poor. th hotels general condition is old and run down. poor security in

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
micktall
Business
newjersey
Jul 13, 2009

the ant hotel

when we woke up on 07/07/09 our clothes was full of ants. the hotel tryed to accomedaite my family we checked out a day early they explain thy wouldnt charge for the last day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
gmarose
Business
gunlock utah
Sep 11, 2009

Hotel that Falsifies

We chose this hotel package because of the information informing the guests there were 2 bars and a restaurant. Which there was NONE. We are seniors who saved up for this trip for our ten year wedding anniversary and was on a tight budget. Having the bar and restaurant at the hotel would save us on cost of gas, and meals, when we arrived we were advised those items had not been there in years. We left messages for the manager to contact us regarding this untrue advertising and we were never contacted. This really leaves the validity of Cheap tickets in question.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Corona, CA
Nov 18, 2009

Never Go There!

We walked in and were immediately hit with the smell of mold and mildew. The room was dirty. We immediately said we couldn't stay there but were still charged for one night's stay. I wouldn't let an animal sleep there. DO NOT EVER GO TO THIS HOTEL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
From Canada
Business
Canada
Dec 7, 2009

Will not stay again....

We will not stay at this hotel again. The shuttle pick up from airport was over 1 1/2 hr. wait and front desk personnel not friendly when you called and did not provide accurate information. The rooms are old, but are clean. Too bad, b/c with some proper management and an additional shuttle bus, this could be an excellent hotel considering the location is unbeatable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many restaurants too pick from and only about 10 minl walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
GAINESVILLE, FL
Apr 26, 2010

Good location, bad service.

The service in the restrant is bad. They overcharged me(I found later I should get 20% off according to the hotel's policy).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
largo, fl
Jun 7, 2010

this was the WORSE kept secret!!!!!!!!!

i was so upset terrible service, everyone was rude. food was old and disgusting. pay the extra money and stay somewhere else. i wouldnt stay there if it was free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hotel Man
Business
Stevens Point, WI
Jun 23, 2010

Worse Hotel Ever!

I initially called the hotel to recheck my room availability and the gentleman at the desk snapped at me asking me if I wanted to cancel my reservation. When I arrived at the hotel, I was ignored by the hotel staff and upon getting their attention away from the TV displaying the World Cup, they booked me into two rooms that were not "connected" to each other when I specifically requested ajoining rooms. They noted they didn't have any rooms that were joined together by a door. After going into our assigned room I found out that there were ajoining rooms and requested that my rooms be changed. The representative that checked me in gave me attitude about changing rooms, but did eventually reassign me to two different rooms that were "connected". "You get what you pay for" and apparently, this hotel had horrible rooms that did not lock properly. I was able to get into the other room with a different assigned card, thus the card scanners were not functioning properly. Also, the refrigerators in the rooms were leaking and the beds had a large dip in the center of them as if a child had been jumping on the bed non-stop for 3 days. As for the "free continental breakfast", they only had orange juice, toast, cereal, and some dry shortcake. Everything else displayed was order only from a menu. I've stayed at a Best Western and they served better breakfasts then this cheap hotel. On our last day while we were leaving and cleaning up the rooms, we found empty roach egg pods inbetween the molding on the base of the hard wood floors. They noted that this is the "Best Miami Hotel" and it's the "Best kept secret". Unfortunately, the hotel was the Worst Hotel I've stayed at in Miami and if there was a secret, I'd be better off not knowing what it was. I'd give this hotel -5 stars, but on a 1 - 5 star system, my only choice would be a 1, and that's because of the microwave. Pay the extra $40 dollars and stay at a better kept hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Simons Island, GA
Feb 21, 2011

Not the best Miami hotel

This hotel was not good. The fridge was noisy, the inroom phone did not work (reported broken but never fixed), the TV remote did not work, the room had a mould smell, there were no safes. The hotel did not have our checkin information the day we were to arrive so I had to call [...]to resolve- [...]All in all not a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

don't eat at the hotel - except breakfast

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
betty sue
Business
Florida
Jun 1, 2011

Best Miami Hotel

Looks run down and moldy on the outside. They dont have any of the things in the description except a pool. There wasnt a microwave in our room. There was mold in the ceilings that look like they painted over it. We had to pay for parking for each night we stayed there and a $150 deposit in which neither of these things were told to me when I booked the hotel. Shower was dirty and some of the plugs in the rooms did not have covers over them. The front desk representatives were not very helpful and a little rude. They first room they gave us was someone elses room then they gave us the wrong keys and door number to the second room. Also the ice machines had no ice and the window in the room did not have a screen. We were not in the room alot so we were able to just put up with it but I advise no one to stay there and we will never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Dadeland mall was down the street like 2 miles. Also there were lots of restauraunts and it was only like 15 min away from south beac.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top