$54 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 26, 2015

Best Miami Hotel

2 stars
View map of 5959 S.W. 71st, Miami, FL 33143

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
231 reviews
Great!

Great price family atmosphere would definelty recommend to anybody looking for a inexpensive get... See full review

  • Ambi bear
  • Mar 16, 2015
Awesome time n place to spend with my family

Everything was excellent awesome place nice time from 0 to 10 I will say 10 my family love it See full review

  • Kenneth P.
  • Jan 6, 2015
  • University of Miami (1.5 mi/ 2.4 km)
  • Lowe Art Museum (1.6 mi/ 2.6 km)
  • Coral Gables (2.2 mi/ 3.5 km)
  • Coconut Grove (2.4 mi/ 3.9 km)
  • Biltmore Golf Course (3.7 mi/ 6 km)
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens (6.2 mi/ 10 km)
General


The hotel runs a free shuttle service to nearby attractions, hospitals and shopping malls, Miami International Airport, the Port of Miami and cruise ship terminals, and the University of Miami. Guests should check with the hotel for schedules and reservations.

 

There is an onsite outdoor pool with a cascading waterfall. An inner courtyard encloses it.

Location

This South Miami hotel is near the University of Miami, Coral Gables and Coconut Grove. The Mediterranean-inspired property has an inner courtyard that rooms overlook. The hotel provides free shuttle services to most area attractions, hospitals and shopping malls, the Miami International Airport, the Port of Miami and cruise ship terminals, and the University of Miami. Amenities include free Wi-Fi and a tropical courtyard and pool.

Dining

  • Miami International Airport (16 minutes)
  • Miami Convention Center (21 minutes)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (24 minutes)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (41 minutes)
Rooms

Air-conditioned rooms house two double beds or one king bed, a work desk, marble and granite bathrooms and an in-room refrigerator. Decor skews traditional, from patterned bed spreads to brass-framed artwork. Guests can request non-smoking or smoking rooms and suites, which have a microwave. Wi-Fi is free.

Property features

Budget lodging near the University of Miami and Coral Gables.

Highlights
  • Near the University of Miami, Coral Gables and Coconut Grove
  • Two blocks from the Shops at Sunset Place and the South Miami Metrorail Station
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
  • Meeting space for small events
Nearby attractions
Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in.
Business
  • Event space for up to 120 guests
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
Transportation
  • Near the University of Miami, Coral Gables and Coconut Grove
  • Two blocks from the Shops at Sunset Place and the South Miami Metrorail Station
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
  • Meeting space for small events
Policies
Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Miami Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Best Miami Hotel Rooms

Junior Suite
Oversize deluxe junior suite with sitting area and work desk, king size bed, wood floor, marble and granite bathrooms, in-room safe (minimal charge), refrigerator and iron/ ironing board, dual phones and phone lines with internet connection.
Deluxe Double
Beautiful double room with two double beds, wood floor, deluxe marble and granite bathrooms with hair dryers, dual phone lines and internet connection.
Run of House
Room has one King bed. Windows open. Television with premium channels. Free local calls. In room safe (fees apply. Bath amenities include hair dryer and complimentary toiletries. Blackout drapes/curtains, clock radio, and iron/ironing board. Air conditioning. Non-smoking. Refrigetor and Microwave available upon request. (fees apply)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • University of Miami: 1.4 mi
  • Tropical Park: 2.6 mi
  • Pinecrest: 3.1 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 3.3 mi
  • CocoWalk: 3.4 mi
  • Granada: 3.9 mi
  • Bird Bowl: 3.9 mi
  • Temple Israel: 4.4 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 4.4 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Frost Art Museum: 6.1 mi
  • FIU Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Deering Estate: 6.3 mi
  • Marlins Park: 6.7 mi
  • University of Miami: 1.4 mi
  • Tropical Park: 2.6 mi
  • Pinecrest: 3.1 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 3.3 mi
  • CocoWalk: 3.4 mi
  • Granada: 3.9 mi
  • Bird Bowl: 3.9 mi
  • Temple Israel: 4.4 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 4.4 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Frost Art Museum: 6.1 mi
  • FIU Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Deering Estate: 6.3 mi
  • Marlins Park: 6.7 mi
  • Museum of the Americas: 6.7 mi
  • East Little Havana: 6.8 mi
  • Lummus Park: 7.4 mi
  • Miami Dade Public Library: 7.6 mi
  • Ice Palace Film Studios: 7.7 mi
  • Metro Dade Cultural Center: 7.7 mi
  • Miami Seaquarium: 8 mi
  • Freedom Tower: 8.1 mi
  • Bayside Marketplace: 8.2 mi
  • American Airlines Arena: 8.3 mi
  • Miami Metro Zoo: 8.3 mi
  • Tina Hills Pavillion: 8.4 mi
  • Pulse Miami: 8.7 mi
  • Trinity Episcopal Cathedral: 8.7 mi
  • Port of Miami: 8.8 mi
  • Cape Florida Lighthouse: 8.8 mi
  • Joseph Caleb Auditorium: 9 mi
  • Miami Children's Museum: 9 mi
  • Dodge Island: 9.1 mi
  • Jungle Island: 9.1 mi
  • Gold Coast Railroad Museum: 9.2 mi
  • Albertini Arts Gallery: 9.2 mi
  • Palm Island: 9.6 mi
  • Larry and Penny Thompson Campground: 9.9 mi
  • Fisher Island: 10.2 mi
  • Morningside Park: 10.7 mi
  • Bettcher Gallery: 10.8 mi
  • Art Deco District: 11.2 mi
  • Espanola Way: 11.4 mi
  • Lincoln Road Mall: 11.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
1) Ballroom: 38 X 25 Ft. Maximum Capacity: 120 people 2) Conference Room 29 X 11 Ft.- Maximum Capacity: 50 people

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Best Miami Hotel

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
231 out of 231
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
2.9
Comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.3
Value:
2.9

51% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cmdr
Business
nh
Apr 25, 2014

bathroom ceiling leaking water from the above room, night manager did nothing

continental beakfeast was extremely poor. th hotels general condition is old and run down. poor security in

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dan A
Business
Philadelphia
Oct 16, 2011

Changing the name of Hotel is a must

I had a pre-paid reservation for a king bed/ smoking room. The Hotel was poorly staffed upon arrival. I had to wait long to get my room. The key/card that was given to me did not open the door. I went to the desk 3 times to get a replament card. Finally I got a diffrent room. It turned out the room I got originally as well as the replacement room were non smoking. I asked for a smoking room they said they do not have one. But I can smoke in the room. Later on, I went downstairs (diffrent person attending the desk) I asked for an ashtray. He did not know what an Ashtray was. I had to use sign language. I was told I am not allowed to smoke in the room (using sign language as well) . Area by the pool was not clean at all. (it could be they empty the trash can weekly?). The choice at breakfast was simply: Milk w/ Cereal. orange Juice, regular Bagel w/ cheese. My recommendation is for owner/ operator to change the name of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

They was a great restaurant called "Marhaba" a short walk (2 blocks) on sunset with oudoor seating. Reasonable pricing and Great food.

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jfyr
Business
Boca Raton
Dec 11, 2011

worse experience in years

best miami hotel should be called worse miami hotel. The rooms pictures are no the same, you need to pain 8 dollars to park your car, the bed are terrible

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RayMan
Business
Central Florida
Jan 8, 2012

STOP... Better off on a bus bench!

I wouldn't be surprise to hear this place gets fined / shut down by the city's health dept...every inch of this place is filthy. Every single wall in this establishment needs painting, all bedding is stained, worn, and / or have cigarette burnt marks. Bath tub was filthy, and full of previous guest's hair...gross! Every single lamp, or lighting fixture is extremely dirty, dust, and rusty. In short...even at $19.99 a night, you're better off sleeping in your car or bus bench. Don't let the pictures fool you...it's completely rundown, and there's nothing appealing about this place, other than the location. Oh I forgot to mention...a common complaint is that the heater does not work, and the blankets are paper thin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try whisk for lunch or dinner if in the area...yum!

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lila36
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Feb 12, 2012

WORST Miami Hotel

the rooms were very humid. The a/c didn't work and there was mold. The bed always looked like they hadn't been washed, it had hair all over. There was spider webs everywhere. We asked for room change but they refused. We left immediately and they also refused to give us all or money back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BENJIPUPPYDOG
Business
Kissimmee, FL, USA
Feb 23, 2012

VACATION TO MIAMI BEACH FAMILY

ONE WORD FOR THIS HOTEL VERY SICK. CLOSE DOWN THIS HOTEL AND REBUILD IT NEW.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

WALK CLOSE TO ALL ATTRACTIONS

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
PRP1
Business
Key West, FL today.
Feb 23, 2012

Poor to worse than poor.

I have read and reread my description and can find nothing inappropriate. I can only assume that you do not want an honest appraisal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
budro2
Business
St Louis, MO, USA
Mar 14, 2012

Miami trip

very bad--when i arrived i was informed that I would be billed a $2 per day mandatory security charge plus $8 per day parking. the wireless internet only worked in the lobby. the continental breakfast was bagels and cereal. the mattress on my bed was physically sagging in the middle. the hotel provided only about 15 stations on an old tv

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Yaright
Business
Orlando, FL, USA
Apr 4, 2012

Worst Miami Hotel

The first Impression was enough to make me cringe the lobby was dark and smelled like old wet laundry. The man at the desk was rude. The carpet was lumpy and filthy ( watch your step)! MY room was the size of a closet and was not the reservation I had made. The bathroom was covered in rust stains. The ceiling had a black tinge to it but has been painted over to cover it up... what ever was on the ceiling was now seeping through the paint. the beds were old and sagging and I could here the springs moan inside. not to mention the stained sheets and old faded bed spread. They would not refund my money and charged for parking and room safe without disclosing this prior to me. Then charged my card a 50.00 security deposit which I did get back but I could have done with out that hold on my vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nubs
Business
Clinton , Ct.
May 2, 2012

Miami Best Hotel?

When I first got to the property, I was surprised to find that there was a daily fee for parking on the premises? What is that about? Next ......at the front desk I was told that there was a daily fee for having a safe available in the room.....not optional, just a fee added to the bill. The good price I began with went up by ten dollars a day before I even got to the room. The hotel is musty smelling throughout. Continental breakfast was a joke.All in all the worst hotel I have stayed in to date.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top