$43 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 16, 2015 Check-out: Jun 19, 2015

Best Miami Hotel

2 stars
View map of 5959 S.W. 71st, Miami, FL 33143

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
288 reviews
Great!

Great price family atmosphere would definelty recommend to anybody looking for a inexpensive get... See full review

  • Ambi bear
  • Mar 16, 2015
Awesome time n place to spend with my family

Everything was excellent awesome place nice time from 0 to 10 I will say 10 my family love it See full review

  • Kenneth P.
  • Jan 6, 2015
South Miami hotel with free Wi-Fi, shuttle and continental breakfast.

This South Miami hotel is near the University of Miami, Coral Gables and Coconut Grove. The Mediterranean-inspired property has an inner courtyard that rooms overlook. The hotel provides free shuttle services to most area attractions, hospitals and shopping malls, the Miami International Airport, the Port of Miami and cruise ship terminals, and the University of Miami. Amenities include free Wi-Fi and a tropical courtyard and pool.

Highlights
  • Near the University of Miami, Coral Gables and Coconut Grove
  • Two blocks from the Shops at Sunset Place and the South Miami Metrorail Station
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
  • Meeting space for small events
Rooms

Air-conditioned rooms house two double beds or one king bed, a work desk, marble and granite bathrooms and an in-room refrigerator. Decor skews traditional, from patterned bed spreads to brass-framed artwork. Guests can request non-smoking or smoking rooms and suites, which have a microwave. Wi-Fi is free.

Features


The hotel runs a free shuttle service to nearby attractions, hospitals and shopping malls, Miami International Airport, the Port of Miami and cruise ship terminals, and the University of Miami. Guests should check with the hotel for schedules and reservations.

 

There is an onsite outdoor pool with a cascading waterfall. An inner courtyard encloses it.

Transportation

  • Miami International Airport (16 minutes)
  • Miami Convention Center (21 minutes)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (24 minutes)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (41 minutes)
Attractions
  • University of Miami (1.5 mi/ 2.4 km)
  • Lowe Art Museum (1.6 mi/ 2.6 km)
  • Coral Gables (2.2 mi/ 3.5 km)
  • Coconut Grove (2.4 mi/ 3.9 km)
  • Biltmore Golf Course (3.7 mi/ 6 km)
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens (6.2 mi/ 10 km)
Business
  • Event space for up to 120 guests
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
Policies and fees
Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Miami Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Best Miami Hotel Rooms

Run of House
Room has one King bed. Windows open. Television with premium channels. Free local calls. In room safe (fees apply. Bath amenities include hair dryer and complimentary toiletries. Blackout drapes/curtains, clock radio, and iron/ironing board. Air conditioning. Non-smoking. Refrigetor and Microwave available upon request. (fees apply)
Junior Suite
Oversize deluxe junior suite with sitting area and work desk, king size bed, wood floor, marble and granite bathrooms, in-room safe (minimal charge), refrigerator and iron/ ironing board, dual phones and phone lines with internet connection.
Deluxe Double
Beautiful double room with two double beds, wood floor, deluxe marble and granite bathrooms with hair dryers, dual phone lines and internet connection.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • University of Miami: 1.4 mi
  • Tropical Park: 2.6 mi
  • Pinecrest: 3.1 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 3.3 mi
  • CocoWalk: 3.4 mi
  • Granada: 3.9 mi
  • Bird Bowl: 3.9 mi
  • Temple Israel: 4.4 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 4.4 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Frost Art Museum: 6.1 mi
  • FIU Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Deering Estate: 6.3 mi
  • Marlins Park: 6.7 mi
  • University of Miami: 1.4 mi
  • Tropical Park: 2.6 mi
  • Pinecrest: 3.1 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 3.3 mi
  • CocoWalk: 3.4 mi
  • Granada: 3.9 mi
  • Bird Bowl: 3.9 mi
  • Temple Israel: 4.4 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 4.4 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Frost Art Museum: 6.1 mi
  • FIU Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Deering Estate: 6.3 mi
  • Marlins Park: 6.7 mi
  • Museum of the Americas: 6.7 mi
  • East Little Havana: 6.8 mi
  • Lummus Park: 7.4 mi
  • Miami Dade Public Library: 7.6 mi
  • Ice Palace Film Studios: 7.7 mi
  • Metro Dade Cultural Center: 7.7 mi
  • Miami Seaquarium: 8 mi
  • Freedom Tower: 8.1 mi
  • Bayside Marketplace: 8.2 mi
  • American Airlines Arena: 8.3 mi
  • Miami Metro Zoo: 8.3 mi
  • Tina Hills Pavillion: 8.4 mi
  • Pulse Miami: 8.7 mi
  • Trinity Episcopal Cathedral: 8.7 mi
  • Port of Miami: 8.8 mi
  • Cape Florida Lighthouse: 8.8 mi
  • Joseph Caleb Auditorium: 9 mi
  • Miami Children's Museum: 9 mi
  • Dodge Island: 9.1 mi
  • Jungle Island: 9.1 mi
  • Gold Coast Railroad Museum: 9.2 mi
  • Albertini Arts Gallery: 9.2 mi
  • Palm Island: 9.6 mi
  • Larry and Penny Thompson Campground: 9.9 mi
  • Fisher Island: 10.2 mi
  • Morningside Park: 10.7 mi
  • Bettcher Gallery: 10.8 mi
  • Art Deco District: 11.2 mi
  • Espanola Way: 11.4 mi
  • Lincoln Road Mall: 11.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
1) Ballroom: 38 X 25 Ft. Maximum Capacity: 120 people 2) Conference Room 29 X 11 Ft.- Maximum Capacity: 50 people

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Best Miami Hotel

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
45 out of 288
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.2
Value:
2.8

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Tampa, FL
Jan 4, 2009

Very friendly Hotel

Great location for access to Route 1, and to the beaches 12 miles north. Plenty to do one block away. Hotel itself is quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A large mall and plenty of restaurants within walking distance.

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bryan, TX
Aug 3, 2008

good place overall

the location was slightly off the beaten path. it took the cabbie quite a while to find it even with address and having spoken with the front desk clerk for directions. was probably the drivers fault. i noticed a brightly lit restaurant/nightlife area a few blocks away...definitly walkable. it looked upscale and inviting but i never made it out. the room was good overall. king size bed, large tv, loveseat and coffee table in a sizeable room that overlooked the pool. The front desk clerk was extremely friendly and helpfull in finding me dinner delivery and offered several options at 10pm. sushi was wonderful from one of the nearby restaurants. the bed did not have a comforter...just sheets but i was so tired i didn't even bother calling for one. there was also a big, possibly still wet, stain by the minifridge that was uappetizing. otherise, the iron and hairdryers came in handy. frees huttle service was very friendly as well. i would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Tampa, FL
Jan 4, 2009

Very friendly Hotel

Great location for access to Route 1, and to the beaches 12 miles north. Plenty to do one block away. Hotel itself is quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A large mall and plenty of restaurants within walking distance.

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charles County, MD
Aug 22, 2009

Best kept secret is right

It was an overall great experience. It has a great pool, free internet, and free shuttle services within the area. My only complaint was that the a/c unit in my room was causing it to be moldy and stuffy. I didn't stay long, so it wasn't big. But, maintenance was fixing the room next to mine, so I assume that they knew about the problem and fixed it. Besides that everything was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brunoez
Business
USA
Mar 12, 2008

Friendly, but had maintenance issues

The Best Miami Hotel is located in a nice part of town and is convenient to all the major tourist sites of Miami. Overall, the staff was very friendly, courteous, and helpful during my stay. The biggest negative was the fact that there were several maintenance issues including a slow-to-flush commode, slow-to-drain sink, a non-working TV set, and a telephone which didn't allow me to retrieve messages left by my friends. The room had a musty smell when the air conditioner wasn't running and had no heat. The carpet was in bad shape as well. The restaurant on site was exorbitantly priced ($30+ entrees). Because I didn't spend much time at the hotel, I was able to work around these problems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Many nice restaurants nearby, convenient to the FL Turnpike and US 1.

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
E. Stroudsburg
Jun 8, 2008

An Experience

The Best Hotel was a very friendly place, the staff was hospitable, but unfortunately I had to change rooms twice during my 3 day stay, once because the carpeting was moist and secondly due to no air conditioning in the second room. The 3rd room finally had everything. The front desk was very quick in securing me other accommodations and tried to make my stay as pleasant as possible

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

many eateries are within walking distance

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
catonsville, MD
May 10, 2008

If Only For A Night

The staff at the Best Miami Hotel was great. Wasn't located in the best area but I only needed the room for one night. There was a leak in the bathroom ceiling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charles County, MD
Aug 22, 2009

Best kept secret is right

It was an overall great experience. It has a great pool, free internet, and free shuttle services within the area. My only complaint was that the a/c unit in my room was causing it to be moldy and stuffy. I didn't stay long, so it wasn't big. But, maintenance was fixing the room next to mine, so I assume that they knew about the problem and fixed it. Besides that everything was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
VA
Jan 14, 2010

Old but Good

Old, and a little bit dark, but rather clean. Good internet connection.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
VINNIE P.
Business
NY, NY
Mar 4, 2012

For the price, it met all expectations...

Except for the UNDISCLOSED roomsafe fee, ($2 per day and did NOT use the safe), which is charged upon check-out, all was positive... ALL charges should be disclosed upon check-in or during the booking procedure. This is a suspiciously unfair practice and I will contact my credit card company to remove those charges!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top