$41 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 3, 2015 Check-out: Jun 6, 2015

Best Miami Hotel

2 stars
View map of 5959 S.W. 71st, Miami, FL 33143

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
289 reviews
Great!

Great price family atmosphere would definelty recommend to anybody looking for a inexpensive get... See full review

  • Ambi bear
  • Mar 16, 2015
Awesome time n place to spend with my family

Everything was excellent awesome place nice time from 0 to 10 I will say 10 my family love it See full review

  • Kenneth P.
  • Jan 6, 2015
South Miami hotel with free Wi-Fi, shuttle and continental breakfast.

This South Miami hotel is near the University of Miami, Coral Gables and Coconut Grove. The Mediterranean-inspired property has an inner courtyard that rooms overlook. The hotel provides free shuttle services to most area attractions, hospitals and shopping malls, the Miami International Airport, the Port of Miami and cruise ship terminals, and the University of Miami. Amenities include free Wi-Fi and a tropical courtyard and pool.

Highlights
  • Near the University of Miami, Coral Gables and Coconut Grove
  • Two blocks from the Shops at Sunset Place and the South Miami Metrorail Station
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
  • Meeting space for small events
Rooms

Air-conditioned rooms house two double beds or one king bed, a work desk, marble and granite bathrooms and an in-room refrigerator. Decor skews traditional, from patterned bed spreads to brass-framed artwork. Guests can request non-smoking or smoking rooms and suites, which have a microwave. Wi-Fi is free.

Features


The hotel runs a free shuttle service to nearby attractions, hospitals and shopping malls, Miami International Airport, the Port of Miami and cruise ship terminals, and the University of Miami. Guests should check with the hotel for schedules and reservations.

 

There is an onsite outdoor pool with a cascading waterfall. An inner courtyard encloses it.

Transportation

  • Miami International Airport (16 minutes)
  • Miami Convention Center (21 minutes)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (24 minutes)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (41 minutes)
Attractions
  • University of Miami (1.5 mi/ 2.4 km)
  • Lowe Art Museum (1.6 mi/ 2.6 km)
  • Coral Gables (2.2 mi/ 3.5 km)
  • Coconut Grove (2.4 mi/ 3.9 km)
  • Biltmore Golf Course (3.7 mi/ 6 km)
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens (6.2 mi/ 10 km)
Business
  • Event space for up to 120 guests
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
Policies and fees
Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Miami Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Best Miami Hotel Rooms

Run of House
Room has one King bed. Windows open. Television with premium channels. Free local calls. In room safe (fees apply. Bath amenities include hair dryer and complimentary toiletries. Blackout drapes/curtains, clock radio, and iron/ironing board. Air conditioning. Non-smoking. Refrigetor and Microwave available upon request. (fees apply)
Junior Suite
Oversize deluxe junior suite with sitting area and work desk, king size bed, wood floor, marble and granite bathrooms, in-room safe (minimal charge), refrigerator and iron/ ironing board, dual phones and phone lines with internet connection.
Deluxe Double
Beautiful double room with two double beds, wood floor, deluxe marble and granite bathrooms with hair dryers, dual phone lines and internet connection.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • University of Miami: 1.4 mi
  • Tropical Park: 2.6 mi
  • Pinecrest: 3.1 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 3.3 mi
  • CocoWalk: 3.4 mi
  • Granada: 3.9 mi
  • Bird Bowl: 3.9 mi
  • Temple Israel: 4.4 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 4.4 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Frost Art Museum: 6.1 mi
  • FIU Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Deering Estate: 6.3 mi
  • Marlins Park: 6.7 mi
  • University of Miami: 1.4 mi
  • Tropical Park: 2.6 mi
  • Pinecrest: 3.1 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 3.3 mi
  • CocoWalk: 3.4 mi
  • Granada: 3.9 mi
  • Bird Bowl: 3.9 mi
  • Temple Israel: 4.4 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 4.4 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Frost Art Museum: 6.1 mi
  • FIU Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Deering Estate: 6.3 mi
  • Marlins Park: 6.7 mi
  • Museum of the Americas: 6.7 mi
  • East Little Havana: 6.8 mi
  • Lummus Park: 7.4 mi
  • Miami Dade Public Library: 7.6 mi
  • Ice Palace Film Studios: 7.7 mi
  • Metro Dade Cultural Center: 7.7 mi
  • Miami Seaquarium: 8 mi
  • Freedom Tower: 8.1 mi
  • Bayside Marketplace: 8.2 mi
  • American Airlines Arena: 8.3 mi
  • Miami Metro Zoo: 8.3 mi
  • Tina Hills Pavillion: 8.4 mi
  • Pulse Miami: 8.7 mi
  • Trinity Episcopal Cathedral: 8.7 mi
  • Port of Miami: 8.8 mi
  • Cape Florida Lighthouse: 8.8 mi
  • Joseph Caleb Auditorium: 9 mi
  • Miami Children's Museum: 9 mi
  • Dodge Island: 9.1 mi
  • Jungle Island: 9.1 mi
  • Gold Coast Railroad Museum: 9.2 mi
  • Albertini Arts Gallery: 9.2 mi
  • Palm Island: 9.6 mi
  • Larry and Penny Thompson Campground: 9.9 mi
  • Fisher Island: 10.2 mi
  • Morningside Park: 10.7 mi
  • Bettcher Gallery: 10.8 mi
  • Art Deco District: 11.2 mi
  • Espanola Way: 11.4 mi
  • Lincoln Road Mall: 11.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
1) Ballroom: 38 X 25 Ft. Maximum Capacity: 120 people 2) Conference Room 29 X 11 Ft.- Maximum Capacity: 50 people

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Best Miami Hotel

Overall score

2.2 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 289
Amenities:
2.3
Cleanliness:
2.4
Hotel staff:
2.8
Comfort:
2.4
Location:
3.1
Value:
2.8

39% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Amanda M.
Business
N/A
May 6, 2015

short vacation

My best friend and I stayed here. Pros the staff at the front desk was great and helpful. Cons once we arrived we ended up paying an extra $30+ for parking and a safe. The maids didn't speak a bit of English. Our room key stopped working a few times. the breakfast wasn't good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
knatssip
Business
London
Jan 28, 2015

Great location, but hotel just ok

No other hotels in the area. Close to metro, the mall and lots of great restaurants. Convenient free shuttle to cruise port and airport, but runs at limited times 10:30am and 12PM to cruise port and 8AM 1PM 3PM 6PM and 8PM to airport. If your picky, this hotel is not for you, but for a cheap night stay before a cruise or flight it was just what we needed. The beds are horrible and need replacing. Walls are thin and you can hear people in the other rooms and doors slamming. In spite of all that, we would stay here again as the price is fair for what you get.FYI checkin is at 3PM and there is nothing you can say or do to get your room sooner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Carrabba's Italian grill was awesome and a short walk. it was so good we went back the next day for lunch! gotta try the chicken soup!

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
A traveler from somewhere
Business
N/A
Jan 14, 2015

Not amused at all

The hotel imposed in-room safe charges which is not refundable, whether or not you use it. Information on such fee did not appear on the website when you booked the hotel. The hotel cheated the customer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
carjimenez
Business
Barranquilla, Atlántico, Colombia
Dec 4, 2014

When The Best is the worth....

It is the worst hotel I have ever been in the United States. Very bad place to stay; not recommended by the kind of people who seem to reside in the hotel; we chose it because there was no other option in the area to stay. The lousy breakfast; poor, with no more than a coffee and a cold pan. That place so undesirable ..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tasch
Business
Trinidad
Dec 1, 2014

CONVENIENT FOR THAT SHOPPING GETAWAY

Everything was average although under new management. The staff was friendly and nice however more bilingual staff would help a situation or two. Need for warm room temperatures for those occasional cold windy air weather. overhaul on carpets in hallways, too old and dingy. Other than that perfect getaway for convenient weekend getaway shopping. Walking distance to subway, sunset plaza, supermarket and great on shuttling to and fro from the airport, Dadeland Mall etc.Response time is quick.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

For quick immediate shopping - Sunset Plaza

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
carjimenez
Business
Barranquilla, Atlántico, Colombia
Nov 20, 2014

When The Best is worth....

a bad place to stay; This near us1 but not justified staying one night it's very cheap rate accommodation. Not recommended at all, even for one night. Breakfast is so bad that we prefer going to take it to a nearby restaurant, rooms are uncomfortable and there is a good cleaning; at night there are some people in the hotel recommended. A bad choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
carjimenez
Business
Barranquilla, Atlántico, Colombia
Aug 26, 2014

When The Best...is worst!

Bad place to stay; I do not understand how this hotel survives in that State of abandonment; its rooms are uncomfortable, dirty, smell of humidity and the beds are narrow. I do not recommend this site even for a night. Don't be fooled by the pictures; These do not correspond to reality. In addition, the breakfast is so poor that we didn't want to take it to any of the people who were with me.I must warn them also staying at the hotel lndecent people who disturb the quiet of the other guests at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Notlikethat
Business
Miami,FL
Jul 3, 2014

Okay

It was located in a good area. Great sub shop close by

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Valdi14
Business
Jacksonville FL
Apr 7, 2014

Expected more for the price

On the website looks nice but when we arrived it looked abandoned. It has stained walls, wall paper hanging, basically it needs to be remodeled!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tony race fan
Business
tampa, FL
Nov 20, 2013

RIP OFF/ SCAMMERS

when checking out the rude staff has a maid check your room and do a linen count. i wasn't left a bathmat on my last night and they said i stole it and charged me $25. they did the same to people checking out in front of me, they paid $25 for a wash cloth. WHAT A SCAM ! on top of that they charged $2 a night for a safe i didn't need, didn't find out till i checked in i had to pay $8 a night parking fee, rooms were cold with no adjustment, a/c condensates on the floor, didnt give fresh linens daily, didn't refill toilet paper, ice machine didn't work...STAY AWAY..no way to get return customers

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top