$72 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 25, 2015 Check-out: Jan 26, 2015

Best Miami Hotel

2 stars
5959 S.W. 71st, Miami, FL 33143
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
242 reviews
Awesome time n place to spend with my family

Everything was excellent awesome place nice time from 0 to 10 I will say 10 my family love it See full review

  • Kenneth P.
  • Jan 6, 2015
Great service, Great Hotel

I stay one night, I liked the hotel, clean, safe, friendly staff, great price. Close to main road,... See full review

  • Jose J
  • Dec 14, 2013
South Miami hotel with free Wi-Fi, shuttle and continental breakfast.

This South Miami hotel is near the University of Miami, Coral Gables and Coconut Grove. The Mediterranean-inspired property has an inner courtyard that rooms overlook. The hotel provides free shuttle services to most area attractions, hospitals and shopping malls, the Miami International Airport, the Port of Miami and cruise ship terminals, and the University of Miami. Amenities include free Wi-Fi and a tropical courtyard and pool.

Highlights
  • Near the University of Miami, Coral Gables and Coconut Grove
  • Two blocks from the Shops at Sunset Place and the South Miami Metrorail Station
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
  • Meeting space for small events
Rooms

Air-conditioned rooms house two double beds or one king bed, a work desk, marble and granite bathrooms and an in-room refrigerator. Decor skews traditional, from patterned bed spreads to brass-framed artwork. Guests can request non-smoking or smoking rooms and suites, which have a microwave. Wi-Fi is free.

Features


The hotel runs a free shuttle service to nearby attractions, hospitals and shopping malls, Miami International Airport, the Port of Miami and cruise ship terminals, and the University of Miami. Guests should check with the hotel for schedules and reservations.

 

There is an onsite outdoor pool with a cascading waterfall. An inner courtyard encloses it.

Transportation

  • Miami International Airport (16 minutes)
  • Miami Convention Center (21 minutes)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (24 minutes)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (41 minutes)
Attractions
  • University of Miami (1.5 mi/ 2.4 km)
  • Lowe Art Museum (1.6 mi/ 2.6 km)
  • Coral Gables (2.2 mi/ 3.5 km)
  • Coconut Grove (2.4 mi/ 3.9 km)
  • Biltmore Golf Course (3.7 mi/ 6 km)
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens (6.2 mi/ 10 km)
Business
  • Event space for up to 120 guests
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
Policies and fees
Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Miami Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Best Miami Hotel Rooms

Junior Suite
Oversize deluxe junior suite with sitting area and work desk, king size bed, wood floor, marble and granite bathrooms, in-room safe (minimal charge), refrigerator and iron/ ironing board, dual phones and phone lines with internet connection.
Deluxe Double
Beautiful double room with two double beds, wood floor, deluxe marble and granite bathrooms with hair dryers, dual phone lines and internet connection.
Run of House
Room has one King bed. Windows open. Television with premium channels. Free local calls. In room safe (fees apply. Bath amenities include hair dryer and complimentary toiletries. Blackout drapes/curtains, clock radio, and iron/ironing board. Air conditioning. Non-smoking. Refrigetor and Microwave available upon request. (fees apply)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • University of Miami: 1.4 mi
  • Tropical Park: 2.6 mi
  • Pinecrest: 3.1 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 3.3 mi
  • CocoWalk: 3.4 mi
  • Granada: 3.9 mi
  • Bird Bowl: 3.9 mi
  • Temple Israel: 4.4 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 4.4 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Frost Art Museum: 6.1 mi
  • FIU Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Deering Estate: 6.3 mi
  • Marlins Park: 6.7 mi
  • University of Miami: 1.4 mi
  • Tropical Park: 2.6 mi
  • Pinecrest: 3.1 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 3.3 mi
  • CocoWalk: 3.4 mi
  • Granada: 3.9 mi
  • Bird Bowl: 3.9 mi
  • Temple Israel: 4.4 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 4.4 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Frost Art Museum: 6.1 mi
  • FIU Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Deering Estate: 6.3 mi
  • Marlins Park: 6.7 mi
  • Museum of the Americas: 6.7 mi
  • East Little Havana: 6.8 mi
  • Lummus Park: 7.4 mi
  • Miami Dade Public Library: 7.6 mi
  • Ice Palace Film Studios: 7.7 mi
  • Metro Dade Cultural Center: 7.7 mi
  • Miami Seaquarium: 8 mi
  • Freedom Tower: 8.1 mi
  • Bayside Marketplace: 8.2 mi
  • American Airlines Arena: 8.3 mi
  • Miami Metro Zoo: 8.3 mi
  • Tina Hills Pavillion: 8.4 mi
  • Pulse Miami: 8.7 mi
  • Trinity Episcopal Cathedral: 8.7 mi
  • Port of Miami: 8.8 mi
  • Cape Florida Lighthouse: 8.8 mi
  • Joseph Caleb Auditorium: 9 mi
  • Miami Children's Museum: 9 mi
  • Dodge Island: 9.1 mi
  • Jungle Island: 9.1 mi
  • Gold Coast Railroad Museum: 9.2 mi
  • Albertini Arts Gallery: 9.2 mi
  • Palm Island: 9.6 mi
  • Larry and Penny Thompson Campground: 9.9 mi
  • Fisher Island: 10.2 mi
  • Morningside Park: 10.7 mi
  • Bettcher Gallery: 10.8 mi
  • Art Deco District: 11.2 mi
  • Espanola Way: 11.4 mi
  • Lincoln Road Mall: 11.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
1) Ballroom: 38 X 25 Ft. Maximum Capacity: 120 people 2) Conference Room 29 X 11 Ft.- Maximum Capacity: 50 people

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (242)

Ratings and reviews for Best Miami Hotel

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
242 out of 242
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
2.9
Comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.3
Value:
2.8

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
miami fl
Aug 8, 2012

great place great price

I love staying here its not top of the line but the price is good and so is the area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palm Beach Gardens
Jul 3, 2011

Not a Good experience!

No parking and not really clean rooms!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shaun K
Business
Van nuys, CA
Jun 29, 2014

Horrible Experience

The hotel is old, water leaks from the ceiling, beds flip up when u put weight on one end. The continental breakfast only included apples ( which were not actually rotting) oranges, frozen mini muffins and 2 types of cereal. The staff is very rude and was even sleeping at the front desk with a pillow! I had to use my t-shirt to dry myself after a shower once because they had no extra towels to give us. Only person who had okay service was the general manager. Do not stay here, don't let the price fool you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Zzzzzz5050
Business
DMV
Jul 28, 2014

Not good

Only 1 wash clothes per guest even if more then 1 guest. Air conditions leaks. Will not be returning and not recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
GermanBretzel
Business
Germany
Sep 14, 2014

NOT under 21!!!

The hotel is really hard to find and does not provide good parking possibilities for you to check in. Once we were at the reception we experienced quite some problems checking in. The lady there told us that this hotel has a policy which does not allow people under 21 to check in under their name. Tough luck we already booked it in advance under my name - I am 20. So they told us at the reception that we needed my legal guardian to send them a quick letter stating that they are responsible for me. Since it was 10 p.m. and my parents live in Germany with a 6 hour time difference this was not possible. So they told us to contact the booking company so they will change it to my boyfriends name who is 21. First hand since the hotel varies from standards with this policy I consider it their job to make up for this and not have their customers suffer from it. Also they could have mentioned this earlier since we booked the hotel a day in advance. After a 30 minute call to my booking company - who were really supportive and friendly - they finally had what they needed. But once they had this they would let other guests skip the line and just deal with their problems first. After a 30 minute wait for us already. After "sucessfully" checking in we parked our car for a 10$ fee and got to our room. 5 minutes later we had people try to get into our room - turns out the receptionist gave them the same room he gave us 2 minutes earlier. The breakfast consisted in bread, butter and apples. That's it. I do not at all recommend this hotel. It is not worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Dolphin Mall - awesome deals and so many outlet stores.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SallyA
Business
NY
Sep 18, 2014

Not a 2 star hotel

The only nice thing in the hotel is the lobby but the rooms a filthy with rusty refrigerator and leaking plumbing. Air conditioning can only be turn off and temperature can not be controlled - freezing cold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jeffAKA
Business
jacksonville
Nov 28, 2014

best hotel??????worst hotel

the room is terrible ,dirt everywhere,we left the room all day ,left the notice in the door to the maid to clean,and nothing.worst breakfast ever.dont wasted your money in this JUNK

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

PRICE RITE

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bling Queen II
Business
KCMO
Nov 29, 2014

HORRIBLE

This hotel was completely damp. The carpet the walls everything was wet and had a mildew smell. The ceiling leaked all night, the tub was dirty, the hotel felt like it had not been updated in 20years. It was so bad that we slept on top of the sheets fully clothed. I prayed for sleep to come so that the experience would be over in the morning. I would never recommend for someone to stay there even if it was free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Maria M.
Business
bogota
Dec 30, 2014

the worst hotel

the worst hotel ever, is not clean. The smoking rooms are the worst.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
A traveler from somewhere
Business
N/A
Jan 14, 2015

Not amused at all

The hotel imposed in-room safe charges which is not refundable, whether or not you use it. Information on such fee did not appear on the website when you booked the hotel. The hotel cheated the customer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DC
Feb 25, 2010

So so, be aware parking charges

Be aware, they will charge you a hidden fee for parking $ 8.05

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top