$60 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 29, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

Best Miami Hotel

2 stars
5959 S.W. 71st, Miami, FL 33143
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
236 reviews
Great service, Great Hotel

I stay one night, I liked the hotel, clean, safe, friendly staff, great price. Close to main road,... See full review

  • Jose J
  • Dec 14, 2013
Doesn't get any better for a cheap price.

THe staff was friendly and understanding of my service dsog, didnt give me hard time at all. cant... See full review

  • carly1991
  • Sep 27, 2014
South Miami hotel with free Wi-Fi, shuttle and continental breakfast.

This South Miami hotel is near the University of Miami, Coral Gables and Coconut Grove. The Mediterranean-inspired property has an inner courtyard that rooms overlook. The hotel provides free shuttle services to most area attractions, hospitals and shopping malls, the Miami International Airport, the Port of Miami and cruise ship terminals, and the University of Miami. Amenities include free Wi-Fi and a tropical courtyard and pool.

Highlights
  • Near the University of Miami, Coral Gables and Coconut Grove
  • Two blocks from the Shops at Sunset Place and the South Miami Metrorail Station
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
  • Meeting space for small events
Rooms

Air-conditioned rooms house two double beds or one king bed, a work desk, marble and granite bathrooms and an in-room refrigerator. Decor skews traditional, from patterned bed spreads to brass-framed artwork. Guests can request non-smoking or smoking rooms and suites, which have a microwave. Wi-Fi is free.

Features


The hotel runs a free shuttle service to nearby attractions, hospitals and shopping malls, Miami International Airport, the Port of Miami and cruise ship terminals, and the University of Miami. Guests should check with the hotel for schedules and reservations.

 

There is an onsite outdoor pool with a cascading waterfall. An inner courtyard encloses it.

Transportation

  • Miami International Airport (16 minutes)
  • Miami Convention Center (21 minutes)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (24 minutes)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (41 minutes)
Attractions
  • University of Miami (1.5 mi/ 2.4 km)
  • Lowe Art Museum (1.6 mi/ 2.6 km)
  • Coral Gables (2.2 mi/ 3.5 km)
  • Coconut Grove (2.4 mi/ 3.9 km)
  • Biltmore Golf Course (3.7 mi/ 6 km)
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens (6.2 mi/ 10 km)
Business
  • Event space for up to 120 guests
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
Policies and fees
Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Miami Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Best Miami Hotel Rooms

Junior Suite
Oversize deluxe junior suite with sitting area and work desk, king size bed, wood floor, marble and granite bathrooms, in-room safe (minimal charge), refrigerator and iron/ ironing board, dual phones and phone lines with internet connection.
Deluxe Double
Beautiful double room with two double beds, wood floor, deluxe marble and granite bathrooms with hair dryers, dual phone lines and internet connection.
Run of House
Room has one King bed. Windows open. Television with premium channels. Free local calls. In room safe (fees apply. Bath amenities include hair dryer and complimentary toiletries. Blackout drapes/curtains, clock radio, and iron/ironing board. Air conditioning. Non-smoking. Refrigetor and Microwave available upon request. (fees apply)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • University of Miami: 1.4 mi
  • Tropical Park: 2.6 mi
  • Pinecrest: 3.1 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 3.3 mi
  • CocoWalk: 3.4 mi
  • Granada: 3.9 mi
  • Bird Bowl: 3.9 mi
  • Temple Israel: 4.4 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 4.4 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Frost Art Museum: 6.1 mi
  • FIU Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Deering Estate: 6.3 mi
  • Marlins Park: 6.7 mi
  • University of Miami: 1.4 mi
  • Tropical Park: 2.6 mi
  • Pinecrest: 3.1 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 3.3 mi
  • CocoWalk: 3.4 mi
  • Granada: 3.9 mi
  • Bird Bowl: 3.9 mi
  • Temple Israel: 4.4 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 4.4 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Frost Art Museum: 6.1 mi
  • FIU Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Deering Estate: 6.3 mi
  • Marlins Park: 6.7 mi
  • Museum of the Americas: 6.7 mi
  • East Little Havana: 6.8 mi
  • Lummus Park: 7.4 mi
  • Miami Dade Public Library: 7.6 mi
  • Ice Palace Film Studios: 7.7 mi
  • Metro Dade Cultural Center: 7.7 mi
  • Miami Seaquarium: 8 mi
  • Freedom Tower: 8.1 mi
  • Bayside Marketplace: 8.2 mi
  • American Airlines Arena: 8.3 mi
  • Miami Metro Zoo: 8.3 mi
  • Tina Hills Pavillion: 8.4 mi
  • Pulse Miami: 8.7 mi
  • Trinity Episcopal Cathedral: 8.7 mi
  • Port of Miami: 8.8 mi
  • Cape Florida Lighthouse: 8.8 mi
  • Joseph Caleb Auditorium: 9 mi
  • Miami Children's Museum: 9 mi
  • Dodge Island: 9.1 mi
  • Jungle Island: 9.1 mi
  • Gold Coast Railroad Museum: 9.2 mi
  • Albertini Arts Gallery: 9.2 mi
  • Palm Island: 9.6 mi
  • Larry and Penny Thompson Campground: 9.9 mi
  • Fisher Island: 10.2 mi
  • Morningside Park: 10.7 mi
  • Bettcher Gallery: 10.8 mi
  • Art Deco District: 11.2 mi
  • Espanola Way: 11.4 mi
  • Lincoln Road Mall: 11.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
1) Ballroom: 38 X 25 Ft. Maximum Capacity: 120 people 2) Conference Room 29 X 11 Ft.- Maximum Capacity: 50 people

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (236)

Ratings and reviews for Best Miami Hotel

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
236 out of 236
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
2.8
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.3
Value:
2.8

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Not From Miami Traveler
Business
U.S.
Jun 30, 2009

Review on the Best Miami Hotel

I was going to Miami for a job interview which put me on a budget as the company was not compensating for this out-of-state trip as some companies do. Thank God for Orbitz-- if I would have paid the regular rate, I may have been slightly upset. This was an interesting stay. Unassuming, clean, budget-friendly when booking w/t Orbitz pricing. The hotel is tucked away in an area that was once known for being a point of interest but with time, it's image has faded. You can tell this was place was "something" in it's hey-day. Walking into the entry/foyer of the hotel, to the left is a defunct bar area which they leave unlit. Not sure if this was a wi-fi spot cause when I looked closer, there were about 5 people sitting in the dark on laptops on the chairs and sofas. Seemed a little eery but oh well. There are three levels on the outdoor elevator that give you a good view of the five-foot deep swimming pool, palms, and the now-defunct/closed Bernie's Steakhouse restaurant (previously owned by ex-NFL football player, Bernie Kosar which was a few strides from the pool area. The pool area is nice. The room I had was very clean. Standard inclusive was a hair dryer, mini fridge, iron/ironboard, t.v., alarm clock. Don't expect much on toiletries such as shampoo. Bring your own. This was the first time I had shampoo in a squeeze packet which I had a hard time opening (5 min, no kidding!) and then when I did get it open, it resembled blackberry jelly, not kidding again!!! Continental breakfast needs to be acknowledged as nothing at all special from 7am to 9am. I was actually embarrassed. This is served on the main level at the bar area. Their breakfast is nothing more than coffee, juice, and your choice of white or wheat bread that you toast in the back room (2 toasters/1 microwave). That was it!!! That part was a shock but hey, now YOU know! lol... They have a computer near the elevator if you need to check e-mail, do a mapquest, etc. No printer, though. They charge $8 a day for garage parking. If it's after 5pm, you can park next door at the dr's office but get your car out by 8:30 a.m. so you don't get towed. Street parking is $1/hr at the coin meters. Overall, hope this helps someone... If you are on a no-frills, budget trip and need a clean place to stay, I would definitely recommend! P.S. I didn't have time to check out their fitness room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This location is within walking distance of the Shops at Sunset Place which is an open-air mall located at 5701 Sunset Place. If you're walking, it's left on 61st,left on 72nd, and you have to cross straight through a "major" intersection at 72nd Street and U.S. Hwy 1/Dixie Hwy (be careful!), and it's a couple of blocks up with shops and cafes around. Good exercise!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Buddy Moyers
Business
Tallassee Al
Jun 22, 2009

Affordable

Check in was easy, good location once we found it. I suggest calling first and getting directions. The street that it is located on is only a block or two long, we kept thinking this street ran parallel with the others, but it does not. We drove around for a while trying to find it. But it was just what we needed. Great coffee!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Beirut, Lebanon
Jul 2, 2010

Good value for money

Best Miami Hotel offers a good value for money if you intend to stay in the Coral Gables area. The rooms are big and well equipped and the service is decent in respect to other locations. Too bad no Internet in the rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, Fl
Jan 2, 2011

Nice!!

You get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Dec 27, 2010

Good hotel for the money

Clean, near pretty much everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando Florida
Oct 12, 2009

Quite surprised! Satisfied

Very friendly staff. Clean and quiet area. I'm from the Orlando area and was super satisfied for the price. Their complimentary breakfast was just coffee and white or wheat bread. Better than nothing. The only problem I did have was the mention of parking when checking in. It should have been mentioned on the website I booked it through. They have a garage for the cars, why charge?Room also included a small fridge. No extra charge for that too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Not far from downtown Miami.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
May 8, 2009

Better than expected from other reviews

This place was better than I expected from reading the reviews. I stayed there for 2 weeks for business. Here are the negative comments and I'll list the good stuff below: It seems like it could be quite a bit better if the management put a little more effort into it. For example, one of the elevators was broken and it didn't appear it would be fixed anytime soon. Steps out front were pretty filthy-get a powerwasher! It's really bad when that's the first thing you see. Carpets throughout were kind of dirty too. When I checked in, they said would have breakfast in morning. 'Breakfast' amounted to toast and coffee. Fail. Some guy had yogurt but I couldn't find where they had that. One day it seemed like they had run out of hot water and my shower was barely luke warm. To their credit, it was late in the morning heh. It seemed like their wireless internet connection only worked in some areas. I was able to get some kind of rogue connection and access from my room, but be wary of possible security concerns with this. They are still advertising that they have a restaurant. It looks to be permanently shut down. Good stuff: Staff was very friendly. Pool is pretty nice. Inexpensive. Right near the metrorail. Also it's a 2 minute walk to a bunch of nice restaurants and shopping. I'd stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Norristown, PA
Nov 14, 2009

An Ok Hotel

Easy check-in. Had to pay a $8.03 Parking fee - I didn't like that. Room was neat enough for a night's stay. Continental Breakfast - a single bread loaf, a few stolen Butter packs & an ok coffee - a complete comedy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Woodstock, Ga
Jun 19, 2009

Average.......could be a lot better

I have stayed here many times before. It seems to offer the best price at that location. However they have been making renovations which is very noisy at times. Their continental breakfest is not very good. Plus you have to pay for parking when your car is not secure. Garage door broken. Let me know if there is something better for same price nearby. Thanks Yvon

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Mall is short distance from hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mopanglow
Business
fl
Apr 1, 2011

good

it was fine we didnt stay in the room very much. it was in a good location so you should not be spending much time in the room. if you plan on spending more time in the room then your need to sleep i suggest a different hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top