$48 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2014 Check-out: Aug 3, 2014

Best Miami Hotel

2 stars
5959 S.W. 71st, Miami, FL 33143
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
337 reviews
Great service, Great Hotel

I stay one night, I liked the hotel, clean, safe, friendly staff, great price. Close to main road,... See full review

  • Jose J
  • Dec 14, 2013
Great

Last second booking, truly miamis best kept secret, family atmosphere! See full review

  • Ambi bear
  • Jun 8, 2014
South Miami hotel with free Wi-Fi, shuttle and continental breakfast.

This South Miami hotel is near the University of Miami, Coral Gables and Coconut Grove. The Mediterranean-inspired property has an inner courtyard that rooms overlook. The hotel provides free shuttle services to most area attractions, hospitals and shopping malls, the Miami International Airport, the Port of Miami and cruise ship terminals, and the University of Miami. Amenities include free Wi-Fi and a tropical courtyard and pool.

Highlights
  • Near the University of Miami, Coral Gables and Coconut Grove
  • Two blocks from the Shops at Sunset Place and the South Miami Metrorail Station
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
  • Meeting space for small events
Rooms

Air-conditioned rooms house two double beds or one king bed, a work desk, marble and granite bathrooms and an in-room refrigerator. Decor skews traditional, from patterned bed spreads to brass-framed artwork. Guests can request non-smoking or smoking rooms and suites, which have a microwave. Wi-Fi is free.

Features


The hotel runs a free shuttle service to nearby attractions, hospitals and shopping malls, Miami International Airport, the Port of Miami and cruise ship terminals, and the University of Miami. Guests should check with the hotel for schedules and reservations.

 

There is an onsite outdoor pool with a cascading waterfall. An inner courtyard encloses it.

Transportation

  • Miami International Airport (16 minutes)
  • Miami Convention Center (21 minutes)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (24 minutes)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (41 minutes)
Attractions
  • University of Miami (1.5 mi/ 2.4 km)
  • Lowe Art Museum (1.6 mi/ 2.6 km)
  • Coral Gables (2.2 mi/ 3.5 km)
  • Coconut Grove (2.4 mi/ 3.9 km)
  • Biltmore Golf Course (3.7 mi/ 6 km)
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens (6.2 mi/ 10 km)
Business
  • Event space for up to 120 guests
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
Policies and fees
Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Best Miami Hotel Rooms

Junior Suite
Oversize deluxe junior suite with sitting area and work desk, king size bed, wood floor, marble and granite bathrooms, in-room safe (minimal charge), refrigerator and iron/ ironing board, dual phones and phone lines with internet connection.
Deluxe Double
Beautiful double room with two double beds, wood floor, deluxe marble and granite bathrooms with hair dryers, dual phone lines and internet connection.
Run of House
Room has one King bed. Windows open. Television with premium channels. Free local calls. In room safe (fees apply. Bath amenities include hair dryer and complimentary toiletries. Blackout drapes/curtains, clock radio, and iron/ironing board. Air conditioning. Non-smoking. Refrigetor and Microwave available upon request. (fees apply)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Miami Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

25.7057 -80.2911
Area served
Miami, FL
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport
Area description
Local attractions include:Miami Seaquarium, Miami Museum of Science, Viscaya Museum and Gardens, Fairchild Tropical Gardens, Matheson Hammock Park and beach, Key Biscayne, Lowe Museum of Art, Historical Venetian Pools (natural springs replenishes daily and is made out of natural coral) a true sight!, IMAX, AMC, Actors Playhouse, Coconut Grove Playhouse, The Improv Comedy Club, Gables Stage Theater; Homestead Miami Speedway, University of Miami Hurricanes, and University of Miami Basketball, American Airlines Arena Downtown Miami speedway races; South Miami Hospital, Baptist Hospital, Larkin Hospital, Jackson Memorial Hospital, Doctor's Hospital, Cedars Medical Center, Coral Gables Hospital and Miami Children's Hospital; University of Miami, Ross University/Larkin. Florida International University, Miami Dade Community College-South Campus, Wolfson Campus

Nearby points of interest

  • University of Miami: 1.4 mi
  • Tropical Park: 2.6 mi
  • Pinecrest: 3.1 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 3.3 mi
  • CocoWalk: 3.4 mi
  • Granada: 3.9 mi
  • Bird Bowl: 3.9 mi
  • Temple Israel: 4.4 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 4.4 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Frost Art Museum: 6.1 mi
  • FIU Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Deering Estate: 6.3 mi
  • Marlins Park: 6.7 mi
  • University of Miami: 1.4 mi
  • Tropical Park: 2.6 mi
  • Pinecrest: 3.1 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 3.3 mi
  • CocoWalk: 3.4 mi
  • Granada: 3.9 mi
  • Bird Bowl: 3.9 mi
  • Temple Israel: 4.4 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 4.4 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Frost Art Museum: 6.1 mi
  • FIU Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Deering Estate: 6.3 mi
  • Marlins Park: 6.7 mi
  • Museum of the Americas: 6.7 mi
  • East Little Havana: 6.8 mi
  • Lummus Park: 7.4 mi
  • Miami Dade Public Library: 7.6 mi
  • Ice Palace Film Studios: 7.7 mi
  • Metro Dade Cultural Center: 7.7 mi
  • Miami Seaquarium: 8 mi
  • Freedom Tower: 8.1 mi
  • Bayside Marketplace: 8.2 mi
  • American Airlines Arena: 8.3 mi
  • Miami Metro Zoo: 8.3 mi
  • Tina Hills Pavillion: 8.4 mi
  • Pulse Miami: 8.7 mi
  • Trinity Episcopal Cathedral: 8.7 mi
  • Port of Miami: 8.8 mi
  • Cape Florida Lighthouse: 8.8 mi
  • Joseph Caleb Auditorium: 9 mi
  • Miami Children's Museum: 9 mi
  • Dodge Island: 9.1 mi
  • Jungle Island: 9.1 mi
  • Gold Coast Railroad Museum: 9.2 mi
  • Albertini Arts Gallery: 9.2 mi
  • Palm Island: 9.6 mi
  • Larry and Penny Thompson Campground: 9.9 mi
  • Fisher Island: 10.2 mi
  • Morningside Park: 10.7 mi
  • Bettcher Gallery: 10.8 mi
  • Art Deco District: 11.2 mi
  • Espanola Way: 11.4 mi
  • Lincoln Road Mall: 11.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
1) Ballroom: 38 X 25 Ft. Maximum Capacity: 120 people 2) Conference Room 29 X 11 Ft.- Maximum Capacity: 50 people

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (337)

Ratings and reviews for Best Miami Hotel

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
337 out of 337
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.4
Value:
3

50% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
miami fl
Aug 8, 2012

great place great price

I love staying here its not top of the line but the price is good and so is the area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maluz
Texas
Jul 22, 2012

Very decent vacation

Nice hotel and good room. There was not WiFi in the room, The breakfast was ok for the price given. The location was good, and although there was plenty of parking space (was outside of Miami) the parking at the hotel was not for free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good location, There are many nice restaurants around it.

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
angels101
Business
Kennewick, WA
Jul 13, 2012

A nice surprise

Looking for an inexpensive hotel in Miami can be a little scary. While this hotel was a 2 star, and only $50 per night, I was in for a pleasant surprise. This lovely old hotel must have been totally charming in "it's day", and it still maintains much of it's charm, although it is becoming a bit shabby. The rooms are clean, the hotel staff are exceptionally polite, and the surrounding neighborhood provides great eating establishments. It is near the metro, making travel around Miami convenient and inexpensive. O.K., so you have to be a bit of a romatic to see the charm, but it bears a second look.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Soho
orlando
Jun 29, 2012

Smells funny and has extra fees!

I got a good price but I felt like I should have stayed in my car. I was charged for parking $8 a day and was charged $2 for safe I did NOT use!!! Service was bad and breakfast was cheap looking and plain, the hotels near Miami airport are better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tts20
Savannah GA
Jun 28, 2012

what you are expecting~

For this price and this location, I think they are good enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steph Marie Lovebird
Miami
Jun 27, 2012

Nice Little Spot

Pool, cute rooms, nice staff, and an amazing value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

RA Sushi by Sunset Place!

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dacoolcatcastro
Miami,fl
Jun 22, 2012

Needs work

Sone staff here need to learwhay customer service is about very rude and impolite not understanding at all many hidden charges rooms are filthy and amenities well are old if any and breakfast is cheap not even a continental breakfast more like a load of well you know what. Hidden charges include a 2 dollar a day charge for a safe that you never use whether you use it or not they charge it. $8.03 charge fr parking every day it's ridiculous and make sure to get it cheap if not go somewhere else...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
blackice
Business
atlanta
Jun 13, 2012

BEDBUGS!!!BEDBUGS!!!!!BEDBUGS!!!!!!!!!

Beware!!!!Do not stay at this property!!! Bedbugs reside here. After alerting the front desk, they neither seemed shocked or apologetic. I requested a refund of which I am getting the run around. I am glad I didn't unpack anything. And yes, the parking garage for which you pay $8 a day has very limited lighting. I checked out of this infestation and booked a room with Courtyard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jay White
Business
Austin, Texas
May 20, 2012

I learned a lesson!

When My son and I first walked into this hotel I was surprised because it looked like a nice place. I asked the person at the front desk, where was the parking? He said " it was in the back of the of the hotel". I had to drive around the block a few times before I finally found it. It's pretty dark and kind of dirty, the room cleaners take a long time cleaning the rooms. I left in the morning and came back around 5 pm to find the room wasn't cleaned yet. I saw the lady cleaning the next room and tried to talk to her but she couldn't speak english. I talked to another lady and she said it would take only 10 minutes well I had to wait an hour. This happened over and over for the next 2 or 3 days. I even tried to tell the front desk about it and it didn't help. I saw the cleaning lady across the hall talking to someone for about half an hour when she knew we were waiting. When she seen us going into our room she turned a told the other lady something and they both looked at us and continued this action for a while and I knew they were talking about us. Even though they were talking spanish I knew they gossiping about us! She took her sweet time getting to our room and we could finally get to a clean room about an hour later. I had paid for another 5 days with an option to extend another week. That was the last night we stayed there, that night I made arrangements for another hotel, the next morning I asked for my refund and got out of there! Parking is extra which is not included in the rate, you have to put down a deposit and the rug throughout the hallways were really dirty. My son said it looked like blood stains.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Number one Nana
Georgia
May 10, 2012

Much needed time away

Location was perfect for our trip. Room was very clean. Was glad the room had a refrigerator, but do wish it had had a microwave in the room also. Liked the fact there was a simple breakfast each morning and we didn't have to go out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There was a Whole Foods nearby!!

Back to menu Return to top