$48 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2014 Check-out: Aug 3, 2014

Best Miami Hotel

2 stars
5959 S.W. 71st, Miami, FL 33143
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
337 reviews
Great service, Great Hotel

I stay one night, I liked the hotel, clean, safe, friendly staff, great price. Close to main road,... See full review

  • Jose J
  • Dec 14, 2013
Great

Last second booking, truly miamis best kept secret, family atmosphere! See full review

  • Ambi bear
  • Jun 8, 2014
South Miami hotel with free Wi-Fi, shuttle and continental breakfast.

This South Miami hotel is near the University of Miami, Coral Gables and Coconut Grove. The Mediterranean-inspired property has an inner courtyard that rooms overlook. The hotel provides free shuttle services to most area attractions, hospitals and shopping malls, the Miami International Airport, the Port of Miami and cruise ship terminals, and the University of Miami. Amenities include free Wi-Fi and a tropical courtyard and pool.

Highlights
  • Near the University of Miami, Coral Gables and Coconut Grove
  • Two blocks from the Shops at Sunset Place and the South Miami Metrorail Station
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
  • Meeting space for small events
Rooms

Air-conditioned rooms house two double beds or one king bed, a work desk, marble and granite bathrooms and an in-room refrigerator. Decor skews traditional, from patterned bed spreads to brass-framed artwork. Guests can request non-smoking or smoking rooms and suites, which have a microwave. Wi-Fi is free.

Features


The hotel runs a free shuttle service to nearby attractions, hospitals and shopping malls, Miami International Airport, the Port of Miami and cruise ship terminals, and the University of Miami. Guests should check with the hotel for schedules and reservations.

 

There is an onsite outdoor pool with a cascading waterfall. An inner courtyard encloses it.

Transportation

  • Miami International Airport (16 minutes)
  • Miami Convention Center (21 minutes)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (24 minutes)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (41 minutes)
Attractions
  • University of Miami (1.5 mi/ 2.4 km)
  • Lowe Art Museum (1.6 mi/ 2.6 km)
  • Coral Gables (2.2 mi/ 3.5 km)
  • Coconut Grove (2.4 mi/ 3.9 km)
  • Biltmore Golf Course (3.7 mi/ 6 km)
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens (6.2 mi/ 10 km)
Business
  • Event space for up to 120 guests
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
Policies and fees
Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Best Miami Hotel Rooms

Junior Suite
Oversize deluxe junior suite with sitting area and work desk, king size bed, wood floor, marble and granite bathrooms, in-room safe (minimal charge), refrigerator and iron/ ironing board, dual phones and phone lines with internet connection.
Deluxe Double
Beautiful double room with two double beds, wood floor, deluxe marble and granite bathrooms with hair dryers, dual phone lines and internet connection.
Run of House
Room has one King bed. Windows open. Television with premium channels. Free local calls. In room safe (fees apply. Bath amenities include hair dryer and complimentary toiletries. Blackout drapes/curtains, clock radio, and iron/ironing board. Air conditioning. Non-smoking. Refrigetor and Microwave available upon request. (fees apply)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Miami Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

25.7057 -80.2911
Area served
Miami, FL
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport
Area description
Local attractions include:Miami Seaquarium, Miami Museum of Science, Viscaya Museum and Gardens, Fairchild Tropical Gardens, Matheson Hammock Park and beach, Key Biscayne, Lowe Museum of Art, Historical Venetian Pools (natural springs replenishes daily and is made out of natural coral) a true sight!, IMAX, AMC, Actors Playhouse, Coconut Grove Playhouse, The Improv Comedy Club, Gables Stage Theater; Homestead Miami Speedway, University of Miami Hurricanes, and University of Miami Basketball, American Airlines Arena Downtown Miami speedway races; South Miami Hospital, Baptist Hospital, Larkin Hospital, Jackson Memorial Hospital, Doctor's Hospital, Cedars Medical Center, Coral Gables Hospital and Miami Children's Hospital; University of Miami, Ross University/Larkin. Florida International University, Miami Dade Community College-South Campus, Wolfson Campus

Nearby points of interest

  • University of Miami: 1.4 mi
  • Tropical Park: 2.6 mi
  • Pinecrest: 3.1 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 3.3 mi
  • CocoWalk: 3.4 mi
  • Granada: 3.9 mi
  • Bird Bowl: 3.9 mi
  • Temple Israel: 4.4 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 4.4 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Frost Art Museum: 6.1 mi
  • FIU Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Deering Estate: 6.3 mi
  • Marlins Park: 6.7 mi
  • University of Miami: 1.4 mi
  • Tropical Park: 2.6 mi
  • Pinecrest: 3.1 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 3.3 mi
  • CocoWalk: 3.4 mi
  • Granada: 3.9 mi
  • Bird Bowl: 3.9 mi
  • Temple Israel: 4.4 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 4.4 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Frost Art Museum: 6.1 mi
  • FIU Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Deering Estate: 6.3 mi
  • Marlins Park: 6.7 mi
  • Museum of the Americas: 6.7 mi
  • East Little Havana: 6.8 mi
  • Lummus Park: 7.4 mi
  • Miami Dade Public Library: 7.6 mi
  • Ice Palace Film Studios: 7.7 mi
  • Metro Dade Cultural Center: 7.7 mi
  • Miami Seaquarium: 8 mi
  • Freedom Tower: 8.1 mi
  • Bayside Marketplace: 8.2 mi
  • American Airlines Arena: 8.3 mi
  • Miami Metro Zoo: 8.3 mi
  • Tina Hills Pavillion: 8.4 mi
  • Pulse Miami: 8.7 mi
  • Trinity Episcopal Cathedral: 8.7 mi
  • Port of Miami: 8.8 mi
  • Cape Florida Lighthouse: 8.8 mi
  • Joseph Caleb Auditorium: 9 mi
  • Miami Children's Museum: 9 mi
  • Dodge Island: 9.1 mi
  • Jungle Island: 9.1 mi
  • Gold Coast Railroad Museum: 9.2 mi
  • Albertini Arts Gallery: 9.2 mi
  • Palm Island: 9.6 mi
  • Larry and Penny Thompson Campground: 9.9 mi
  • Fisher Island: 10.2 mi
  • Morningside Park: 10.7 mi
  • Bettcher Gallery: 10.8 mi
  • Art Deco District: 11.2 mi
  • Espanola Way: 11.4 mi
  • Lincoln Road Mall: 11.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
1) Ballroom: 38 X 25 Ft. Maximum Capacity: 120 people 2) Conference Room 29 X 11 Ft.- Maximum Capacity: 50 people

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (337)

Ratings and reviews for Best Miami Hotel

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
337 out of 337
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.4
Value:
3

50% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
miami fl
Aug 8, 2012

great place great price

I love staying here its not top of the line but the price is good and so is the area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
krlitaa
Orlando
Jan 26, 2012

Very Mean and Poor customer service

Very Rude employees. My family tried to call me to the hotel and the phone just rang and rang. They finally answered them when they call back for a 3rd time, and they asked them for my last name, my aunt spelled it and in the middle of that the employee just transferred the call without saying please wait, or anything. RUDE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Miami KeyWest Traveller
Cordova,TN
Dec 23, 2013

Horrible Stay Please Dont Go

After researching few hotel thru trip ad visor, i shortlisted some budget hotels, one of the few under the list was best Miami hotel. i was looking for a hotel which is well under the budget and clean enough for short stay, but everything turned upside down when i went there. First hotel name is missing on the hotel. it just says BEST and rest are missing, second as i checked in, they told me i will be charged 8$/day for parking.third and worst part is when i went inside the room. room is completely dirty, cockroaches here and there. chair was literally bad, it has some bad stains on it making impossible to sit on that. Iron board had stains which makes iron board unusable. bed is so bad, they have put 2 or 3 mattress of uneven form to bring it to certain height. room phone wasn't working, i wanted to reach lobby but phone didn't work at all. there were 3 lamps out of which 2 were not working. Main bed room light switch was so loose it has to be turned off and on few times for light to stay on. curtain at the window had stains. i want to bring this message to all. please don't stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dacoolcatcastro
Miami,fl
Jun 22, 2012

Needs work

Sone staff here need to learwhay customer service is about very rude and impolite not understanding at all many hidden charges rooms are filthy and amenities well are old if any and breakfast is cheap not even a continental breakfast more like a load of well you know what. Hidden charges include a 2 dollar a day charge for a safe that you never use whether you use it or not they charge it. $8.03 charge fr parking every day it's ridiculous and make sure to get it cheap if not go somewhere else...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Soho
orlando
Jun 29, 2012

Smells funny and has extra fees!

I got a good price but I felt like I should have stayed in my car. I was charged for parking $8 a day and was charged $2 for safe I did NOT use!!! Service was bad and breakfast was cheap looking and plain, the hotels near Miami airport are better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rochester mn
Mar 1, 2011

No secret..won't stay here again

Won't go back. Garage was from a horror movie.....lights blinking and didn't feel safe. Rooms not clean and were damp and musty. We just stayed on night before our drive down to Key West...couldn't wait to leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dalasromeo
Atlanta
Apr 16, 2013

The worst

Didn't like the scent or the setting! Just terrible!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Still don't stay

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
jacksonville, fl
Mar 1, 2010

Dont stay here

my first time staying here and my last. it was 50 degrees in the room and they dont have heaters unless your in a smoking room, mold in the room and bathroom, the tv didnt even have a remote i asked and they said no remotes.if u turned the main light off it turned the tv off. And the comp breakfast consists of 2 pieces of toast, jr cup of oj and a cup of coffee. Not happy at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Apr 1, 2008

Worst Miami Hotel

The Best Miami Hotel was truly the worst I've ever stayed in. If it wasn't for the fact that I arrived at 11:30PM I would have left immediately upon setting foot in my room. There were no blankets on the beds which consisted of thin mattresses that sagged in the middle. The floor and every surface was visably dirty. The air vent was so dirty you could smell the mold being released when the air conditioner was on. The bathroom ceiling was covered in at least two varieties of mold spores.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle Wa
Apr 19, 2011

It should stay a secret

Worst mattress I ever slept on. A coat of paint and new beds would have made me overlook many of this hotels shortcomings. For example, lack of lights, towels, and the bar restaurant claimed in the ad. The elevator was scary, the free breakfast was fruit loops, and the staff lacked a basic understanding of english. I have heard you get what you pay for, in this case I didn't! The only positive things I can list is the pool and free shuttle to/from the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Litchfield, Maine
Dec 8, 2009

Should be called worst Miami hotel

Said there were 2 bars, fitness center, restaurant. There were none. Warm soda from vending machine,ice machine not working.Staff not helpful. Free continental breakfast was a bad joke.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top