$48 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Best Miami Hotel

2 stars
5959 S.W. 71st, Miami, FL 33143
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
244 reviews
Great service, Great Hotel

I stay one night, I liked the hotel, clean, safe, friendly staff, great price. Close to main road,... See full review

  • Jose J
  • Dec 14, 2013
Great

Last second booking, truly miamis best kept secret, family atmosphere! See full review

  • Ambi bear
  • Jun 8, 2014
South Miami hotel with free Wi-Fi, shuttle and continental breakfast.

This South Miami hotel is near the University of Miami, Coral Gables and Coconut Grove. The Mediterranean-inspired property has an inner courtyard that rooms overlook. The hotel provides free shuttle services to most area attractions, hospitals and shopping malls, the Miami International Airport, the Port of Miami and cruise ship terminals, and the University of Miami. Amenities include free Wi-Fi and a tropical courtyard and pool.

Highlights
  • Near the University of Miami, Coral Gables and Coconut Grove
  • Two blocks from the Shops at Sunset Place and the South Miami Metrorail Station
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
  • Meeting space for small events
Rooms

Air-conditioned rooms house two double beds or one king bed, a work desk, marble and granite bathrooms and an in-room refrigerator. Decor skews traditional, from patterned bed spreads to brass-framed artwork. Guests can request non-smoking or smoking rooms and suites, which have a microwave. Wi-Fi is free.

Features


The hotel runs a free shuttle service to nearby attractions, hospitals and shopping malls, Miami International Airport, the Port of Miami and cruise ship terminals, and the University of Miami. Guests should check with the hotel for schedules and reservations.

 

There is an onsite outdoor pool with a cascading waterfall. An inner courtyard encloses it.

Transportation

  • Miami International Airport (16 minutes)
  • Miami Convention Center (21 minutes)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (24 minutes)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (41 minutes)
Attractions
  • University of Miami (1.5 mi/ 2.4 km)
  • Lowe Art Museum (1.6 mi/ 2.6 km)
  • Coral Gables (2.2 mi/ 3.5 km)
  • Coconut Grove (2.4 mi/ 3.9 km)
  • Biltmore Golf Course (3.7 mi/ 6 km)
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens (6.2 mi/ 10 km)
Business
  • Event space for up to 120 guests
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
Policies and fees
Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

25.7057 -80.2911
Area served
Miami, FL
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport
Area description
Local attractions include:Miami Seaquarium, Miami Museum of Science, Viscaya Museum and Gardens, Fairchild Tropical Gardens, Matheson Hammock Park and beach, Key Biscayne, Lowe Museum of Art, Historical Venetian Pools (natural springs replenishes daily and is made out of natural coral) a true sight!, IMAX, AMC, Actors Playhouse, Coconut Grove Playhouse, The Improv Comedy Club, Gables Stage Theater; Homestead Miami Speedway, University of Miami Hurricanes, and University of Miami Basketball, American Airlines Arena Downtown Miami speedway races; South Miami Hospital, Baptist Hospital, Larkin Hospital, Jackson Memorial Hospital, Doctor's Hospital, Cedars Medical Center, Coral Gables Hospital and Miami Children's Hospital; University of Miami, Ross University/Larkin. Florida International University, Miami Dade Community College-South Campus, Wolfson Campus

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Miami Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Best Miami Hotel Rooms

Run of House
Room has one King bed. Windows open. Television with premium channels. Free local calls. In room safe (fees apply. Bath amenities include hair dryer and complimentary toiletries. Blackout drapes/curtains, clock radio, and iron/ironing board. Air conditioning. Non-smoking. Refrigetor and Microwave available upon request. (fees apply)
Junior Suite
Oversize deluxe junior suite with sitting area and work desk, king size bed, wood floor, marble and granite bathrooms, in-room safe (minimal charge), refrigerator and iron/ ironing board, dual phones and phone lines with internet connection.
Deluxe Double
Beautiful double room with two double beds, wood floor, deluxe marble and granite bathrooms with hair dryers, dual phone lines and internet connection.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • University of Miami: 1.4 mi
  • Tropical Park: 2.6 mi
  • Pinecrest: 3.1 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 3.3 mi
  • CocoWalk: 3.4 mi
  • Granada: 3.9 mi
  • Bird Bowl: 3.9 mi
  • Temple Israel: 4.4 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 4.4 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Frost Art Museum: 6.1 mi
  • FIU Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Deering Estate: 6.3 mi
  • Marlins Park: 6.7 mi
  • University of Miami: 1.4 mi
  • Tropical Park: 2.6 mi
  • Pinecrest: 3.1 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 3.3 mi
  • CocoWalk: 3.4 mi
  • Granada: 3.9 mi
  • Bird Bowl: 3.9 mi
  • Temple Israel: 4.4 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 4.4 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Frost Art Museum: 6.1 mi
  • FIU Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Deering Estate: 6.3 mi
  • Marlins Park: 6.7 mi
  • Museum of the Americas: 6.7 mi
  • East Little Havana: 6.8 mi
  • Lummus Park: 7.4 mi
  • Miami Dade Public Library: 7.6 mi
  • Ice Palace Film Studios: 7.7 mi
  • Metro Dade Cultural Center: 7.7 mi
  • Miami Seaquarium: 8 mi
  • Freedom Tower: 8.1 mi
  • Bayside Marketplace: 8.2 mi
  • American Airlines Arena: 8.3 mi
  • Miami Metro Zoo: 8.3 mi
  • Tina Hills Pavillion: 8.4 mi
  • Pulse Miami: 8.7 mi
  • Trinity Episcopal Cathedral: 8.7 mi
  • Port of Miami: 8.8 mi
  • Cape Florida Lighthouse: 8.8 mi
  • Joseph Caleb Auditorium: 9 mi
  • Miami Children's Museum: 9 mi
  • Dodge Island: 9.1 mi
  • Jungle Island: 9.1 mi
  • Gold Coast Railroad Museum: 9.2 mi
  • Albertini Arts Gallery: 9.2 mi
  • Palm Island: 9.6 mi
  • Larry and Penny Thompson Campground: 9.9 mi
  • Fisher Island: 10.2 mi
  • Morningside Park: 10.7 mi
  • Bettcher Gallery: 10.8 mi
  • Art Deco District: 11.2 mi
  • Espanola Way: 11.4 mi
  • Lincoln Road Mall: 11.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
1) Ballroom: 38 X 25 Ft. Maximum Capacity: 120 people 2) Conference Room 29 X 11 Ft.- Maximum Capacity: 50 people

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (244)

Ratings and reviews for Best Miami Hotel

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
244 out of 244
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
2.9
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.3
Value:
2.9

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mommmcc
Miami
May 3, 2013

Looks good from lobby but not the room

The hotel looks okay from the outside, when you walk in you say wow what a nice lobby and court yard put when start to sign paper you realize maybe not. Not professional registration card at all. They charge you $2.00 plus tax for safe use if you use it or not, not good. THE ROOMS VERY BAD THE CELLING AND FLOORS ARE CRACTED, THE BED IS WORN ALL THE WAY DOWN TO THE SPRING THE ICE MECHAINE IS OUT OF ORDER AND THE FRONT DESK AGENT SAYS THE OWNER IS NOT GOING TO FIX IT I AM JUST AN EMPLOYEE NOT A GOOD ATTITUDE TO HAVE. ALL IN ALL THE ROOM SUCKED I PAID WAY TO MUCH $85.00 FOR A $0 WORTH OF A HOTEL. DON'T RECOMMEND TO STAY WORST NIGHT SLEEP OF MY LIFE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MD Cafe
Orlando fl
Jun 17, 2013

Horrible

THIS PLACE IS THE WORST!!!!!!!! DO NOT STAY!!!!!!!THE WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE !!!!! We booked this hotel for a quick Soccer trip to Miami for the kids . We went to check In and our name was in the computer but apparently a form never got faxed instead of trying to help us we were told to leave and contact them on our own. Very Rude !!! Contacted customer service they got us taken care of and told us the hotel could if contacted them. I guess that was Too Much work!! The front desk clerk insulted me in Spanish to my Husband. If this hotel wasn't already paid and it wasn't 10pm at night . We would of left.They never apologized to us and when we checked out never would look at us or say goodby or thank you.. Also the rooms are very small and the breakfast should even be called that . Just some muffins and apples and one type of Cereal. I Would Never go there again....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
kenandwife
illinois
Jul 7, 2013

Not what we expected

1st we waited for the shuttle at the airport for about 1 hour in the sweltering heat. 2nd the hotel is in a run down area and looks very run down. Not at all like described in the ad. 3rd The hotel staff asked us to pay for things we did not need or want and stated that they were required. 4th this hotel is not at all close to the airport. We did not stay although we still had to pay and could not get a refund. We went to another hotel that was close to the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Senat
Key West
Jul 30, 2013

DON'T BOOK

DON'T BOOK WITH THEM! When my husband arrived they refused to check him in! Despite my prepaid booking. He was stranded in Miami over night without a hotel room. Best Miami Hotel is the worst hotel in Miami!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kat and Brent in Montana
Helena, Montana
Nov 21, 2013

Accused of Stealing Towels!

Okay, so where to start on this one... First off, the place looks great in their photos, but that's were it kind of stops. The shower heads are in desperate need of replacement. Felt like I was in a waterfall with the amount of water dropping on me. The light in our bathroom only worked part-time, so we moved the tall bedroom lamp in there to plug in so we could see the other half the time. Two beds in our room, one sat extremely low to the ground and had no support at all. The other was normal height, but we could clearly hear the springs as we moved. Replacing the beds might be a good idea for this place too. Breakfast is nothing special: one kind of cereal, a bit of fruit, and that's it. The pool and pool area was nice, though cold at night. Hair-dryer did not work. And to top it all off, when we went to check out, they actually sent a maid to the room to count the towels! We had the right number the first night, but got in late the second night and didn't notice until the morning we were checking out we only had two bath-towels and two washcloths. Explained that to them, and they asked why we didn't tell them the night before when we got in (again we got in late and just went to bed). So a maid went out with us to our rental car to watch us go through our bags just in case we didn't "accidentally" take them with us. So we got out to the car and were prepared to hang out everything all over the parking garage if we needed to to prove we didn't have them, and the maid was just kind of glancing a the bags as we dug through them. I think she was more annoyed with her bosses then we were at that point.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Warning, there is a strip club about two blocks away, which was fine for us, but some may not appreciate that convenience.

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tony race fan
tampa, FL
Nov 20, 2013

RIP OFF/ SCAMMERS

when checking out the rude staff has a maid check your room and do a linen count. i wasn't left a bathmat on my last night and they said i stole it and charged me $25. they did the same to people checking out in front of me, they paid $25 for a wash cloth. WHAT A SCAM ! on top of that they charged $2 a night for a safe i didn't need, didn't find out till i checked in i had to pay $8 a night parking fee, rooms were cold with no adjustment, a/c condensates on the floor, didnt give fresh linens daily, didn't refill toilet paper, ice machine didn't work...STAY AWAY..no way to get return customers

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Miami KeyWest Traveller
Cordova,TN
Dec 23, 2013

Horrible Stay Please Dont Go

After researching few hotel thru trip ad visor, i shortlisted some budget hotels, one of the few under the list was best Miami hotel. i was looking for a hotel which is well under the budget and clean enough for short stay, but everything turned upside down when i went there. First hotel name is missing on the hotel. it just says BEST and rest are missing, second as i checked in, they told me i will be charged 8$/day for parking.third and worst part is when i went inside the room. room is completely dirty, cockroaches here and there. chair was literally bad, it has some bad stains on it making impossible to sit on that. Iron board had stains which makes iron board unusable. bed is so bad, they have put 2 or 3 mattress of uneven form to bring it to certain height. room phone wasn't working, i wanted to reach lobby but phone didn't work at all. there were 3 lamps out of which 2 were not working. Main bed room light switch was so loose it has to be turned off and on few times for light to stay on. curtain at the window had stains. i want to bring this message to all. please don't stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
WILLETTA
JACKSONVILLE FL
Jan 3, 2011

EXTREMELY POOR SERVICE AND ROOMS

My friends and I visited the Best Miami Hotel located 5959 NW 71st ST In Miami FL. Upon Check in we were given room 332. We walked into a filthy room. As I opened the door and saw the filth and disarray, the ladies left their things in the hall as I went in to take pictures. One of the beds were not made, there was MacDonald left over's on the night stand and a ½ empty water bottle on the counter. The next thing I noticed the pictures had been removed from the wall, the iron was gone, and one of the ceiling tiles was hanging from the ceiling. I went back to the front desk, the staff did not apologize, they didn't offer a free night, they compensated us for parking ($16.04) that was a mere slap in the face for what we had endured. That night we all slept on top of the comforter due to phobias that were created in the 1st room. The 2nd night as we returned from a party we pulled the covers back only to discover someone's mail in the bed. Again we spoke with the front desk staff and received no apologies or compensation. I have the mail in which the last person who had the room before us left, with their SS #, Unemployment claims, Medicaid card and info, and also their HUD information. This was the worst hotel ever and we definitely will not be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Apr 1, 2008

Worst Miami Hotel

The Best Miami Hotel was truly the worst I've ever stayed in. If it wasn't for the fact that I arrived at 11:30PM I would have left immediately upon setting foot in my room. There were no blankets on the beds which consisted of thin mattresses that sagged in the middle. The floor and every surface was visably dirty. The air vent was so dirty you could smell the mold being released when the air conditioner was on. The bathroom ceiling was covered in at least two varieties of mold spores.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
miami, fl
Dec 29, 2010

Super cold!

Heater did not work, they were very nice in switching us to another room but that heater also did not work. Would not stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top

Change search