$60 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 29, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

Best Miami Hotel

2 stars
5959 S.W. 71st, Miami, FL 33143
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
235 reviews
Great service, Great Hotel

I stay one night, I liked the hotel, clean, safe, friendly staff, great price. Close to main road,... See full review

  • Jose J
  • Dec 14, 2013
Doesn't get any better for a cheap price.

THe staff was friendly and understanding of my service dsog, didnt give me hard time at all. cant... See full review

  • carly1991
  • Sep 27, 2014
South Miami hotel with free Wi-Fi, shuttle and continental breakfast.

This South Miami hotel is near the University of Miami, Coral Gables and Coconut Grove. The Mediterranean-inspired property has an inner courtyard that rooms overlook. The hotel provides free shuttle services to most area attractions, hospitals and shopping malls, the Miami International Airport, the Port of Miami and cruise ship terminals, and the University of Miami. Amenities include free Wi-Fi and a tropical courtyard and pool.

Highlights
  • Near the University of Miami, Coral Gables and Coconut Grove
  • Two blocks from the Shops at Sunset Place and the South Miami Metrorail Station
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
  • Meeting space for small events
Rooms

Air-conditioned rooms house two double beds or one king bed, a work desk, marble and granite bathrooms and an in-room refrigerator. Decor skews traditional, from patterned bed spreads to brass-framed artwork. Guests can request non-smoking or smoking rooms and suites, which have a microwave. Wi-Fi is free.

Features


The hotel runs a free shuttle service to nearby attractions, hospitals and shopping malls, Miami International Airport, the Port of Miami and cruise ship terminals, and the University of Miami. Guests should check with the hotel for schedules and reservations.

 

There is an onsite outdoor pool with a cascading waterfall. An inner courtyard encloses it.

Transportation

  • Miami International Airport (16 minutes)
  • Miami Convention Center (21 minutes)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (24 minutes)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (41 minutes)
Attractions
  • University of Miami (1.5 mi/ 2.4 km)
  • Lowe Art Museum (1.6 mi/ 2.6 km)
  • Coral Gables (2.2 mi/ 3.5 km)
  • Coconut Grove (2.4 mi/ 3.9 km)
  • Biltmore Golf Course (3.7 mi/ 6 km)
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens (6.2 mi/ 10 km)
Business
  • Event space for up to 120 guests
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
Policies and fees
Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Miami Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Best Miami Hotel Rooms

Junior Suite
Oversize deluxe junior suite with sitting area and work desk, king size bed, wood floor, marble and granite bathrooms, in-room safe (minimal charge), refrigerator and iron/ ironing board, dual phones and phone lines with internet connection.
Deluxe Double
Beautiful double room with two double beds, wood floor, deluxe marble and granite bathrooms with hair dryers, dual phone lines and internet connection.
Run of House
Room has one King bed. Windows open. Television with premium channels. Free local calls. In room safe (fees apply. Bath amenities include hair dryer and complimentary toiletries. Blackout drapes/curtains, clock radio, and iron/ironing board. Air conditioning. Non-smoking. Refrigetor and Microwave available upon request. (fees apply)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • University of Miami: 1.4 mi
  • Tropical Park: 2.6 mi
  • Pinecrest: 3.1 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 3.3 mi
  • CocoWalk: 3.4 mi
  • Granada: 3.9 mi
  • Bird Bowl: 3.9 mi
  • Temple Israel: 4.4 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 4.4 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Frost Art Museum: 6.1 mi
  • FIU Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Deering Estate: 6.3 mi
  • Marlins Park: 6.7 mi
  • University of Miami: 1.4 mi
  • Tropical Park: 2.6 mi
  • Pinecrest: 3.1 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 3.3 mi
  • CocoWalk: 3.4 mi
  • Granada: 3.9 mi
  • Bird Bowl: 3.9 mi
  • Temple Israel: 4.4 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 4.4 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Frost Art Museum: 6.1 mi
  • FIU Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Deering Estate: 6.3 mi
  • Marlins Park: 6.7 mi
  • Museum of the Americas: 6.7 mi
  • East Little Havana: 6.8 mi
  • Lummus Park: 7.4 mi
  • Miami Dade Public Library: 7.6 mi
  • Ice Palace Film Studios: 7.7 mi
  • Metro Dade Cultural Center: 7.7 mi
  • Miami Seaquarium: 8 mi
  • Freedom Tower: 8.1 mi
  • Bayside Marketplace: 8.2 mi
  • American Airlines Arena: 8.3 mi
  • Miami Metro Zoo: 8.3 mi
  • Tina Hills Pavillion: 8.4 mi
  • Pulse Miami: 8.7 mi
  • Trinity Episcopal Cathedral: 8.7 mi
  • Port of Miami: 8.8 mi
  • Cape Florida Lighthouse: 8.8 mi
  • Joseph Caleb Auditorium: 9 mi
  • Miami Children's Museum: 9 mi
  • Dodge Island: 9.1 mi
  • Jungle Island: 9.1 mi
  • Gold Coast Railroad Museum: 9.2 mi
  • Albertini Arts Gallery: 9.2 mi
  • Palm Island: 9.6 mi
  • Larry and Penny Thompson Campground: 9.9 mi
  • Fisher Island: 10.2 mi
  • Morningside Park: 10.7 mi
  • Bettcher Gallery: 10.8 mi
  • Art Deco District: 11.2 mi
  • Espanola Way: 11.4 mi
  • Lincoln Road Mall: 11.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
1) Ballroom: 38 X 25 Ft. Maximum Capacity: 120 people 2) Conference Room 29 X 11 Ft.- Maximum Capacity: 50 people

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (235)

Ratings and reviews for Best Miami Hotel

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
235 out of 235
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
2.9
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.2
Value:
2.8

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steph Marie Lovebird
Miami
Jun 27, 2012

Nice Little Spot

Pool, cute rooms, nice staff, and an amazing value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

RA Sushi by Sunset Place!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Augustine, Florida
Feb 11, 2011

Excellent location for the price

Aside from breakfast, we spent very little time doing anything at the hotel. We had family business that took up most of our time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ryan the Dragonslayer
Business
MA
Mar 29, 2010

Very nice.. quiet area, block from metro

Convenient location less than a block from the metro. Nice pool area/bar outside, pretty clean rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Quantum
Business
Baltimore, MD
Oct 31, 2009

Excellent time at Best Miami Hotel

First time to this hotel. Excellent service throughout. Very nice and friendly staff. Nice lobby area to hang out. Nice pool. Pool was constantly maintained by staff and kept clean. Room was spacious with king-size bed. The room looked to have been remodeled recently, not the best remodeling job, but nice hardwood floor and furniture. The bathroom was clean overall. The shower temperature wasn't steady, but overall okay. Great walking distance to local restaurants and the Sunset Place mall. Hotel provides complimentary shuttle service, but depending on how the traffic is, it could take up to 30 minutes for the shuttle to the airport to pick you up. The complimentary breakfast was minimal. Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed my time at this hotel, and will return to it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Find Sunset Place mall (within 3-5 min walk). Lots of good restaurants on the way there. I'd suggest checking out Sushi Maki. Also a few minutes in the opposite direction is a Jyokin (sp?) Japanese Buffet. I would recommend it highly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dana Point, CA
Jun 9, 2009

Well-Priced Stopover Hotel

The price was terrific, the room was nothing too special but it was clean. The hotel is old but they have updated it nicely. Sorry, no restaurant! Also, morning coffee is very limited. The staff did a great job assisting us. We used the hotel as a base the night we arrived in Miami. The next day the complimentary shuttle took us to our cruise ship. A week later they picked us up and took us to the hotel. The next morning we were shuttled to the airport. Great service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Let's just say the Best Miami Hotel is great value.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 26, 2008

Good for quick visits

The Best Miami hotel was alright. It could have been better but when I first got their they had to change my room twice because the first one wasn't clean and then the second one had a bad smell. They had a continental breakfast every morning and the free shuttle service was very convenient. It is not the place to go for a vacation but if you are looking to stay in a place for a weekend, it's a great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Dadeland mall is less than 5 miles away and it has a lot of stores. The University of Miami is just one train stop away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 8, 2008

Good Value

The Best Miami Hotel is a good value for your money. The rooms are clean and well kept. The bedding is very simple but comfortable. Not much in way of eating at the hotel and the breakfast provided leaves alot to be desired. There are plenty of places to eat within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great shopping mall across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 7, 2008

Good Location

The Best Miami Hotel offers free shuttle from the Miami International Airport and to the Port of Miami. The location of the Hotel was in walking distance of a mall and other restaurants to eat at. The price was fair for a one night stay and they did offer continental breakfast. I had a King Deluxe room which was awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a few blocks away is a mall for shopping and plenty of restaurants to choose from.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brunoez
Business
USA
Mar 12, 2008

Friendly, but had maintenance issues

The Best Miami Hotel is located in a nice part of town and is convenient to all the major tourist sites of Miami. Overall, the staff was very friendly, courteous, and helpful during my stay. The biggest negative was the fact that there were several maintenance issues including a slow-to-flush commode, slow-to-drain sink, a non-working TV set, and a telephone which didn't allow me to retrieve messages left by my friends. The room had a musty smell when the air conditioner wasn't running and had no heat. The carpet was in bad shape as well. The restaurant on site was exorbitantly priced ($30+ entrees). Because I didn't spend much time at the hotel, I was able to work around these problems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Many nice restaurants nearby, convenient to the FL Turnpike and US 1.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KieleMoani
Business
Seattle, WA
Feb 15, 2010

Clean and safe, with personality.

I was pleasantly surprised by this one. [...] The room was clean, even though it was a "smoking" room - which we didn't mind anyway because we both smoke. The a/c and heater both worked. The shower was AWESOME; super hot and powerful. There was a somewhat noticeable mold aroma in certain areas but I used to live in Hawai'i and you just get used to that sort of thing in humid climates. The parking structure was a multi-floor garage, and while it didn't seem like it was being monitored, I felt safe keeping my rental there for the weekend. The restaurant and bar were open. While I don't think that french fries necessarily go with breakfast, I would say that the omelette was not inedible. (For lunch or dinner, try the Havana Spice Cafe down the street, the grouper with creole sauce was AMAZING!) The bar in the hotel has a decent selection, what with my favorite gin (Hendricks) and a reasonable Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc. Prices were a bit high, but it was worth it for the convenience and atmosphere. The staff was pleasant, accomodating, and even pretty personable. If you don't like the sterile, empty hotel chains that seem to generally monopolize these type of websites, then this hotel is for you; charming, inexpensive, and unique.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Havana Spice Cafe: grouper with creole sauce, and the fried plantains. I think I like Cuban food...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
carly1991
Business
miami fl
Sep 27, 2014

Doesn't get any better for a cheap price.

THe staff was friendly and understanding of my service dsog, didnt give me hard time at all. cant find anything cheaper in Miami that is so close to downtown and south beach. the breakfast was nice too, more variety than other places. def recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top