$64 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 28, 2014 Check-out: Nov 29, 2014

Best Miami Hotel

2 stars
5959 S.W. 71st, Miami, FL 33143
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
232 reviews
Great service, Great Hotel

I stay one night, I liked the hotel, clean, safe, friendly staff, great price. Close to main road,... See full review

  • Jose J
  • Dec 14, 2013
Doesn't get any better for a cheap price.

THe staff was friendly and understanding of my service dsog, didnt give me hard time at all. cant... See full review

  • carly1991
  • Sep 27, 2014
South Miami hotel with free Wi-Fi, shuttle and continental breakfast.

This South Miami hotel is near the University of Miami, Coral Gables and Coconut Grove. The Mediterranean-inspired property has an inner courtyard that rooms overlook. The hotel provides free shuttle services to most area attractions, hospitals and shopping malls, the Miami International Airport, the Port of Miami and cruise ship terminals, and the University of Miami. Amenities include free Wi-Fi and a tropical courtyard and pool.

Highlights
  • Near the University of Miami, Coral Gables and Coconut Grove
  • Two blocks from the Shops at Sunset Place and the South Miami Metrorail Station
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
  • Meeting space for small events
Rooms

Air-conditioned rooms house two double beds or one king bed, a work desk, marble and granite bathrooms and an in-room refrigerator. Decor skews traditional, from patterned bed spreads to brass-framed artwork. Guests can request non-smoking or smoking rooms and suites, which have a microwave. Wi-Fi is free.

Features


The hotel runs a free shuttle service to nearby attractions, hospitals and shopping malls, Miami International Airport, the Port of Miami and cruise ship terminals, and the University of Miami. Guests should check with the hotel for schedules and reservations.

 

There is an onsite outdoor pool with a cascading waterfall. An inner courtyard encloses it.

Transportation

  • Miami International Airport (16 minutes)
  • Miami Convention Center (21 minutes)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (24 minutes)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (41 minutes)
Attractions
  • University of Miami (1.5 mi/ 2.4 km)
  • Lowe Art Museum (1.6 mi/ 2.6 km)
  • Coral Gables (2.2 mi/ 3.5 km)
  • Coconut Grove (2.4 mi/ 3.9 km)
  • Biltmore Golf Course (3.7 mi/ 6 km)
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens (6.2 mi/ 10 km)
Business
  • Event space for up to 120 guests
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
Policies and fees
Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Miami Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Best Miami Hotel Rooms

Run of House
Room has one King bed. Windows open. Television with premium channels. Free local calls. In room safe (fees apply. Bath amenities include hair dryer and complimentary toiletries. Blackout drapes/curtains, clock radio, and iron/ironing board. Air conditioning. Non-smoking. Refrigetor and Microwave available upon request. (fees apply)
Junior Suite
Oversize deluxe junior suite with sitting area and work desk, king size bed, wood floor, marble and granite bathrooms, in-room safe (minimal charge), refrigerator and iron/ ironing board, dual phones and phone lines with internet connection.
Deluxe Double
Beautiful double room with two double beds, wood floor, deluxe marble and granite bathrooms with hair dryers, dual phone lines and internet connection.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • University of Miami: 1.4 mi
  • Tropical Park: 2.6 mi
  • Pinecrest: 3.1 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 3.3 mi
  • CocoWalk: 3.4 mi
  • Granada: 3.9 mi
  • Bird Bowl: 3.9 mi
  • Temple Israel: 4.4 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 4.4 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Frost Art Museum: 6.1 mi
  • FIU Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Deering Estate: 6.3 mi
  • Marlins Park: 6.7 mi
  • University of Miami: 1.4 mi
  • Tropical Park: 2.6 mi
  • Pinecrest: 3.1 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 3.3 mi
  • CocoWalk: 3.4 mi
  • Granada: 3.9 mi
  • Bird Bowl: 3.9 mi
  • Temple Israel: 4.4 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 4.4 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Frost Art Museum: 6.1 mi
  • FIU Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Deering Estate: 6.3 mi
  • Marlins Park: 6.7 mi
  • Museum of the Americas: 6.7 mi
  • East Little Havana: 6.8 mi
  • Lummus Park: 7.4 mi
  • Miami Dade Public Library: 7.6 mi
  • Ice Palace Film Studios: 7.7 mi
  • Metro Dade Cultural Center: 7.7 mi
  • Miami Seaquarium: 8 mi
  • Freedom Tower: 8.1 mi
  • Bayside Marketplace: 8.2 mi
  • American Airlines Arena: 8.3 mi
  • Miami Metro Zoo: 8.3 mi
  • Tina Hills Pavillion: 8.4 mi
  • Pulse Miami: 8.7 mi
  • Trinity Episcopal Cathedral: 8.7 mi
  • Port of Miami: 8.8 mi
  • Cape Florida Lighthouse: 8.8 mi
  • Joseph Caleb Auditorium: 9 mi
  • Miami Children's Museum: 9 mi
  • Dodge Island: 9.1 mi
  • Jungle Island: 9.1 mi
  • Gold Coast Railroad Museum: 9.2 mi
  • Albertini Arts Gallery: 9.2 mi
  • Palm Island: 9.6 mi
  • Larry and Penny Thompson Campground: 9.9 mi
  • Fisher Island: 10.2 mi
  • Morningside Park: 10.7 mi
  • Bettcher Gallery: 10.8 mi
  • Art Deco District: 11.2 mi
  • Espanola Way: 11.4 mi
  • Lincoln Road Mall: 11.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
1) Ballroom: 38 X 25 Ft. Maximum Capacity: 120 people 2) Conference Room 29 X 11 Ft.- Maximum Capacity: 50 people

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (232)

Ratings and reviews for Best Miami Hotel

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
232 out of 232
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
2.9
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.3
Value:
2.9

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pda558
Business
Nc
Mar 14, 2013

Nice older place

Clean friendly staff would stay again very easy to get to no problems at all not a new hotel but not bad either it's easy to see the staff cares about the property

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
boomersooner64
Business
Foley, Alabama
Mar 1, 2013

Emergency situation

Was very nice. Needed place close to childrens hospital

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Alice in Dairyland
Business
Madison WI
Feb 25, 2013

Great location, not great hotel

It was nice to be in walking distance of a variety of restaurants in a pleasant area of town. The hotel itself was a disappointment in all aspects -- poor breakfast, no washclothes available for two days, dirty bedspreads, leaky water faucets, "hidden" charges, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jlkjoyful
Business
Philadelphia
Feb 24, 2013

Not thrilled!

Had a one night stay with this hotel. I chose this hotel based on other's reviews and for the airport shuttle. When we called the hotel at 10 pm, they said their shuttle service ended at 10 PM even though when we called earlier in the evening they just told us to call once we got to the airport and made no mention of the shuttle ending at 10 PM. We ended up paying $55 dollars for a shuttle from the airport. Once we checked into the room even though it was a non smoking room it smelled like smoke. Breakfast was just cereal, milk, juice, & muffins. They ran out of juice and milk around 9 and the breakfast was supposed to go until 9:30. Traveling with a 3 year old you sometimes just need some of the basics that they ran out of. Wanted to use the shuttle service aroun d 1 in the afternoon but they said that it was not available until 4 PM. If Spanish is your primary language, this may be the hotel for you! Most of the employees spoke only English so thir was a little bit of a language barrier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bena Booth
Business
Short Hills, NJ
Feb 23, 2013

Strong, Musty Odor Pervades This Hotel

We arrived late at night. The area was not far from U of Miami but was sort of creepy. We parked on the street to not have to pay $8.01 for parking. When we got into the lobby, the attendant took our credit card and said we had to pay for the room safe, $2.01. A STRONG, MUSTY ODOR PERVADED THE LOBBY. WE PRAYED THE ROOM WOULD BE BETTER. IT WAS NOT. tHE ODOR PERVADED OUR ROOM ALL NIGHT. THE BATHTUB WAS TOO GROTESQUE TO BE BELIEVED. DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, FL
Feb 2, 2013

Horrible Overnight Stay

The hotel location was very shady. Customer service was poor. Air conditioning was not working, making a room change took 2 hours. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Very poorly managed, staff barely speaks English. We couldn't wait to leave!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
emial
Business
ny
Feb 2, 2013

this is not a hotel its a motel

it very ugly commercial area i stayed only because i had no car very bad recommendation from your company..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nettie1960
Business
florida
Jan 30, 2013

tired old lady

The layout of this hotel is very nice, the pool is in the center. Lobby is nice. breakfast was poor, room was clean. A full renovation would bring this once beautiful hotel back to former glory, the beds were old, but clean, overall, I have stayed in worse for far more money,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
rc14617
Business
Rochester, NY
Jan 27, 2013

Basic

From the description I expected the hotel to be much closer to the airport. The supposed free shuttle service only ran a few times a day and was not running when we arrived. Was forced to take a cab costing us $30 - not something we expected. The shuttle to the airport the next day left only at certain times and went to the cruiseport first to drop off passengers. Took a lot longer than expected - good thing we had extra time fefore the flight. The room was average but the fridge was rusty. Would not recommend the site especially if you are flying in and expect to save time and money by using it as convenient to the airport. Would not use the facility again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Miss NY
Business
New York, New York
Jan 26, 2013

Great value for a night or two

The service at the hotel was excellent and the staff was very accommodating. They kept our luggage safe and allowed us to lounge by the pool since we arrived several hours prior to check-in time. The room was clean and comfortable, especially for just one night. The free shuttle transportation from Miami International Airport to the hotel and then from the hotel to the sea port terminal were the main reason we booked this hotel. The only complain we have is about the "continental breakfast". They only offer packaged danish, cereal, coffee, and orange juice. We expected better food options for the price we paid. Other than poor breakfast options the Best Miami Hotel is a good hotel for the price. *Also, be prepared to pay a $2.00 fee per day for the safe in your room, regardless if you want to use the safe or not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top