$48 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 5, 2014 Check-out: Sep 8, 2014

Best Miami Hotel

2 stars
5959 S.W. 71st, Miami, FL 33143
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
227 reviews
Great service, Great Hotel

I stay one night, I liked the hotel, clean, safe, friendly staff, great price. Close to main road,... See full review

  • Jose J
  • Dec 14, 2013
Great

Last second booking, truly miamis best kept secret, family atmosphere! See full review

  • Ambi bear
  • Jun 8, 2014
South Miami hotel with free Wi-Fi, shuttle and continental breakfast.

This South Miami hotel is near the University of Miami, Coral Gables and Coconut Grove. The Mediterranean-inspired property has an inner courtyard that rooms overlook. The hotel provides free shuttle services to most area attractions, hospitals and shopping malls, the Miami International Airport, the Port of Miami and cruise ship terminals, and the University of Miami. Amenities include free Wi-Fi and a tropical courtyard and pool.

Highlights
  • Near the University of Miami, Coral Gables and Coconut Grove
  • Two blocks from the Shops at Sunset Place and the South Miami Metrorail Station
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
  • Meeting space for small events
Rooms

Air-conditioned rooms house two double beds or one king bed, a work desk, marble and granite bathrooms and an in-room refrigerator. Decor skews traditional, from patterned bed spreads to brass-framed artwork. Guests can request non-smoking or smoking rooms and suites, which have a microwave. Wi-Fi is free.

Features


The hotel runs a free shuttle service to nearby attractions, hospitals and shopping malls, Miami International Airport, the Port of Miami and cruise ship terminals, and the University of Miami. Guests should check with the hotel for schedules and reservations.

 

There is an onsite outdoor pool with a cascading waterfall. An inner courtyard encloses it.

Transportation

  • Miami International Airport (16 minutes)
  • Miami Convention Center (21 minutes)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (24 minutes)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (41 minutes)
Attractions
  • University of Miami (1.5 mi/ 2.4 km)
  • Lowe Art Museum (1.6 mi/ 2.6 km)
  • Coral Gables (2.2 mi/ 3.5 km)
  • Coconut Grove (2.4 mi/ 3.9 km)
  • Biltmore Golf Course (3.7 mi/ 6 km)
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens (6.2 mi/ 10 km)
Business
  • Event space for up to 120 guests
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
Policies and fees
Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

25.7057 -80.2911
Area served
Miami, FL
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport
Area description
Local attractions include:Miami Seaquarium, Miami Museum of Science, Viscaya Museum and Gardens, Fairchild Tropical Gardens, Matheson Hammock Park and beach, Key Biscayne, Lowe Museum of Art, Historical Venetian Pools (natural springs replenishes daily and is made out of natural coral) a true sight!, IMAX, AMC, Actors Playhouse, Coconut Grove Playhouse, The Improv Comedy Club, Gables Stage Theater; Homestead Miami Speedway, University of Miami Hurricanes, and University of Miami Basketball, American Airlines Arena Downtown Miami speedway races; South Miami Hospital, Baptist Hospital, Larkin Hospital, Jackson Memorial Hospital, Doctor's Hospital, Cedars Medical Center, Coral Gables Hospital and Miami Children's Hospital; University of Miami, Ross University/Larkin. Florida International University, Miami Dade Community College-South Campus, Wolfson Campus

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Miami Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Best Miami Hotel Rooms

Run of House
Room has one King bed. Windows open. Television with premium channels. Free local calls. In room safe (fees apply. Bath amenities include hair dryer and complimentary toiletries. Blackout drapes/curtains, clock radio, and iron/ironing board. Air conditioning. Non-smoking. Refrigetor and Microwave available upon request. (fees apply)
Junior Suite
Oversize deluxe junior suite with sitting area and work desk, king size bed, wood floor, marble and granite bathrooms, in-room safe (minimal charge), refrigerator and iron/ ironing board, dual phones and phone lines with internet connection.
Deluxe Double
Beautiful double room with two double beds, wood floor, deluxe marble and granite bathrooms with hair dryers, dual phone lines and internet connection.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • University of Miami: 1.4 mi
  • Tropical Park: 2.6 mi
  • Pinecrest: 3.1 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 3.3 mi
  • CocoWalk: 3.4 mi
  • Granada: 3.9 mi
  • Bird Bowl: 3.9 mi
  • Temple Israel: 4.4 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 4.4 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Frost Art Museum: 6.1 mi
  • FIU Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Deering Estate: 6.3 mi
  • Marlins Park: 6.7 mi
  • University of Miami: 1.4 mi
  • Tropical Park: 2.6 mi
  • Pinecrest: 3.1 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 3.3 mi
  • CocoWalk: 3.4 mi
  • Granada: 3.9 mi
  • Bird Bowl: 3.9 mi
  • Temple Israel: 4.4 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 4.4 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Frost Art Museum: 6.1 mi
  • FIU Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Deering Estate: 6.3 mi
  • Marlins Park: 6.7 mi
  • Museum of the Americas: 6.7 mi
  • East Little Havana: 6.8 mi
  • Lummus Park: 7.4 mi
  • Miami Dade Public Library: 7.6 mi
  • Ice Palace Film Studios: 7.7 mi
  • Metro Dade Cultural Center: 7.7 mi
  • Miami Seaquarium: 8 mi
  • Freedom Tower: 8.1 mi
  • Bayside Marketplace: 8.2 mi
  • American Airlines Arena: 8.3 mi
  • Miami Metro Zoo: 8.3 mi
  • Tina Hills Pavillion: 8.4 mi
  • Pulse Miami: 8.7 mi
  • Trinity Episcopal Cathedral: 8.7 mi
  • Port of Miami: 8.8 mi
  • Cape Florida Lighthouse: 8.8 mi
  • Joseph Caleb Auditorium: 9 mi
  • Miami Children's Museum: 9 mi
  • Dodge Island: 9.1 mi
  • Jungle Island: 9.1 mi
  • Gold Coast Railroad Museum: 9.2 mi
  • Albertini Arts Gallery: 9.2 mi
  • Palm Island: 9.6 mi
  • Larry and Penny Thompson Campground: 9.9 mi
  • Fisher Island: 10.2 mi
  • Morningside Park: 10.7 mi
  • Bettcher Gallery: 10.8 mi
  • Art Deco District: 11.2 mi
  • Espanola Way: 11.4 mi
  • Lincoln Road Mall: 11.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
1) Ballroom: 38 X 25 Ft. Maximum Capacity: 120 people 2) Conference Room 29 X 11 Ft.- Maximum Capacity: 50 people

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (227)

Ratings and reviews for Best Miami Hotel

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
227 out of 227
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
2.9
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.3
Value:
2.9

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jan 5, 2008

Would NOT recommend Miami's BEST hotel

This hotel should be called Miami's WORST hotel. I would definately not recommend this hotel to others. My family only stayed there 1 night thankfully. Although the idea of a complimentary shuttle seemed great, the first shuttle driver we had was extremely rude, mean, and insisted on a good tip. We did have another driver though that seemed nice. Then, we were left at our location for 3 hours waiting for him to pick us up...don't know if it was his fault or the hotels. The room floor was dirty. Shower had no power. Air conditioning was not working properly in our room...thankfully we visited on a cool January night so we opened our window. The hotel's only soda machine was broken. Our remote control to the tv was not functioning properly..no matter what you pushed (except power) the channel went up. Terrible! Go somewhere else!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Jul 12, 2011

The ugliest hotel

Not good. Dirty, fridge is rusted. Pool is dirty, staff hardly speak English.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rochester mn
Mar 1, 2011

No secret..won't stay here again

Won't go back. Garage was from a horror movie.....lights blinking and didn't feel safe. Rooms not clean and were damp and musty. We just stayed on night before our drive down to Key West...couldn't wait to leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
thomas54
ohio
Nov 19, 2012

TERRIBLE

Unless you want to park on the street they charge $25.00 to park in their garage with was unlighted. The hallways of the hotel were unlighted. The pool wasn't clean - the continental breakfast was a bag of danish's and coffee. This place was scary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
GAINESVILLE, FL
Apr 26, 2010

Good location, bad service.

The service in the restrant is bad. They overcharged me(I found later I should get 20% off according to the hotel's policy).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
wgreyhawk
Seattle, WA
Nov 7, 2010

More like Miami's Worst Hotel

As I said, the ceiling was dripping, everything was wet, and the room was moldy. They gave us another room. It wasn't as bad as the first, but still smelled of mold. There's no wi-fi in the rooms, only in the lobby. The wait times for the shuttle are really long. Expect to spend a couple hours waiting for it. They were supposed to pick up my 63 year old mother from the airport, but never did. She was forced to find alternative transportation. If you don't speak Spanish, good luck interacting with half the staff. The security doesn't even speak English. Also, expect to pay for parking each night. While the pool area is nice, the waterfall you might see in some pictures doesn't work. If you get a room facing into the pool area, you can expect a lot of noise. That's where our first room was, and it was nearly impossible for my daughter to sleep. The term "Best" is only there because the building used to be owned by Best Western. Now, it's just simply false advertising. This place needs to stay hidden.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
krlitaa
Orlando
Jan 26, 2012

Very Mean and Poor customer service

Very Rude employees. My family tried to call me to the hotel and the phone just rang and rang. They finally answered them when they call back for a 3rd time, and they asked them for my last name, my aunt spelled it and in the middle of that the employee just transferred the call without saying please wait, or anything. RUDE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dacoolcatcastro
Miami,fl
Jun 22, 2012

Needs work

Sone staff here need to learwhay customer service is about very rude and impolite not understanding at all many hidden charges rooms are filthy and amenities well are old if any and breakfast is cheap not even a continental breakfast more like a load of well you know what. Hidden charges include a 2 dollar a day charge for a safe that you never use whether you use it or not they charge it. $8.03 charge fr parking every day it's ridiculous and make sure to get it cheap if not go somewhere else...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Miami KeyWest Traveller
Cordova,TN
Dec 23, 2013

Horrible Stay Please Dont Go

After researching few hotel thru trip ad visor, i shortlisted some budget hotels, one of the few under the list was best Miami hotel. i was looking for a hotel which is well under the budget and clean enough for short stay, but everything turned upside down when i went there. First hotel name is missing on the hotel. it just says BEST and rest are missing, second as i checked in, they told me i will be charged 8$/day for parking.third and worst part is when i went inside the room. room is completely dirty, cockroaches here and there. chair was literally bad, it has some bad stains on it making impossible to sit on that. Iron board had stains which makes iron board unusable. bed is so bad, they have put 2 or 3 mattress of uneven form to bring it to certain height. room phone wasn't working, i wanted to reach lobby but phone didn't work at all. there were 3 lamps out of which 2 were not working. Main bed room light switch was so loose it has to be turned off and on few times for light to stay on. curtain at the window had stains. i want to bring this message to all. please don't stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Soho
orlando
Jun 29, 2012

Smells funny and has extra fees!

I got a good price but I felt like I should have stayed in my car. I was charged for parking $8 a day and was charged $2 for safe I did NOT use!!! Service was bad and breakfast was cheap looking and plain, the hotels near Miami airport are better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top

Change search