$64 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 28, 2014 Check-out: Nov 29, 2014

Best Miami Hotel

2 stars
5959 S.W. 71st, Miami, FL 33143
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
232 reviews
Great service, Great Hotel

I stay one night, I liked the hotel, clean, safe, friendly staff, great price. Close to main road,... See full review

  • Jose J
  • Dec 14, 2013
Doesn't get any better for a cheap price.

THe staff was friendly and understanding of my service dsog, didnt give me hard time at all. cant... See full review

  • carly1991
  • Sep 27, 2014
South Miami hotel with free Wi-Fi, shuttle and continental breakfast.

This South Miami hotel is near the University of Miami, Coral Gables and Coconut Grove. The Mediterranean-inspired property has an inner courtyard that rooms overlook. The hotel provides free shuttle services to most area attractions, hospitals and shopping malls, the Miami International Airport, the Port of Miami and cruise ship terminals, and the University of Miami. Amenities include free Wi-Fi and a tropical courtyard and pool.

Highlights
  • Near the University of Miami, Coral Gables and Coconut Grove
  • Two blocks from the Shops at Sunset Place and the South Miami Metrorail Station
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
  • Meeting space for small events
Rooms

Air-conditioned rooms house two double beds or one king bed, a work desk, marble and granite bathrooms and an in-room refrigerator. Decor skews traditional, from patterned bed spreads to brass-framed artwork. Guests can request non-smoking or smoking rooms and suites, which have a microwave. Wi-Fi is free.

Features


The hotel runs a free shuttle service to nearby attractions, hospitals and shopping malls, Miami International Airport, the Port of Miami and cruise ship terminals, and the University of Miami. Guests should check with the hotel for schedules and reservations.

 

There is an onsite outdoor pool with a cascading waterfall. An inner courtyard encloses it.

Transportation

  • Miami International Airport (16 minutes)
  • Miami Convention Center (21 minutes)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (24 minutes)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (41 minutes)
Attractions
  • University of Miami (1.5 mi/ 2.4 km)
  • Lowe Art Museum (1.6 mi/ 2.6 km)
  • Coral Gables (2.2 mi/ 3.5 km)
  • Coconut Grove (2.4 mi/ 3.9 km)
  • Biltmore Golf Course (3.7 mi/ 6 km)
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens (6.2 mi/ 10 km)
Business
  • Event space for up to 120 guests
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
Policies and fees
Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

25.7057 -80.2911
Area served
Miami, FL
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport
Area description
Local attractions include:Miami Seaquarium, Miami Museum of Science, Viscaya Museum and Gardens, Fairchild Tropical Gardens, Matheson Hammock Park and beach, Key Biscayne, Lowe Museum of Art, Historical Venetian Pools (natural springs replenishes daily and is made out of natural coral) a true sight!, IMAX, AMC, Actors Playhouse, Coconut Grove Playhouse, The Improv Comedy Club, Gables Stage Theater; Homestead Miami Speedway, University of Miami Hurricanes, and University of Miami Basketball, American Airlines Arena Downtown Miami speedway races; South Miami Hospital, Baptist Hospital, Larkin Hospital, Jackson Memorial Hospital, Doctor's Hospital, Cedars Medical Center, Coral Gables Hospital and Miami Children's Hospital; University of Miami, Ross University/Larkin. Florida International University, Miami Dade Community College-South Campus, Wolfson Campus

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Miami Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Best Miami Hotel Rooms

Run of House
Room has one King bed. Windows open. Television with premium channels. Free local calls. In room safe (fees apply. Bath amenities include hair dryer and complimentary toiletries. Blackout drapes/curtains, clock radio, and iron/ironing board. Air conditioning. Non-smoking. Refrigetor and Microwave available upon request. (fees apply)
Junior Suite
Oversize deluxe junior suite with sitting area and work desk, king size bed, wood floor, marble and granite bathrooms, in-room safe (minimal charge), refrigerator and iron/ ironing board, dual phones and phone lines with internet connection.
Deluxe Double
Beautiful double room with two double beds, wood floor, deluxe marble and granite bathrooms with hair dryers, dual phone lines and internet connection.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • University of Miami: 1.4 mi
  • Tropical Park: 2.6 mi
  • Pinecrest: 3.1 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 3.3 mi
  • CocoWalk: 3.4 mi
  • Granada: 3.9 mi
  • Bird Bowl: 3.9 mi
  • Temple Israel: 4.4 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 4.4 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Frost Art Museum: 6.1 mi
  • FIU Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Deering Estate: 6.3 mi
  • Marlins Park: 6.7 mi
  • University of Miami: 1.4 mi
  • Tropical Park: 2.6 mi
  • Pinecrest: 3.1 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 3.3 mi
  • CocoWalk: 3.4 mi
  • Granada: 3.9 mi
  • Bird Bowl: 3.9 mi
  • Temple Israel: 4.4 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 4.4 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Frost Art Museum: 6.1 mi
  • FIU Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Deering Estate: 6.3 mi
  • Marlins Park: 6.7 mi
  • Museum of the Americas: 6.7 mi
  • East Little Havana: 6.8 mi
  • Lummus Park: 7.4 mi
  • Miami Dade Public Library: 7.6 mi
  • Ice Palace Film Studios: 7.7 mi
  • Metro Dade Cultural Center: 7.7 mi
  • Miami Seaquarium: 8 mi
  • Freedom Tower: 8.1 mi
  • Bayside Marketplace: 8.2 mi
  • American Airlines Arena: 8.3 mi
  • Miami Metro Zoo: 8.3 mi
  • Tina Hills Pavillion: 8.4 mi
  • Pulse Miami: 8.7 mi
  • Trinity Episcopal Cathedral: 8.7 mi
  • Port of Miami: 8.8 mi
  • Cape Florida Lighthouse: 8.8 mi
  • Joseph Caleb Auditorium: 9 mi
  • Miami Children's Museum: 9 mi
  • Dodge Island: 9.1 mi
  • Jungle Island: 9.1 mi
  • Gold Coast Railroad Museum: 9.2 mi
  • Albertini Arts Gallery: 9.2 mi
  • Palm Island: 9.6 mi
  • Larry and Penny Thompson Campground: 9.9 mi
  • Fisher Island: 10.2 mi
  • Morningside Park: 10.7 mi
  • Bettcher Gallery: 10.8 mi
  • Art Deco District: 11.2 mi
  • Espanola Way: 11.4 mi
  • Lincoln Road Mall: 11.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
1) Ballroom: 38 X 25 Ft. Maximum Capacity: 120 people 2) Conference Room 29 X 11 Ft.- Maximum Capacity: 50 people

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (232)

Ratings and reviews for Best Miami Hotel

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
232 out of 232
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
2.9
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.3
Value:
2.9

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traveler Amy
Business
New Jersey
Jan 3, 2013

Not Terrible, But Not Good

OK location, rooms are not clean, staff is not very professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, FL
Feb 2, 2013

Horrible Overnight Stay

The hotel location was very shady. Customer service was poor. Air conditioning was not working, making a room change took 2 hours. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Very poorly managed, staff barely speaks English. We couldn't wait to leave!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
emial
Business
ny
Feb 2, 2013

this is not a hotel its a motel

it very ugly commercial area i stayed only because i had no car very bad recommendation from your company..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bena Booth
Business
Short Hills, NJ
Feb 23, 2013

Strong, Musty Odor Pervades This Hotel

We arrived late at night. The area was not far from U of Miami but was sort of creepy. We parked on the street to not have to pay $8.01 for parking. When we got into the lobby, the attendant took our credit card and said we had to pay for the room safe, $2.01. A STRONG, MUSTY ODOR PERVADED THE LOBBY. WE PRAYED THE ROOM WOULD BE BETTER. IT WAS NOT. tHE ODOR PERVADED OUR ROOM ALL NIGHT. THE BATHTUB WAS TOO GROTESQUE TO BE BELIEVED. DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jlkjoyful
Business
Philadelphia
Feb 24, 2013

Not thrilled!

Had a one night stay with this hotel. I chose this hotel based on other's reviews and for the airport shuttle. When we called the hotel at 10 pm, they said their shuttle service ended at 10 PM even though when we called earlier in the evening they just told us to call once we got to the airport and made no mention of the shuttle ending at 10 PM. We ended up paying $55 dollars for a shuttle from the airport. Once we checked into the room even though it was a non smoking room it smelled like smoke. Breakfast was just cereal, milk, juice, & muffins. They ran out of juice and milk around 9 and the breakfast was supposed to go until 9:30. Traveling with a 3 year old you sometimes just need some of the basics that they ran out of. Wanted to use the shuttle service aroun d 1 in the afternoon but they said that it was not available until 4 PM. If Spanish is your primary language, this may be the hotel for you! Most of the employees spoke only English so thir was a little bit of a language barrier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy with the hotel
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Apr 8, 2013

Don't stay at this hotel

The main reason we chose this hotel was because it offered shuttle service from the airport & shuttle service to the ship terminal even though the hotel was not conveniently located to either the airport or the hotel. However, when we arrived at the airport at 9:45 pm after a delayed flight, we were told that the last shuttle was at 10:00 pm & we had missed it. Not a word of apology or any alternatives were suggested. When we arrived at the hotel, the desk clerk was apathetic & unresponsive when we expressed our concern regarding the $30 cab fare. To make matters even worse, when we inquired about the shuttle service to the ship terminal the next day, we were informed with utter apathy & complete a lack of concern that it was full. In fairness to the very polite & caring desk clerk we encountered the next morning, he managed to get us on the shuttle to the ship terminal. In addition, this hotel is run down & in a bad section of town & other than the "advertised shuttle service" there is absolutely nothing about this hotel that would warrant staying there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dalasromeo
Business
Atlanta
Apr 16, 2013

The worst

Didn't like the scent or the setting! Just terrible!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Still don't stay

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mommmcc
Business
Miami
May 3, 2013

Looks good from lobby but not the room

The hotel looks okay from the outside, when you walk in you say wow what a nice lobby and court yard put when start to sign paper you realize maybe not. Not professional registration card at all. They charge you $2.00 plus tax for safe use if you use it or not, not good. THE ROOMS VERY BAD THE CELLING AND FLOORS ARE CRACTED, THE BED IS WORN ALL THE WAY DOWN TO THE SPRING THE ICE MECHAINE IS OUT OF ORDER AND THE FRONT DESK AGENT SAYS THE OWNER IS NOT GOING TO FIX IT I AM JUST AN EMPLOYEE NOT A GOOD ATTITUDE TO HAVE. ALL IN ALL THE ROOM SUCKED I PAID WAY TO MUCH $85.00 FOR A $0 WORTH OF A HOTEL. DON'T RECOMMEND TO STAY WORST NIGHT SLEEP OF MY LIFE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MD Cafe
Business
Orlando fl
Jun 17, 2013

Horrible

THIS PLACE IS THE WORST!!!!!!!! DO NOT STAY!!!!!!!THE WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE !!!!! We booked this hotel for a quick Soccer trip to Miami for the kids . We went to check In and our name was in the computer but apparently a form never got faxed instead of trying to help us we were told to leave and contact them on our own. Very Rude !!! Contacted customer service they got us taken care of and told us the hotel could if contacted them. I guess that was Too Much work!! The front desk clerk insulted me in Spanish to my Husband. If this hotel wasn't already paid and it wasn't 10pm at night . We would of left.They never apologized to us and when we checked out never would look at us or say goodby or thank you.. Also the rooms are very small and the breakfast should even be called that . Just some muffins and apples and one type of Cereal. I Would Never go there again....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
kenandwife
Business
illinois
Jul 7, 2013

Not what we expected

1st we waited for the shuttle at the airport for about 1 hour in the sweltering heat. 2nd the hotel is in a run down area and looks very run down. Not at all like described in the ad. 3rd The hotel staff asked us to pay for things we did not need or want and stated that they were required. 4th this hotel is not at all close to the airport. We did not stay although we still had to pay and could not get a refund. We went to another hotel that was close to the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top