$48 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 26, 2014 Check-out: Sep 28, 2014

Best Miami Hotel

2 stars
5959 S.W. 71st, Miami, FL 33143
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
228 reviews
Great service, Great Hotel

I stay one night, I liked the hotel, clean, safe, friendly staff, great price. Close to main road,... See full review

  • Jose J
  • Dec 14, 2013
Great

Last second booking, truly miamis best kept secret, family atmosphere! See full review

  • Ambi bear
  • Jun 8, 2014
South Miami hotel with free Wi-Fi, shuttle and continental breakfast.

This South Miami hotel is near the University of Miami, Coral Gables and Coconut Grove. The Mediterranean-inspired property has an inner courtyard that rooms overlook. The hotel provides free shuttle services to most area attractions, hospitals and shopping malls, the Miami International Airport, the Port of Miami and cruise ship terminals, and the University of Miami. Amenities include free Wi-Fi and a tropical courtyard and pool.

Highlights
  • Near the University of Miami, Coral Gables and Coconut Grove
  • Two blocks from the Shops at Sunset Place and the South Miami Metrorail Station
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
  • Meeting space for small events
Rooms

Air-conditioned rooms house two double beds or one king bed, a work desk, marble and granite bathrooms and an in-room refrigerator. Decor skews traditional, from patterned bed spreads to brass-framed artwork. Guests can request non-smoking or smoking rooms and suites, which have a microwave. Wi-Fi is free.

Features


The hotel runs a free shuttle service to nearby attractions, hospitals and shopping malls, Miami International Airport, the Port of Miami and cruise ship terminals, and the University of Miami. Guests should check with the hotel for schedules and reservations.

 

There is an onsite outdoor pool with a cascading waterfall. An inner courtyard encloses it.

Transportation

  • Miami International Airport (16 minutes)
  • Miami Convention Center (21 minutes)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (24 minutes)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (41 minutes)
Attractions
  • University of Miami (1.5 mi/ 2.4 km)
  • Lowe Art Museum (1.6 mi/ 2.6 km)
  • Coral Gables (2.2 mi/ 3.5 km)
  • Coconut Grove (2.4 mi/ 3.9 km)
  • Biltmore Golf Course (3.7 mi/ 6 km)
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens (6.2 mi/ 10 km)
Business
  • Event space for up to 120 guests
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
Policies and fees
Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

25.7057 -80.2911
Area served
Miami, FL
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport
Area description
Local attractions include:Miami Seaquarium, Miami Museum of Science, Viscaya Museum and Gardens, Fairchild Tropical Gardens, Matheson Hammock Park and beach, Key Biscayne, Lowe Museum of Art, Historical Venetian Pools (natural springs replenishes daily and is made out of natural coral) a true sight!, IMAX, AMC, Actors Playhouse, Coconut Grove Playhouse, The Improv Comedy Club, Gables Stage Theater; Homestead Miami Speedway, University of Miami Hurricanes, and University of Miami Basketball, American Airlines Arena Downtown Miami speedway races; South Miami Hospital, Baptist Hospital, Larkin Hospital, Jackson Memorial Hospital, Doctor's Hospital, Cedars Medical Center, Coral Gables Hospital and Miami Children's Hospital; University of Miami, Ross University/Larkin. Florida International University, Miami Dade Community College-South Campus, Wolfson Campus

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Miami Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Best Miami Hotel Rooms

Run of House
Room has one King bed. Windows open. Television with premium channels. Free local calls. In room safe (fees apply. Bath amenities include hair dryer and complimentary toiletries. Blackout drapes/curtains, clock radio, and iron/ironing board. Air conditioning. Non-smoking. Refrigetor and Microwave available upon request. (fees apply)
Junior Suite
Oversize deluxe junior suite with sitting area and work desk, king size bed, wood floor, marble and granite bathrooms, in-room safe (minimal charge), refrigerator and iron/ ironing board, dual phones and phone lines with internet connection.
Deluxe Double
Beautiful double room with two double beds, wood floor, deluxe marble and granite bathrooms with hair dryers, dual phone lines and internet connection.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • University of Miami: 1.4 mi
  • Tropical Park: 2.6 mi
  • Pinecrest: 3.1 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 3.3 mi
  • CocoWalk: 3.4 mi
  • Granada: 3.9 mi
  • Bird Bowl: 3.9 mi
  • Temple Israel: 4.4 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 4.4 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Frost Art Museum: 6.1 mi
  • FIU Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Deering Estate: 6.3 mi
  • Marlins Park: 6.7 mi
  • University of Miami: 1.4 mi
  • Tropical Park: 2.6 mi
  • Pinecrest: 3.1 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 3.3 mi
  • CocoWalk: 3.4 mi
  • Granada: 3.9 mi
  • Bird Bowl: 3.9 mi
  • Temple Israel: 4.4 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 4.4 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Frost Art Museum: 6.1 mi
  • FIU Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Deering Estate: 6.3 mi
  • Marlins Park: 6.7 mi
  • Museum of the Americas: 6.7 mi
  • East Little Havana: 6.8 mi
  • Lummus Park: 7.4 mi
  • Miami Dade Public Library: 7.6 mi
  • Ice Palace Film Studios: 7.7 mi
  • Metro Dade Cultural Center: 7.7 mi
  • Miami Seaquarium: 8 mi
  • Freedom Tower: 8.1 mi
  • Bayside Marketplace: 8.2 mi
  • American Airlines Arena: 8.3 mi
  • Miami Metro Zoo: 8.3 mi
  • Tina Hills Pavillion: 8.4 mi
  • Pulse Miami: 8.7 mi
  • Trinity Episcopal Cathedral: 8.7 mi
  • Port of Miami: 8.8 mi
  • Cape Florida Lighthouse: 8.8 mi
  • Joseph Caleb Auditorium: 9 mi
  • Miami Children's Museum: 9 mi
  • Dodge Island: 9.1 mi
  • Jungle Island: 9.1 mi
  • Gold Coast Railroad Museum: 9.2 mi
  • Albertini Arts Gallery: 9.2 mi
  • Palm Island: 9.6 mi
  • Larry and Penny Thompson Campground: 9.9 mi
  • Fisher Island: 10.2 mi
  • Morningside Park: 10.7 mi
  • Bettcher Gallery: 10.8 mi
  • Art Deco District: 11.2 mi
  • Espanola Way: 11.4 mi
  • Lincoln Road Mall: 11.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
1) Ballroom: 38 X 25 Ft. Maximum Capacity: 120 people 2) Conference Room 29 X 11 Ft.- Maximum Capacity: 50 people

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (228)

Ratings and reviews for Best Miami Hotel

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
228 out of 228
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
2.9
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.3
Value:
2.9

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lovly couple
fl
Jun 3, 2009

amazing hideaway

it was beautiful the people were friendly it was closeto things to o yet far enough to relax

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

get a miami party pass

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
VA
May 30, 2009

Best kept secret?...better left kept

This hotel was ok for the price, but it still wasn't very cheap considering it's condition. It's very obviously old, and needs repairs. The pool area was nice and the lobby looked nice on the inside, but the rooms were a little scary. Parking was pricey. The staff at the front desk was short. The "continental breakfast" was literally just bread, butter, coffee, orange juice, and water. That's it. So although, it's cheap for what I could find in Miami, but it was over-priced for what you get. The best part about it was that is was close (within walking distance) to a great mall in South Miami and a Metro stop that will easily take you to Downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Gameworks at the mall nearby was awesome. Also, Dan Marino's restaurant in the same area was good.

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
May 20, 2009

2-day Stay

Even though it was not too expensive to stay here for 2 nights, I felt that some services were lacking. I waited sooo long just to check in, there were no laundry facilities, which would greatly help those staying in the hotel, and the internet wireless connection was poor that most would only get a connection, if lucky, if they went downstairs to the main lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
May 8, 2009

Better than expected from other reviews

This place was better than I expected from reading the reviews. I stayed there for 2 weeks for business. Here are the negative comments and I'll list the good stuff below: It seems like it could be quite a bit better if the management put a little more effort into it. For example, one of the elevators was broken and it didn't appear it would be fixed anytime soon. Steps out front were pretty filthy-get a powerwasher! It's really bad when that's the first thing you see. Carpets throughout were kind of dirty too. When I checked in, they said would have breakfast in morning. 'Breakfast' amounted to toast and coffee. Fail. Some guy had yogurt but I couldn't find where they had that. One day it seemed like they had run out of hot water and my shower was barely luke warm. To their credit, it was late in the morning heh. It seemed like their wireless internet connection only worked in some areas. I was able to get some kind of rogue connection and access from my room, but be wary of possible security concerns with this. They are still advertising that they have a restaurant. It looks to be permanently shut down. Good stuff: Staff was very friendly. Pool is pretty nice. Inexpensive. Right near the metrorail. Also it's a 2 minute walk to a bunch of nice restaurants and shopping. I'd stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
indiana
Apr 26, 2009

worst hotel ever

hotel looked like it was a charge by the hour it smelled like bug spray.Room reeked of urine and mold. Beds were so old they were broken down with springs sticking out. Bed spreads were so old you could see thru them. Staff acted like you were bothering them by just checking in. I could not believe this place I thought I was movie !!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tampa, Fl
Apr 26, 2009

Good value, contiental breakfast-not!

Family party in Coral Gables Nicer continental breakfast(later time) Less luxurious hotel than before but near family's home...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
holland oh
Apr 22, 2009

not verry good

no free shuttle before 8am. sat at boat dock from 8am to 1155 am waiting. hotel claimed shuttle could not find us. we saw him drive by on main road but not in the pick up zone. finally ran to road and stopped him. he claimed he did not speak english. but spoke fairly good when back at hotel in front of hotel manager

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
muffinmix
Brandon, Fl.
Apr 22, 2009

Great location for us.

The hotel was in a perfect location for our needs. We were visiting relatives during our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Stranded in FLA
Pittsburgh, PA
Mar 10, 2009

The price of aggravation

This hotel claims to have a complimentary shuttle. I called when I arrived at the airport and was told to wait in a given location for the shuttle. After waiting outside for an hour, I called back, I was told 20 minutes; however, they knew they had a shift change and the driver would not leave the hotel for 20 minutes. After waiting 3 hours(!), I was finally picked up. I complained at the hotel and told them my mother was coming in soon. I begged them to be honest with her about wait times. They kept telling her 20 minutes. She waited for 1 1/2 hours, and I had to go with the driver to pick her up. Also we still dropped another guest of at a location before going to the airport (even though they did not have a shuttle scheduled). I spoke with a manager who did nothing. I tried to speak with the general manager, who never returned my phone calls. The hotel wasn't bad but don't stay for the hospitality. Also a few guests stayed there because they offered an onsite restaurant. This restaurant had been closed for months but they never updated their information. It wasn't a big deal for us to walk ~1mi to eat but it was for others, particularly given that you couldn't rely on their "complimentary" shuttle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ORL
D-town
Feb 24, 2009

Ok hotel

Trip was great,hotel room was clean but does have musty smell.Bathroom looks new but room doesn't.The hotel is like in the middle of Miami,fl.Lots of eating places near by.Didnt like you had to pay 7.50 a day to park.What mad me upset is when I left the hotel I left my camera in the bedroom draw.And I was like five hours away from miami, and didn't want to turn around.I called the hotel and they said there was no camera found.I wasnt very helpful when called.That means it was stolen by staff. Because im 100% I left it in the room.Besides that it was a nice stay for the price.But room is outdated except bathroom and staff is rude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search