$48 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2014 Check-out: Aug 3, 2014

Best Miami Hotel

2 stars
5959 S.W. 71st, Miami, FL 33143
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
337 reviews
Great service, Great Hotel

I stay one night, I liked the hotel, clean, safe, friendly staff, great price. Close to main road,... See full review

  • Jose J
  • Dec 14, 2013
Great

Last second booking, truly miamis best kept secret, family atmosphere! See full review

  • Ambi bear
  • Jun 8, 2014
South Miami hotel with free Wi-Fi, shuttle and continental breakfast.

This South Miami hotel is near the University of Miami, Coral Gables and Coconut Grove. The Mediterranean-inspired property has an inner courtyard that rooms overlook. The hotel provides free shuttle services to most area attractions, hospitals and shopping malls, the Miami International Airport, the Port of Miami and cruise ship terminals, and the University of Miami. Amenities include free Wi-Fi and a tropical courtyard and pool.

Highlights
  • Near the University of Miami, Coral Gables and Coconut Grove
  • Two blocks from the Shops at Sunset Place and the South Miami Metrorail Station
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
  • Meeting space for small events
Rooms

Air-conditioned rooms house two double beds or one king bed, a work desk, marble and granite bathrooms and an in-room refrigerator. Decor skews traditional, from patterned bed spreads to brass-framed artwork. Guests can request non-smoking or smoking rooms and suites, which have a microwave. Wi-Fi is free.

Features


The hotel runs a free shuttle service to nearby attractions, hospitals and shopping malls, Miami International Airport, the Port of Miami and cruise ship terminals, and the University of Miami. Guests should check with the hotel for schedules and reservations.

 

There is an onsite outdoor pool with a cascading waterfall. An inner courtyard encloses it.

Transportation

  • Miami International Airport (16 minutes)
  • Miami Convention Center (21 minutes)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (24 minutes)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (41 minutes)
Attractions
  • University of Miami (1.5 mi/ 2.4 km)
  • Lowe Art Museum (1.6 mi/ 2.6 km)
  • Coral Gables (2.2 mi/ 3.5 km)
  • Coconut Grove (2.4 mi/ 3.9 km)
  • Biltmore Golf Course (3.7 mi/ 6 km)
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens (6.2 mi/ 10 km)
Business
  • Event space for up to 120 guests
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
Policies and fees
Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Best Miami Hotel Rooms

Junior Suite
Oversize deluxe junior suite with sitting area and work desk, king size bed, wood floor, marble and granite bathrooms, in-room safe (minimal charge), refrigerator and iron/ ironing board, dual phones and phone lines with internet connection.
Deluxe Double
Beautiful double room with two double beds, wood floor, deluxe marble and granite bathrooms with hair dryers, dual phone lines and internet connection.
Run of House
Room has one King bed. Windows open. Television with premium channels. Free local calls. In room safe (fees apply. Bath amenities include hair dryer and complimentary toiletries. Blackout drapes/curtains, clock radio, and iron/ironing board. Air conditioning. Non-smoking. Refrigetor and Microwave available upon request. (fees apply)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Miami Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

25.7057 -80.2911
Area served
Miami, FL
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport
Area description
Local attractions include:Miami Seaquarium, Miami Museum of Science, Viscaya Museum and Gardens, Fairchild Tropical Gardens, Matheson Hammock Park and beach, Key Biscayne, Lowe Museum of Art, Historical Venetian Pools (natural springs replenishes daily and is made out of natural coral) a true sight!, IMAX, AMC, Actors Playhouse, Coconut Grove Playhouse, The Improv Comedy Club, Gables Stage Theater; Homestead Miami Speedway, University of Miami Hurricanes, and University of Miami Basketball, American Airlines Arena Downtown Miami speedway races; South Miami Hospital, Baptist Hospital, Larkin Hospital, Jackson Memorial Hospital, Doctor's Hospital, Cedars Medical Center, Coral Gables Hospital and Miami Children's Hospital; University of Miami, Ross University/Larkin. Florida International University, Miami Dade Community College-South Campus, Wolfson Campus

Nearby points of interest

  • University of Miami: 1.4 mi
  • Tropical Park: 2.6 mi
  • Pinecrest: 3.1 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 3.3 mi
  • CocoWalk: 3.4 mi
  • Granada: 3.9 mi
  • Bird Bowl: 3.9 mi
  • Temple Israel: 4.4 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 4.4 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Frost Art Museum: 6.1 mi
  • FIU Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Deering Estate: 6.3 mi
  • Marlins Park: 6.7 mi
  • University of Miami: 1.4 mi
  • Tropical Park: 2.6 mi
  • Pinecrest: 3.1 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 3.3 mi
  • CocoWalk: 3.4 mi
  • Granada: 3.9 mi
  • Bird Bowl: 3.9 mi
  • Temple Israel: 4.4 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 4.4 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Frost Art Museum: 6.1 mi
  • FIU Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Deering Estate: 6.3 mi
  • Marlins Park: 6.7 mi
  • Museum of the Americas: 6.7 mi
  • East Little Havana: 6.8 mi
  • Lummus Park: 7.4 mi
  • Miami Dade Public Library: 7.6 mi
  • Ice Palace Film Studios: 7.7 mi
  • Metro Dade Cultural Center: 7.7 mi
  • Miami Seaquarium: 8 mi
  • Freedom Tower: 8.1 mi
  • Bayside Marketplace: 8.2 mi
  • American Airlines Arena: 8.3 mi
  • Miami Metro Zoo: 8.3 mi
  • Tina Hills Pavillion: 8.4 mi
  • Pulse Miami: 8.7 mi
  • Trinity Episcopal Cathedral: 8.7 mi
  • Port of Miami: 8.8 mi
  • Cape Florida Lighthouse: 8.8 mi
  • Joseph Caleb Auditorium: 9 mi
  • Miami Children's Museum: 9 mi
  • Dodge Island: 9.1 mi
  • Jungle Island: 9.1 mi
  • Gold Coast Railroad Museum: 9.2 mi
  • Albertini Arts Gallery: 9.2 mi
  • Palm Island: 9.6 mi
  • Larry and Penny Thompson Campground: 9.9 mi
  • Fisher Island: 10.2 mi
  • Morningside Park: 10.7 mi
  • Bettcher Gallery: 10.8 mi
  • Art Deco District: 11.2 mi
  • Espanola Way: 11.4 mi
  • Lincoln Road Mall: 11.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
1) Ballroom: 38 X 25 Ft. Maximum Capacity: 120 people 2) Conference Room 29 X 11 Ft.- Maximum Capacity: 50 people

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (337)

Ratings and reviews for Best Miami Hotel

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
337 out of 337
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.4
Value:
3

50% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Doc Gregory
Business
Boston, MA
Jan 20, 2010

Stay Away from this Hotel

I had to check out of this hotel about 30 minutes after I checked in. There was no warm running water. In trying to address this, the front desk would not answer. The water was just this side of cold. The promised included breakfast become a 20% off coupon. I simply wanted a room in which there was warm running water. Nothing doing. My colleague on the 2nd floor had no problem with their water, however, I was told that all rooms had that level of lack of warm water. I checked out and am asking [...] and the hotel for a refund. BTW, no manager was on duty for four days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Bedford, MA
Feb 22, 2011

This place was not as described online.

This place was not as described online.. From the time we got picked up by are complimentry shuttle. First we had to wait almost an hour and a half after a long flight before the shuttle came to pick us up. the shuttle was all beat up with the check engine light on... We get to the HOTEL wich realy was hidden. We pulled up to the front and noticed that the sign that once said BEST WESTERN was scraped off and just said BEST....So that just didn't look right to us.. We went in to check ourselves in.. Are reservation was there so that wasn't a problem. The lobby was very nice had the aroma of stale cigarettes. That was a turn off...Mind you, we didn't know what to do being that if we complianed we didn't know if that would alter are package deal that we got with tickets included. We proceeded to are room wich was horrible. Room again smelt old and musty, comforter on one of the beds had a big giant hole in it... There was spider webs hanging from corners in the room. The phone didn't work not even to call the front desk. we requested an iron that was completley burnt on the bottom.. There was no restraunt or lounge inside of the place that worked... The restraunt was there but the doors had pad locks on them and the place looked abandoned.. Couldn't even get a drink to relax.. The swiming pool looked nice, but it was incased in dead palm trees and wilted plants. I couldn't tell if the object of to the side was supposed to be a jacuzzi or fish bowl,water fountain????? Very weird... And the continental breakfast consited of nasty burnt coffee, ceral that was dumped into large bowls we had to scoop out with soup spoons.. The toaster was broken. So we had to hold the metal piece that stuck out just to toast are bagel.. And the donuts and pecan pinwheels looked like they where all crushed up.. The place just WAS NOT what they made it out to be AT ALL... The only thing I can give this place credit for is the area it was in.. Very, very close to the shopping mall and plenty of places to eat.. That was the only thing that saved us. Oh and I can't forget we always had clean linen everytime we left and came back...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
From Canada
Canada
Dec 7, 2009

Will not stay again....

We will not stay at this hotel again. The shuttle pick up from airport was over 1 1/2 hr. wait and front desk personnel not friendly when you called and did not provide accurate information. The rooms are old, but are clean. Too bad, b/c with some proper management and an additional shuttle bus, this could be an excellent hotel considering the location is unbeatable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many restaurants too pick from and only about 10 minl walk.

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
black barbie
largo, fl
Jun 7, 2010

this was the WORSE kept secret!!!!!!!!!

i was so upset terrible service, everyone was rude. food was old and disgusting. pay the extra money and stay somewhere else. i wouldnt stay there if it was free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hotel Man
Stevens Point, WI
Jun 23, 2010

Worse Hotel Ever!

I initially called the hotel to recheck my room availability and the gentleman at the desk snapped at me asking me if I wanted to cancel my reservation. When I arrived at the hotel, I was ignored by the hotel staff and upon getting their attention away from the TV displaying the World Cup, they booked me into two rooms that were not "connected" to each other when I specifically requested ajoining rooms. They noted they didn't have any rooms that were joined together by a door. After going into our assigned room I found out that there were ajoining rooms and requested that my rooms be changed. The representative that checked me in gave me attitude about changing rooms, but did eventually reassign me to two different rooms that were "connected". "You get what you pay for" and apparently, this hotel had horrible rooms that did not lock properly. I was able to get into the other room with a different assigned card, thus the card scanners were not functioning properly. Also, the refrigerators in the rooms were leaking and the beds had a large dip in the center of them as if a child had been jumping on the bed non-stop for 3 days. As for the "free continental breakfast", they only had orange juice, toast, cereal, and some dry shortcake. Everything else displayed was order only from a menu. I've stayed at a Best Western and they served better breakfasts then this cheap hotel. On our last day while we were leaving and cleaning up the rooms, we found empty roach egg pods inbetween the molding on the base of the hard wood floors. They noted that this is the "Best Miami Hotel" and it's the "Best kept secret". Unfortunately, the hotel was the Worst Hotel I've stayed at in Miami and if there was a secret, I'd be better off not knowing what it was. I'd give this hotel -5 stars, but on a 1 - 5 star system, my only choice would be a 1, and that's because of the microwave. Pay the extra $40 dollars and stay at a better kept hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Richmond, CA
Jun 5, 2011

Worst Miami hotel

I booked my extended family of 10 here for our post-cruise stay in Miami b/c I thought it was a good deal and we could take advantage of their free shuttles to different locales to sight-see. Big mistake! It was so bad we checked out early. PROS: 1) Cesar, the friendliest hotel concierge ever. 2) Beautiful lobby. This is evidently where they poured all of their money into and even it is falling into disrepair. CONS: 1) The room reeked of black mold. And in case you weren't sure of that putrid smell, just look up at the mold clusters in the ceiling. 2) Both ice machines in hotel (only on 3rd & 4th floors)were broken and ice was 1/2 mile walk away in hot Miami weather. 3) Beds were lumpy and 10+ years beyond their use. In fact, if you sat at the end of it, you would completely tip the whole bed over. 4) There's one working shuttle and you have to book trips, so it really isn't reliable as a means of seeing Miami. 5) With exception of Cesar, other staff is surly and avoids interaction with guests. 6) Housekeeping left last guests' panty in one of our rooms. 7) No on-site restaurant as described. It was shut down per front desk... I wonder how long it'll take to get the rest of the place shut down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

walk Sunset Drive at night... not too scary and some nice shops.

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Doc Gregory
Business
Boston, MA
Jan 20, 2010

Stay Away from this Hotel

I had to check out of this hotel about 30 minutes after I checked in. There was no warm running water. In trying to address this, the front desk would not answer. The water was just this side of cold. The promised included breakfast become a 20% off coupon. I simply wanted a room in which there was warm running water. Nothing doing. My colleague on the 2nd floor had no problem with their water, however, I was told that all rooms had that level of lack of warm water. I checked out and am asking [...] and the hotel for a refund. BTW, no manager was on duty for four days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
PRP1
Key West, FL today.
Feb 23, 2012

Poor to worse than poor.

I have read and reread my description and can find nothing inappropriate. I can only assume that you do not want an honest appraisal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
budro2
St Louis, MO, USA
Mar 14, 2012

Miami trip

very bad--when i arrived i was informed that I would be billed a $2 per day mandatory security charge plus $8 per day parking. the wireless internet only worked in the lobby. the continental breakfast was bagels and cereal. the mattress on my bed was physically sagging in the middle. the hotel provided only about 15 stations on an old tv

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oakland, CA
Feb 8, 2011

Not Worth It

Soooo many things wrong with this hotel.... 1) Air conditioning unit leaked from ceiling. We asked for it to be fixed twice. No one ever came to fix it. I laid awake at night hearing it drip, drip, drip. 2) Speaking of laying awake all night... mattress was horrendous. I didn't have a backache until after a few nights there. 3) Plumbing was noisy. I could hear pipes running every time someone flushed somewhere in the hotel. Didn't help with my sleeplessness. 4) Crazy screaming people in the lobby at 6 AM Sunday morning. 5) Poor excuse for breakfast. 6) No free parking. 7) Halls smelled like mildew. 8) Room window was bolted shut so no fresh air possible. 9) Basically it was so bad we checked out a day EARLY on a pre-paid stay. That's right. I had already paid for the night and then I paid again to stay down the road at Holiday Inn. Where I got a warm cookie and slept soundly in comfort. Best decision ever. My husband checked in and said he saw multiple people complaining to the front desk, trying to check out early. Front desk worker was unhelpful and rude to them. We should have cut our losses and run. Now we know better. NEVER AGAIN!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top