$65 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 23, 2014 Check-out: Apr 26, 2014

Best Miami Hotel

2 stars
5959 S.W. 71st, Miami, FL 33143
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
217 reviews
Great service, Great Hotel

I stay one night, I liked the hotel, clean, safe, friendly staff, great price. Close to main road,... See full review

  • Jose J
  • Dec 14, 2013
Nice Hotel

The lobby and the room look alright, we had everything we needed. There is no room service so you... See full review

  • Danielle Bosworth
  • Mar 29, 2014
South Miami hotel with free Wi-Fi, shuttle and continental breakfast.

This South Miami hotel is near the University of Miami, Coral Gables and Coconut Grove. The Mediterranean-inspired property has an inner courtyard that rooms overlook. The hotel provides free shuttle services to most area attractions, hospitals and shopping malls, the Miami International Airport, the Port of Miami and cruise ship terminals, and the University of Miami. Amenities include free Wi-Fi and a tropical courtyard and pool.

Highlights
  • Near the University of Miami, Coral Gables and Coconut Grove
  • Two blocks from the Shops at Sunset Place and the South Miami Metrorail Station
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
  • Meeting space for small events
Rooms

Air-conditioned rooms house two double beds or one king bed, a work desk, marble and granite bathrooms and an in-room refrigerator. Decor skews traditional, from patterned bed spreads to brass-framed artwork. Guests can request non-smoking or smoking rooms and suites, which have a microwave. Wi-Fi is free.

Features


The hotel runs a free shuttle service to nearby attractions, hospitals and shopping malls, Miami International Airport, the Port of Miami and cruise ship terminals, and the University of Miami. Guests should check with the hotel for schedules and reservations.

 

There is an onsite outdoor pool with a cascading waterfall. An inner courtyard encloses it.

Transportation

  • Miami International Airport (16 minutes)
  • Miami Convention Center (21 minutes)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (24 minutes)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (41 minutes)
Attractions
  • University of Miami (1.5 mi/ 2.4 km)
  • Lowe Art Museum (1.6 mi/ 2.6 km)
  • Coral Gables (2.2 mi/ 3.5 km)
  • Coconut Grove (2.4 mi/ 3.9 km)
  • Biltmore Golf Course (3.7 mi/ 6 km)
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens (6.2 mi/ 10 km)
Business
  • Event space for up to 120 guests
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
Policies and fees
Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Best Miami Hotel Rooms

Junior Suite
Oversize deluxe junior suite with sitting area and work desk, king size bed, wood floor, marble and granite bathrooms, in-room safe (minimal charge), refrigerator and iron/ ironing board, dual phones and phone lines with internet connection.
Deluxe Double
Beautiful double room with two double beds, wood floor, deluxe marble and granite bathrooms with hair dryers, dual phone lines and internet connection.
Run of House
Room has one King bed. Windows open. Television with premium channels. Free local calls. In room safe (fees apply. Bath amenities include hair dryer and complimentary toiletries. Blackout drapes/curtains, clock radio, and iron/ironing board. Air conditioning. Non-smoking. Refrigetor and Microwave available upon request. (fees apply)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Miami Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

25.7057 -80.2911
Area served
Miami, FL
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport
Area description
Local attractions include:Miami Seaquarium, Miami Museum of Science, Viscaya Museum and Gardens, Fairchild Tropical Gardens, Matheson Hammock Park and beach, Key Biscayne, Lowe Museum of Art, Historical Venetian Pools (natural springs replenishes daily and is made out of natural coral) a true sight!, IMAX, AMC, Actors Playhouse, Coconut Grove Playhouse, The Improv Comedy Club, Gables Stage Theater; Homestead Miami Speedway, University of Miami Hurricanes, and University of Miami Basketball, American Airlines Arena Downtown Miami speedway races; South Miami Hospital, Baptist Hospital, Larkin Hospital, Jackson Memorial Hospital, Doctor's Hospital, Cedars Medical Center, Coral Gables Hospital and Miami Children's Hospital; University of Miami, Ross University/Larkin. Florida International University, Miami Dade Community College-South Campus, Wolfson Campus

Nearby points of interest

  • University of Miami: 1.4 mi
  • Tropical Park: 2.6 mi
  • Pinecrest: 3.1 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 3.3 mi
  • CocoWalk: 3.4 mi
  • Granada: 3.9 mi
  • Bird Bowl: 3.9 mi
  • Temple Israel: 4.4 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 4.4 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Frost Art Museum: 6.1 mi
  • FIU Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Deering Estate: 6.3 mi
  • Marlins Park: 6.7 mi
  • University of Miami: 1.4 mi
  • Tropical Park: 2.6 mi
  • Pinecrest: 3.1 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 3.3 mi
  • CocoWalk: 3.4 mi
  • Granada: 3.9 mi
  • Bird Bowl: 3.9 mi
  • Temple Israel: 4.4 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 4.4 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Frost Art Museum: 6.1 mi
  • FIU Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Deering Estate: 6.3 mi
  • Marlins Park: 6.7 mi
  • Museum of the Americas: 6.7 mi
  • East Little Havana: 6.8 mi
  • Lummus Park: 7.4 mi
  • Miami Dade Public Library: 7.6 mi
  • Ice Palace Film Studios: 7.7 mi
  • Metro Dade Cultural Center: 7.7 mi
  • Miami Seaquarium: 8 mi
  • Freedom Tower: 8.1 mi
  • Bayside Marketplace: 8.2 mi
  • American Airlines Arena: 8.3 mi
  • Miami Metro Zoo: 8.3 mi
  • Tina Hills Pavillion: 8.4 mi
  • Pulse Miami: 8.7 mi
  • Trinity Episcopal Cathedral: 8.7 mi
  • Port of Miami: 8.8 mi
  • Cape Florida Lighthouse: 8.8 mi
  • Joseph Caleb Auditorium: 9 mi
  • Miami Children's Museum: 9 mi
  • Dodge Island: 9.1 mi
  • Jungle Island: 9.1 mi
  • Gold Coast Railroad Museum: 9.2 mi
  • Albertini Arts Gallery: 9.2 mi
  • Palm Island: 9.6 mi
  • Larry and Penny Thompson Campground: 9.9 mi
  • Fisher Island: 10.2 mi
  • Morningside Park: 10.7 mi
  • Bettcher Gallery: 10.8 mi
  • Art Deco District: 11.2 mi
  • Espanola Way: 11.4 mi
  • Lincoln Road Mall: 11.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
1) Ballroom: 38 X 25 Ft. Maximum Capacity: 120 people 2) Conference Room 29 X 11 Ft.- Maximum Capacity: 50 people

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (217)

Ratings and reviews for Best Miami Hotel

Overall score

2.4 / 5
217 out of 217
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
2.9
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.3
Value:
2.8

46% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
jacksonville, fl
Mar 1, 2010

Dont stay here

my first time staying here and my last. it was 50 degrees in the room and they dont have heaters unless your in a smoking room, mold in the room and bathroom, the tv didnt even have a remote i asked and they said no remotes.if u turned the main light off it turned the tv off. And the comp breakfast consists of 2 pieces of toast, jr cup of oj and a cup of coffee. Not happy at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
IOWA
Mar 1, 2010

It was just ok

The hotel itself was not that impressive. I did like that it was quiet but pretty far out of the way. The main reason I chose to stay here was because of the free shuttle to the hotel and to the ship. The ride from the airport to the hotel was a taxi because, even after calling, didn't show up. The room was a little dirty. The bathtub was not very clean and the room smelled a little moldy. I think it served it's purpose for us for one night but would not stay here for an extended period of thim.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Business
DC
Feb 25, 2010

So so, be aware parking charges

Be aware, they will charge you a hidden fee for parking $ 8.05

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

3
El curita
Englewood, NJ
Feb 23, 2010

good

the whole trip the best

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
Worst hotel ever!!!!!
Arcata, Ca
Feb 21, 2010

Miami "WORST" Hotel

This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Poor location, staff was not helpful and rude. Rooms leaked water and smelled of mildew BAD! Both beds in the room were broken. I would not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy in world!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
hartford ct
Feb 21, 2010

ok for price

no breakfast only toast, OJ and nasty coffee dont have face cloths electrical outlets only work when the want to

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

4
KieleMoani
Seattle, WA
Feb 15, 2010

Clean and safe, with personality.

I was pleasantly surprised by this one. [...] The room was clean, even though it was a "smoking" room - which we didn't mind anyway because we both smoke. The a/c and heater both worked. The shower was AWESOME; super hot and powerful. There was a somewhat noticeable mold aroma in certain areas but I used to live in Hawai'i and you just get used to that sort of thing in humid climates. The parking structure was a multi-floor garage, and while it didn't seem like it was being monitored, I felt safe keeping my rental there for the weekend. The restaurant and bar were open. While I don't think that french fries necessarily go with breakfast, I would say that the omelette was not inedible. (For lunch or dinner, try the Havana Spice Cafe down the street, the grouper with creole sauce was AMAZING!) The bar in the hotel has a decent selection, what with my favorite gin (Hendricks) and a reasonable Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc. Prices were a bit high, but it was worth it for the convenience and atmosphere. The staff was pleasant, accomodating, and even pretty personable. If you don't like the sterile, empty hotel chains that seem to generally monopolize these type of websites, then this hotel is for you; charming, inexpensive, and unique.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Havana Spice Cafe: grouper with creole sauce, and the fried plantains. I think I like Cuban food...

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
Doc Gregory
Business
Boston, MA
Jan 20, 2010

Stay Away from this Hotel

I had to check out of this hotel about 30 minutes after I checked in. There was no warm running water. In trying to address this, the front desk would not answer. The water was just this side of cold. The promised included breakfast become a 20% off coupon. I simply wanted a room in which there was warm running water. Nothing doing. My colleague on the 2nd floor had no problem with their water, however, I was told that all rooms had that level of lack of warm water. I checked out and am asking [...] and the hotel for a refund. BTW, no manager was on duty for four days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
VA
Jan 14, 2010

Old but Good

Old, and a little bit dark, but rather clean. Good internet connection.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Mississippi
Jan 13, 2010

You get what you pay for.

Very affordable place and great service. However they have no heaters in the hotel, the showers drip and are moldy, and there was hair on the sheets and pillows. Besides that it is ok and is very close to Coconut Grove and Coral Gables.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top