$48 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2014 Check-out: Aug 3, 2014

Best Miami Hotel

2 stars
5959 S.W. 71st, Miami, FL 33143
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
337 reviews
Great service, Great Hotel

I stay one night, I liked the hotel, clean, safe, friendly staff, great price. Close to main road,... See full review

  • Jose J
  • Dec 14, 2013
Great

Last second booking, truly miamis best kept secret, family atmosphere! See full review

  • Ambi bear
  • Jun 8, 2014
South Miami hotel with free Wi-Fi, shuttle and continental breakfast.

This South Miami hotel is near the University of Miami, Coral Gables and Coconut Grove. The Mediterranean-inspired property has an inner courtyard that rooms overlook. The hotel provides free shuttle services to most area attractions, hospitals and shopping malls, the Miami International Airport, the Port of Miami and cruise ship terminals, and the University of Miami. Amenities include free Wi-Fi and a tropical courtyard and pool.

Highlights
  • Near the University of Miami, Coral Gables and Coconut Grove
  • Two blocks from the Shops at Sunset Place and the South Miami Metrorail Station
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
  • Meeting space for small events
Rooms

Air-conditioned rooms house two double beds or one king bed, a work desk, marble and granite bathrooms and an in-room refrigerator. Decor skews traditional, from patterned bed spreads to brass-framed artwork. Guests can request non-smoking or smoking rooms and suites, which have a microwave. Wi-Fi is free.

Features


The hotel runs a free shuttle service to nearby attractions, hospitals and shopping malls, Miami International Airport, the Port of Miami and cruise ship terminals, and the University of Miami. Guests should check with the hotel for schedules and reservations.

 

There is an onsite outdoor pool with a cascading waterfall. An inner courtyard encloses it.

Transportation

  • Miami International Airport (16 minutes)
  • Miami Convention Center (21 minutes)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (24 minutes)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (41 minutes)
Attractions
  • University of Miami (1.5 mi/ 2.4 km)
  • Lowe Art Museum (1.6 mi/ 2.6 km)
  • Coral Gables (2.2 mi/ 3.5 km)
  • Coconut Grove (2.4 mi/ 3.9 km)
  • Biltmore Golf Course (3.7 mi/ 6 km)
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens (6.2 mi/ 10 km)
Business
  • Event space for up to 120 guests
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
Policies and fees
Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

25.7057 -80.2911
Area served
Miami, FL
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport
Area description
Local attractions include:Miami Seaquarium, Miami Museum of Science, Viscaya Museum and Gardens, Fairchild Tropical Gardens, Matheson Hammock Park and beach, Key Biscayne, Lowe Museum of Art, Historical Venetian Pools (natural springs replenishes daily and is made out of natural coral) a true sight!, IMAX, AMC, Actors Playhouse, Coconut Grove Playhouse, The Improv Comedy Club, Gables Stage Theater; Homestead Miami Speedway, University of Miami Hurricanes, and University of Miami Basketball, American Airlines Arena Downtown Miami speedway races; South Miami Hospital, Baptist Hospital, Larkin Hospital, Jackson Memorial Hospital, Doctor's Hospital, Cedars Medical Center, Coral Gables Hospital and Miami Children's Hospital; University of Miami, Ross University/Larkin. Florida International University, Miami Dade Community College-South Campus, Wolfson Campus

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Miami Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Best Miami Hotel Rooms

Junior Suite
Oversize deluxe junior suite with sitting area and work desk, king size bed, wood floor, marble and granite bathrooms, in-room safe (minimal charge), refrigerator and iron/ ironing board, dual phones and phone lines with internet connection.
Deluxe Double
Beautiful double room with two double beds, wood floor, deluxe marble and granite bathrooms with hair dryers, dual phone lines and internet connection.
Run of House
Room has one King bed. Windows open. Television with premium channels. Free local calls. In room safe (fees apply. Bath amenities include hair dryer and complimentary toiletries. Blackout drapes/curtains, clock radio, and iron/ironing board. Air conditioning. Non-smoking. Refrigetor and Microwave available upon request. (fees apply)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • University of Miami: 1.4 mi
  • Tropical Park: 2.6 mi
  • Pinecrest: 3.1 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 3.3 mi
  • CocoWalk: 3.4 mi
  • Granada: 3.9 mi
  • Bird Bowl: 3.9 mi
  • Temple Israel: 4.4 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 4.4 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Frost Art Museum: 6.1 mi
  • FIU Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Deering Estate: 6.3 mi
  • Marlins Park: 6.7 mi
  • University of Miami: 1.4 mi
  • Tropical Park: 2.6 mi
  • Pinecrest: 3.1 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 3.3 mi
  • CocoWalk: 3.4 mi
  • Granada: 3.9 mi
  • Bird Bowl: 3.9 mi
  • Temple Israel: 4.4 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 4.4 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Frost Art Museum: 6.1 mi
  • FIU Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Deering Estate: 6.3 mi
  • Marlins Park: 6.7 mi
  • Museum of the Americas: 6.7 mi
  • East Little Havana: 6.8 mi
  • Lummus Park: 7.4 mi
  • Miami Dade Public Library: 7.6 mi
  • Ice Palace Film Studios: 7.7 mi
  • Metro Dade Cultural Center: 7.7 mi
  • Miami Seaquarium: 8 mi
  • Freedom Tower: 8.1 mi
  • Bayside Marketplace: 8.2 mi
  • American Airlines Arena: 8.3 mi
  • Miami Metro Zoo: 8.3 mi
  • Tina Hills Pavillion: 8.4 mi
  • Pulse Miami: 8.7 mi
  • Trinity Episcopal Cathedral: 8.7 mi
  • Port of Miami: 8.8 mi
  • Cape Florida Lighthouse: 8.8 mi
  • Joseph Caleb Auditorium: 9 mi
  • Miami Children's Museum: 9 mi
  • Dodge Island: 9.1 mi
  • Jungle Island: 9.1 mi
  • Gold Coast Railroad Museum: 9.2 mi
  • Albertini Arts Gallery: 9.2 mi
  • Palm Island: 9.6 mi
  • Larry and Penny Thompson Campground: 9.9 mi
  • Fisher Island: 10.2 mi
  • Morningside Park: 10.7 mi
  • Bettcher Gallery: 10.8 mi
  • Art Deco District: 11.2 mi
  • Espanola Way: 11.4 mi
  • Lincoln Road Mall: 11.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
1) Ballroom: 38 X 25 Ft. Maximum Capacity: 120 people 2) Conference Room 29 X 11 Ft.- Maximum Capacity: 50 people

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (337)

Ratings and reviews for Best Miami Hotel

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
337 out of 337
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.4
Value:
3

50% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Bedford, MA
Feb 22, 2011

This place was not as described online.

This place was not as described online.. From the time we got picked up by are complimentry shuttle. First we had to wait almost an hour and a half after a long flight before the shuttle came to pick us up. the shuttle was all beat up with the check engine light on... We get to the HOTEL wich realy was hidden. We pulled up to the front and noticed that the sign that once said BEST WESTERN was scraped off and just said BEST....So that just didn't look right to us.. We went in to check ourselves in.. Are reservation was there so that wasn't a problem. The lobby was very nice had the aroma of stale cigarettes. That was a turn off...Mind you, we didn't know what to do being that if we complianed we didn't know if that would alter are package deal that we got with tickets included. We proceeded to are room wich was horrible. Room again smelt old and musty, comforter on one of the beds had a big giant hole in it... There was spider webs hanging from corners in the room. The phone didn't work not even to call the front desk. we requested an iron that was completley burnt on the bottom.. There was no restraunt or lounge inside of the place that worked... The restraunt was there but the doors had pad locks on them and the place looked abandoned.. Couldn't even get a drink to relax.. The swiming pool looked nice, but it was incased in dead palm trees and wilted plants. I couldn't tell if the object of to the side was supposed to be a jacuzzi or fish bowl,water fountain????? Very weird... And the continental breakfast consited of nasty burnt coffee, ceral that was dumped into large bowls we had to scoop out with soup spoons.. The toaster was broken. So we had to hold the metal piece that stuck out just to toast are bagel.. And the donuts and pecan pinwheels looked like they where all crushed up.. The place just WAS NOT what they made it out to be AT ALL... The only thing I can give this place credit for is the area it was in.. Very, very close to the shopping mall and plenty of places to eat.. That was the only thing that saved us. Oh and I can't forget we always had clean linen everytime we left and came back...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Bedford, MA
Feb 22, 2011

This place was not as described online.

This place was not as described online.. From the time we got picked up by are complimentry shuttle. First we had to wait almost an hour and a half after a long flight before the shuttle came to pick us up. the shuttle was all beat up with the check engine light on... We get to the HOTEL wich realy was hidden. We pulled up to the front and noticed that the sign that once said BEST WESTERN was scraped off and just said BEST....So that just didn't look right to us.. We went in to check ourselves in.. Are reservation was there so that wasn't a problem. The lobby was very nice had the aroma of stale cigarettes. That was a turn off...Mind you, we didn't know what to do being that if we complianed we didn't know if that would alter are package deal that we got with tickets included. We proceeded to are room wich was horrible. Room again smelt old and musty, comforter on one of the beds had a big giant hole in it... There was spider webs hanging from corners in the room. The phone didn't work not even to call the front desk. we requested an iron that was completley burnt on the bottom.. There was no restraunt or lounge inside of the place that worked... The restraunt was there but the doors had pad locks on them and the place looked abandoned.. Couldn't even get a drink to relax.. The swiming pool looked nice, but it was incased in dead palm trees and wilted plants. I couldn't tell if the object of to the side was supposed to be a jacuzzi or fish bowl,water fountain????? Very weird... And the continental breakfast consited of nasty burnt coffee, ceral that was dumped into large bowls we had to scoop out with soup spoons.. The toaster was broken. So we had to hold the metal piece that stuck out just to toast are bagel.. And the donuts and pecan pinwheels looked like they where all crushed up.. The place just WAS NOT what they made it out to be AT ALL... The only thing I can give this place credit for is the area it was in.. Very, very close to the shopping mall and plenty of places to eat.. That was the only thing that saved us. Oh and I can't forget we always had clean linen everytime we left and came back...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
St Simons Island, GA
Feb 21, 2011

Not the best Miami hotel

This hotel was not good. The fridge was noisy, the inroom phone did not work (reported broken but never fixed), the TV remote did not work, the room had a mould smell, there were no safes. The hotel did not have our checkin information the day we were to arrive so I had to call [...]to resolve- [...]All in all not a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

don't eat at the hotel - except breakfast

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
St Augustine, Florida
Feb 11, 2011

Excellent location for the price

Aside from breakfast, we spent very little time doing anything at the hotel. We had family business that took up most of our time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
St Augustine, Florida
Feb 11, 2011

Excellent location for the price

Aside from breakfast, we spent very little time doing anything at the hotel. We had family business that took up most of our time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oakland, CA
Feb 8, 2011

Not Worth It

Soooo many things wrong with this hotel.... 1) Air conditioning unit leaked from ceiling. We asked for it to be fixed twice. No one ever came to fix it. I laid awake at night hearing it drip, drip, drip. 2) Speaking of laying awake all night... mattress was horrendous. I didn't have a backache until after a few nights there. 3) Plumbing was noisy. I could hear pipes running every time someone flushed somewhere in the hotel. Didn't help with my sleeplessness. 4) Crazy screaming people in the lobby at 6 AM Sunday morning. 5) Poor excuse for breakfast. 6) No free parking. 7) Halls smelled like mildew. 8) Room window was bolted shut so no fresh air possible. 9) Basically it was so bad we checked out a day EARLY on a pre-paid stay. That's right. I had already paid for the night and then I paid again to stay down the road at Holiday Inn. Where I got a warm cookie and slept soundly in comfort. Best decision ever. My husband checked in and said he saw multiple people complaining to the front desk, trying to check out early. Front desk worker was unhelpful and rude to them. We should have cut our losses and run. Now we know better. NEVER AGAIN!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oakland, CA
Feb 8, 2011

Not Worth It

Soooo many things wrong with this hotel.... 1) Air conditioning unit leaked from ceiling. We asked for it to be fixed twice. No one ever came to fix it. I laid awake at night hearing it drip, drip, drip. 2) Speaking of laying awake all night... mattress was horrendous. I didn't have a backache until after a few nights there. 3) Plumbing was noisy. I could hear pipes running every time someone flushed somewhere in the hotel. Didn't help with my sleeplessness. 4) Crazy screaming people in the lobby at 6 AM Sunday morning. 5) Poor excuse for breakfast. 6) No free parking. 7) Halls smelled like mildew. 8) Room window was bolted shut so no fresh air possible. 9) Basically it was so bad we checked out a day EARLY on a pre-paid stay. That's right. I had already paid for the night and then I paid again to stay down the road at Holiday Inn. Where I got a warm cookie and slept soundly in comfort. Best decision ever. My husband checked in and said he saw multiple people complaining to the front desk, trying to check out early. Front desk worker was unhelpful and rude to them. We should have cut our losses and run. Now we know better. NEVER AGAIN!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bball14
fairlfield ct
Feb 7, 2011

not bad

its in a really good area right next to sunset mall. not bad for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bball14
fairlfield ct
Feb 7, 2011

not bad

its in a really good area right next to sunset mall. not bad for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Upstate NY
Feb 2, 2011

Strange Evening.....

We got in very late due to flight cancellations/rescheduling. Upon arrival at 12:30pm the lobby was full of people standing around while the clerk worked at the computer. We waited 20 minutes until we were checked in. The room smelled damp and musty, and was average overall. We had to check out early the next day, and it wasn't until then we noticed our room had an exit onto a deck that encircled the pool. It looked nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top