$62 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2015 Check-out: Apr 30, 2015

Best Miami Hotel

2 stars
View map of 5959 S.W. 71st, Miami, FL 33143

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Best Miami Hotel

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
257 out of 257
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
2.9
Comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.3
Value:
2.9

48% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, CA
Jun 5, 2011

Worst Miami hotel

I booked my extended family of 10 here for our post-cruise stay in Miami b/c I thought it was a good deal and we could take advantage of their free shuttles to different locales to sight-see. Big mistake! It was so bad we checked out early. PROS: 1) Cesar, the friendliest hotel concierge ever. 2) Beautiful lobby. This is evidently where they poured all of their money into and even it is falling into disrepair. CONS: 1) The room reeked of black mold. And in case you weren't sure of that putrid smell, just look up at the mold clusters in the ceiling. 2) Both ice machines in hotel (only on 3rd & 4th floors)were broken and ice was 1/2 mile walk away in hot Miami weather. 3) Beds were lumpy and 10+ years beyond their use. In fact, if you sat at the end of it, you would completely tip the whole bed over. 4) There's one working shuttle and you have to book trips, so it really isn't reliable as a means of seeing Miami. 5) With exception of Cesar, other staff is surly and avoids interaction with guests. 6) Housekeeping left last guests' panty in one of our rooms. 7) No on-site restaurant as described. It was shut down per front desk... I wonder how long it'll take to get the rest of the place shut down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

walk Sunset Drive at night... not too scary and some nice shops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
betty sue
Business
Florida
Jun 1, 2011

Best Miami Hotel

Looks run down and moldy on the outside. They dont have any of the things in the description except a pool. There wasnt a microwave in our room. There was mold in the ceilings that look like they painted over it. We had to pay for parking for each night we stayed there and a $150 deposit in which neither of these things were told to me when I booked the hotel. Shower was dirty and some of the plugs in the rooms did not have covers over them. The front desk representatives were not very helpful and a little rude. They first room they gave us was someone elses room then they gave us the wrong keys and door number to the second room. Also the ice machines had no ice and the window in the room did not have a screen. We were not in the room alot so we were able to just put up with it but I advise no one to stay there and we will never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Dadeland mall was down the street like 2 miles. Also there were lots of restauraunts and it was only like 15 min away from south beac.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
May 31, 2011

Best Miami Hotel?

After reading the negative comments about this hotel I somehow believed it couldn't be that bad, espcecially since we didn't intend on spending the entire time actually at the hotel. From the moment we arrived we heard rumours of bed bugs (which was addressed in previous visitors' comments). We passed it off but there were issues from the first night. The ceiling in our room began leaking; water was not dripping but actually flowing from the ceiling! We asked to be relocated AND upgraded, but the person at the front desk claimed that they were fully booked (which we highly doubted!). Unfortunately by the time hotel staff arrived, the leaking had reduced to a trickle. The hotel staff tried to convince us that we caused it by taking off the air condition for a long period. We were eventually moved (not upgraded though), but they seemed aprehensive to do so. We felt like they did not believe us and were just causing trouble. However, the flow began again and the hotel staff was called in time to see it. Only then they realised that it was due to a leaking bathroom on the floor above. The breakfast was another issue. This was also raised by other visitors on this site. Their wasn't a variety at all and who in their right mind gives Fruit Loops cereal to adults!!!! The lack of English-speaking staff members was another story. I understand that Miami has a high population of Spanish-speaking residents, but this is the United States of America - an English speaking country! Bilingual staff would have been greatly appreciated. It was a task for us to communicate the need for extra towels and toilet paper!! The hotel shuttle was relatively reliable. We only had a problem when we were leaving for the airport. Apparently the shuttle begins its operations at 8:00 am so if you have a flight that departs before 10:00 am, you need to call a taxi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Sunset Plaza is walking distance away with stores such as Victoria Secrets, Aeropostale, Armani, Forever 21 and many more. There is also an Imax theatre and excellent restaurants and fast food outlets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
south miami
May 21, 2011

Great Location

Sleep,Everything was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Iuliano
Business
San Juan, PR
Apr 28, 2011

Nice place for the price

very nivel hotel, good location. Only issue wad no shuttle during my staying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MNdv
Business
Puerto Rico
Apr 21, 2011

dirt!!!

the room and the hotel are dirty. The bath was same. I do not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle Wa
Apr 19, 2011

It should stay a secret

Worst mattress I ever slept on. A coat of paint and new beds would have made me overlook many of this hotels shortcomings. For example, lack of lights, towels, and the bar restaurant claimed in the ad. The elevator was scary, the free breakfast was fruit loops, and the staff lacked a basic understanding of english. I have heard you get what you pay for, in this case I didn't! The only positive things I can list is the pool and free shuttle to/from the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mvaldeslora
Business
Athens, Greece
Apr 10, 2011

You Get What You Pay For

I went to visit my daughter at UM and just needed a place to spend the night. Nothing more and nothing less. The hotel served it purpose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tinks mom
Business
Cocoa, Florida
Apr 9, 2011

looks are decieving!

It was nothing that I read about. First when we got there they charged a $50 fee in case the room was messed up. We got to our room and the light was broken and the phone was broken. They moved us to another room. Bathroom was dirty, the floors, were dirty, the beds made noises. Ice machine was broken, vending machines were broken, and there are NO restaurants or bars at the hotel. The good things are that everything is really in walking distance and the people we met that were staying their as well were so nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mopanglow
Business
fl
Apr 1, 2011

good

it was fine we didnt stay in the room very much. it was in a good location so you should not be spending much time in the room. if you plan on spending more time in the room then your need to sleep i suggest a different hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top