$65 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2014 Check-out: Apr 29, 2014

Best Miami Hotel

2 stars
5959 S.W. 71st, Miami, FL 33143
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
217 reviews
Great service, Great Hotel

I stay one night, I liked the hotel, clean, safe, friendly staff, great price. Close to main road,... See full review

  • Jose J
  • Dec 14, 2013
Nice Hotel

The lobby and the room look alright, we had everything we needed. There is no room service so you... See full review

  • Danielle Bosworth
  • Mar 29, 2014
South Miami hotel with free Wi-Fi, shuttle and continental breakfast.

This South Miami hotel is near the University of Miami, Coral Gables and Coconut Grove. The Mediterranean-inspired property has an inner courtyard that rooms overlook. The hotel provides free shuttle services to most area attractions, hospitals and shopping malls, the Miami International Airport, the Port of Miami and cruise ship terminals, and the University of Miami. Amenities include free Wi-Fi and a tropical courtyard and pool.

Highlights
  • Near the University of Miami, Coral Gables and Coconut Grove
  • Two blocks from the Shops at Sunset Place and the South Miami Metrorail Station
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
  • Meeting space for small events
Rooms

Air-conditioned rooms house two double beds or one king bed, a work desk, marble and granite bathrooms and an in-room refrigerator. Decor skews traditional, from patterned bed spreads to brass-framed artwork. Guests can request non-smoking or smoking rooms and suites, which have a microwave. Wi-Fi is free.

Features


The hotel runs a free shuttle service to nearby attractions, hospitals and shopping malls, Miami International Airport, the Port of Miami and cruise ship terminals, and the University of Miami. Guests should check with the hotel for schedules and reservations.

 

There is an onsite outdoor pool with a cascading waterfall. An inner courtyard encloses it.

Transportation

  • Miami International Airport (16 minutes)
  • Miami Convention Center (21 minutes)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (24 minutes)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (41 minutes)
Attractions
  • University of Miami (1.5 mi/ 2.4 km)
  • Lowe Art Museum (1.6 mi/ 2.6 km)
  • Coral Gables (2.2 mi/ 3.5 km)
  • Coconut Grove (2.4 mi/ 3.9 km)
  • Biltmore Golf Course (3.7 mi/ 6 km)
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens (6.2 mi/ 10 km)
Business
  • Event space for up to 120 guests
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
Policies and fees
Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Best Miami Hotel Rooms

Junior Suite
Oversize deluxe junior suite with sitting area and work desk, king size bed, wood floor, marble and granite bathrooms, in-room safe (minimal charge), refrigerator and iron/ ironing board, dual phones and phone lines with internet connection.
Deluxe Double
Beautiful double room with two double beds, wood floor, deluxe marble and granite bathrooms with hair dryers, dual phone lines and internet connection.
Run of House
Room has one King bed. Windows open. Television with premium channels. Free local calls. In room safe (fees apply. Bath amenities include hair dryer and complimentary toiletries. Blackout drapes/curtains, clock radio, and iron/ironing board. Air conditioning. Non-smoking. Refrigetor and Microwave available upon request. (fees apply)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Miami Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

25.7057 -80.2911
Area served
Miami, FL
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport
Area description
Local attractions include:Miami Seaquarium, Miami Museum of Science, Viscaya Museum and Gardens, Fairchild Tropical Gardens, Matheson Hammock Park and beach, Key Biscayne, Lowe Museum of Art, Historical Venetian Pools (natural springs replenishes daily and is made out of natural coral) a true sight!, IMAX, AMC, Actors Playhouse, Coconut Grove Playhouse, The Improv Comedy Club, Gables Stage Theater; Homestead Miami Speedway, University of Miami Hurricanes, and University of Miami Basketball, American Airlines Arena Downtown Miami speedway races; South Miami Hospital, Baptist Hospital, Larkin Hospital, Jackson Memorial Hospital, Doctor's Hospital, Cedars Medical Center, Coral Gables Hospital and Miami Children's Hospital; University of Miami, Ross University/Larkin. Florida International University, Miami Dade Community College-South Campus, Wolfson Campus

Nearby points of interest

  • University of Miami: 1.4 mi
  • Tropical Park: 2.6 mi
  • Pinecrest: 3.1 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 3.3 mi
  • CocoWalk: 3.4 mi
  • Granada: 3.9 mi
  • Bird Bowl: 3.9 mi
  • Temple Israel: 4.4 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 4.4 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Frost Art Museum: 6.1 mi
  • FIU Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Deering Estate: 6.3 mi
  • Marlins Park: 6.7 mi
  • University of Miami: 1.4 mi
  • Tropical Park: 2.6 mi
  • Pinecrest: 3.1 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 3.3 mi
  • CocoWalk: 3.4 mi
  • Granada: 3.9 mi
  • Bird Bowl: 3.9 mi
  • Temple Israel: 4.4 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 4.4 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Frost Art Museum: 6.1 mi
  • FIU Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Deering Estate: 6.3 mi
  • Marlins Park: 6.7 mi
  • Museum of the Americas: 6.7 mi
  • East Little Havana: 6.8 mi
  • Lummus Park: 7.4 mi
  • Miami Dade Public Library: 7.6 mi
  • Ice Palace Film Studios: 7.7 mi
  • Metro Dade Cultural Center: 7.7 mi
  • Miami Seaquarium: 8 mi
  • Freedom Tower: 8.1 mi
  • Bayside Marketplace: 8.2 mi
  • American Airlines Arena: 8.3 mi
  • Miami Metro Zoo: 8.3 mi
  • Tina Hills Pavillion: 8.4 mi
  • Pulse Miami: 8.7 mi
  • Trinity Episcopal Cathedral: 8.7 mi
  • Port of Miami: 8.8 mi
  • Cape Florida Lighthouse: 8.8 mi
  • Joseph Caleb Auditorium: 9 mi
  • Miami Children's Museum: 9 mi
  • Dodge Island: 9.1 mi
  • Jungle Island: 9.1 mi
  • Gold Coast Railroad Museum: 9.2 mi
  • Albertini Arts Gallery: 9.2 mi
  • Palm Island: 9.6 mi
  • Larry and Penny Thompson Campground: 9.9 mi
  • Fisher Island: 10.2 mi
  • Morningside Park: 10.7 mi
  • Bettcher Gallery: 10.8 mi
  • Art Deco District: 11.2 mi
  • Espanola Way: 11.4 mi
  • Lincoln Road Mall: 11.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
1) Ballroom: 38 X 25 Ft. Maximum Capacity: 120 people 2) Conference Room 29 X 11 Ft.- Maximum Capacity: 50 people

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (217)

Ratings and reviews for Best Miami Hotel

Overall score

2.4 / 5
217 out of 217
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
2.9
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.3
Value:
2.8

46% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Business
lake worth florida
Oct 26, 2010

No real problem

The wifi's only in lobby, continental bfast was 7:30. Those were my main interests so just in case anyone else out there's in same boat. Bed comfortable,beautiful exterior, rooms fine. Fridge,ironing stuff, one wall lamp didn't work or have any switches. YOU HAVE TO PAY TO PARK, is this a miami thing or just this hotel? (i don't know).Oh some elevators didn't work and if you have problems getting around this hotel is slightly unfriendly. There is a 25 dollar deposit they apparently refund, still waiting the 2 days it takes. If you pay in advance tell them that- so you don't wait there forever waiting for them to get to your reservation in the computer, wasted my time that way. No real issues beyond what was mentioned. Oh the window was screwed shut. But really unless your real posh, it's not at all terrible. go for this one...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Florida
Oct 11, 2010

Great location but that's it!

I love the area, I'm a former UM student & was visiting for a big game. That considered the location was perfect! Very safe, walked to Sunset for shopping & lunch, close to great night spots. The pool area is small but cute. Price was amazing. The rooms however are basically GROSS! They need renovating badly. Paint was touched up in the wrong color, making old damage very obvious, and there was much more it needed. The a/c was loud and leaking, and it was dirty- there was hair everywhere - in the sheets, bathrooms, towels, etc., which is repulsive. I tried to see if they had some type of upgrade but no such luck. The fridge was teeny tiny, old & rusted, I was afraid to open it. Wood floors, I wore my shoes the whole time & wish I brought shower shoes. I would not stay there again but in a pinch on a budget, I guess it's not the worst thing ever. I'd prefer a name I know next time. Maybe after a good renovation it would be great,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Sunset Place is right across the street which is great for shopping and some restaurants. Also super close to Coconut Grove (restaurants/bars/shopping), Dadeland, not a bad drive to South Beach if you wanted to go there for fun. Very close to UM too. Supposedly they have a free shuttle but it was "broken". Never saw it. Parking is $8/night

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CR
Oct 8, 2010

Not the best Miami Hotel

not the kind of place you want to stay many days

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

2
black barbie
OCALA, FL
Sep 28, 2010

THE GOOD & THE BAD

WE WANT TO SEE THE FOOTBALL GAME. WE HAD TO PAY FOR PARKING IN THE HOTEL. IT WAS $7.50 A NIGHT. SO I DID NOT LIKE THAT WHEN YOU GO TO A HOTEL YOU SHOULD NOT HAVE TO PAY FOR PARKING. BREAKFAST WAS NOT ALL THAT. THEY HAD A BIG BOWL FLASKS AND THAT'S ALL. IF YOU LIKE EGGS OR SOMETHING ELSE YOU HAVE TO PAY FOR IT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Annearay
New York
Aug 23, 2010

Really Nice

The staff couldn't have been nicer! We arrived late and they thought we weren't coming and cancelled our reservation. The gentleman at the desk was so nice he started a new reservation while smiling the whole time. The staff at the resturant were so pleasant and easy to chat with.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Colorado
Aug 17, 2010

Very poor hotel

Not clean. Dirty carpets, dirty bedspread, lumpy mattress.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Beirut, Lebanon
Jul 2, 2010

Good value for money

Best Miami Hotel offers a good value for money if you intend to stay in the Coral Gables area. The rooms are big and well equipped and the service is decent in respect to other locations. Too bad no Internet in the rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Rob and Carrie
Tampa, Florida USA
Jun 29, 2010

GREAT Price, AWESOME Miami Location

The entrance needed some cleaning and attention nevertheless, the lobby was very pretty but seemed like a ghost town. The lobby bar was closed and there is only one person at a time behind the front desk. The pool was clean and the hotel restaurant is a combination of Mediterranean (Arab) and Itallian. We did not eat their food but ordered drinks instead. They were very pricy at over 70.00 for 7 drinks. The rooms were clean but unfinished. The closet had no doors, there was no quarter round on the edge of the new laminate floors they installed and EVERY MORNING, although we had a "Do No Disturb" sign up, the maids would come knocking at our door beginning at 7:30AM thru 10:30AM. This was inconvenient since we were clubbing in Miami until about 6:00AM. We had little chance to sleep well without being disturbed by the maids. Otherwise, the location of this hotel was EXCELLENT as it was right off US1, close to Coconut Grove, S. Miami Hospital is around the corner, Kendall/Dadeland is 7 minutes away and I-95 takes you right to Key Biscayne, Downtown Miami and South Beach. Its Location is MORE THAN worth what you pay. We would definitely stay there again with a BIGGER DO NOT DISTURB sign on the door. ALSO NOTE, they own their own inside parking but DO NOT disclose to you that they charge you an ADDITIONAL 8-10.00 daily to park. The gate at the parking garage never closes so they do not offer much security. Just remember to add that amount to whatever the daily room rate there is.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bring your cooler with drinks and order pizza from a local restaurant.

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

1
Hotel Man
Stevens Point, WI
Jun 23, 2010

Worse Hotel Ever!

I initially called the hotel to recheck my room availability and the gentleman at the desk snapped at me asking me if I wanted to cancel my reservation. When I arrived at the hotel, I was ignored by the hotel staff and upon getting their attention away from the TV displaying the World Cup, they booked me into two rooms that were not "connected" to each other when I specifically requested ajoining rooms. They noted they didn't have any rooms that were joined together by a door. After going into our assigned room I found out that there were ajoining rooms and requested that my rooms be changed. The representative that checked me in gave me attitude about changing rooms, but did eventually reassign me to two different rooms that were "connected". "You get what you pay for" and apparently, this hotel had horrible rooms that did not lock properly. I was able to get into the other room with a different assigned card, thus the card scanners were not functioning properly. Also, the refrigerators in the rooms were leaking and the beds had a large dip in the center of them as if a child had been jumping on the bed non-stop for 3 days. As for the "free continental breakfast", they only had orange juice, toast, cereal, and some dry shortcake. Everything else displayed was order only from a menu. I've stayed at a Best Western and they served better breakfasts then this cheap hotel. On our last day while we were leaving and cleaning up the rooms, we found empty roach egg pods inbetween the molding on the base of the hard wood floors. They noted that this is the "Best Miami Hotel" and it's the "Best kept secret". Unfortunately, the hotel was the Worst Hotel I've stayed at in Miami and if there was a secret, I'd be better off not knowing what it was. I'd give this hotel -5 stars, but on a 1 - 5 star system, my only choice would be a 1, and that's because of the microwave. Pay the extra $40 dollars and stay at a better kept hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

5
paisa
texas
Jun 12, 2010

great for a low price

Love the decorations

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top