$48 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 15, 2014 Check-out: Sep 16, 2014

Best Miami Hotel

2 stars
5959 S.W. 71st, Miami, FL 33143
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
228 reviews
Great service, Great Hotel

I stay one night, I liked the hotel, clean, safe, friendly staff, great price. Close to main road,... See full review

  • Jose J
  • Dec 14, 2013
Great

Last second booking, truly miamis best kept secret, family atmosphere! See full review

  • Ambi bear
  • Jun 8, 2014
South Miami hotel with free Wi-Fi, shuttle and continental breakfast.

This South Miami hotel is near the University of Miami, Coral Gables and Coconut Grove. The Mediterranean-inspired property has an inner courtyard that rooms overlook. The hotel provides free shuttle services to most area attractions, hospitals and shopping malls, the Miami International Airport, the Port of Miami and cruise ship terminals, and the University of Miami. Amenities include free Wi-Fi and a tropical courtyard and pool.

Highlights
  • Near the University of Miami, Coral Gables and Coconut Grove
  • Two blocks from the Shops at Sunset Place and the South Miami Metrorail Station
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
  • Meeting space for small events
Rooms

Air-conditioned rooms house two double beds or one king bed, a work desk, marble and granite bathrooms and an in-room refrigerator. Decor skews traditional, from patterned bed spreads to brass-framed artwork. Guests can request non-smoking or smoking rooms and suites, which have a microwave. Wi-Fi is free.

Features


The hotel runs a free shuttle service to nearby attractions, hospitals and shopping malls, Miami International Airport, the Port of Miami and cruise ship terminals, and the University of Miami. Guests should check with the hotel for schedules and reservations.

 

There is an onsite outdoor pool with a cascading waterfall. An inner courtyard encloses it.

Transportation

  • Miami International Airport (16 minutes)
  • Miami Convention Center (21 minutes)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (24 minutes)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (41 minutes)
Attractions
  • University of Miami (1.5 mi/ 2.4 km)
  • Lowe Art Museum (1.6 mi/ 2.6 km)
  • Coral Gables (2.2 mi/ 3.5 km)
  • Coconut Grove (2.4 mi/ 3.9 km)
  • Biltmore Golf Course (3.7 mi/ 6 km)
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens (6.2 mi/ 10 km)
Business
  • Event space for up to 120 guests
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
Policies and fees
Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

25.7057 -80.2911
Area served
Miami, FL
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport
Area description
Local attractions include:Miami Seaquarium, Miami Museum of Science, Viscaya Museum and Gardens, Fairchild Tropical Gardens, Matheson Hammock Park and beach, Key Biscayne, Lowe Museum of Art, Historical Venetian Pools (natural springs replenishes daily and is made out of natural coral) a true sight!, IMAX, AMC, Actors Playhouse, Coconut Grove Playhouse, The Improv Comedy Club, Gables Stage Theater; Homestead Miami Speedway, University of Miami Hurricanes, and University of Miami Basketball, American Airlines Arena Downtown Miami speedway races; South Miami Hospital, Baptist Hospital, Larkin Hospital, Jackson Memorial Hospital, Doctor's Hospital, Cedars Medical Center, Coral Gables Hospital and Miami Children's Hospital; University of Miami, Ross University/Larkin. Florida International University, Miami Dade Community College-South Campus, Wolfson Campus

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Miami Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Best Miami Hotel Rooms

Run of House
Room has one King bed. Windows open. Television with premium channels. Free local calls. In room safe (fees apply. Bath amenities include hair dryer and complimentary toiletries. Blackout drapes/curtains, clock radio, and iron/ironing board. Air conditioning. Non-smoking. Refrigetor and Microwave available upon request. (fees apply)
Junior Suite
Oversize deluxe junior suite with sitting area and work desk, king size bed, wood floor, marble and granite bathrooms, in-room safe (minimal charge), refrigerator and iron/ ironing board, dual phones and phone lines with internet connection.
Deluxe Double
Beautiful double room with two double beds, wood floor, deluxe marble and granite bathrooms with hair dryers, dual phone lines and internet connection.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • University of Miami: 1.4 mi
  • Tropical Park: 2.6 mi
  • Pinecrest: 3.1 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 3.3 mi
  • CocoWalk: 3.4 mi
  • Granada: 3.9 mi
  • Bird Bowl: 3.9 mi
  • Temple Israel: 4.4 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 4.4 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Frost Art Museum: 6.1 mi
  • FIU Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Deering Estate: 6.3 mi
  • Marlins Park: 6.7 mi
  • University of Miami: 1.4 mi
  • Tropical Park: 2.6 mi
  • Pinecrest: 3.1 mi
  • Barnacle State Historic Site: 3.3 mi
  • CocoWalk: 3.4 mi
  • Granada: 3.9 mi
  • Bird Bowl: 3.9 mi
  • Temple Israel: 4.4 mi
  • Northeast Coconut Grove: 4.4 mi
  • Latin American Art Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Vizcaya Museum and Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Frost Art Museum: 6.1 mi
  • FIU Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Deering Estate: 6.3 mi
  • Marlins Park: 6.7 mi
  • Museum of the Americas: 6.7 mi
  • East Little Havana: 6.8 mi
  • Lummus Park: 7.4 mi
  • Miami Dade Public Library: 7.6 mi
  • Ice Palace Film Studios: 7.7 mi
  • Metro Dade Cultural Center: 7.7 mi
  • Miami Seaquarium: 8 mi
  • Freedom Tower: 8.1 mi
  • Bayside Marketplace: 8.2 mi
  • American Airlines Arena: 8.3 mi
  • Miami Metro Zoo: 8.3 mi
  • Tina Hills Pavillion: 8.4 mi
  • Pulse Miami: 8.7 mi
  • Trinity Episcopal Cathedral: 8.7 mi
  • Port of Miami: 8.8 mi
  • Cape Florida Lighthouse: 8.8 mi
  • Joseph Caleb Auditorium: 9 mi
  • Miami Children's Museum: 9 mi
  • Dodge Island: 9.1 mi
  • Jungle Island: 9.1 mi
  • Gold Coast Railroad Museum: 9.2 mi
  • Albertini Arts Gallery: 9.2 mi
  • Palm Island: 9.6 mi
  • Larry and Penny Thompson Campground: 9.9 mi
  • Fisher Island: 10.2 mi
  • Morningside Park: 10.7 mi
  • Bettcher Gallery: 10.8 mi
  • Art Deco District: 11.2 mi
  • Espanola Way: 11.4 mi
  • Lincoln Road Mall: 11.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
1) Ballroom: 38 X 25 Ft. Maximum Capacity: 120 people 2) Conference Room 29 X 11 Ft.- Maximum Capacity: 50 people

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (228)

Ratings and reviews for Best Miami Hotel

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
228 out of 228
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
2.9
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.3
Value:
2.9

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Joey07
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Nov 13, 2011

Average

Good location and price, needs some remodeling and new carpets... Was not clean, staff was just " okay". Good if youre just staying a couple of days. A/C worked okay and had parking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Alice in Dairyland
Madison WI
Feb 25, 2013

Great location, not great hotel

It was nice to be in walking distance of a variety of restaurants in a pleasant area of town. The hotel itself was a disappointment in all aspects -- poor breakfast, no washclothes available for two days, dirty bedspreads, leaky water faucets, "hidden" charges, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
irene the profesional
Business
MD
Aug 24, 2012

The Best?

Staff there are helpful and someones very friendly and overall professional. The pool is a delight. The metro station is close and convenient. The complimentary breakfast is not what expected, just plain everything, coffee, one kind of bagels, two kind of cereals, not very good orange juice, some pastries, coffee and one kind of tea. The air conditioning is very high. The hotel seem that had had serious problems with humidity and mold, since there is a mold odor when one enters the lobby. I believe the air conditioning is so high in order to combat the mold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

The chofer of the hotel will take you to some place around 5 miles of the hotel, when you ask for. You just need to tip him.

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bucket List Traveller
WV
Jun 20, 2013

Not Quite What I Expected

I had a layover in Miami and chose to stay here because of cost and the fact that the hotel advertised shuttles. I almost missed the shuttle after I called for it because it was not marked with a sign in front, only 3 computer sized paper signs on the side. The shuttle driver tried to be helpful. The hotel only has one bus as I saw it. I could only get a shuttle to the airport at 9AM, 12PM or 3 PM for my 4:30 departure. I didn't realize that the hotel is next to the metro which does have a line to the airport.. As a newcomer to the Miami area, I had hoped the front desk could give me more advice on where to visit with the time I had other than just the sports stadium. There is an additional $2 fee for the electronic room safe whether you use it or not and an $8 a day parking fee. The room was clean and did have a working microwave and mini frig; however, there were puddles of water on the floor from the air conditioner and the tub had a constant drip. There was a pool in the center of the hotel that supposedly closed at 8pm, but, based on the noise, obviously was open much later. If I were to return to Miami, I would definitely look around to see what else is available before booking here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
May 31, 2011

Best Miami Hotel?

After reading the negative comments about this hotel I somehow believed it couldn't be that bad, espcecially since we didn't intend on spending the entire time actually at the hotel. From the moment we arrived we heard rumours of bed bugs (which was addressed in previous visitors' comments). We passed it off but there were issues from the first night. The ceiling in our room began leaking; water was not dripping but actually flowing from the ceiling! We asked to be relocated AND upgraded, but the person at the front desk claimed that they were fully booked (which we highly doubted!). Unfortunately by the time hotel staff arrived, the leaking had reduced to a trickle. The hotel staff tried to convince us that we caused it by taking off the air condition for a long period. We were eventually moved (not upgraded though), but they seemed aprehensive to do so. We felt like they did not believe us and were just causing trouble. However, the flow began again and the hotel staff was called in time to see it. Only then they realised that it was due to a leaking bathroom on the floor above. The breakfast was another issue. This was also raised by other visitors on this site. Their wasn't a variety at all and who in their right mind gives Fruit Loops cereal to adults!!!! The lack of English-speaking staff members was another story. I understand that Miami has a high population of Spanish-speaking residents, but this is the United States of America - an English speaking country! Bilingual staff would have been greatly appreciated. It was a task for us to communicate the need for extra towels and toilet paper!! The hotel shuttle was relatively reliable. We only had a problem when we were leaving for the airport. Apparently the shuttle begins its operations at 8:00 am so if you have a flight that departs before 10:00 am, you need to call a taxi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Sunset Plaza is walking distance away with stores such as Victoria Secrets, Aeropostale, Armani, Forever 21 and many more. There is also an Imax theatre and excellent restaurants and fast food outlets.

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Mar 8, 2010

Great location for the price

The hotel needs to improve the cleaning of the rooms and better supervision on housekeeping (One day the cleaning lady did not clean the room). The restaurant attached to the hotel (Pikkolo Mondo) have unfriendly staff and breakfast takes quite some time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Sunset drive is at a walk distance and is a great location where you may find good restaurants, cinemas, shops.

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 24, 2008

Nice location for UM

This was a good location and the pool area was extremely nice. It was worth the stay. The restaurant attached was very good although a bit pricy for a regular family dinner. We liked it. The flaw in the hotel was that the air conditioning unit in our room leaked into the carpet and the room was very musty smelling. When we checked in the room was so cold it was not noticeable but as soon as the air conditioning was set to a more comfortable level the carpet felt wet. Apparently it had done it before because the carpet had a piece cut out of it in the same spot. If my daughter had not been so exhausted and in bed and we had not unpacked everything I would have demanded another room that night. Hopefully this was an isolated room issue and for the price and location I would take another chance. If the next time I am at UM it is the same then I would not go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

It is close to the shopping mall.

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JungShan
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Apr 11, 2008

Not so good!

Some staffs there weren't friendly! The internet was out of order! Though, the room is quite clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Stranded in FLA
Pittsburgh, PA
Mar 10, 2009

The price of aggravation

This hotel claims to have a complimentary shuttle. I called when I arrived at the airport and was told to wait in a given location for the shuttle. After waiting outside for an hour, I called back, I was told 20 minutes; however, they knew they had a shift change and the driver would not leave the hotel for 20 minutes. After waiting 3 hours(!), I was finally picked up. I complained at the hotel and told them my mother was coming in soon. I begged them to be honest with her about wait times. They kept telling her 20 minutes. She waited for 1 1/2 hours, and I had to go with the driver to pick her up. Also we still dropped another guest of at a location before going to the airport (even though they did not have a shuttle scheduled). I spoke with a manager who did nothing. I tried to speak with the general manager, who never returned my phone calls. The hotel wasn't bad but don't stay for the hospitality. Also a few guests stayed there because they offered an onsite restaurant. This restaurant had been closed for months but they never updated their information. It wasn't a big deal for us to walk ~1mi to eat but it was for others, particularly given that you couldn't rely on their "complimentary" shuttle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Best Miami Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
black barbie
OCALA, FL
Sep 28, 2010

THE GOOD & THE BAD

WE WANT TO SEE THE FOOTBALL GAME. WE HAD TO PAY FOR PARKING IN THE HOTEL. IT WAS $7.50 A NIGHT. SO I DID NOT LIKE THAT WHEN YOU GO TO A HOTEL YOU SHOULD NOT HAVE TO PAY FOR PARKING. BREAKFAST WAS NOT ALL THAT. THEY HAD A BIG BOWL FLASKS AND THAT'S ALL. IF YOU LIKE EGGS OR SOMETHING ELSE YOU HAVE TO PAY FOR IT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search